DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Response to Restriction/Election Requirement filed 27 July 2026. Claims 1-4, 6-21 are pending in this application. Claim 5 has been cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2, Subspecies 1-A and 2-A in the reply filed on 27 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because it is unclear what the middle dashed lines represent. The other dashed lines represent boundaries between the different layers. However, the middle dashed line is in the middle of the first epitaxial layer. It need to be clear that this middle dashed line represents something different than the other dashed lines, and what it represents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9, 11, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Yang et. al (US 2022/0367620 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses (as shown in Fig. 2G) A semiconductor structure, comprising:
a channel structure ([0016] As described further below, semiconductor layers 208 or portions thereof form channel regions of multigate device 200.) on a substrate ([0012] Turning to FIG. 2A, multigate device 200 includes a substrate (wafer) 202); (See Fig. 2G, showing the semiconductor layers 208 above the substrate 202)
and an epitaxial structure ([0024] epitaxial source/drain features 228) (See Fig. 2E, showing the epitaxial source/drain feature formed from first epitaxial layer 222 and second epitaxial layer 224) on the substrate (202) and adjacent to the channel structure (208), (See Fig. 2G, showing the epitaxial source/drain feature is on the sidewalls of the semiconductor layers 208 and above the substrate 202)
wherein the epitaxial structure (228) comprises:
a first epitaxial layer ([0024] A first epitaxial layer 222) on sidewalls of the channel structure (208), ([0024] A first epitaxial layer 222 is formed on semiconductor layers 208 in source/drain recesses 215A, 215B)
wherein the first epitaxial layer (222) comprises a cluster of a dopant ([0027] a doping concentration of the dopant in first epitaxial layer 222) extending along a direction of the channel structure (208); (See An. Fig. 2G below, showing the first cluster 1C extending along the channel direction)
and a second epitaxial layer ([0025] Processing continues with forming a second epitaxial layer 224) on the first epitaxial layer (222), ([0025] Processing continues with forming a second epitaxial layer 224 on first epitaxial layer 222 in source/drain recesses 215A, 215B.)
wherein the first epitaxial layer (222) further comprises an additional cluster of the dopant ([0027] a doping concentration of the dopant in first epitaxial layer 222) (See An. Fig. 2G below, showing the second cluster 2C) extending along an interface between the first and second epitaxial layers. (See An. Fig. 2G below, showing the second cluster 2C, along the interface of the first epitaxial layer 222 and second epitaxial layer 224)
Claim Interpretation Note: Applicant does not define what makes a “cluster of a dopant”. Since the first epitaxial layer (222) is doped, ([0027] a doping concentration of the dopant in first epitaxial layer 222) then any portion of the first epitaxial layer can be considered to be a cluster of a dopant since the dopants are there and there is nothing to distinguish the cluster from other portion of the first epitaxial layer.
Ann. Fig. 2G
Regarding Claim 7, Yang further discloses (as shown in Fig. 2G) an inner spacer ([0023] Inner spacers 220) between the channel structure (208) and the epitaxial structure (228), (See Fig. 2G, showing the inner spacer between the semiconductor layer 208 and the second epitaxial layer 224)
wherein the additional cluster is in contact with the inner spacer (2C). (See An. Fig. 2G, showing the second cluster is in contact with the inner spacer 220)
Regarding Claim 9, Yang further discloses (as shown in Fig. 2G) a contact structure ([0035] A source/drain contact 240) extending into the epitaxial structure (228), ([0035] A source/drain contact 240 is then formed on source/drain feature 228 and fills the source/drain contact opening)
wherein the cluster (1C) is in contact with the contact structure (240). (See An. Fig. 2G, showing the first cluster 1C is in contact with the source/drain contact 240)
Regarding Claim 11, Yang discloses (as shown in Fig. 2G) A semiconductor device, comprising:
first and second channel structures ([0016] As described further below, semiconductor layers 208 or portions thereof form channel regions of multigate device 200) (See Fig. 2G, showing multiple stacks of semiconductor layers 208) on a substrate ([0012] Turning to FIG. 2A, multigate device 200 includes a substrate (wafer) 202) (See Fig. 2G, showing the semiconductor layers 208 above the substrate 202);
and a source/drain (S/D) structure ([0024] epitaxial source/drain features 228) between the first and second channel structures (208), (See Fig. 2E, showing the epitaxial source/drain feature formed from first epitaxial layer 222 and second epitaxial layer 224 between adjacent stacks of semiconductor layers 208)
wherein the S/D (228) structure comprises:
a first epitaxial layer ([0024] A first epitaxial layer 222) on sidewalls of the channel structure (208), ([0027] a doping concentration of the dopant in first epitaxial layer 222) ([0024] A first epitaxial layer 222 is formed on semiconductor layers 208 in source/drain recesses 215A, 215B)
wherein the first epitaxial layer (222) comprises a cluster of a dopant extending along a direction of the channel structure (208); (See An. Fig. 2G below, showing the first cluster 1C extending along the channel direction)
and a second epitaxial layer ([0025] Processing continues with forming a second epitaxial layer 224) on the first epitaxial layer (222), ([0025] Processing continues with forming a second epitaxial layer 224 on first epitaxial layer 222 in source/drain recesses 215A, 215B.)
wherein the first epitaxial layer (222) further comprises an additional cluster of the dopant ([0027] a doping concentration of the dopant in first epitaxial layer 222) (See An. Fig. 2G below, showing the second cluster 2C) extending along an interface between the first and second epitaxial layers. (See An. Fig. 2G below, showing the second cluster 2C, along the interface of the first epitaxial layer 222 and second epitaxial layer 224)
Claim Interpretation Note: Applicant does not define what makes a “cluster of a dopant”. Since the first epitaxial layer (222) is doped ([0027] a doping concentration of the dopant in first epitaxial layer 222) then any portion of the first epitaxial layer can be considered to be a cluster of a dopant since the dopants are there and there is nothing to distinguish the cluster from other portion of the first epitaxial layer.
Regarding Claim 16, Yang further discloses (as shown in An. Fig. 2G) a contact structure ([0035] A source/drain contact 240) extending into the S/D structure (228), ([0035] A source/drain contact 240 is then formed on source/drain feature 228 and fills the source/drain contact opening)
wherein the first (1C) and second clusters (2C) are in contact with the contact structure (240). (See An. Fig. 2G, showing the first cluster 1C and second cluster 2C is in contact with the source/drain contact 240)
Regarding Claim 17, Yang discloses (as shown in Figs. 2A-G) A method, comprising:
forming a channel structure ([0016] As described further below, semiconductor layers 208 or portions thereof form channel regions of multigate device 200.) on a substrate ([0012] Turning to FIG. 2A, multigate device 200 includes a substrate (wafer) 202); ([0014] Semiconductor layer stacks 205A, 205B, 205C include semiconductor layers 206 and semiconductor layers 208 stacked vertically (e.g., along the z-direction) in an interleaving or alternating configuration from a surface of substrate 202) ([0015] In the depicted embodiment, semiconductor layers 206 and semiconductor layers 208 include different materials, constituent atomic percentages, constituent weight percentages, thicknesses, and/or characteristics to achieve desired etching selectivity during an etching process, such as an etching process implemented to form suspended channel layers in channel regions of multigate device 200)
forming a first epitaxial layer ([0024] A first epitaxial layer 222) on the substrate (202) and sidewalls of the channel structure (208), ([0024] A first epitaxial layer 222 is formed on semiconductor layers 208 in source/drain recesses 215A, 215B.) (See Fig. 2G, showing the epitaxial source/drain feature is on the sidewalls of the semiconductor layers 208 and above the substrate 202)
wherein the first epitaxial layer (208) comprises a cluster (See An. Fig. 2G, showing first cluster 1C) of a dopant ([0027] a doping concentration of the dopant in first epitaxial layer 222) extending along a direction of the channel structure (208); (See An. Fig. 2G below, showing the first cluster 1C extending along the channel direction)
forming a second epitaxial layer ([0025] second epitaxial layer 224) on the first epitaxial layer (222); ([0025] Processing continues with forming a second epitaxial layer 224 on first epitaxial layer 222 in source/drain recesses 215A, 215B.)
and forming an additional cluster (See An. Fig. 2G, second cluster 2C) of the dopant ([0027] a doping concentration of the dopant in first epitaxial layer 222) extending along an interface between the first (222) and second (224) epitaxial layers. (See An. Fig. 2G below, showing the second cluster 2C, along the interface of the first epitaxial layer 222 and second epitaxial layer 224)
Claim Interpretation Note: Applicant does not define what makes a “cluster of a dopant”. Since the first epitaxial layer (222) is doped ([0027] a doping concentration of the dopant in first epitaxial layer 222) then any portion of the first epitaxial layer can be considered to be a cluster of a dopant since the dopants are there and there is nothing to distinguish the cluster from other portion of the first epitaxial layer.
Alternatively, Claims 1 can be rejected under 35 USC 102a(2) as being unpatentable over More et. al (US 2024/0379669 A1).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of More et. al (US 2024/0379669 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, More discloses (as shown in Fig. 2H) A semiconductor structure, comprising:
a channel structure ([0033] channel regions (i.e., semiconductor layers 120)) on a substrate ([0014] substrate 105); ([0014] In FIG. 3A, semiconductor layers 115 and semiconductor layers 120 are stacked vertically (e.g., along the z-direction) in an interleaving or alternating configuration from a top surface of substrate 105)
and an epitaxial structure ([0033] epitaxial source/drain structures 150) on the substrate (105) and adjacent to the channel structure (120), (See Fig. 2H, showing the epitaxial source/drain structure 150 on the substrate 105 and next to the channels layers 120)
wherein the epitaxial structure (150) comprises:
a first epitaxial layer ([0040] epitaxial layers 154A, epitaxial layers 154B) ([0040] doped epitaxial layers of epitaxial source/drain structures 150 (i.e., epitaxial layers 154A, epitaxial layers 154B…) on sidewalls of the channel structure (120), ([0040] Epitaxial layers 154A and epitaxial layers 154B physically contact … semiconductor layers 120)
wherein the first epitaxial layer (154A-B) comprises a cluster of a dopant (See An. Fig. 2H, showing first cluster 1C) extending along a direction of the channel structure (120); (See An. Fig. 2H below, showing the first cluster 1C extending along the channel direction)
and a second epitaxial layer ([0040] epitaxial layers of epitaxial source/drain structures 150 (i.e., …epitaxial layers 156A, epitaxial layers 156B…) on the first epitaxial layer (154A-B), ([0043] Epitaxial layers 156A and epitaxial layers 156B are formed over epitaxial layers 154A and epitaxial layers 154B, respectively)
wherein the first epitaxial layer (154A-B) further comprises an additional cluster (See An. Fig. 2H, showing second cluster 2C) of the dopant extending along an interface between the first (154A-B) and second (156A-B) epitaxial layers. (See An. Fig. 2H below, showing the second cluster 2C extending along the interface between epitaxial layer 154A and epitaxial layer 156A)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et. al (US 2022/0336614 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang fails to disclose wherein the additional cluster (2C) is along a (111) growth plane of the first epitaxial layer (222) and the cluster extends along an intersection of the (111) growth plane and an additional (111) growth plane of the first epitaxial layer (222).
Wang discloses (as shown in Fig. 2B) that the first epitaxial layer ([0025] first epitaxial layer 220) has a (111) crystallographic orientation. ([0025] In the depicted embodiment, facets 222A-222D of first epitaxial layer 220 have a (111) crystallographic orientation)
Yang fails to disclose the orientation of the first epitaxial layer (222). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to grow the first epitaxial layer (222) of Yang with the same orientation as the first epitaxial layer (220) in Wang since Wang is known to make a functioning device. Since the additional cluster (2C) is grown along the outer edge of the first epitaxial layer (222), this would mean the additional cluster (2C) is along a (111) growth plane of the first epitaxial layer (222) and the cluster extends along an intersection of the (111) growth plane and an additional (111) growth plane of the first epitaxial layer (222).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Wang et. al (US 2022/0336614 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Yang fails to disclose wherein an angle between the first (1C) and second clusters (2C) of the dopant ranges from about 40 degrees to about 70 degrees.
Wang discloses (as shown in Fig. 2B) that the first epitaxial layer ([0025] first epitaxial layer 220) has a (111) crystallographic orientation. ([0025] In the depicted embodiment, facets 222A-222D of first epitaxial layer 220 have a (111) crystallographic orientation)
Yang fails to disclose the orientation of the first epitaxial layer (222). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to grow the first epitaxial layer (222) of Yang with the same orientation as the first epitaxial layer (220) in Wang since Yang Wang is known to make a functioning device. Since the additional cluster (2C) is grown along the (111) growth plane of the first epitaxial layer (222) and the cluster extends along the horizontal of the plane of the first epitaxial layer (222), the angle would be ~55° since the angle between the (111) plane and (100) plane is ~55°.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Wang et. al (US 2022/0336614 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Yang fails to disclose wherein an angle between the first (1C) and second clusters (2C) of the dopant ranges from about 40 degrees to about 70 degrees.
Wang discloses (as shown in Fig. 2B) that the first epitaxial layer ([0025] first epitaxial layer 220) has a (111) crystallographic orientation. ([0025] In the depicted embodiment, facets 222A-222D of first epitaxial layer 220 have a (111) crystallographic orientation)
Yang fails to disclose the orientation of the first epitaxial layer (222). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to grow the first epitaxial layer (222) of Yang with the same orientation as the first epitaxial layer (220) in Wang since Wang is known to make a functioning device. Since the additional cluster (2C) is grown along the (111) growth plane of the first epitaxial layer (222) and the cluster extends along the horizontal of the plane of the first epitaxial layer (222), the angle would be ~55° since the angle between the (111) plane and (100) plane is ~55°.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lee et. al (US 2023/0420506 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, Yang fails to disclose wherein a concentration of the dopant in the first cluster is greater than about 5x 1020 atoms/cm3.
Lee discloses the concentration of the dopant in the first epitaxial layer is greater than about 5x 1020 atoms/cm3. ([0049] the first semiconductor material layer 42A may have a first doping concentration in the range between about 1×10.sup.20/cm.sup.3 and about 1×10.sup.21/cm.sup.3 when P is incorporate)
Yang fails to disclose the dopant concentration of the first epitaxial layer (222). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the dopant concentration in Lee, which is known to form a functioning device. Since the upper end of the range in Lee overlaps the claimed range, the claimed range would be obvious. Since the first cluster (1C) is part of the first epitaxial layer (222) it would have been obvious for the concentration of the dopant in the first epitaxial layer is greater than about 5x 1020 atoms/cm3 since it would be obvious for the first epitaxial layer (222) to have a concentration of the dopant be greater than about 5x 1020 atoms/cm3.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of More as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fitzgerald et. al (US 6039803 A).
Regarding Claim 10, More further discloses (as shown in Fig. 2H) wherein the epitaxial structure (150) further comprises an additional epitaxial layer ([0033] undoped epitaxial layers 152) between the first epitaxial layer (154A-B) and the substrate (105),
and less than a germanium concentration in the second epitaxial layer (156A-B). ([0047] In some embodiments, epitaxial layers 154A and epitaxial layers 156A further have different germanium concentrations. For example, a germanium concentration of epitaxial layers 156A is greater than a germanium concentration of epitaxial layers 154A)
More fails to disclose wherein a germanium concentration in the first epitaxial layer (154A-B) is greater than a germanium concentration in the additional epitaxial layer (152)
Fitzgerald teaches that having graded silicon germanium layers helps to reduce dislocations. ([Col. 9 Lines 29-34] However, in slowly graded structures such sharp dislocation sources are not present initially, and the strain is nearly completely relaxed except for a small equilibrium strain at the surface. Thus, dislocation nucleation cannot be initially producing the pile-up structures.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the epitaxial layer (152) in More have a lower germanium concentration in order to create a graded silicon germanium structure and thereby reduce dislocations.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of More et. al (US 2024/0379669 A1)
Regarding Claim 20, Yang further discloses (as shown in Fig. 2G) forming a contact structure ([0035] A source/drain contact 240) extending into the epitaxial structure (228), ([0035] A source/drain contact 240 is then formed on source/drain feature 228 and fills the source/drain contact opening)
wherein the cluster (1C) is in contact with the contact structure (240). (See An. Fig. 2G, showing the first cluster 1C is in contact with the source/drain contact 240)
However, Yang fails to disclose forming an additional epitaxial layer on the substrate (202) prior to forming the first epitaxial layer (222).
More discloses (as shown in Fig. 2F-H) forming an additional epitaxial layer ([0033] undoped epitaxial layers 152), on the substrate (105) prior to forming the first epitaxial layer (154A-B). ([0030] epitaxially growing a first doped semiconductor layer over the undoped semiconductor layer in the source/drain recess at block 30, such as epitaxial layers 154A and epitaxial layers 154B over undoped epitaxial layers 152 in source/drain recesses 140)
and forming a contact structure ([0030] Turning to FIG. 2F (FIG. 3G) and FIG. 2G (FIG. 3H), method 10 proceeds with forming epitaxial source/drain structures 150 in source/drain recesses 140) in the second epitaxial layer (156A-B). (See Fig. 2H)
More teaches that the undoped epitaxial layer (152) provides a buffer between the substrate and the source/drain structures (150), thereby reducing short channel effects ([0033] such that undoped epitaxial layers 152 provide an insufficient buffer between semiconductor mesas 105P′ and doped epitaxial layers of epitaxial source/drain structures 150, thereby negating the SCE reduction function of undoped epitaxial layers 152). It would have been obvious to include an undoped epitaxial in Yang, as in More, in order to reduce short channel effects.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-4, 8, 12-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 2, Yang fails to disclose wherein a first concentration of the dopant in the cluster is greater than a second concentration of the dopant in the first epitaxial layer.
In Yang, the first cluster is just a portion of the first epitaxial layer and would have the same dopant concentration.
Other relevant prior art includes Lui et. al (US 2022/0131014 A1). Liu discloses channel extension features ([0029] channel extension features 236E) extending along the channel direction (See Fig. 19A). The lower end of the range for the dopants in the channel extension features (236E) is greater than the lower end of the range for the dopants in the first epitaxial layer ([0034] first epitaxial layer 238). ([0031] the semiconductor layer 236 may include a boron dopant concentration between about 3×1020 atoms/cm3 and about 3×1021 atoms/3) ([0034] When the p-type dopant is boron, a concentration of the p-type dopant in the first epitaxial layer 238 may be between about 2×1020 atoms/cm3 and about 3×1021 atoms/cm3) Therefore, it would have been obvious for the Shannel extension features (236E) to have a higher dopant concentration the first epitaxial layer (238). However, the channel extension regions (236E) are not a part of the first epitaxial layer (238) and therefore cannot be the cluster.
Regarding Claims 3-4, Claims 3-4 depend from Claim 2 and contain allowable subject matter for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 8, Yang fails to disclose wherein a first concentration of the dopant in the cluster (1C) is greater than a second concentration of the dopant in the additional cluster (2C).
In Yang, the first and second clusters are just portions of the first epitaxial layer and would have the same dopant concentration.
Regarding Claim 12, Yang fails to disclose wherein a first concentration of the dopant in the cluster is greater than a second concentration of the dopant in the first epitaxial layer.
In Yang, the first cluster is just a portion of the first epitaxial layer and would have the same dopant concentration.
Other relevant prior art includes Lui et. al (US 2022/0131014 A1). Liu discloses channel extension features ([0029] channel extension features 236E) extending along the channel direction (See Fig. 19A). The lower end of the range for the dopants in the channel extension features (236E) is greater than the lower end of the range for the dopants in the first epitaxial layer ([0034] first epitaxial layer 238). ([0031] the semiconductor layer 236 may include a boron dopant concentration between about 3×1020 atoms/cm3 and about 3×1021 atoms/3) ([0034] When the p-type dopant is boron, a concentration of the p-type dopant in the first epitaxial layer 238 may be between about 2×1020 atoms/cm3 and about 3×1021 atoms/cm3) Therefore, it would have been obvious for the Shannel extension features (236E) to have a higher dopant concentration the first epitaxial layer (238). However, the channel extension regions (236E) are not a part of the first epitaxial layer (238) and therefore cannot be the cluster.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 depends from Claim 12 an contains allowable subject matter for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 14, Yang fails to disclose wherein a first concentration of the dopant in the cluster (1C) is greater than a second concentration of the dopant in the additional cluster (2C).
In Yang, the first and second clusters are just portions of the first epitaxial layer and would have the same dopant concentration.
Conclusion
/JASON JAMES GREAVING/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893