DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toba et al. (US 2019/0388933).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Toba et al. teaches a transparent conductive substrate comprising a transparent conductive film containing a binder resin and conductive fibers, wherein the thermal decomposition starting temperature of the binder resin is 210° C. or higher (See Abstract), wherein the conductive fibers may be metal nanowire having an average major axis length of preferably 1 to 100 μm, particularly preferably 5 to 50 μm (paragraph [0041]). The transparent conductive film contains a solvent (paragraph [0045]). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toba et al. (US 2019/0388933) in view of Yonezawa et al. (WO 2016125581).
Toba et al. is relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 2, Toba et al. fails to teach the resin as claimed.
However, Yonezawa et al. teaches conductive fine particles in a dispersion comprising metal fine particles and an acid-decomposable polymer having an acetal bond (See Abstract) and a solvent (page 13), wherein the metal fine particles include a rod shape (page 4) i.e. nanowire. Yonezawa et al. teaches wherein the resin (B) comprises a repeating unit having an acetal structure represented by general formula (1) (pages 4 and 10-11, formula 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an acid-decomposable polymer as the binder resin in Toba et al. in order to provide high stability under normal stimuli (page 4).
Regarding claim 4, Toba et al. fails to teach a photo-acid generator or a thermal acid generator.
However, Yonezawa et al. teaches further comprising a photo-acid generator or a thermal acid generator (page 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a photo-acid generator or a thermal acid generator in the composition of Toba et al. in order to allow low-temperature sintering and enhance decomposability of the acid-decomposable polymer (Yonezawa et al., page 17).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toba et al. (US 2019/0388933) in view of Yonezawa et al. (WO 2016125581) and further, in view of Ogiwara et al. (JP 2015149384).
Toba et al. in view of Yonezawa et al. is relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 3, Toba et al. in view of Yonezawa et al. fails to teach wherein the resin (B) is a compound as claimed.
However, Ogiwara et al. teaches a composition containing a resin to be decomposed by either an acid and heat or both, i.e. thermally decomposable polymer (See Abstract, page 4), wherein the thermally decomposable polymer contains a repeating unit having an acetal structure represented by the general formula (1), including general formulas (1a) to (1c) (page 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a thermally decomposable polymer including that presently claimed in resin (B) of Toba et al. in view of Yonezawa et al. in order to impart the desired heat decomposability and fluidity to the heat decomposable polymer (Ogiwara et al., page 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant amended claim 1 to recite “wherein the metal nanowires have an average length of 10 um or more” and added new claim 13.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787