DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The amended title is noted, however, it contains a typographical error, i.e., “SUB-COLLECOTR” should read, “SUB-COLLECTOR”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 2022/0216303A1; hereinafter, “Yu”) in view of Li et al. (US 8,830,092 B1; hereinafter, “Li”).
Regarding claim 1:
Yu discloses a heterojunction bipolar transistor (HBT) device, comprising:
a substrate 106 (Fig. 10B and [0029]);
a
a collector layer 108 (Fig. 10B and [0032]) formed over the
a base layer 110 (Fig. 10B and [0033]) formed over the collector layer 108;
an emitter layer 112 formed over the base layer 110;
a base electrode 119 (Figs. 10B, 12A, 12B and [0075]) formed over the base layer 110 and comprising a plurality of base fingers (Figs. 12A-12B and [0082]); and
a plurality of emitter strips 114 (Figs. 10B, 12A, 12B and [0035]) formed over the emitter layer 112 and arranged alternately with the plurality of base fingers (Figs. 12A-12B);
Yu does not disclose the sub-collector 104B is metallic.
Li teaches incorporating a metallic sub-collector 40 (Fig. 5 and Col. 4, line 5) into a HBT can significantly improve device performance by reducing collector electrical resistance and providing an efficient path for heat dissipation (e.g., see Col. 5, lines 26-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yu by incorporating a metallic sub-collector, as taught by Li, because the modification could significantly improve device performance.
Regarding claims 2-8 and 10-16:
re claim 2, Yu discloses the heterojunction bipolar transistor device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: a single base mesa 118 (Fig. 10B and [0075]) comprising the collector layer 108 and the base layer 110, wherein the plurality of emitter strips 112/114 (Figs. 10B, 12A, 12B) are disposed over the single base mesa;
re claim 3, Yu discloses the heterojunction bipolar transistor device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: a metal layer 116 (Fig. 10B and [0036]) formed over and electrically connected to the plurality of emitter strips 112/114;
re claim 4, Li discloses a conductive bump 50 (Fig. 5 and Col. 4, line 36) formed over and electrically connected to an emitter 66; accordingly, Yu (in view of Li) renders obvious a conductive bump formed over and electrically connected to the plurality of emitter strips;
re claim 5, Li discloses a second conductive bump 76 (Fig. 5 and Col. 4, line 45) formed over and electrically connected to the metallic sub-collector layer 40 in an area outside the collector layer;
re claim 6, Li discloses a collector contact 78 (Fig. 5 and Col. 4, lines 46) formed between the metallic sub-collector layer 40 and the second conductive bump 76;
re claim 7, Li discloses the emitter 66 (Fig. 5) arranged in a first direction (e.g., x-direction on a plane in a top view), and the first conductive bump 50 and the second conductive bump 79 are arranged in a second direction (e.g., y-direction on the plane in the top view) different from the first direction in a top view (i.e., the emitter and conductive bumps have two dimensions in the top view; accordingly, the emitter is considered to be arranged in the x-direction and the conductive bumps are considered to be arranged in the y-direction); accordingly, Yu (in view of Li) renders obvious the plurality of emitter strips arranged in a first direction, and the first and second conductive bumps arranged in a second, different direction;
re claim 8, Li discloses the emitter 65 is arranged in a direction (e.g., x-direction), and the first conductive bump and the second conductive bump are arranged in the direction (e.g., x-direction) in a top view (i.e., the emitter and conductive bumps have two dimensions in the top view; accordingly, the emitter and the conductive bumps are considered to be arranged in the x-direction); accordingly, Yu (in view of Li) renders obvious the plurality of emitter strips and the conductive bumps being arranged in a same direction;
re claim 10, Yu discloses a dielectric layer 120 (Figs. 1D, 10B and [0042]) formed over the substrate and covering sidewalls of the collector layer 108, the base layer 110, the emitter layer 112, and the
re claim 11, Yu discloses wherein the dielectric layer 20 (Figs. 1D and 10B) further covers a sidewall and a top surface of the base electrode 119;
re claim 12, Yu discloses the plurality of emitter strips 114/112 (Figs. 10B and 12A-12B) and the plurality of base fingers 119 are arranged along a width direction of the base layer (i.e., in a two-dimensional view, a width and length are chosen as desired; accordingly, the arrangement shown in Figs. 12A-12 are considered to be along a width direction of the base layer);
re claim 13, Yu (in view of Li) discloses each of the emitter strips 114/112 (in Yu) overlaps the metallic sub-collector layer (semiconductor “104B” in Yu, and metallic “40” in Li);
re claim 14, Yu (in view of Li) discloses shortest distances from each of the emitter strips 112/114 to the metallic sub-collector layer are substantially same (i.e., the emitter strips are separated from the sub-collector layer by the same two layers, 108/110 in Yu, Fig. 10B);
re claim 15, Yu (in view of Li) discloses a backside via 125 (Fig. 9A and [0044]) formed in the substrate 106; and a backside metal layer 124/104A (Fig. 9B and [0046]) extending from a top surface of the substrate to a bottom surface of the substrate along a sidewall of the backside via and connecting to a metal layer 104A [0028] formed of the same material as the metallic sub-collector layer 104B [0030] (i.e., when Yu’s semiconductor sub-collector is replaced by Li’s metallic sub-collector, this claim is deemed obvious); and
re claim 16, Li discloses a metal layer 76/50/70 (Fig. 5) electrically connected to the emitter strip 66 and vertically overlapping a backside via 72 (accordingly, Yu modified as taught by Li renders the current claim obvious).
Therefore, Yu (in view of Li) renders claims 2-8 and 10-16 obvious.
Regarding claim 17:
Yu discloses a heterojunction bipolar transistor (HBT) device, comprising:
a substrate 102 (Fig. 10B and [0027]);
a collector mesa 108/104B formed on the substrate and comprising a
a base mesa 110 [0033] formed on the collector mesa;
a plurality of emitter mesas 112 (Figs. 10B, 12A-12B and [0035]) formed on the base mesa; and
a base electrode 119 (Fig. 10B, 12A-12B and [0041]) formed on the base mesa and comprising a plurality of base fingers (Figs. 12A-12B arranged alternately with the plurality of emitter mesas 112.
Yu does not disclose the sub-collector 104B is metallic.
Li teaches incorporating a metallic sub-collector 40 (Fig. 5 and Col. 4, line 5) into a HBT can significantly improve device performance by reducing collector electrical resistance and providing an efficient path for heat dissipation (e.g., see Col. 5, lines 26-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yu by incorporating a metallic sub-collector, as taught by Li, because the modification could significantly improve device performance.
Regarding claims 19 and 20:
re claim 19, Yu discloses a collector contact 124 (Fig. 10B and [0045]) formed over the
re claim 20, Yu discloses the plurality of emitter mesas 12 overlap the base mesa 110 (Fig. 10B and 12A-12B) and the
Therefore, Yu (in view of Li) renders claims 19-20 obvious.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (in view of Li) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kurokawa et al. (US 2013/0026541 A1; hereinafter, “Kurokawa”).
Regarding claims 9 and 18:
Yu (in view of Li) does not disclose a passive component.
Kurokawa teaches (in Figs. 5 and 10) a passive component (e.g., C7) formed over a substrate 3s [0110] in an area outside a collector layer 25ci, wherein the passive component C7 comprises a bottom metal layer 12a [0112] formed of the same material (e.g., gold, Au, [0112) as Li’s metallic sub-collector layer 40 (see Li, Fig. 5 and Col. 4, lines 12-13). Kurokawa discloses the integration of the passive device(s) prevents electrostatic breakdown [0002, 0006].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yu (in view of Li) by incorporating a passive component, as taught by Kurokawa, because the modification could provide electrostatic-breakdown prevention.
Remarks
The amendment to the title overcomes the prior objection; however, there is a typographical error that need correction.
Applicant’s remarks have been carefully reviewed and considered, but they are not persuasive primarily because the current claims are directed to a product, e.g., a heterojunction bipolar transistor device. Applicant asserts that the combination of Li to Yu is improper because applicant opines there is no need to bond the alleged sub-collector layer to another wafer (pp. 10 of applicant’s remarks). The examiner respectfully disagrees because Li was cited for teaching that a metallic sub-collector 40 incorporated into a device similar to that of Yu can significantly improve device performance. In other words, the device of Yu could be significantly improved by incorporating a metallic sub-collector as taught by Li; however, a process for incorporating a metallic sub-collector into Yu is not relevant to the current claims, especially because it is the patentability of the final product that must be determined. Therefore, the examiner respectfully asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate a metallic sub-collector into Yu, regardless of any specific process used, because Li teaches such a metallic sub-collector can significantly improve device performance. Accordingly, all pending claims stand rejected under the same grounds presenting in the prior Office action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEX H MALSAWMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892