DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, species A, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 05/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group and Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/21/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 10-15, the claim limitations “the conductive members each include:
a first member disposed on the pad parts and having an insulation property,
a second member covering the first member and connected to the pad parts, and
a third member disposed on the second member, exposing a portion of the second member and including a material different from a material of the second member” should be “the conductive members each includes:
a first member disposed on one of the pad parts and having an insulation property,
a second member covering the first member and connected to the one of the pad parts, and
a third member disposed on the second member, exposing a portion of the second member and including a material different from a material of the second member”; and
claim 2, line 4, the claim limitation “the second portion directly contacts the second pads” should be “the second portion directly contacts one of the second pads”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang US 20160225792.
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses an electronic device, in at least figs.1-3 and 5, comprising:
a display panel (see fig.1 and para.58) including:
a plurality of pixels (para.57);
a plurality of first pads (formed in pad area 100, para.63) respectively including pad parts which are disposed in one direction (row direction, see fig.1) and respectively electrically connected to the pixels (see fig.1 and para.63, it’s inherent to have a plurality of first pads respectively including pad parts which are disposed in one direction and respectively electrically connected to the pixels in order to control each pixel individually); and
conductive members (142 with 140, except 142 and 136) electrically connected to the pad parts;
a circuit board (COF1) including a plurality of second pads disposed in the one direction and respectively electrically connected to the first pads (see figs.1-3 and 5 and para.82, it’s inherent to have a circuit board including a plurality of second pads disposed in the one direction and respectively electrically connected to the first pads); and
an adhesive layer (142) disposed between the display panel and the circuit board, wherein the conductive members each includes:
a first member (144) disposed on one of the pad parts and having an insulation property (para.84),
a second member (134) covering the first member and connected to the one of the pad parts (see figs.2, 3 and 5), and
a third member (141 or 146) disposed on the second member, exposing a portion of the second member (see figs.2, 3 and 5) and including a material different from a material of the second member (para.64 and 86).
Regarding claim 3, Hwang discloses the third member is disposed between the adhesive layer and the second member (see figs.2 and 5).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang discloses each of the conductive members comprises a sub member (146 or 138) disposed between the second member (134) and the third member (141)(see fig.5).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang US 20170338198.
Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses an electronic device, in at least figs.1-5 comprising:
a display panel (10) including:
a plurality of pixels (PX);
a plurality of first pads (P) respectively including pad parts which are disposed in one direction and respectively electrically connected to the pixels (see fig.1); and
conductive members (see figs.3-5) electrically connected to the pad parts;
a circuit board (50) including a plurality of second pads (B) disposed in the one direction and respectively electrically connected to the first pads (see figs.1-5); and
an adhesive layer (22 in figs.3 and 5, or 23 in fig.4) disposed between the display panel and the circuit board,
wherein the conductive members each includes:
a first member (23 in figs.3 and 5, or 21 in fig.4) disposed on one of the pad parts (P) and having an insulation property,
a second member (CP) covering the first member and connected to the one of the pad parts (see figs.3-5).
a third member (21 in figs.3 and 5, or 22 in fig.4) disposed on the second member, exposing a portion of the second member (see figs.3-5) and including a material different from a material of the second member (see figs.3-5).
Regarding claim 2, Jang discloses the second member comprises a first portion covered by the third member (see figs.3-5), and a second portion exposed from the third member, and the second portion directly contacts one of the second pads (see figs.3-5).
Regarding claim 3, Jang discloses the third member is disposed between the adhesive layer and the second member (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 7, Jang discloses at least one pattern (a portion of 22 between two CP under the B) disposed on the second portion of the second member (see fig.3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang US 20160225792 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Hwang discloses a thickness of the third member is less than a thickness of the second member (see figs.2 and 5), and a thickness ratio of the third member to the second member is about ½ or less.
Hwang does not explicitly disclose the thickness ratio is about 1/6 or less. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to have the thickness ratio is about 1/6 or less through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thickness ratio is about 1/6 or less in the electronic device of Hwang for the purpose of forming a conductive member to connect circuit board with the display panel.
Regarding claim 5, Hwang discloses the third member has a thickness (see figs.2 and 5).
Hwang does not explicitly disclose the thickness in a range of about 100 Å to about 400 Å. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to have the thickness in a range of about 100 Å to about 400 Å through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thickness in a range of about 100 Å to about 400 Å in the electronic device of Hwang for the purpose of forming an organic layer to partially cover the second member (para.72).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang US 20170338198 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Jang discloses a thickness of the third member is less than a thickness of the second member (see fig.3), and a thickness ratio of the third member to the second member is about ½ or less.
Jang does not explicitly disclose the thickness ratio is about 1/6 or less. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to have the thickness ratio is about 1/6 or less through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thickness ratio is about 1/6 or less in the electronic device of Jang for the purpose of forming a conductive member to connect circuit board with the display panel.
Regarding claim 5, Jang discloses the third member has a thickness (see figs.3 and 5).
Jang does not explicitly disclose the thickness in a range of about 100 Å to about 400 Å. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to have the thickness in a range of about 100 Å to about 400 Å through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thickness in a range of about 100 Å to about 400 Å in the electronic device of Jang for the purpose of forming the third member to partially cover the second member and supporting the second member (para.59).
Contact Information
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kang US 20210375804 (figs.1-12) can be primary reference as well.
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871