DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11 re rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oppenheimer (US 9,441,362) and further in view of Zhang (CN 106813525A).
With regard to claim 1, Oppenheimer discloses an inkjet printer (110) comprising at least one baffle member (150) [plate; Col. 2; line 12-15; Fig.2] defining a surface that is positioned opposite a portion of a media path [Col. 2; lines 10-12] through the inkjet printer, and
a mesh (160) [Col. 2; lines 29-35].
Oppenheimer does not disclose the baffle member surface defining at least one concave recess; and the mesh disposed over the at least one concave recess between the at least one concave recess and the media path.
However, Zhang teaches a plate surface (1) defining at least one concave recess [Para. 0015; Fig. 1] and a mesh (4) disposed over that at least one concave recess.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the plate of Oppenheimer with at least one concave recessed covered by a mesh for the purpose of supporting return water structures at the mounting holes, which often affects some heat transfer performance.
Modifying the plate of Oppenheimer with at least one concave recess and a mesh disposed over that at least one concave recess places the mesh between the at least one concave recess and the media path and therefore satisfies the claim.
With regard to claim 11, Oppenheimer discloses a baffle (140) [Col. 2; lines 10-12] for an inkjet printer (110) comprising:
at least one baffle member (150) [plate; Col. 2; lines 12-15] having a first end and a second end [Figs. 1, 2, 4] and a surface extending from the first end to the second end [Figs. 1, 2, 4], and
a mesh (160).
Oppenheimer does not disclose the surface defining at least one concave recess configured to provide a nucleation site; and a mesh disposed over the at least one concave recess in the at least one baffle member and configured to obstruct condensate from dropping out of the nucleation site.
However, Zhang teaches a plate surface (1) defining at least one concave recess [Para. 0015; Fig. 1] providing a nucleation site [cavity support fluid condensed into a liquid state; Para. 0071] and a mesh (4) disposed over that at least one concave recess in the at least one baffle member [Para. 0041; Fig. 1] and configured to obstruct condensate from dropping out of the nucleation site.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the plate of Oppenheimer with at least one concave recessed covered by a mesh for the purpose of supporting return water structures at the mounting holes, which often affects some heat transfer performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claims 2-10 is the inclusion of the limitations of at least one concave recess is coated with a material having a specific heat capacity that is greater than a specific heat capacity of a metal used to form the at least one baffle member. It is this limitation(s) found in the claims, as they are claimed in the combination of, that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claims 12-20 is the inclusion of the limitations of at least one concave recess is coated with a material having a specific heat capacity that is greater than a specific heat capacity of a metal used to form the at least one baffle member. It is this limitation(s) found in the claims, as they are claimed in the combination of, that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/TRACEY M MCMILLION/Examiner, Art Unit 2853