Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation “the protruding cell separation element” is indefinite because it is unclear which of the “at least one of the cell separation elements” that protrudes is being referred to or if the limitation is intended to refer to each of the at least one of the cell separation elements.
In claim 2, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention or merely optional. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purposes of examination, the limitation “in particular as a solid metallic plate” and all other limitations including “in particular” will be considered to be optional.
In claim 3, the limitation “the part of the protruding cell separation element” lacks antecedent basis and thus is indefinite because there is no previous recitation of a “part” that protrudes and therefore it is unclear what “part” is being referred to.
In claims 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20, the limitation “the cell separation element” is indefinite because it is unclear which of the cell separation elements is being referred to.
In claim 3, the limitation “in particular wherein the first plate is formed from a metallic material and the second plate is formed from a ceramic material” is indefinite because the phrase "in particular" makes it unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention or merely optional. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In claims 4 and 11, the limitations reading “the protruding part of the cell separation element” lack antecedent basis and thus are indefinite because there is no previous recitation of a “part” that protrudes and therefore it is unclear what “part” is being referred to. Additionally, it is unclear which “cell separation element” is being referred to.
In claims 4, 11, and 12, the limitations “in particular also physically” and “in particular at least one cooling line through which a cooling medium flows” are indefinite because the phrase "in particular" makes it unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention or merely optional. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In claims 5, 13, 14, and 15, the limitation “in particular is reduced” is indefinite because the phrase "in particular" makes it unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention or merely optional. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In claims 6, 16, 17, 18, and 19, the limitation “the specific temperature” lacks antecedent basis and thus is indefinite because there is no previous recitation of a specific temperature and therefore it is unclear what specific temperature is being referred to.
In claims 6, 16, 17, 18, and 19, the limitation “in particular from a solid state of matter to a liquid or gaseous state of matter” is indefinite because the phrase "in particular" makes it unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention or merely optional. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In claims 7, 8, and 20, the limitation “the phase change material” lacks antecedent basis and thus is indefinite because there is no previously recited “phase change material” and therefore it is unclear what phase change material this limitation is referring to.
In claim 8, the limitations “the temperature of the cell separation unit”, “the specific limit value”, and “the part of the protruding cell separation element which protrudes on the side” are indefinite because there is no previous recitation of a “temperature”, “specific limit value”, or “part of the protruding cell separation element” and therefore it is unclear what these limitations are intended to refer to.
Claims 2-20 are indefinite by virtue of depending on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon (US 20200067152 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon (US 20200067152 A1) teaches a battery arrangement with a battery module 100 comprising a plurality of (multiple) battery cells 110 arranged next to one another in a stacking direction and cell covers 120 (one or more cell separation elements) disposed between each of the battery cells arranged next to each other, wherein the cell covers (cell separation elements) protrudes as a second plate 122 on one side of the cell stack from a gap between two battery cells in which the cell separation is arranged, wherein the protruding cell separation element (second plate 122) is connected by an interface sheet 140 to a cooling plate 130 (active cooling device) through which cooling water (cooling medium) flows and which is included as part of the battery arrangement (encompassed by the battery arrangement) (para 0023-0031; Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, Jeon teaches the cell separation elements (cell covers 120) may be made of a metal material and include a first plate 121 and second plate 122 that may be integrally formed together (designed in a single layer and as a metallic plate) (para 0026, 0031; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Jeon teaches the cell cover 120 (cell separation element) includes a phase change material M that may undergo a phase transition such as melting from solid to liquid at a melting point (specific temperature) (para 0024-0025, 0033-0036; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Jeon teaches the cell cover 120 (cell separation element) includes a first plate 121 with an accommodation space/void (receiving structure part with a receiving structure) in which a phase change material M is accommodated at least when the temperature of the cell separation element is lower than a melting point (specific limit value), wherein the first plate (receiving structure part) is integrally formed with a second plate 122 (part of the protruding cell separation element which protrudes on the side) and thus supports/provides the protruding part (para 0024-0026, 0033-0034; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Jeon teaches a cell separation element for a battery module designed as one of the cell separation elements of the battery arrangement according to claim 1, as described in the claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 10, Jeon teaches a motor vehicle may include the battery arrangement described in the claim 1 rejection above (para 0014, 0022, 0034, claim 1).
Regarding claim 16, Jeon teaches the cell cover 120 (cell separation element) includes a phase change material M that may undergo a phase transition such as melting from solid to liquid at a melting point (specific temperature) (para 0024-0025, 0033-0036; Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 20200067152 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (US 20240213567 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Jeon teaches the cell separation elements (cell covers 120) may include a (first) plate 121 made of a metal (first material) having high heat conductivity that provides the part of the protruding cell separation element (122) that protrudes on the side and a phase change material M (second plate) within the first plate 121 (para 0024, 0025-0026, 0031; Fig. 3). Jeon fails to explicitly teach the second plate is made of a second material designed in a way that the second plate has a lower specific thermal conductivity than the first plate. However, Liu (US 20240213567 A1), in the analogous art of battery cell separators, teaches thermal interlayer devices 316 (cell separation elements) between battery cells 312, where the thermal interlayer devices includes thermally conducting layers (340-1, 340-2) made of metal (first plate) and a thermally resistant layer 342 made of a heat resistant material that may include a phase change material and/or silica (ceramic material) (second material designed in a way that the second plate has a lower specific thermal conductivity than the first plate) (para 0008-0009, 0031, 0045-0046; Fig. 3). Jeon teaches the first plate 121 may include a phase change material accommodated within a space within the plate (para 0025-0026). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the phase change material of Jeon with a thermally resistant layer comprising a phase change material and/or silica or other heat-resistant materials (designed such that the second plate has a lower specific thermal conductivity), as described by Liu, because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Jeon and Liu teaches the cell cover 120 (cell separation element) includes a phase change material M that may undergo a phase transition such as melting from solid to liquid at a melting point (specific temperature) (Jeon para 0024-0025, 0033-0036; Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 20200067152 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Choi (US 20250023141 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Jeon fails to explicitly teach a housing in which the cell stack is arranged, wherein the housing comprises a housing wall, wherein the protruding part of the cell separation element provides a coupling surface which is arranged on the housing wall, wherein the active cooling device is provided by the housing wall or the housing wall is connected thermally in contact with the active cooling device or wherein the protruding part of the cell separation unit is led out through an opening in the housing wall to the outside of the housing and is connected to the cooling device. However, Choi (US 20250023141 A1), in the analogous art of battery cells, teaches a cooling housing 20 to surround a battery group 10 (housing in which the cell stack is arranged) comprising a housing wall made up of a cooling plate 20a and side plates 20b, where the battery group may be placed on a heat transfer member and cooling plate 20a to cool the battery cells by dissipating heat generated in the battery cells (para 0080, 0082-0087, 0103-0104, 0108; Fig. 1). Jeon teaches battery cells 110 may be disposed on a cooling plate 130 and interface sheet 140, similarly to Choi, wherein the cooling plate is in contact with a coupling surface of the second plate 122 (protruding part of the cell separation element) (para 0023-0026, 0031-0032; Fig. 1-3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the cooling plate of Jeon with the cooling housing including a cooling plate described by Choi because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). As a result, the cell stack is arranged within the cooling housing and the cooling plate (active cooling device) is part of the housing wall (provided by the housing wall) coupled to the protruding part of the cell separation element.
Regarding claim 11, Jeon fails to explicitly teach a housing in which the cell stack is arranged, wherein the housing comprises a housing wall, wherein the protruding part of the cell separation element provides a coupling surface which is arranged on the housing wall, wherein the active cooling device is provided by the housing wall or the housing wall is connected thermally in contact with the active cooling device or wherein the protruding part of the cell separation unit is led out through an opening in the housing wall to the outside of the housing and is connected to the cooling device. However, Choi (US 20250023141 A1), in the analogous art of battery cells, teaches a cooling housing 20 to surround a battery group 10 (housing in which the cell stack is arranged) comprising a housing wall made up of a cooling plate 20a and side plates 20b, where the battery group may be placed on a heat transfer member and cooling plate 20a to cool the battery cells by dissipating heat generated in the battery cells (para 0080, 0082-0087, 0103-0104, 0108; Fig. 1). Jeon teaches battery cells 110 may be disposed on a cooling plate 130 and interface sheet 140, similarly to Choi, wherein the cooling plate is in contact with a coupling surface of the second plate 122 (protruding part of the cell separation element) (para 0023-0026, 0031-0032; Fig. 1-3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the cooling plate of Jeon with the cooling housing including a cooling plate described by Choi because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). As a result, the cell stack is arranged within the cooling housing and the cooling plate (active cooling device) is part of the housing wall (provided by the housing wall) coupled to the protruding part of the cell separation element.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Jeon and Choi teaches the cell cover 120 (cell separation element) includes a phase change material M that may undergo a phase transition such as melting from solid to liquid at a melting point (specific temperature) (Jeon para 0024-0025, 0033-0036; Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 5, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 20200067152 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Schieler (US 20210376403 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Jeon fails to explicitly teach the cell separation element is designed such that its thermal conductivity changes when a temperature of the cell separation element reaches or exceeds a certain limit value. However, Schieler (US 20210376403 A1), in the analogous art of battery modules, teaches an encasing material between each of the battery cells (16a-16g), where the encasing material has a limit temperature (certain limit value) at or above which the encasing material has a second thermal conductivity lower than a first thermal conductivity to provide thermal insulation in the case of a runaway of a damaged battery cell in order to protect the other battery cells (para 0010, 0035-0037; Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an encasing material of silicone, as described by Schieler, at least partially between each of the battery cells to insulate adjacent battery cells from each other in the case of thermal runaway of a damaged battery cell. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the metal cell separation material of Jeon with the silicone separation/encasing material of Schieler to provide thermal insulation in the case of thermal runaway of a damaged battery cell because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 13, Jeon fails to explicitly teach the cell separation element is designed such that its thermal conductivity changes when a temperature of the cell separation element reaches or exceeds a certain limit value. However, Schieler (US 20210376403 A1), in the analogous art of battery modules, teaches an encasing material between each of the battery cells (16a-16g), where the encasing material has a limit temperature (certain limit value) at or above which the encasing material has a second thermal conductivity lower than a first thermal conductivity to provide thermal insulation in the case of a runaway of a damaged battery cell in order to protect the other battery cells (para 0010, 0035-0037; Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an encasing material of silicone, as described by Schieler, at least partially between each of the battery cells to insulate adjacent battery cells from each other in the case of thermal runaway of a damaged battery cell. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the metal cell separation material of Jeon with the silicone separation/encasing material of Schieler to provide thermal insulation in the case of thermal runaway of a damaged battery cell because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Jeon and Schieler teaches the cell cover 120 (cell separation element) includes a phase change material M that may undergo a phase transition such as melting from solid to liquid at a melting point (specific temperature) (Jeon para 0024-0025, 0033-0036; Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 20200067152 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Lokhorst (US 20190386359 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Jeon teaches the cell cover 120 (cell separation element) includes a phase change material M that may undergo a phase transition such as melting from solid to liquid at a melting point (specific temperature) (para 0024-0025, 0033-0036; Fig. 3). Jeon fails to explicitly teach the cell separation element is designed such that at least part of the phase change material escapes from the cell separation element and from the gap after at least partial phase transition. However, Lokhorst (US 20190386359 A1), in the analogous art of battery modules, teaches that a phase change material (PCM) 302 held within a compartment may be vented after evaporating if the cell enters thermal runaway (designed such that at least part of the phase change material escapes from the cell separation element and from the gap after at least partial phase transition) (para 0075-0076; Fig. 3A). Jeon teaches the phase change material may be included in an accommodation chamber/space 123 within the first plate 121 of the cell cover 120 (cell separation element) in a gap between battery cells 110 (para 0025; Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a vent, as described by Lokhorst, for allowing the phase change material to escape from the compartment of Jeon in the case of thermal runaway in order to prevent overpressurization from the phase change material evaporating.
Regarding claim 20, Jeon teaches the cell cover 120 (cell separation element) includes a phase change material M that may undergo a phase transition such as melting from solid to liquid at a melting point (specific temperature) (para 0024-0025, 0033-0036; Fig. 3). Jeon fails to explicitly teach the cell separation element is designed such that at least part of the phase change material escapes from the cell separation element and from the gap after at least partial phase transition. However, Lokhorst (US 20190386359 A1), in the analogous art of battery modules, teaches that a phase change material (PCM) 302 held within a compartment may be vented after evaporating if the cell enters thermal runaway (designed such that at least part of the phase change material escapes from the cell separation element and from the gap after at least partial phase transition) (para 0075-0076; Fig. 3A). Jeon teaches the phase change material may be included in an accommodation chamber/space 123 within the first plate 121 of the cell cover 120 (cell separation element) in a gap between battery cells 110 (para 0025; Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a vent, as described by Lokhorst, for allowing the phase change material to escape from the compartment of Jeon in the case of thermal runaway in order to prevent overpressurization from the phase change material evaporating.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 20200067152 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Jeon teaches that the battery arrangement described in the claim 1 rejection above is intended for a vehicle that may include a motor vehicle (para 0014, 0022, 0034, claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the battery arrangement of Jeon in a motor vehicle as a power source.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 20200067152 A1) in view of Liu (US 20240213567 A1), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Choi (US 20250023141 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Jeon and Liu fails to explicitly teach a housing in which the cell stack is arranged, wherein the housing comprises a housing wall, wherein the protruding part of the cell separation element provides a coupling surface which is arranged on the housing wall, wherein the active cooling device is provided by the housing wall or the housing wall is connected thermally in contact with the active cooling device or wherein the protruding part of the cell separation unit is led out through an opening in the housing wall to the outside of the housing and is connected to the cooling device. However, Choi (US 20250023141 A1), in the analogous art of battery cells, teaches a cooling housing 20 to surround a battery group 10 (housing in which the cell stack is arranged) comprising a housing wall made up of a cooling plate 20a and side plates 20b, where the battery group may be placed on a heat transfer member and cooling plate 20a to cool the battery cells by dissipating heat generated in the battery cells (para 0080, 0082-0087, 0103-0104, 0108; Fig. 1). Jeon teaches battery cells 110 may be disposed on a cooling plate 130 and interface sheet 140, similarly to Choi, wherein the cooling plate is in contact with a coupling surface of the second plate 122 (protruding part of the cell separation element) (para 0023-0026, 0031-0032; Fig. 1-3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the cooling plate of Jeon with the cooling housing including a cooling plate described by Choi because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). As a result, the cell stack is arranged within the cooling housing and the cooling plate (active cooling device) is part of the housing wall (provided by the housing wall) coupled to the protruding part of the cell separation element.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 20200067152 A1) in view of Liu (US 20240213567 A1), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Schieler (US 20210376403 A1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Jeon and Liu fails to explicitly teach the cell separation element is designed such that its thermal conductivity changes when a temperature of the cell separation element reaches or exceeds a certain limit value. However, Schieler (US 20210376403 A1), in the analogous art of battery modules, teaches an encasing material between each of the battery cells (16a-16g), where the encasing material has a limit temperature (certain limit value) at or above which the encasing material has a second thermal conductivity lower than a first thermal conductivity to provide thermal insulation in the case of a runaway of a damaged battery cell in order to protect the other battery cells (para 0010, 0035-0037; Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an encasing material of silicone, as described by Schieler, at least partially between each of the battery cells to insulate adjacent battery cells from each other in the case of thermal runaway of a damaged battery cell. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the metal cell separation material of Jeon with the silicone separation/encasing material of Schieler to provide thermal insulation in the case of thermal runaway of a damaged battery cell because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 20200067152 A1) in view of Choi (US 20250023141 A1), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Schieler (US 20210376403 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Jeon and Choi fails to explicitly teach the cell separation element is designed such that its thermal conductivity changes when a temperature of the cell separation element reaches or exceeds a certain limit value. However, Schieler (US 20210376403 A1), in the analogous art of battery modules, teaches an encasing material between each of the battery cells (16a-16g), where the encasing material has a limit temperature (certain limit value) at or above which the encasing material has a second thermal conductivity lower than a first thermal conductivity to provide thermal insulation in the case of a runaway of a damaged battery cell in order to protect the other battery cells (para 0010, 0035-0037; Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an encasing material of silicone, as described by Schieler, at least partially between each of the battery cells to insulate adjacent battery cells from each other in the case of thermal runaway of a damaged battery cell. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the metal cell separation material of Jeon with the silicone separation/encasing material of Schieler to provide thermal insulation in the case of thermal runaway of a damaged battery cell because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Conclusion
/PATRICK S OTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1794