DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that none of the cited references teaches the limitations as amended in claims 2 and 5. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Umezaki discloses the claimed invention except for wherein, when seen from above, the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width of the unit in the one stage. It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width of the unit in the one stage, since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed shape of the opening was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape of the opening was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). The applicant has not provided any criticality for the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width.
In addition, Otose discloses the claimed invention except for wherein, when seen from above, the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width of the unit in the one stage. It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width of the unit in the one stage, since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed shape of the opening was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape of the opening was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). The applicant has not provided any criticality for the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width. The claim language therefore does not patentably distinguish over the applied reference[s], and the previous rejections are maintained.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the specific limitation “wherein the unit in the one stage has a first width in a direction where a signal line extends and a second width in a direction where a scan line extends, and wherein, when seen from above, the first width of the unit in the one stage is larger than the second width of the unit in the one stage” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specific limitation “wherein the gate driver circuit comprises a plurality of stages each comprises a unit and wherein the unit in the one stage has a first width in a direction where a signal line extends and a second width in a direction where a scan line extends, and wherein, when seen from above, the first width of the unit in the one stage is larger than the second width of the unit in the one stage” as represented in claims 2 and 5 are not supported by the originally filed application. As shown in figure 18B of the current application, the shift register SR appears to be the only unit in the driver circuit. The examiner is not sure which stage and unit are being referred to. For examining purposes, the examiner assumes any circuit can comprises of stages and units. Appropriate correction is required. Being depended on claims 2 and 5, claims 3-4 and 6-7 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The specific limitation “wherein the unit in the one stage has a first width in a direction where a signal line extends and a second width in a direction where a scan line extends, and wherein, when seen from above, the first width of the unit in the one stage is larger than the second width of the unit in the one stage” as represented in claims 2 and 5 are unclear. As shown in figure 18B of the instant application, it is not clear which direction is the extension direction of the signal line and / or the scan line. Appropriate correction is required. Being depended on claims 2 and 5, claims 3-4 and 6-7 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umezaki (US 2011/0193836).
Regarding claim 2, Umezaki (figures 15B-19) discloses a display device comprising:
a pixel portion comprising a first pixel and a second pixel (connected to 112 and 114; figure 15B); and
a gate driver circuit (figures 15B-19) electrically connected to the pixel portion, wherein the first pixel and the second pixel are positioned in different rows,
wherein the gate driver circuit comprises a plurality of stages each comprises a unit (401_1 – 401_m, 402; figure 15B),
wherein the unit in one stage is configured to output a signal to the first pixel and the second pixel,
wherein the unit in one stage comprises a first transistor, a second transistor, a third transistor, a fourth transistor, a fifth transistor, and a sixth transistor,
wherein one of a source and a drain of the first transistor is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor (101 and 203),
wherein the other of the source and the drain of the second transistor is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the fifth transistor (203 and 226),
wherein a gate of the second transistor is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the fourth transistor (203 and 205),
wherein one of a source and a drain of the third transistor is electrically connected to the other of the source and the drain of the fourth transistor (204 and 205),
wherein a gate of the third transistor is electrically connected to a first clock signal line (204 and 116; see at least paragraph 0102),
wherein a gate of the fourth transistor is electrically connected to a second clock signal line (205 and 117; see at least paragraph 0102),
wherein the other of the source and the drain of the fifth transistor is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the sixth transistor (226 and 101),
wherein the unit in the one stage has a first width in a direction where a signal line extends and a second width in a direction where a scan line extends.
Umezaki discloses the claimed invention except for wherein, when seen from above, the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width of the unit in the one stage. It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width of the unit in the one stage, since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed shape of the opening was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape of the opening was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). The applicant has not provided any criticality for the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width.
Regarding claim 3, Umezaki (figures 15B-19) discloses wherein each of the first transistor, the second transistor, the third transistor, the fourth transistor, the fifth transistor, and the sixth transistor comprises a semiconductor layer comprising crystalline silicon (see at least paragraph 0091).
Regarding claim 4, Umezaki (figures 15B-19) discloses wherein the unit is in another stage next to the one stage electrically connected to a third clock signal line (101, 111, 115-117).
Regarding claim 5, Umezaki (figures 15B-19) discloses a display device comprising:
a pixel portion (connected to 112 and 114) comprising pixels arranged in a matrix in a row direction and a column direction; and
a gate driver circuit (figures 15B-19) electrically connected to the pixel portion,
wherein the gate driver circuit comprises a plurality of stages each comprises a unit (401_1 – 401_m, 402; figure 15B),
wherein the first unit is configured to output a signal to the first pixel and the second pixel,
wherein the first unit comprises a first transistor, a second transistor, a third transistor, a fourth transistor, a fifth transistor, and a sixth transistor,
wherein one of a source and a drain of the first transistor is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor (101 and 203),
wherein the other of the source and the drain of the second transistor is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the fifth transistor (203 and 226),
wherein a gate of the second transistor is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the fourth transistor (203 and 205),
wherein one of a source and a drain of the third transistor is electrically connected to the other of the source and the drain of the fourth transistor (204 and 205),
wherein a gate of the third transistor is electrically connected to a first clock signal line (204 and 116; see at least paragraph 0102),
wherein a gate of the fourth transistor is electrically connected to a second clock signal line (205 and 117; see at least paragraph 0102),
wherein the other of the source and the drain of the fifth transistor is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the sixth transistor (226 and 101),
wherein the unit in the one stage has a first width in the column direction and a second width in a row direction, and
Umezaki discloses the claimed invention except for wherein, when seen from above, the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width of the unit in the one stage. It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width of the unit in the one stage, since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed shape of the opening was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape of the opening was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). The applicant has not provided any criticality for the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width.
Regarding claim 6, Umezaki (figures 15B-19) discloses wherein each of the first transistor, the second transistor, the third transistor, the fourth transistor, the fifth transistor, and the sixth transistor comprises a semiconductor layer comprising crystalline silicon (see at least paragraph 0091).
Regarding claim 7, Umezaki (figures 15B-19) discloses wherein the unit is in another stage next to the one stage electrically connected to a third clock signal line (101, 111, 115-117).
Claims 2, 4-5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Otose (US 2010/0085294).
Regarding claim 2, Otose (figures 2-5A) discloses a display device comprising:
a pixel portion comprising a first pixel and a second pixel (connected to OUT1/OUT2); and
a gate driver circuit (figure 5A) electrically connected to the pixel portion,
wherein the first pixel and the second pixel are positioned in different rows,
wherein the gate driver circuit comprises a plurality of stages each comprises a unit (shift registers as shown in figure 4 and see annotated drawing 1),
wherein unit in one stage is configured to output a signal to the first pixel and the second pixel,
wherein the in the one stage comprises a first transistor, a second transistor, a third transistor, a fourth transistor, a fifth transistor, and a sixth transistor,
wherein one of a source and a drain of the first transistor (Tr8) is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor (Tr7),
wherein the other of the source and the drain of the second transistor (Tr7) is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the fifth transistor (Tr4),
wherein a gate of the second transistor (Tr7) is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the fourth transistor (Tr5; via other transistors and layers),
wherein one of a source and a drain of the third transistor (Tr2) is electrically connected to the other of the source and the drain of the fourth transistor (Tr5; via other transistors and layers),
wherein a gate of the third transistor is electrically connected to a first clock signal line (TR2 and REF; see at least paragraph 0084),
wherein a gate of the fourth transistor is electrically connected to a second clock signal line (Tr5 and DRV2; see at least paragraph 0084),
wherein the other of the source and the drain of the fifth transistor (Tr4) is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the sixth transistor (Tr1; via other transistors and layers),
wherein the unit in the one stage has a first width in a direction where a signal line extends and a second width in a direction where a scan line extends.
Otose discloses the claimed invention except for wherein, when seen from above, the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width of the unit in the one stage. It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width of the unit in the one stage, since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed shape of the opening was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape of the opening was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). The applicant has not provided any criticality for the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width.
Regarding claim 4, Otose (figures 2-5A) discloses wherein the unit in another stage next to the one stage is electrically connected to a third clock signal line (REF, DRV1, DRV2).
Regarding claim 5, Otose (figures 2-5A) discloses a display device comprising:
a pixel portion (connected to OUT1/OUT2) comprising pixels arranged in a matrix in a row direction and a column direction; and
a gate driver circuit (figure 5A) electrically connected to the pixel portion,
wherein the gate driver circuit comprises a plurality of stages each comprises a unit (shift registers as shown in figure 4 and see annotated drawing 1),
wherein the unit in one stage is configured to output a signal to the first pixel and the second pixel,
wherein the first unit comprises a first transistor, a second transistor, a third transistor, a fourth transistor, a fifth transistor, and a sixth transistor,
wherein one of a source and a drain of the first transistor (Tr8) is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor (Tr7),
wherein the other of the source and the drain of the second transistor (Tr7) is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the fifth transistor (Tr4),
wherein a gate of the second transistor (Tr7) is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the fourth transistor (Tr5; via other transistors and layers),
wherein one of a source and a drain of the third transistor (Tr2) is electrically connected to the other of the source and the drain of the fourth transistor (Tr5; via other transistors and layers),
wherein a gate of the third transistor is electrically connected to a first clock signal line (TR2 and REF; see at least paragraph 0084),
wherein a gate of the fourth transistor is electrically connected to a second clock signal line (Tr5 and DRV2; see at least paragraph 0084),
wherein the other of the source and the drain of the fifth transistor (Tr4) is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the sixth transistor (Tr1; via other transistors and layers),
wherein the unit in the ones stage has a first width in the column direction and a second width in a row direction.
Otose discloses the claimed invention except for wherein, when seen from above, the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width of the unit in the one stage. It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width of the unit in the one stage, since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed shape of the opening was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape of the opening was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). The applicant has not provided any criticality for the first width of the unit in the one stage being larger than the second width.
Regarding claim 7, Otose (figures 2-5A) discloses wherein the unit in another stage next to the one stage is electrically connected to a third clock signal line (REF, DRV1, DRV2).
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otose (US 2010/0085294) in view of Chang et al. (US 2011/0316833).
Regarding claim 3, Otose discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 2 above. However, Otose is silent regarding wherein each of the first transistor, the second transistor, the third transistor, the fourth transistor, the fifth transistor, and the sixth transistor comprises a semiconductor layer comprising crystalline silicon. Chang et al. teaches wherein each of the first transistor, the second transistor, the third transistor, the fourth transistor, the fifth transistor, and the sixth transistor comprises a semiconductor layer comprising crystalline silicon (see at least paragraph 0043). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor layer as taught by Chang et al. in order to lower the manufacturing costs.
Regarding claim 6, Otose discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 5 above. However, Otose is silent regarding wherein each of the first transistor, the second transistor, the third transistor, the fourth transistor, the fifth transistor, and the sixth transistor comprises a semiconductor layer comprising crystalline silicon. Chang et al. teaches wherein each of the first transistor, the second transistor, the third transistor, the fourth transistor, the fifth transistor, and the sixth transistor comprises a semiconductor layer comprising crystalline silicon (see at least paragraph 0043). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor layer as taught by Chang et al. in order to lower the manufacturing costs.
Conclusion
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871