Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Group I (claims 1-7), drawn to a jig for use in manufacturing a wafer from an ingot, in the reply filed on 04/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 8 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected method of manufacturing a plurality of wafers from each of a plurality of ingot units (Group II).
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on Japanese Application JP2023-002403 dated 01/11/2023 and applicant has filed a certified copy of this Japanese application on 01/26/2024.
Claim Interpretation
(B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; the following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for.";and
Claim 1 recites “a holding mechanism for holding the ingot”. The three prong tests are:
All three prongs are met and therefore this claim limitation is going to be interpreted to invoke 35 USC 112f; par. 0044 of the specification reveals “the recess 10 and the adhesive layer 12 jointly function as a holding mechanism 14 for holding the ingot 1” (first embodiment);par. 0052 of the specification reveals “peel-off layer 13” is the holding mechanism (second embodiment);and par. 0089 of the specification reveals the holding mechanism is a suction mechanism (third embodiment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwakata (US 6718223 B1).
Claim 1 recites a jig that is used for manufacturing a wafer from an ingot and for being delivered while being integrated with the ingot. More limiting the features and relationship between the jig and the ingot and wafer mount to mere components associated with the intended use of the recited jig. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (anticipation rejection affirmed based on Board’s factual finding that the reference dispenser (a spout disclosed as useful for purposes such as dispensing oil from an oil can) would be capable of dispensing popcorn in the manner set forth in appellant’s claim 1 (a dispensing top for dispensing popcorn in a specified manner)) and cases cited therein. See also MPEP § 2112 - MPEP § 2112.02. Thus, the prior art only needs to teach the recited components of the jig.Iwakata teaches (Fig. 6) a jig comprising: a base (base comprises ring frame 6 and adhesive sheet 7) having a holding mechanism (adhesive sheet 7) for holding the ingot (wafer) such that the ingot protrudes therefrom (wafer protrudes from top surface of 7 of the base 6, 7); and an information recording member (data carrier 1) fixed to the base (fixed to top surface of 7 of the base 6, 7) for recording individual information of the ingot identifiably therein (col. 5, lines 1-33: “ information regarding the condition of the semiconductor wafer and the level of quality of each individual circuit and information regarding the data required for a process control are inputted in the data carrier”; also see col. 6, 52-62);jig of Iwakata is used in manufacturing a wafer (by etching process and the lift-off process on semiconductor wafer) from an ingot (wafer before being etch/lift up process) and for being delivered while being integrated with the ingot (the processed wafer and ingot (wafer before processing) are integrated).
Regarding claim 2, Iwakata teaches (Fig. 6) the base has a disk-shaped recess defined therein that has a predetermined depth (depth from top surface of 6 to top surface of 7) for accommodating a bottom portion of the ingot therein (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Iwakata teaches the information recording member includes a plate capable of indicating on a surface thereof information represented by one or more combined of colors, symbols, numerals, letters, figures, patterns, pictures, and two-dimensional codes (barcode plate in col. 1, lines 23-57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwakata in view of Mitarai (US 20040016504 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Iwakata teaches the holding mechanism includes an adhesive layer disposed on the holding surface
Mitarai teaches a ring shaped jig 1 with a holding mechanism includes an adhesive layer disposed on the holding surface and made of an ultraviolet-curable resin having bonding power that is lowered when irradiated with ultraviolet rays (5), and the ingot (3a) is held on the holding surface with the adhesive layer interposed therebetween before the adhesive layer is irradiated with ultraviolet rays (par. 88).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ultraviolet-curable resin for adhesive layer for a “high adhesion strength” (see par. 0090).
Regarding claim 4, Iwakata teaches (Fig. 6 above) the adhesive layer (7) disposed on the holding surface has a thickness smaller than the predetermined depth of the recess (Fig. 6 shows thickness of 7 is less than thickness/depth of 6).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwakata in view of Uland (US 20180253632 A1).
Regarding claims 6-7, Iwakata teaches the information recording member (data carrier 1) includes an integrated circuit tag (col. 9, lines 10-15: “IC chip”) for recording individual information that is read or written via (col. 5, lines 1-33: “ information regarding the condition of the semiconductor wafer and the level of quality of each individual circuit and information regarding the data required for a process control are inputted in the data carrier”; also see col. 6, 52-62); the integrated circuit tag is capable of recording information with respect to manufacture of the wafer in addition to the individual information (col. 5, lines 41-49).
Uland teaches connectable smart label or tag having an integrated circuit IC with wireless communication (see par. 0016, 0019).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wireless communication for the data carrier of Iwakata for easier updates (par. 0115).
Conclusion
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723