Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/13/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC 103 in view of Romanovsky have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pengli CN 106290390.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 15, 18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pengli CN 106290390.
With respect to claim 1, Pengli discloses a defect detection apparatus comprising:
A plurality of inspection heads configured to perform inspection of a wafer wherein each of the plurality of inspection heads is configured to inspect a corresponding region of a plurality of regions of the wafer (P.0009, Figure 1, inspection head = detection unit 60 + illumination source 10 and optics in between, P.0035)
Each of the plurality of inspection heads comprises: an illumination subsystem configured to illuminate with a beam of light, a corresponding region of the wafer (P.0013-14, illumination subsystem = illumination unit 10, P.0034 Figure 1)
A collection subsystem configured to collect a portion of light generated upon interaction of the beam of light with the corresponding region of the wafer (P.0015, collection subsystem = objective lenses + beamsplitters, 30, 20, 50)
A light detection subsystem configured to detect the collected light and generate one or more signals representative of a state of the corresponding region of the wafer (P.0015, light detection subsystem = detection unit 60, P.0037)
A processing device configured to cause relative distance between at least two inspection heads of the plurality of inspection heads to change during the inspection of the wafer (Figure 1, horizontal adjustment mechanism 80, P.0038)
Determine using the one or more signals received from each of the plurality of inspection heads during the inspection of the wafer, a quality of the wafer (P.0050)
With respect to claim 2, Pengli discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. In addition, Pengli discloses:
The beam of light comprises a beam of light normally incident on the corresponding region of the wafer (Figure 1, beams normal to the surface= angle of incident = 0)
With respect to claim 15, Pengli discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. In addition, Pengli discloses:
Each detection subsystem comprises a CCD or CMOS (P.0037)
With respect to claim 18, Pengli discloses a wafer inspection method comprising:
Illuminating a plurality of regions of the wafer, wherein each region of the plurality of regions is illuminated by a respective illumination subsystem of a plurality of illumination subsystems (P.0034, Figure 1)
Collecting a plurality of portions of light, wherein each of the plurality of portions of light is collected by a respective collection subsystem of a plurality of collection subsystems (P.0035)
Detecting the collected plurality of portions of light, wherein each collected portion of light of the plurality of collected portions of light is detected by a respective detection subsystem of a plurality of detection subsystems
Generating a plurality of signals, wherein each signal of the plurality of signals is generated using a respective collected portion of light of the plurality of collected portions of light (P.0037)
Determining using the plurality of signals, a quality of the wafer, wherein relative distance between the two illumination subsystems of the plurality of illumination subsystems to change during the inspection of the wafer (P.0038, P.0050)
With respect to claim 22, Pengli discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 18 above. In addition, Pengli discloses:
Each signal of the plurality of signals is generated using a respective collected portion of light of the plurality of collected portions of light (P.0037)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pengli CN 106290390.
With respect to claim 7, Pengli discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. However, Pengli fails to disclose the illumination subsystem comprises a pulse stretcher configured to reduce peak power of the beam of light.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a pulse stretcher for the laser of Pengli since pulse stretchers are well known. The examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that pulse stretchers are commonly used with lasers to make short pulses long enough for slower detectors to read them. Evidence can be found in U.S. Publication 2004/0095573.
With respect to claims 13, 14, and 21, Pengli discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 and 18 above. Additionally, Pengli discloses that the inspection heads are the movable elements that rotate and translate relative to the wafer (Figure 3).
However, Pengli fails to disclose repositioning using a movable stage configured to impart translational and rotational motion to the wafer relative to the inspection heads.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute a movable stage for the movable inspection heads since both result in relative movement between the two. Moving the stage rather than the inspection heads would be simpler since the inspection heads have more electronics and connections and require accuracy of optical alignment that could be risked by movement.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pengli CN 106290390 in view of Elyasaf et al. U.S. Patent #7,841,529.
With respect to claim 3, Pengli discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 2 above. However, Pengli fails to disclose each illumination subsystem further includes an additional beam of light at an angle of incidence exceeding 45 degrees.
Elyasaf discloses a multi-head inspection system comprising:
Each illumination subsystem configured to illuminate is further configured to illuminate the corresponding region of the wafer with a beam of light normally incident on the corresponding region of the wafer at an angle of incident not exceeding 10 degrees and an additional beam of light, wherein the additional beam of light comprises a beam of light obliquely incident on the corresponding region of the wafer at the angle of incidence exceeding 45 degrees (Figure 3, dark field illumination and bright field illumination)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the dark field and bright field illumination for each detection unit as in Elyasaf since it would maximize both sensitivity and throughput of wafer inspection. Using multiple illumination angles for the inspection systems of Pengli results in a more complete picture of the wafer quality being able to pick up a greater variety of defects.
With respect to claim 4, Pengli in view of Elyasaf discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 3 above. In addition, Elyasaf discloses:
A first light source to generate the beam of light (Figure 3, Col.3, l 62- Col.4, l 2)
A second light source to generate the additional beam of light (Figure 3, Col.3, l 62- Col.4, l 2)
With respect to claim 5 and 6, Pengli in view of Elyasaf discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 above. In addition, Pengli discloses:
Each illumination subsystem comprises a laser (P.0013)
However, Pengli and Elyasaf is silent as to whether the laser is pulsed or continuous and that the pulsed laser is an excimer gain medium.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a pulsed or continuous layer since selecting one of a discrete group of options known in the art is within ordinary skill. Lasers can either be pulsed or continuous with each providing their own applications and one of ordinary skill would necessarily select among those options. Additionally, an excimer gain medium is common for pulsed lasers in order to provide high peak power and clean photoablation at DUV wavelengths. Evidence of Official Notice can be found in U.S. Publication 2004/0095573.
With respect to claim 16, Pengli in view of Elyasaf discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. However, Pengli fails to disclose a first inspection head is configured to illuminate at an angle of incidence not exceeding 10 degrees and a second inspection head configured to illuminate the target at a second angle of incidence exceeding 45 degrees.
Elyasaf discloses:
An angle of incidence not exceeding 10 degrees and an additional angle of incidence exceeding 45 degrees (Figure 3, dark field illumination and bright field illumination)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use both angles of illumination for the inspection of Pengli since as taught by Elyasaf using both bright field and dark field illumination allows greater sensitivity to defects of different types.
With respect to claim 17, Pengli discloses a defect detection apparatus comprising:
A first inspection head configured to inspect a first region of the wafer comprising a first illumination subsystem configured to illuminate the first region with a first normally incident light and a first collection subsystem configured to collect a first reflected light wherein the first reflected light is generated upon interaction of the first normally incident light with the first region, a first light detection subsystem configured to generate using the first reflected light one or more first signals representative of a quality of the first region (P.0013-15, Figure 3, first illumination subsystem = 10, first collection subsystem= 60, first region = 70a)
A second inspection head configured to inspect a second region of the wafer concurrently with the first inspection head inspecting the first region of the wafer wherein the second inspection head comprises a second illumination subsystem configured to illuminate the second region with a second normally incident light and a second collection subsystem configured to collect a second reflected light wherein the second reflected light is generated upon interaction of the second normally incident light with the second region a second light detection subsystem configured to generate one or more signals representative of a quality of the second region (P.0013-15, Figure 3, second illumination subsystem = 10, second collection subsystem= 60, second region = 70b)
A processing device configured to cause relative distance between at least two inspection heads of the plurality of inspection heads to change during the inspection of the wafer (Figure 1, horizontal adjustment mechanism 80, P.0038)
Determine using the one or more signals received from each of the plurality of inspection heads during the inspection of the wafer, a quality of the wafer (P.0050)
However, Pengli fails to disclose the illumination subsystems have both normally-incident and obliquely-incident light and collect scattered light from the obliquely incident light.
Elyasaf discloses a multi-head inspection system comprising:
Each illumination subsystem configured to illuminate is further configured to illuminate the corresponding region of the wafer with a beam of light normally incident on the corresponding region of the wafer at an angle of incident not exceeding 10 degrees and an additional beam of light, wherein the additional beam of light comprises a beam of light obliquely incident on the corresponding region of the wafer at the angle of incidence exceeding 45 degrees (Figure 3, dark field illumination and bright field illumination)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the two illumination angles for each detection unit and collecting scattered light as in Elyasaf since it would maximize both sensitivity and throughput of wafer inspection. Using multiple illumination angles for the inspection systems of Pengli results in a more complete picture of the wafer quality being able to pick up a greater variety of defects.
With respect to claim 19, Pengli discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 18 above. In addition, Pengli discloses:
Illuminating a first region of the plurality of regions with a beam of light generated by a first illumination subsystem of the plurality of illumination subsystems wherein the beam of light is normally incident on the first region at an angle of incidence not exceeding 10 degrees (Figure 1)
However, Pengli fails to disclose illuminating a first region with an additional beam of light at an angle of incidence exceeding 45 degrees.
Elyasaf discloses a multi-head inspection system comprising:
Each illumination subsystem configured to illuminate is further configured to illuminate the corresponding region of the wafer with a beam of light normally incident on the corresponding region of the wafer at an angle of incident not exceeding 10 degrees and an additional beam of light, wherein the additional beam of light comprises a beam of light obliquely incident on the corresponding region of the wafer at the angle of incidence exceeding 45 degrees (Figure 3, dark field illumination and bright field illumination)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the dark field and bright field illumination for each detection unit as in Elyasaf since it would maximize both sensitivity and throughput of wafer inspection. Using multiple illumination angles for the inspection systems of Pengli results in a more complete picture of the wafer quality being able to pick up a greater variety of defects.
With respect to claim 8, 9, 10, and 20, Pengli in view of Elyasaf discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 19 above. However, Pengli and Elyasaf fails to disclose a spectra distribution, intensity, size, or polarization state of the first beam of light is different from the additional beam of light and the collection subsystems are independently configurable to have different sized collection areas, numerical apertures, or polarization states or characterized by a different gain.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to vary the types of light use for inspection and collection configuration as described with respect to the angles in claim 19 above. Using different spectral distributions or polarizations would result in better sensitivity for a variety of surfaces being inspected as is well known in the art. The examiner takes Official Notice that having separably controllable illumination and detection systems allows for a variety of applications, maximizing sensitivity to whatever surfaces are being inspected as evidenced by U.S. Publication 2012/0044486.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pengli CN 106290390 in view of Reich U.S. Publication 2013/0050689.
With respect to claims 11 and 12, Pengli discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. In addition, Pengli discloses:
Wherein the beam of light of a first inspection head of the plurality of inspection heads has a reduced power compared to the beam of light of a second inspection head (P.0035-36, wherein the different magnifications of the objective lens results in different power levels per area on the surface from the illumination)
However, Pengli fails to disclose the processing device is configured to locate a contaminated region with the first inspection head and responsive to the contaminated region meeting a threshold condition, use either the first inspection head with adjusted power or the second inspection head to inspect the contaminated region.
Reich discloses a multi-spot surface inspection system comprising:
Wherein the beam of light of a first inspection head of the plurality of inspection heads has a reduced power compared to the beam of light of the second inspection head (abstract)
Located, using the beam of light of the first inspection head, a contaminated region of the wafer (abstract)
Responsive to the contaminated region meeting a threshold condition, cause the inspection of the contaminated region using at least one of a second inspection head (abstract, P.0053)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the multi-spot illumination and collection control as in Reich for differing the illumination of Pengli since this allows detection of large particles without damaging the wafer (P.0005).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA C BRYANT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877