DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2011/0096555 Pires et al.
Regarding claim 1, Pires teaches a laminated glass (paragraph 0001) comprising:
at least two glass members 1,4 and at least one adhesive film 2 (paragraph 0055) disposed in a stacked manner, where the at least two glass members and the at least one adhesive film are alternately disposed (figure 1); and
at least two decorative layers provided on surfaces (figure 1) of the at least two glass members (paragraphs 0011 and 0047, each covered with a film of lacquer and ink) facing toward the at least one adhesive film (figure 1), wherein:
a first one of the at least two decorative layers comprises a top layer having a texture, an optical coating layer (the lacquer, paragraph 0011, where the lacquer is an optical coating and everything has a texture), and a pattern layer (screen printed ink, paragraph 0047) stacked in a first stacking sequence (figure 1), and
a second one of the at least two decorative layers comprises a top layer having a texture, an optical coating layer (the lacquer, paragraph 0011, where the lacquer is an optical coating and everything has a texture), and two pattern layers (screen printed ink in multiple colors requires multiple layers, paragraph 0047) stacked in a second stacking sequence (figure 1),
wherein the first stacking sequence and the second stacking sequence are different (second requiring an extra pattern layer),
each of the optical coating layers comprises a plurality of different coating layers (including an adhesion promoting layer, paragraph 0037, or optionally a silver reflecting film on one side, for example, paragraph 0046) which comprise a titanium oxide or zirconium oxide layer (paragraph 0038), and a sequence and quantities of the different coating layers of each of the optical coating layers are selected according to a target appearance effect (paragraph 0011, allowing for different effects based on the viewed side).
Regarding claim 2, Pires teaches that
the at least two glass members comprise a first glass member 1 and a second glass member 4 (paragraph 0055),
the at least one adhesive film 2 comprises a first adhesive film (paragraph 0055),
the first glass member, the first adhesive film, and the second glass member are stacked from bottom to top (figure 1), and
the decorative layers are provided on an upper surface of the first glass member and a lower surface of the second glass member (paragraph 0011, on each glass layer, and paragraph 0012, within the glazing).
Regarding claim 3, Pires teaches that
the at least two glass members comprise a first glass member 1, a second glass member 4 (paragraph 0055), and a third glass member (paragraph 0011, three glass sheets),
the at least one adhesive film 2 comprises a first adhesive film (paragraph 0055) and a second adhesive film (paragraph 0011, two polymer interlayers),
the first glass member, the first adhesive film, the second glass member, the second adhesive film and the third glass member are stacked from bottom to top (figure 1 and paragraph 0011), and
the decorative layers are provided on an upper surface of the first glass member and a lower surface of the second glass member, an upper surface of the second glass member and a lower surface of the third glass member (paragraph 0011, on each glass layer, and paragraph 0012, within the glazing).
Regarding claim 5, Pires teaches a base color layer (colored lacquer), wherein the base color layer is disposed on a lower surface of a lowermost glass member of the at least two glass members (paragraph 0047, disposed on the lower surface via the pattern).
Regarding claim 6, Pires teaches that the texture is coupled with (adjacent to, paragraph 0047) an etched pattern that is formed by etching a surface of each of the at least two glass members (paragraph 0045), the etching is performed from a top of the surface (where etching begins at the surface) to a middle (etching extends in a direction towards the middle) of each of the at least two glass members (paragraph 0045), and a matte level in the middle is lower than a matte level on the top (where the top portions may be left glossy in the protected zones while the etched portions may be frosted by acid or sandblasting, paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 7, Pires teaches that the etched texture comprises a pattern texture (paragraph 0045, applied in particular zones).
Regarding claim 8, Pires teaches that the optical coating layer has a predetermined color (paragraph 0002, pigment of desired color).
Regarding claim 9, Pires teaches that the pattern layer is formed from ink (paragraph 0047, inkjet printing), and
orthographic projections of the pattern layers on the at least two glass members are not overlapped (paragraph 0011 and paragraph 0045, different appearances from different sides and etching in different particular zones, such that lack of etching in a zone would not be the decorative layer of claim 1 and therefore would not overlap the corresponding etched portion of the other pattern layer).
Regarding claim 10, Pires teaches that pattern layer in an uppermost decorative layer (either or both layers) of the decorative layers comprises a mirror silver logo (paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 11, Pires teaches that a material forming the at least one adhesive film comprises polyvinyl butyral (paragraph 0015).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2014/015840 Wang et al in view of US 2011/0096555 Pires et al.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a laminated glass (page 1, lines 5-8), comprising:
at least two glass members 502, 504 and at least one adhesive film 503 (page 5, lines 19-23) disposed in a stacked manner, where the glass members and the adhesive film are alternately disposed (figure 5b); and
decorative optical surfaces (page 4, lines 22-24).
Wang does not teach decorative layers with etching and pattern features. Pires teaches a laminated glass (paragraph 0001) comprising:
at least two glass members 1,4 and at least one adhesive film 2 (paragraph 0055) disposed in a stacked manner, where the at least two glass members and the at least one adhesive film are alternately disposed (figure 1); and
at least two decorative layers provided on surfaces (figure 1) of the at least two glass members (paragraphs 0011 and 0047, each covered with a film of lacquer and ink) facing toward the at least one adhesive film (figure 1), wherein:
a first one of the at least two decorative layers comprises a top layer having a texture, an optical coating layer (the lacquer, paragraph 0011, where the lacquer is an optical coating and everything has a texture), and a pattern layer (screen printed ink, paragraph 0047) stacked in a first stacking sequence (figure 1), and
a second one of the at least two decorative layers comprises a top layer having a texture, an optical coating layer (the lacquer, paragraph 0011, where the lacquer is an optical coating and everything has a texture), and two pattern layers (screen printed ink in multiple colors requires multiple layers, paragraph 0047) stacked in a second stacking sequence (figure 1),
wherein the first stacking sequence and the second stacking sequence are different (second requiring an extra pattern layer),
each of the optical coating layers comprises a plurality of different coating layers (including an adhesion promoting layer, paragraph 0037, or optionally a silver reflecting film on one side, for example, paragraph 0046) which comprise a titanium oxide or zirconium oxide layer (paragraph 0038), and a sequence and quantities of the different coating layers of each of the optical coating layers are selected according to a target appearance effect (paragraph 0011, allowing for different effects based on the viewed side).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the decorative layers of Pires in the product of Wang because the internal decorative layers of Pires (paragraph 0012, within the glazing) provides decoration that has improved durability, scratchability and safety (paragraph 0012), while also being more complex than the simple colored glasses of Wang (etching and printed decoration, paragraphs 0045 and 0047).
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Pires teaches most of the limitations with respect to claim 1 above. Wang further teaches an electronic device housing, wherein at least part of the electronic device housing is formed of the laminated glass (page 1, lines 5-8).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Wang teaches that
the at least two glass members comprise a first glass member 502 and a second glass member 504 (page 5, lines 19-23),
the at least one adhesive film 503 comprises a first adhesive film (page 5, lines 19-23),
the first glass member, the first adhesive film, and the second glass member are stacked from bottom to top (figure 5b).
Wang does not teach decorative layers. Pires teaches that the at least two glass members comprise a first glass member 1 and a second glass member 4 (paragraph 0055),
the at least one adhesive film 2 comprises a first adhesive film (paragraph 0055),
the first glass member, the first adhesive film, and the second glass member are stacked from bottom to top (figure 1), and
the decorative layers are provided on an upper surface of the first glass member and a lower surface of the second glass member (paragraph 0011, on each glass layer, and paragraph 0012, within the glazing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the decorative layers of Pires in the product of Wang because the internal decorative layers of Pires (paragraph 0012, within the glazing) provides decoration that has improved durability, scratchability and safety (paragraph 0012), while also being more complex than the simple colored glasses of Wang (etching and printed decoration, paragraphs 0045 and 0047).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Wang teaches that
the at least two glass members comprise a first glass member 502, a second glass member 504, and a third glass member 504 (figure 5b),
the at least one adhesive film comprises a first adhesive film 503 and a second adhesive film 503 (figure 5b),
the first glass member, the first adhesive film, the second glass member, the second adhesive film, and the third glass member are stacked from bottom to top (figure 5b).
Wang does not teach decorative layers. Pires teaches that the at least two glass members comprise a first glass member 1, a second glass member 4 (paragraph 0055), and a third glass member (paragraph 0011, three glass sheets),
the at least one adhesive film 2 comprises a first adhesive film (paragraph 0055) and a second adhesive film (paragraph 0011, two polymer interlayers),
the first glass member, the first adhesive film, the second glass member, the second adhesive film and the third glass member are stacked from bottom to top (figure 1 and paragraph 0011), and
the decorative layers are provided on an upper surface of the first glass member and a lower surface of the second glass member, an upper surface of the second glass member and a lower surface of the third glass member (paragraph 0011, on each glass layer, and paragraph 0012, within the glazing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the decorative layers of Pires in the product of Wang because the internal decorative layers of Pires (paragraph 0012, within the glazing) provides decoration that has improved durability, scratchability and safety (paragraph 0012), while also being more complex than the simple colored glasses of Wang (etching and printed decoration, paragraphs 0045 and 0047).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Wang teaches that a thickness of each of the at least two glass members is in a range from 0.05 mm to 2 mm (page 4, lines 26-27 and page 5, lines 10-11); and
a thickness of each of the at least one adhesive film is in a range from 0.002 mm to 0.3 mm (page 5, lines 25-26).
“In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists,” (MPEP 2144.05 Section I). Therefore, absent evidence of criticality, the taught range of 0.05 mm to 2 mm reads on the claimed range of 0.2 mm to 0.5 mm, and the taught range of 0.002 mm to 0.3 mm reads on the claimed range of 0.025 mm to 0.1 mm.
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Pires teaches a base color layer (colored lacquer), wherein the base color layer is disposed on a lower surface of a lowermost glass member of the at least two glass members (paragraph 0047, disposed on the lower surface via the pattern).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Pires teaches that the texture is coupled with (adjacent to, paragraph 0047) an etched pattern that is formed by etching a surface of each of the at least two glass members (paragraph 0045), the etching is performed from a top of the surface (where etching begins at the surface) to a middle (etching extends in a direction towards the middle) of each of the at least two glass members (paragraph 0045), and a matte level in the middle is lower than a matte level on the top (where the top portions may be left glossy in the protected zones while the etched portions may be frosted by acid or sandblasting, paragraph 0045). Regarding claims 7 and 18, Pires teaches that the texture comprises a pattern texture (paragraph 0047, each color applied in particular zones).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Pires teaches that the optical coating layer has a predetermined color (paragraph 0002, pigment of desired color).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Pires teaches that the pattern layer is formed from ink (paragraph 0047, inkjet printing), and
orthographic projections of two pattern layers on the at least two glass members are not overlapped (paragraph 0011 and paragraph 0045, different appearances from different sides and etching in different particular zones, such that lack of etching in a zone would not be the decorative layer of claim 1 and therefore would not overlap the corresponding etched portion of the other pattern layer).
Regarding claim 10, Pires teaches that pattern layer in an uppermost decorative layer (either or both layers) of the decorative layers comprises a mirror silver logo (paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches that a material forming the at least one adhesive film comprises polyvinyl butyral or ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer (page 5, lines 19-23).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 15, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Pires does not teach the claimed oxide layer. However, Pires discloses the use of these oxides as fillers in the lacquer. While the oxide may not be exclusively on the surface, by virtue of being mixed into the lacquer, they are also present on the surface. Pires also teaches that not only the screen printing, but also an adhesion promoting layer and a silver reflecting film may be present on the lacquer.
Please note that the new interpretation of Pires reads on the amended claim language.
Applicant argues that Pires does not disclose different stacking sequences. However, one lacquer layer may include only a single screen printed layer, for example, while the second lacquer layer includes two for different aesthetic appearances based on the viewed side.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGHA M GAITONDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781