Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
No part number for the current sense amplifier is present.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the current sense amplifier in claims 7-10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McClure (US 5349282 A).
Independent claim 1, McClure teaches
A device (Figs. [1-2, 6-9, esp. 1, 2, 6]) comprising:
a battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor) coupled to a battery (11) (Fig. [1], batteries);
a voltage regulator (104, inside of 20 of Fig. [1]) (Figs. [6-9], voltage regulator) coupled to the battery (11) (Figs. [1, 6-9], batteries, battery pack 10); and
a current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor) used by the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor) for sensing a charging current to the battery and by the voltage regulator (104, inside of 20 of Fig. [1]) (Figs. [6-9], voltage regulator) for sensing a discharging current from the battery (Col. [7], lines [1-14], the charge controller-monitor 12 measures a charging and discharging current of the battery 11 through the current sense resistor 39).
Fig. 1 (McClure)
Fig. 2 (McClure)
Fig. 6 (McClure)
Dependent claim 2, McClure teaches
wherein the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor) uses the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor) to sense the charging current when a first input of the battery charge controller is connected to a power adapter (Fig. 6; Col. [11], lines [5-12], the charge controller-monitor 12 is connected to a rectifier that changes the input source of AC to DC power).
Dependent claim 5, McClure teaches
wherein an output of the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor) is disabled when a first input of the battery charge controller is disconnected from a power adapter (inherent to this kind of battery charging system; see Col. [4], lines [23-48], the charge controller-monitor (12) would be disabled when the charger 20 for electrical power is disconnected).
Dependent claim 6, McClure teaches
wherein the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor) is coupled between an output of the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor) and the battery (11) (Fig. [1], batteries; see Figs. [1, 2], the current sense resistor 39 is located in between the battery 11 and the main charge controller portion of the charge controller-monitor 12).
Dependent claim 7, McClure teaches
wherein the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor) has a current sense amplifier (75, 76) (Fig. [2], dual operational amplifier) coupled to the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor) for sensing current flowing through the current sensing unit (See Col. [6], lines [54-68]; Col. [7], lines [1-14]).
Dependent claim 8, McClure teaches
wherein the current sense amplifier (75, 76) (Fig. [2], dual operational amplifier) has two inputs coupled to two terminals of the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor), respectively (See Fig. [2]; Col. [6], lines [54-68], the dual amplifiers 75 and 76 are connected to the current sense resistor 39).
Dependent claim 11, McClure teaches
wherein the voltage regulator (104, inside of 20 of Fig. [1]) (Figs. [6-9], voltage regulator) senses a direction of the current flowing through the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor; inherent to this kind of battery charging system with voltage regulator, Col. [2], lines [65-68]; Col. [3], lines [1-3]; Col. [5], lines [57-61]; Col. [12], lines [58-62]).
Dependent claim 12, McClure teaches
wherein the current sensing unit is a resistor (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor).
Independent claim 13, McClure teaches
A system (Figs. [1-2, 6-9]) comprising:
a battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor) having a first input removably connected to a power adapter (Fig. 6; Col. [11], lines [5-12], a rectifier) and an output supplying DC current (Fig. 6; Col. [11], lines [5-12] , the input source of AC is transformed to DC power) to a battery (11) (Fig. [1], batteries);
a voltage regulator (104, inside of 20 of Fig. [1]) (Figs. [6-9], voltage regulator) having a second input coupled to the output (13, 14 and 38, 40) (Figs. [1, 6. 7], terminals) of the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor) and the battery (11) (Fig. [1], batteries); and
a current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor) coupled between the output (13, 14 and 38, 40) (Figs. [1, 6. 7], terminals) of the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor) and the battery (11) (Fig. [1], batteries),
the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor) being used by the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor) for sensing a charging current to the battery and by the voltage regulator (104, inside of 20 of Fig. [1]) (Figs. [6-9], voltage regulator) for sensing a discharging current from the battery (Col. [7], lines [1-14], the charge controller-monitor 12 measures a charging and discharging current of the battery 11 through the current sense resistor 39).
Dependent claim 14, McClure teaches
wherein the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor) is coupled between the output of the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor) and the battery (11) (Fig. [1], batteries; see Figs. [1, 2], the current sense resistor 39 is located in between the battery 11 and the main charge controller portion of the charge controller-monitor 12).
Dependent claim 15, McClure teaches
wherein the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor) uses the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor) to sense the charging current when the first input of the battery charge controller is connected to the power adapter (Fig. 6; Col. [11], lines [5-12], the charge controller-monitor 12 is connected to a rectifier that changes the input source of AC to DC power).
Independent claim 17, McClure teaches
A method (Figs. [3-5], based upon the structure of Figs. [1, 2, 6-10, esp. 1, 2, 6]), comprising:
sensing a charging current to a battery (Col. [7], lines [1-7], the charge controller-monitor 12 measures a charging current of the battery 11 through the current sense resistor 39) on a current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor) by a battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor); and
sensing a discharging current from the battery (Col. [7], lines [8-14], the charge controller-monitor 12 measures a discharging current of the battery 11 through the current sense resistor 39) on the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor) by a voltage regulator (104, inside of 20 of Fig. [1]) (Figs. [6-9], voltage regulator).
Dependent claim 18, McClure teaches
wherein the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor) uses the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor) to sense the charging current when an input of the battery charge controller is connected to a power adapter (Fig. 6; Col. [11], lines [5-12], the charge controller-monitor 12 is connected to a rectifier that changes the input source of AC to DC power).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McClure.
Dependent claim 3, McClure teaches
the voltage regulator (104) (Figs. [6-9], voltage regulator), the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor), the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor), and a power adapter (Fig. 6; Col. [11], lines [5-12], a rectifier).
McClure fails to explicitly teach
wherein the voltage regulator uses the current sensing unit to sense the discharging current when a first input of the battery charge controller is disconnected from a power adapter.
However, it would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the application to duplicate the current sensing processing circuit which is present in 12 of Fig. 1 in McClure’s battery charger system in which the battery charge controller uses the current sensing unit to sense the discharging current to also be used in 20 of Fig. 1, the function of the two circuits are the same although the two circuits are sharing a single current sensing unit when one circuit is disconnected to a power source, and mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144, In re Harza). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that by redundantly devolving the processing power previously performed by one processor to two processors, the longevity of each processor can be extended as they are not required to be used as often (i.e., less wear and tear), and also the complexity of the two processors can be reduced since they do not need to be used for both processing of charging and of discharging currents.
Dependent claim 16, McClure teaches
the voltage regulator (104) (Figs. [6-9], voltage regulator), the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor), the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor), and a power adapter (Fig. 6; Col. [11], lines [5-12], a rectifier).
McClure fails to explicitly teach
wherein the voltage regulator uses the current sensing unit to sense the discharging current when the first input of the battery charge controller is disconnected from a power adapter.
However, it would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the application to duplicate the current sensing processing circuit which is present in 12 of Fig. 1 in McClure’s battery charger system in which the battery charge controller uses the current sensing unit to sense the discharging current to also be used in 20 of Fig. 1, the function of the two circuits are the same although the two circuits are sharing a single current sensing unit when one circuit is disconnected to a power source, and mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144, In re Harza). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that by redundantly devolving the processing power previously performed by one processor to two processors, the longevity of each processor can be extended as they are not required to be used as often (i.e., less wear and tear), and also the complexity of the two processors can be reduced since they do not need to be used for both processing of charging and of discharging currents.
Dependent claim 19, McClure teaches
the voltage regulator (104) (Figs. [6-9], voltage regulator), the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor), the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor), and a power adapter (Fig. 6; Col. [11], lines [5-12], a rectifier).
McClure fails to explicitly teach
wherein the voltage regulator uses the current sensing unit to sense the discharging current when an input of the battery charge controller is disconnected from a power adapter.
However, it would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the application to duplicate the current sensing processing circuit which is present in 12 of Fig. 1 in McClure’s battery charger system in which the battery charge controller uses the current sensing unit to sense the discharging current to also be used in 20 of Fig. 1, the function of the two circuits are the same although the two circuits are sharing a single current sensing unit when one circuit is disconnected to a power source, and mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144, In re Harza). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that by redundantly devolving the processing power previously performed by one processor to two processors, the longevity of each processor can be extended as they are not required to be used as often (i.e., less wear and tear), and also the complexity of the two processors can be reduced since they do not need to be used for both processing of charging and of discharging currents.
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McClure in view of Larson et al. (US 5424898 A).
Dependent claim 4, McClure teaches
the voltage regulator (104, inside of 20 of Fig. [1]) (Figs. [6-9], voltage regulator), the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor) and the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor) is connected to a power adapter (Fig. 6; Col. [11], lines [5-12], a rectifier).
McClure is silent to
wherein the voltage regulator stops using the current sensing unit when a first input of the system is connected to a power source.
Larson teaches
wherein the voltage regulator (32) (Fig. 1, voltage regulator) stops using the current sensing unit (42) (Fig. 1, current sensor and switch) when a first input of the system is connected to a power source (Fig. 1; Col. [9], lines [24-61] discloses the voltage regulator 32 is disabled and the current sensor and switch 42 is opened and so stopped when the system is received a certain level of power).
McClure and Larson are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of current sensing circuitry. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McClure to incorporate the teachings of Larson and provide that the voltage regulator stops using the current sensing unit when the battery charge controller is connected to power, because the claimed invention supplements the battery charging system of McClure by connecting a method for the voltage regulator to stop using the current sensing unit which could be used for the selective connection between the current sensing unit and the battery charge controller (see Fig. [2] of McClure, where the method of Larson would be included to selectively connect the current sense resistor 39, which results in a predictable outcome that reduces the number of parts in the circuitry and prevents power loss, heat generation and unnecessary cost).
Dependent claim 20, McClure teaches
the voltage regulator (104, inside of 20 of Fig. [1]) (Figs. [6-9], voltage regulator), the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor) and the battery charge controller (12) (Figs. [1, 2], charge controller-monitor) is connected to a power adapter (Fig. 6; Col. [11], lines [5-12], a rectifier).
McClure is silent to
wherein the voltage regulator stops using the current sensing unit when an input of the system is connected to a power source.
Larson teaches
wherein the voltage regulator (32) (Fig. 1, voltage regulator) stops using the current sensing unit (42) (Fig. 1, current sensor and switch) when an input of the system is connected to a power source (Fig. 1; Col. [9], lines [24-61] discloses the voltage regulator 32 is disabled and the current sensor and switch 42 is opened and so stopped when the system is received a certain level of power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McClure to incorporate the teachings of Larson and provide that the voltage regulator stops using the current sensing unit when the battery charge controller is connected to power, because the claimed invention supplements the battery charging system of McClure by connecting a method for the voltage regulator to stop using the current sensing unit which could be used for the selective connection between the current sensing unit and the battery charge controller (see Fig. [2] of McClure, where the method of Larson would be included to selectively connect the current sense resistor 39, which results in a predictable outcome that reduces the number of parts in the circuitry and prevents power loss, heat generation and unnecessary cost).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McClure.
Dependent claim 9, McClure teaches
wherein the voltage regulator (104, inside of 20 of Fig. [1]) (Figs. [6-9], voltage regulator) has a current sense amplifier (75, 76) (Fig. [2], dual operational amplifier) coupled to the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor) for sensing current flowing through the current sensing unit.
McClure fails to explicitly teach the placement of the current sense amplifier in the voltage regulator.
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the application to rearrange the amplifier in McClure's charge controller-monitor to the voltage regulator as it is a simple design choice, applicant has not disclosed a critical reason for locating it there (see further Markush relationship between Claim 9 and Claim 7), and the function between the two would not have changed based on the location of the amplifier in either the charge controller-monitor or the voltage regulator (see MPEP 2144, In re Kuhle).
Dependent claim 10, McClure teaches
wherein the current sense amplifier (75, 76) (Fig. [2], dual operational amplifier) has two inputs coupled to two terminals of the current sensing unit (39) (Fig. [2], current sense resistor), respectively (See Fig. [2]; Col. [6], lines [54-68], the dual amplifiers 75 and 76 are connected to the current sense resistor 39).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Samuel S. Park whose telephone number is 571-270-3327. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday, 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/SAMUEL S. PARK/
Examiner, Art Unit 2859
09/04/2026
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859