DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 02/27/2026 which amended claims 1, 3-5 and 8 and added new claims 13-15. Claims 1-15 are currently pending in the application for patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanaka et al (US 2005/0185139; hereinafter referred to as Yamanaka) in view of Peng et al (US 2023/0017524; hereinafter referred to as Peng).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamanaka discloses a projector (Figure 1) comprising:
a light source (Figure 1; Light Source 110);
a polarization beam splitter (Figure 1; PBS 200) configured to split light from the light source into P-polarized light and S- polarized light (see Paragraph [0055]; wherein it is disclosed that a P-polarized light component of the illumination light is transmitted through the polarization plane 205 and an S-polarized light component of the illumination light is reflected by the polarization plane 205);
a first reflective display (Figure 1; Light Modulating Device 302) configured to modulate the split P-polarized light (see Figure 1 and Paragraphs [0056]-[0057]; wherein it is disclosed that the P-polarized light component is incident on a second light modulating device 302 and that the light modulating device 302 rotates the incident P-polarized light component in accordance with the video signal);
a second reflective display (Figure 1; Light Modulating Device 301) configured to modulate the split S-polarized light (see Figure 1 and Paragraphs [0056]-[0057]; wherein it is disclosed that the S-polarized light component is incident on a first light modulating device 301 and that the light modulating device 301 rotates the incident S-polarized light component in accordance with the video signal);
a projector lens (Figure 1; Projection Optical System 510) on which reflected lights from the reflective displays are incident (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0069]; wherein it is disclosed that an image is projected on a screen 520 via a projection optical system 510); and
a deflector (Figure 1; Beam Shifting Section 400) disposed near a light-emitting side of the projector lens (see Figure 1; wherein the beam shifting section 400 is disposed near a light emitting side of the projection optical system 510) and configured to change a traveling direction of incident polarized light depending on polarization of the light (see Figure 1; Paragraph [0063]; wherein it is disclosed that the beam of the S-polarized light passes through the birefringence plate 420 without being shifted by the birefringence plate 420. The beam of the P-polarized light is shifted by the birefringence plate 420).
Yamanaka does not expressly disclose that the deflector is disposed on a light-emitting side of the projector lens and configured to switch between a mode of changing traveling direction of both incident P-polarized light and incident S-polarized light and a mode of not changing the traveling directions of the P-polarized light and the S-polarized light.
Peng discloses a projector (Figure 1; Display Device 130) comprising: a deflector (Figure 1; Beam Redirecting Module 150) configured to switch between a mode of changing traveling direction of both incident P-polarized light and incident S-polarized light (see Figure 4A and Paragraphs [0032] and [0037]; wherein it is disclosed that when an incoming light beam 415 is left-circular polarized (LCP), the PBP LC switchable grating 300 redirects the light beam 415 upwards by a pre-determined non-zero angle and When the incoming light beam 415 is right-circular polarized (RCP), the PBP LC switchable grating 300 redirects the beam 415 downwards by a pre-determined non-zero angle and wherein it is further disclosed that the gratings may be polarization selective to only diffract light in a particular polarization state, such as linear polarization of a certain orientation) and a mode of not changing the traveling directions of the P-polarized light and the S-polarized light (see Figure 4B and Paragraphs [0032] and [0037]; wherein it is disclosed that applying a voltage V to the PBP LC switchable grating 300 reorients the LC molecules along Z-axis, perpendicular to the substrate plane, as shown in FIG. 4B. At this orientation of the LC molecules 302, the PBP structure is erased, and the light beam 415 retains its original direction and wherein it is further disclosed that the gratings may be polarization selective to only diffract light in a particular polarization state, such as linear polarization of a certain orientation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the deflector of Yamanaka such that the deflector is configured to switch between a mode of changing traveling direction of both incident P-polarized light and incident S-polarized light and a mode of not changing the traveling directions of the P-polarized light and the S-polarized light, as taught by Peng, because doing so would allow for the deflector to have a variable beam steering property (see Peng Paragraph [0037]).
Yamanaka as modified by Peng does not expressly disclose that the deflector is disposed on a light-emitting side of the projector lens. However, the applicant has not stated that any long standing or stated problem in the art is solved by providing the deflector on a light emitting side of the projector lens. Therefore, absent any showing of criticality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to dispose the deflector on either a light incident or light emitting side of the projector lens as it appears the invention would perform equally well with either orientation.
Regarding Claim 2, Yamanaka as modified by Peng discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yamanaka further discloses the deflector (Figure 1; Beam Shifting Section 400) is an element using liquid crystals (see Paragraph [0061]; wherein it is disclosed that the beam shifting section 400 is composed of a polarization rotatable liquid crystal panel 410 that can rotate a polarized light and a birefringence plate 420).
Regarding Claim 6, Yamanaka as modified by Peng discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yamanaka further discloses the deflector (Figure 1; Beam Shifting Section 400) comprises a switchable half-wave plate (see Paragraphs [0061]-[0062]; wherein it is disclosed that the beam shifting section 400 is composed of a polarization rotatable liquid crystal panel 410 and wherein the liquid crystal panel 410 is composed of a TN type liquid crystal panel which can control the rotation of the polarized light by turning on and off voltage applied to the liquid crystal panel 410).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamanaka as modified by Peng discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yamanaka further discloses the deflector (Figure 1; Beam Shifting Section 400) comprises a liquid crystal diffractive element (Figure 1; Polarization Rotatable Liquid Crystal Panel 410), and
the liquid crystal diffractive element (Figure 1; Polarization Rotatable Liquid Crystal Panel 410) is configured to change a traveling direction of incident polarized light depending on the polarized light by regulating an alignment of liquid crystal molecules through voltage application (see Paragraphs [0061]-[0062] and [0066]; wherein it is disclosed that the liquid crystal panel 410 is composed of a TN type liquid crystal panel which can control the rotation of the polarized light by turning on and off voltage applied to the liquid crystal panel 410 such that the S-polarized light from the liquid crystal panel 410 passes through the birefringence plate 420 without being shifted and the P-polarized light from the liquid crystal panel 410 is shifted in a vertical direction).
Regarding Claim 8, Yamanaka as modified by Peng discloses the limitations of claim 7 as detailed above.
Yamanaka further discloses the number of liquid crystal diffractive elements (Figure 1; Polarization Rotatable Liquid Crystal Panel 410) is one or more (see Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Yamanaka as modified by Peng discloses the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Yamanaka further discloses the deflector (Figure 1; Beam Shifting Section 400) comprises a switchable half-wave plate (see Paragraphs [0061]-[0062]; wherein it is disclosed that the beam shifting section 400 is composed of a polarization rotatable liquid crystal panel 410 and wherein the liquid crystal panel 410 is composed of a TN type liquid crystal panel which can control the rotation of the polarized light by turning on and off voltage applied to the liquid crystal panel 410).
Regarding Claim 13, Yamanaka as modified by Peng discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Peng further discloses when the traveling directions of the incident P-polarized light and the incident S-polarized light are changed, the traveling direction of the P-polarized light is different from the traveling direction of the S- polarized light (see Figure 4A and Paragraphs [0032] and [0037]; wherein it is disclosed that when an incoming light beam 415 is left-circular polarized (LCP), the PBP LC switchable grating 300 redirects the light beam 415 upwards by a pre-determined non-zero angle and When the incoming light beam 415 is right-circular polarized (RCP), the PBP LC switchable grating 300 redirects the beam 415 downwards by a pre-determined non-zero angle and wherein it is further disclosed that the gratings may be polarization selective to only diffract light in a particular polarization state, such as linear polarization of a certain orientation).
Claims 3-5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanaka et al (US 2005/0185139; hereinafter referred to as Yamanaka) as modified by Peng et al (US 2023/0017524; hereinafter referred to as Peng) as applied to claim 1, in view of Lu et al (US 2021/0208389; hereinafter referred to as Lu).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamanaka as modified by Peng discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yamanaka as modified by Peng does not expressly disclose that the deflector comprises a Pancharatnam-Berry (PB) deflector.
Lu discloses a projector (Figure 8; Display Module 512) comprising a deflector (Figure 8; PBP Grating Stack 802) configured to change a traveling direction of incident light (see Paragraph [0114]; wherein it is disclosed that the switchable PBP grating stack 802 is configured to extend the steering range of the MEMS mirror 524), wherein
the deflector (Figure 8; PBP Grating Stack 802) comprises a Pancharatnam deflector (see Paragraph [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the deflector of Yamanaka to incorporate a Pancharatnam deflector, as taught by Lu, because doing so would increase the steering range of a beam-steering device used to generate the high-resolution virtual imagery such that, e.g., light associated with the virtual imagery can be steered to cover an entire field of view that is visible to the user's eye (see Lu Paragraph [0148]).
Regarding Claim 4, Yamanaka as modified by Peng discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yamanaka as modified by Peng does not expressly disclose that the deflector comprises two or more PB deflectors.
Lu discloses a projector (Figure 8; Display Module 512) comprising a deflector (Figure 8; PBP Grating Stack 802) configured to change a traveling direction of incident light (see Paragraph [0114]; wherein it is disclosed that the switchable PBP grating stack 802 is configured to extend the steering range of the MEMS mirror 524), wherein
the deflector (Figure 8; PBP Grating Stack 802) comprises two or more Pancharatnam deflectors (see Figure 10 and Paragraph [0118]; wherein it is disclosed that the switchable PBP grating stack 802 includes two PBP gratings 1002 and 1006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the deflector of Yamanaka as modified by Peng to comprise two or more PB deflectors, as taught by Lu, because doing so would increase the steering range of a beam-steering device used to generate the high-resolution virtual imagery such that, e.g., light associated with the virtual imagery can be steered to cover an entire field of view that is visible to the user's eye (see Lu Paragraph [0148]).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamanaka as modified by Peng discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yamanaka as modified by Peng does not expressly disclose that the deflector comprises four or more Pancharatnam deflectors.
Lu discloses a projector (Figure 8; Display Module 512) comprising a deflector (Figure 8; PBP Grating Stack 802) configured to change a traveling direction of incident light (see Paragraph [0114]; wherein it is disclosed that the switchable PBP grating stack 802 is configured to extend the steering range of the MEMS mirror 524), wherein
the deflector (Figure 8; PBP Grating Stack 802) comprises two or more Pancharatnam deflectors (see Figure 10 and Paragraph [0118]; wherein it is disclosed that the switchable PBP grating stack 802 includes two PBP gratings 1002 and 1006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the deflector of Yamanaka comprise two or more Pancharatnam deflectors, as taught by Lu, because doing so would increase the steering range of a beam-steering device used to generate the high-resolution virtual imagery such that, e.g., light associated with the virtual imagery can be steered to cover an entire field of view that is visible to the user's eye (see Lu Paragraph [0148]).
Although Yamanaka as modified by Peng and Lu does not expressly disclose that the deflector comprises four or more Pancharatnam deflectors, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Additionally, the applicant has not stated that any long standing or stated problem in the art is solved by providing the deflector with four or more Pancharatnam deflectors. Therefore, absent any showing of criticality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to configure the deflector with one or more Pancharatnam deflectors as it appears the deflector would perform equally well with any desired number of Pancharatnam deflectors incorporated therein.
Regarding Claim 10, Yamanaka as modified by Peng and Lu discloses the limitations of claim 3 as detailed above.
Yamanaka further discloses the deflector (Figure 1; Beam Shifting Section 400) comprises a switchable half-wave plate (see Paragraphs [0061]-[0062]; wherein it is disclosed that the beam shifting section 400 is composed of a polarization rotatable liquid crystal panel 410 and wherein the liquid crystal panel 410 is composed of a TN type liquid crystal panel which can control the rotation of the polarized light by turning on and off voltage applied to the liquid crystal panel 410).
Regarding Claim 11, Yamanaka as modified by Peng and Lu discloses the limitations of claim 4 as detailed above.
Yamanaka further discloses the deflector (Figure 1; Beam Shifting Section 400) comprises a switchable half-wave plate (see Paragraphs [0061]-[0062]; wherein it is disclosed that the beam shifting section 400 is composed of a polarization rotatable liquid crystal panel 410 and wherein the liquid crystal panel 410 is composed of a TN type liquid crystal panel which can control the rotation of the polarized light by turning on and off voltage applied to the liquid crystal panel 410).
Regarding Claim 12, Yamanaka as modified by Peng and Lu discloses the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above.
Yamanaka further discloses the deflector (Figure 1; Beam Shifting Section 400) comprises a switchable half-wave plate (see Paragraphs [0061]-[0062]; wherein it is disclosed that the beam shifting section 400 is composed of a polarization rotatable liquid crystal panel 410 and wherein the liquid crystal panel 410 is composed of a TN type liquid crystal panel which can control the rotation of the polarized light by turning on and off voltage applied to the liquid crystal panel 410).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 14, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitations which require when the traveling directions of the incident P-polarized light and the incident S-polarized light are changed, the projector includes a region in which a first irradiation region irradiated with light from the first reflective display and a second irradiation region irradiated with light from the second reflective display do not overlap each other.
These limitations in combination with the limitations of claim 1 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Dependent claim 15 would likewise be render non-obvious over the prior art of record if the abovementioned amendment were made by virtue of its dependency upon claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882