DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, directed to claims 1-4 and 7-13, in the reply filed on 4/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s cancellation of claims 5-6 is acknowledged as filed on 4/8/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamwong US 20170025551 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Yamwong).
Regarding claim 1, Yamwong teaches
A fast recovery diode (“diode 10” para. 0018 FIG. 1 and 5) comprising:
a first semiconductor structure (“n-type cathode region 56” para. 0026 FIG. 5) comprising a first layer having a first conductivity type (“cathode contact regions 54” para. 0026);
a first electrode of the fast recovery diode (“cathode electrode 16” para. 0019), the first electrode contacting a bottom surface of the first layer (“Each of the cathode contact regions 54 makes Ohmic contact with the cathode electrode 16” para. 0029);
a second semiconductor structure (structure comprising “intermediate region 36”, “anode regions 30”, “barrier region 34”, and “pillar regions 32”, para. 0020-0022 FIG. 5) including a second layer having a second conductivity type (“intermediate region 36”), the second layer contacting the first semiconductor structure to form a junction (“first intermediate region 36” contacts “drift region 50” of the “n-type cathode region 56”, para. 0026-0027, and it is understood to be the same with “intermediate region 36” of FIG. 5);
a second electrode of the fast recovery diode (“anode electrode 14” para. 0018), the second electrode overlying the second semiconductor structure (“anode electrode 14” is above the “first intermediate region 36”, “anode regions 30”, “barrier region 34”, and “pillar regions 32”); and
a resistive semiconductor region (“terminating p-type region 60” para. 0025) providing a current path between the second electrode and the second semiconductor structure (“terminating p-type region 60” is in direct and electrical contact with a “second anode region 30” and the “intermediate region 36”, the “second anode region 30” being in contact with “anode electrode 14”).
Regarding claim 2, Yamwong teaches the fast recovery diode of claim 1, wherein the second semiconductor structure further comprises a buried region (“barrier region 34” para. 0042) of the first conductivity type buried in the second layer (“barrier region 34” is buried in the second structure and on the “intermediate layer 36”), wherein the resistive semiconductor region includes a first area on the buried region (a portion of “terminating p-type region 60” is on a lateral side of “barrier region 34”) and a second area extending beyond the buried layer and contacting the second layer (a portion of “terminating p-type region 60” extends past the depth of “barrier region 34” and contacts “intermediate layer 36”).
Regarding claim 3, Yamwong teaches the fast recovery diode of claim 2, further comprising a first contact region of the first conductivity type (“pillar regions 32” which are n-type, para. 0020) electrically connecting the second electrode and the buried region (“pillar regions 32” are interposed between the “anode electrode 14” and “buried region 34”).
Regarding claim 4, Yamwong teaches the fast recovery diode of claim 3, further comprising a second contact region of the second conductivity type (“anode regions 30” which are p-type, para. 0020) electrically connecting the second electrode and the first area of the resistive semiconductor region (an “anode region 30” is interposed between “anode electrode 14” and “terminating p-type region 60”).
Regarding claim 7, Yamwong teaches the fast recovery diode of claim 1, wherein the first conductivity type is N-type (“cathode contact regions 54” are of the first conductivity type and are n-type, para. 0042), and the second conductivity type is P-type (“first intermediate layer 36”, analogous to “intermediate layer 36” of FIG. 5, is p-type, para. 0022)
Regarding claim 8, Yamwong teaches the fast recovery diode of claim 1, wherein the first electrode is a cathode of the diode (“cathode electrode 16”), and the second electrode is an anode of the diode (“anode electrode 14”).
Regarding claim 10, Yamwong teaches the fast recovery diode of claim 1, wherein the second layer forms a P anode of the fast recovery diode, the P anode being a single region covering 100% of an active region excluding high voltage termination (the examiner considers the active region to be the region where the junction between “intermediate layer 36” and “drift region 50” is formed, which spans the length of “intermediate layer 36”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamwong as applied to claim 1 above, in Nakanishi US 20160163654 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Nakanishi).
Yamwong teaches the fast recovery diode of claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the second electrode comprises at least one material selected from a group consisting of Al:Cu, and A1:Cu:Si.
Nevertheless, Nakanishi teaches
wherein the second electrode comprises at least one material selected from a group consisting of Al:Cu, and A1:Cu:Si (“anode electrode AED” is made of AlCu or AlSiCu, para. 0132 FIG. 13).
Yamwong and Nakanishi teach diodes. The “anode layer 14” in Yamwong does not have a specified material. “Anode layer AED” in Nakanishi is made of AlCu or AlSiCu. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that Al, AlSi, AlCu, or AlSiCu are suitable materials for forming an anode of a diode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fast recovery diode in Yamwong with the anode materials taught in Nakanishi. AlCu or AlSiCu are materials suitable for use as anodes.
Claim 11-12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamwong as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Yu et al. US 20210328076 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Yu).
Regarding claim 11, Yamwong teaches the fast recovery diode of claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the second layer comprises multiple P anode cells that are separated from each other.
Nevertheless, Yu teaches
wherein the second layer (“regions 14” para. 0058) comprises multiple P anode cells that are separated from each other (the plurality of “regions 14” include islands that are separated from each other, para. 0061-0062 FIG. 3).
Yamwong and Yu teach diode structures. Yamwong teaches a “diode 10” comprising a single “intermediate region 36” while Yu teaches a plurality of “regions 14” that define cells. By having separate cell “regions 14” and corresponding “ohmic contact metals 18”, Schottky diode structures are formed between the “N-type drift region 15” and the “Schottky contact metal 19” interposed between adjacent “regions 14” (para. 0058-0060). This configuration allows for better surge current capability (para. 0060). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that forming separate “intermediate regions 36” to define different cells allows for Schottky diodes to form between “anode electrode 14” and “drift region 50”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fast recovery diode in Yamwong with the plurality of P anode cells taught in Yu. Discrete and separated P anode cells enable Schottky diodes to form between the first semiconductor structure and the second electrode. This configuration improves the diode’s resilience against surge currents.
Regarding claim 12, Yamwong teaches the fast recovery diode of claim 11, wherein each of the P anode cells is shaped as one of a stripe, a hexagon, a square, a circle, and a rectangle (the “PiN Schottky (MPS) diode 10 can be strip cell structure, circle cell structure or polygon cell structure” and is shown in FIG. 2-3 as having hexagonal cell structures, Yu para. 0062-0063).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamwong as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Darwish et al. US 20100084704 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Darwish).
Yamwong, modified by Yu, teaches the fast recovery diode of claim 11 but fails to teach further comprising a high voltage edge termination region including field limiting rings encircling the P anode cells.
Nevertheless, Darwish teaches the use of edge termination structures to separate the edge of the device from the active area, reducing the electric field at the edges produced from voltage drops between the active terminals (para. 0011). (An example in FIG. 5 shows “P-type guard rings 510” in a termination region, which is a conventionally used termination structure (para. 0011 and 0040). Though not shown surrounding the MOSFET region in the central area, it is understood from its description as a ring that it forms a ring around the MOSFETs. Even though a MOSFET is shown in FIG. 5, the use of termination structures such as “P-type guard rings 510” can be implemented with diodes (para. 0098). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that “P-type guard rings 510” can be used as an edge termination region so that electric fields can be reduced at a periphery of the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fast recovery diode taught between Yamwong and Yu with the high voltage edge termination region in Darwish. The high voltage edge termination region with field limiting rings reduces the electric field magnitude in the periphery of the fast recovery diode.
Relevant art not relied upon for the previous rejections
Yamashita et al. JP 2023123185 A, teaching a buried n-type region and n-type and p-type contact regions.
Conclusion
/ERIC MANUEL MULERO FLORES/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898