DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 12-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahvash et al. US 2024/0060914 A1 (“Mahvash”) in view of Shi et al. US 2023/0417682 A1 (“Shi”).
As to claim 1, Mahvash discloses an apparatus for predicting a structure of a semiconductor device, the apparatus comprising:
a storage configured to store a learned model configured to predict the structure of the semiconductor device (Mahwash Figure 1 or Paragraph 131 – e.g., use of a computer, Paragraphs 69-72 – e.g., use of trained ML to predict parameters);
a memory configured to store at least one code (Mahwash Figure 1 or Paragraph 131 – e.g., use of a computer), and
at least one processor operatively connected to the memory (Mahwash Figure 1 or Paragraph 131 – e.g., use of a computer) and configured to execute the at least one code to:
input non-destructive metrology data measured from the semiconductor device into the learned model (Mahwash Paragraphs 38-39 or 68-74 – e.g., x-ray scatterometry and/or metrology system), and
predict the structure of the semiconductor device, based on the learned model, wherein the learned model is trained with training data including first data which is non-destructive metrology data and second data which is structural metrology data as reference data of the first data (Mahwash Paragraphs 69-74 – e.g., use of trained ML to predict parameters, in combination with Shi, see below), and
wherein the training data is refined based on a similarity of the training data in a space having a first axis corresponding to the first data and a second axis corresponding to the second data as reference axes (Mahwash Paragraphs 69-74 – e.g., use of trained ML, in combination with Shi, see below).
Mahwash discloses many elements of claim 1, including the use of a trained ML model to predict circuit parameters. Mahwash does not provide specific details on how the model is trained. However, the missing element is well known in the art because while teaching the use of machine learning in circuit fabrication, Shi discloses using metrology data and reference data in order to train a machine learning model (Shi Paragraphs 22 or 50), including training in order to have ML outputs follow expected values. This is equivalent to trying to achieve similarity between measured and reference results. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to train the ML as in Shi, because doing so would result in a more accurate ML model and predictions.
As to claim 2, Mahwash and Shi disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Mahwash and Shi further disclose wherein the first data is metrology data of the semiconductor device based on spectrum (Mahwash Paragraphs 38-39 or 68-74 – e.g., necessary in x-ray scatterometry and/or metrology system), and the second data is structure data obtained by measuring at least a part of the structure of the semiconductor device (Shi Paragraphs 22 or 50 -e.g., structure parameters).
Claims 3, 5, and 13 recite elements similar to claims 1 or 2, and are rejected for the same reasons.
As to claim 4, Mahwash and Shi disclose the method of claim 3. Mahwash and Shi further disclose wherein the first axis is scaled within a range of the second data. Shi discloses training in order to have ML outputs follow expected values (Shi Paragraphs 22 or 50). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the first and second axis to have similar ranges/scales because the ML model is trained to follow each other.
As to claim 12, Mahwash and Shi disclose the method of claim 3. Mahwash and Shi further disclose wherein the similarity is based on at least one of cosine similarity, a correlation coefficient, and a linear regression model evaluation method based on a residual of the training data in the first space (Shi Paragraphs 22 or 50 – e.g., training in order to have ML outputs follow expected values). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use one or more of a correlation coefficient or linear regression model because those were both common ways of evaluating how correlated two sets of data are.
Claims 14 and 20 recite elements similar to claims 4 and 12, and are rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11 and 15-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest a method or apparatus for predicting a semiconductor structure having the combination of steps/elements of the claims including, among other elements, the search and refinement details of the claims, in combination with the analysis and prediction elements of the claims.
Conclusion
/BRYCE M AISAKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851