DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment and remarks dated 9/16/2026 have been considered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
35 U.S.C. 112(f) Interpretations. The interpretation of “measurement assembly” and “information handling system” with respect to claims 14-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is maintained. See Response to Arguments section below.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejections. The rejections to claims 7-11 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to claim 7.
Response to Arguments
On page 6 of Applicant’s 9/16/2026 Amendment and remarks, Applicant asserts that at least paras. 57-59, 73, 76, and 80 of the instant specification provide sufficient written description support for the claim amendments.
The examiner notes that the instant specification does not have a paragraph 80 and that the portions of the disclosure identified by Applicant do not appear to adequately provide written description support. Regardless, the examiner finds that at least paras. 0033, 0049-51, and 0054 provide sufficient written description support for the amendments to the independent claims.
On pages 7-8 of Applicant’s 9/16/2026 Amendment and remarks, Applicant makes arguments against interpreting the “measurement assembly” and “information handling system” limitations in claims 14-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
The examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments and is maintaining the interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
On page 8, Applicant argues that “measurement assembly” and “information handling system” are not nonce words.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2181 I.A provides some additional examples of generic placeholders, and “system for” is a specific example provided. Simply describing the system as being for “information handling” does not provide sufficient structure for the functions performed by the recited “system.” The examiner recommends amending the claims to recite that the recited “information handling system” comprises a computer (or other processing device) as set forth in para. 0020, because a computer would provide the necessary structure.
Similarly, MPEP 2181 I.A identifies “mechanism for”, “device for”, “unit for”, “component for”, “element for”, “apparatus for”, and “machine for” as other examples of generic placeholders, and “assembly configured to” as recited in the claims is aligned with these broad placeholders. Simply describing the assembly as pertaining to “measurements” does not provide sufficient structure for the functions provided by such assembly. The examiner recommends amending the claims to recite that the recited “measurement assembly” comprises one or more sensors as set forth in para. 0018, because a sensor would provide the necessary structure.
On pages 9-10 of Applicant’s 9/16/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, Applicant argues that the claims recite an improvement to a technical field.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The recited machine learning model (and recited training, tuning, and use thereof) merely applies generic machine learning to a particular environment (drilling) and does not provide any improvements to machine learning technologies. One of ordinary skill would understand that Applicant’s claims are merely a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exceptions by adding generic machine language terminology. See MPEP 2106.04(d) I.
On pages 10-11 of Applicant’s 9/16/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, argues that the “modifying a drilling operation using the at least one operational command or the answer to a question utilizing the trained ML model” is “not outputting.”
The examiner agrees. This limitation is not being analyzed as an “output” step. But as explained in the detailed rejection, this is merely a field-of-use limitation to apply the use of a machine learning model to the field of drilling, which is not sufficient to make the claims subject matter eligible.
However, the examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that “[t]his is an actual physical actuation which is out of the hands of a human and akin to a transformation discussed in subsection (c)” because this limitation does not even require the ML model and encompasses modifying a drilling operation based on an operational command, which reads on, for example, a manager telling a subordinate using a hand drill to stop drilling, or to modify how they are drilling (e.g., drill slower, drill in a different direction, change equipment, etc.).
On page 11 of Applicant’s 9/16/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, argues that the claims recite a “transformation” as explained by MPEP 2106.05(c).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has not identified a physical article or object that has been changed to a different state or thing. “Measurements” and “commands” “drilling operations” are not articles or objects that are physically transformed. Nor is there anything in the claims reciting that the “measurement assembly” has been changed in any way. Simply changing the location (e.g., steering the drill bit down the hole) is not sufficient to show a transformation as explained by MPEP 2106.05(c). Moreover, while Applicant argues that the claim results in alternations to “how the BHA drills, steers, or otherwise operates downhole,” there are no such limitations recited that require any actual drilling or steering, as the claims merely recite “modifying a drilling operation” could be as simple as stopping the drilling operation.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 9-10, “the measurements from a drilling operation” lacks antecedent basis. The examiner suggests amending this to recite “ measurements from a drilling operation” to fix the antecedent basis issue. Alternatively, this could be amended to recite “the measurements
In claim 14, lines 9-10, “the measurements from a drilling operation” lacks antecedent basis. The examiner suggests amending this to recite “ measurements from a drilling operation” to fix the antecedent basis issue. Alternatively, this could be amended to recite “the measurements .
Appropriate correction is required.
On pages 11-12 of Applicant’s 9/16/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant’s arguments are premised on language that is not in the claims (“wherein modifying the plurality of survey data sets comprises: generating a plurality of modified datasets, using a global constraint, wherein the global constraint is applicable to each of the edges”), and addresses prior art not used in the rejections (unknown GRANT and CHAVARRIA references).
Because Applicant’s arguments are based on language not in the claims, and based on non-asserted prior art, the examiner respectfully submits that Applicant’s arguments are irrelevant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Step 1 of the Alice/Mayo framework, Claims 1-13 are directed to a method (a process), and Claims 14-20 are directed to a system (a machine), which each fall within one of the four statutory categories of inventions.
Regarding Claim 1
Step 2A, prong 1 (Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea).
Claim 1 recites the following mental processes, that in each case under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper.
extracting relevant information from the historical data (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can review historical data and extract relevant information, such as reviewing historical drilling data and only selecting data from a particular window of time)
providing one or more of the following: an answer to a question ... or at least one operational command for the drilling operation (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can write an answer to a question on paper or can shout out an operational command, such as a manager yelling out a command to a subordinate with respect to the drilling; this is also an abstract idea under the “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people” category)
Step 2A, prong 2 (Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?).
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Regarding the “disposing a bottom hole assembly (BHA) into a wellbore, wherein the BHA comprises a measurement assembly” limitation, such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (disposing a BHA into a wellbore with respect to drilling). As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding the “acquiring one or more measurements with the measurement assembly” limitation, such additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “acquiring historical data from the wellbore” limitation, such additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “training a machine learning (ML) model with the relevant information to form a trained ML model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional element of generic training of a machine learning model. This additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (generic training of a machine learning model). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “tune the trained machine learning (ML) model with the measurements from a drilling operation” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional element of generic tuning of a machine learning model. This additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (generic tuning of a machine learning model). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “... utilizing the trained ML model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional element of a generic machine learning model. This additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (a generic machine learning model). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “modifying a drilling operation using the at least one operational command or the answer to a question utilizing the trained ML model” limitation, such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g., merely applying a machine learning model to the drilling field). As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, after considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?)
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception.
Regarding the “disposing a bottom hole assembly (BHA) into a wellbore, wherein the BHA comprises a measurement assembly” limitation, such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use as explained above, which does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding the “acquiring one or more measurements with the measurement assembly” limitation, as discussed above, the additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Regarding the “acquiring historical data from the wellbore” limitation, as discussed above, the additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Regarding the “training a machine learning (ML) model with the relevant information to form a trained ML model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “tune the trained machine learning (ML) model with the measurements from a drilling operation” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “... utilizing the trained ML model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “modifying a drilling operation using the at least one operational command or the answer to a question utilizing the trained ML model” limitation, such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use as explained above, which does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP 2106.05(h).
Accordingly, at Step 2B after considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 2
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “further comprising tuning the trained ML model with a geosteering context to form a tuned ML model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional element of generic machine learning model tuning. This additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (generic machine learning model tuning). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B
Regarding the “further comprising tuning the trained ML model with a geosteering context to form a tuned ML model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding Claim 3
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “wherein the tuning the geosteering context comprises rating a quality of an output of the trained ML model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional element of generic machine learning model tuning. This additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (generic machine learning model tuning). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B
Regarding the “wherein the tuning the geosteering context comprises rating a quality of an output of the trained ML model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding Claim 4
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “further comprising tuning parameter, hyper parameter, function, and/or architecture of the trained ML model based at least on the quality of an output of the trained ML model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional element of generic machine learning model tuning. This additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (generic machine learning model tuning). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B
Regarding the “further comprising tuning parameter, hyper parameter, function, and/or architecture of the trained ML model based at least on the quality of an output of the trained ML model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding Claim 5
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “wherein historical data comprises previous logging data from the wellbore, a different wellbore within the same formation as the wellbore, information from the same formation, or information about an adjacent formation” limitation, such additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B
Regarding the “wherein historical data comprises previous logging data from the wellbore, a different wellbore within the same formation as the wellbore, information from the same formation, or information about an adjacent formation” limitation, as discussed above, the additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Regarding Claim 6
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “wherein historical data comprises internal geosteering reports” limitation, such additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B
Regarding the “wherein historical data comprises internal geosteering reports” limitation, as discussed above, the additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Regarding Claim 7
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “wherein thr question is an input to the tuned ML model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional element of a tuned machine learning model. This additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (a tuned machine learning model). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B
Regarding the “wherein the question is an input to the tuned ML model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding Claim 8
Step 2A, Prong 1
wherein the question asks any number of drilling parameters, drilling operation suggestions, tool orientation, formation evaluation, or current and modifications to a well plan of the wellbore. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can ask a question on paper with respect to the parameters of this limitation; this is also an abstract idea under the “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people” category)
Regarding Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and regarding Step 2B, there are no additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 9
Step 2A, Prong 1
wherein the answer is one or more solutions to the question. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can write an answer to a question on paper that is a solution to the question; this is also an abstract idea under the “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people” category)
Regarding Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and regarding Step 2B, there are no additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 10
Step 2A, Prong 1
wherein the answer comprises suggested drilling parameters, suggested drilling operation, current tool orientation, or answers about the formation, or current and modifications to the well plan. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human can write an answer to a question on paper, where the answer provides suggestions as set forth in this limitation; this is also an abstract idea under the “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people” category)
Regarding Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and regarding Step 2B, there are no additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 11
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “further comprising providing a geosteerer an interface to provide a question and receive an answer, wherein the interface comprises screens with keyboards, audio interfaces” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional element of a generic user interface with screens, keyboards, and audio interfaces. This additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (a generic user interface with screens, keyboards, and audio interfaces). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B
Regarding the “further comprising providing a geosteerer an interface to provide a question and receive an answer, wherein the interface comprises screens with keyboards, audio interfaces” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding Claim 12
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “wherein the one or more measurements are performed in real time and comprise resistivity, drilling parameter, and sensor data measurements” limitation, such additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B
Regarding the “wherein the one or more measurements are performed in real time and comprise resistivity, drilling parameter, and sensor data measurements” limitation, as discussed above, the additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Regarding Claim 13
Step 2A, Prong 1
further comprising processing a customer question and customer answer. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a human such as a customer can write a question, and then a human can provide an answer to the question on paper; this is also an abstract idea under the “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people” category)
Regarding Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and regarding Step 2B, there are no additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 14
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 14 recites a system that corresponds to the method of claim 1, and therefore the analysis under Step 2A, Prong 1 with respect to claim 1 also applies to this claim 14. While claim 14 recites additional generic computing components (“information handling system”), such additional generic computing components do not change the analysis under Step 2A, Prong 1.
Step 2A, Prong 2
Claim 14 recites a system that corresponds to the method of claim 1, and therefore the analysis under Step 2A, Prong 2 with respect to claim 1 also applies to this claim 14. While claim 14 recites additional generic computing components (“information handling system”), such additional generic computing components do not change the analysis under Step 2A, Prong 2.
Step 2B
Claim 14 recites a system that corresponds to the method of claim 1, and therefore the analysis under Step 2B with respect to claim 1 also applies to this claim 14. While claim 14 recites additional generic computing components (“information handling system”), such additional generic computing components do not change the analysis under Step 2B.
Claim 15 depends from claim 14 and recites a system that corresponds to the method of claim 2, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 2 and 14.
Claim 16 depends from claim 15 and recites a system that corresponds to the method of claim 3, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 3 and 15.
Claim 17 depends from claim 16 and recites a system that corresponds to the method of claim 4, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 4 and 16.
Claim 18 depends from claim 14 and recites a system that corresponds to the method of claim 5, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 5 and 14.
Claim 19 depends from claim 14 and recites a system that corresponds to the method of claim 6, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 6 and 14.
Claim 20 depends from claim 14 and recites a system that corresponds to the method of claim 12, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 12 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-11, 12-15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240202407 A1, hereinafter referenced as BOUALLEG, in view of US 20250111336 A1, hereinafter referenced as MICHALOPULOS, and further in view of US 20240212384 A1, hereinafter referenced as GUNE.
Regarding Claim 1
BOUALLEG teaches:
A method comprising: (BOUALLEG, para. 0005: “Methods and systems for optimizing a drill bit are disclosed.”)
disposing a bottom hole assembly (BHA) into a wellbore, wherein the BHA comprises a measurement assembly; (BOUALLEG, para. 0017: “FIG. 1 depicts an example drilling rig 20 including a system 60 for optimizing a drill bit. The drilling rig 20 may be positioned over a subterranean formation (not shown) and may be configured for drilling a geothermal well or a hydrocarbon exploration and/or production well. The rig 20 may include, for example, a derrick and a hoisting apparatus (also not shown) for raising and lowering a drill string 30, which, as shown, extends into wellbore 40 and includes, for example, a drill bit 32 (such as a drill bit, optimized using system 60), a steering tool 34 (such as a rotary steerable tool), and optional logging while drilling (LWD) 36 and measurement while drilling (MWD) 38 tools.”;
BOUALLEG, para. 0020: “Various sensors may be located about the wellsite to collect data (or drilling parameters) related to the drilling operation, such as standpipe pressure, pump pressure, hook load, wellbore depth, surface torque, rotary rpm, among others. The bottom hole assembly (BHA) 50 may also include downhole sensors disposed in the drill bit, the steering tool 34, the LWD tool 36, or the MWD tool 38 to provide information about downhole conditions, such as wellbore pressure, weight on bit, torque on bit, or attitude (inclination and azimuth), collar rpm, tool temperature, annular temperature, and toolface, among others. These sensors (e.g., both uphole and downhole sensors) may be configured to provide data to the system 60 for optimizing the drill bit 32 (e.g., for a subsequent drilling operation).”
Examiner’s Note: the sensors correspond to the recited “measurement assembly”)
acquiring one or more measurements with the measurement assembly; (BOUALLEG, para. 0020: “Various sensors may be located about the wellsite to collect data (or drilling parameters) related to the drilling operation, such as standpipe pressure, pump pressure, hook load, wellbore depth, surface torque, rotary rpm, among others. The bottom hole assembly (BHA) 50 may also include downhole sensors disposed in the drill bit, the steering tool 34, the LWD tool 36, or the MWD tool 38 to provide information about downhole conditions, such as wellbore pressure, weight on bit, torque on bit, or attitude (inclination and azimuth), collar rpm, tool temperature, annular temperature, and toolface, among others. These sensors (e.g., both uphole and downhole sensors) may be configured to provide data to the system 60 for optimizing the drill bit 32 (e.g., for a subsequent drilling operation).”
Examiner’s Note: the sensors correspond to the recited “measurement assembly” and measurements include wellbore pressure, weight on bit, torque on bit, etc.)
acquiring historical data from the wellbore; (BOUALLEG, para. 0027: “Historical data 115 from a large number of wells is input into the ML model 110 at 115. The historical data includes drilling operation parameters that may include drill bit parameters, drilling parameters, BHA and/or RSS parameters, wellbore parameters, formation parameters, and a measured drill bit performance metric (PM) such as ROP, DLS, or ACC. ... Example wellbore parameters may include, for example, wellbore diameter, measured depth, inclination, azimuth, and curvature. Example BHA and/or RSS parameters may include, for example, drill string diameter, flex or stiffness, RSS type, RSS pad pressure, and the axial distance between the drill bit cutting surface and the RSS actuators.”)
extracting relevant information from the historical data; (BOUALLEG, para. 0027: “Historical data 115 from a large number of wells is input into the ML model 110 at 115. The historical data includes drilling operation parameters that may include drill bit parameters, drilling parameters, BHA and/or RSS parameters, wellbore parameters, formation parameters, and a measured drill bit performance metric (PM) such as ROP, DLS, or ACC. ... Example wellbore parameters may include, for example, wellbore diameter, measured depth, inclination, azimuth, and curvature. Example BHA and/or RSS parameters may include, for example, drill string diameter, flex or stiffness, RSS type, RSS pad pressure, and the axial distance between the drill bit cutting surface and the RSS actuators.”;
Examiner’s Note: extracted relevant information includes wellbore diameter, measured depth, inclination, azimuth, and curvature)
training a machine learning (ML) model with the relevant information to form a trained ML model; and (BOUALLEG, para. 0028: “With continued reference to FIG. 4, the machine learning model 110 processes the historical drilling data 115 to generate a trained model 120 including relationships and/or correlations between a drill bit performance metric (PM) and the drill bit parameters, drilling parameters, BHA and/or RSS parameters, wellbore parameters, and/or formation parameters in the historical drilling data 115.”)
However, BOUALLEG fails to explicitly teach:
tuning the trained machine learning (ML) model with the measurements from a drilling operation
providing one or more of the following:
an answer to a question utilizing the trained ML model; or
at least one operational command for the drilling operation; and
modifying a drilling operation using the at least one operational command or the answer to a question utilizing the trained ML model.
However, in a related field of endeavor (drilling of wells for oil and gas production, see para. 0001), MICHALOPULOS teaches and makes obvious:
providing one or more of the following:
an answer to a question utilizing the trained ML model; or (MICHALOPULOS, para. 0165: “The system would be able to use large language models (like ChatGPT) or other AI/ML tools to be interactive, such as by accepting users' input questions and then outputting the short video clips with answers to the questions, such as by providing additional information, showing backup information, or providing a more detailed explanation. An example would be the drilling engineer could ask “how does this current H2-MB14 well intermediate section and curve compared to the last three MB14 wells we drilled, include trajectories, bit and BHA's, hours on each of those during that time, geological formations and faults, mud type and mud additives added at this stage, mud properties?” The large language models can take that input, output the correct language response, and then the video reporting tool would generate a video report including the audio narration of the answer, together with the 3D representation of the well, with the display of the current well provided with displays of the earlier three reference wells so that the video report visually shows the similarities and differences of the current well and the three earlier reference wells that were the subject of the question. The engineer could then refine the request after reviewing the generated video report and say “now take wells MB14 and X well and also compare the dip angles on each well as well as direction the wells were drilled”. The large language model would then provide a response, which the video reporting engine can use to provide an updated report with updated text and/or audio narration including the response to the second input query.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS combination now modifies the trained machine learning model of BOUALLEG to add the interactive question/answering functionality of MICHALOPULOS)
at least one operational command for the drilling operation; and (MICHALOPULOS, para. 0054: “Manual control may involve direct control of the drilling rig equipment, albeit with certain safety limits to prevent unsafe or undesired actions or collisions of different equipment. To enable manual-assisted control, steering control system 168 may present various information, such as using a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on a display device (see FIG. 8), to a human operator, and may provide controls that enable the human operator to perform a control operation. The information presented to the user may include live measurements and feedback from the drilling rig and steering control system 168, or the drilling rig itself, and may further include limits and safety-related elements to prevent unwanted actions or equipment states, in response to a manual control command entered by the user using the GUI.”
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS combination now modifies the drill bit system of BOUALLEG to add a GUI for manual control by an operator to provide a command for the drilling operation, such as for steering, as taught by MICHALOPULOS.
modifying a drilling operation using the at least one operational command or the answer to a question utilizing the trained ML model. (MICHALOPULOS, para. 0054: “Manual control may involve direct control of the drilling rig equipment, albeit with certain safety limits to prevent unsafe or undesired actions or collisions of different equipment. To enable manual-assisted control, steering control system 168 may present various information, such as using a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on a display device (see FIG. 8), to a human operator, and may provide controls that enable the human operator to perform a control operation. The information presented to the user may include live measurements and feedback from the drilling rig and steering control system 168, or the drilling rig itself, and may further include limits and safety-related elements to prevent unwanted actions or equipment states, in response to a manual control command entered by the user using the GUI.”
MICHALOPULUS, para. 0059: “The output information generated by steering control system 168 may include indications to modify one or more drilling parameters, the direction of drilling, and the drilling mode, among others. In certain operational modes, such as semi-automatic or automatic, steering control system 168 may generate output information indicative of instructions to rig controls 520 to enable automatic drilling using the latest location of BHA 149. Therefore, an improved accuracy in the determination of the location of BHA 149 may be provided using steering control system 168.”
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS combination now modifies the drill bit system of BOUALLEG to add a GUI for manual control by an operator to provide a command for the drilling operation, such as for steering, as taught by MICHALOPULOS, where such steering modifies a drilling operation by modifying drilling modes, parameters, and directions as taught by MICHALOPULOS)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS as explained above. As disclosed by MICHALOPULOS, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to use a LLM or other AI to “ receive the drilling operations information, the well plan, and existing information from systems and reports, and consolidate that information and use it to generate a new report. The AI system may be used to accept additional requests or feedback from stakeholders and use that information to generate future video reports that include information like that requested for that stakeholder.” (para. 0164).
However, BOUALLEG and MICHALOPULOS fail to explicitly teach:
tuning the trained machine learning (ML) model with the measurements from a drilling operation
However, in a related field of endeavor (geologic drilling, see para. 0027, 0030), GUNE teaches and makes obvious:
tuning the trained machine learning (ML) model with the measurements from a drilling operation (GUNE, para. 0082: “Geosteering can include intentional directional control of a wellbore based on results of downhole geological logging measurements in a manner that aims to keep a directional wellbore within a desired region, zone (e.g., a pay zone), etc. Geosteering may include directing a wellbore to keep the wellbore in a particular section of a reservoir, for example, to minimize gas and/or water breakthrough and, for example, to maximize economic production from a well that includes the wellbore.”;
GUNE, para. 0144: “FIG. 13 shows an example of a method 1300 for ML model fine-tuning and/or retraining. As shown, the method 1300 can include a training block 1310 for training of a base ML model, and a test block 1320 for testing the trained base ML model using test data for evaluation and feedback.”;
GUNE, para. 0152: “As an example, a method can include providing a trained base ML model and then fine-tuning and/or retraining the trained base ML model for a particular task, which may be associated with a particular type of log, a particular type of downhole assembly, a particular client, etc. In such an example, a trained base ML model can be readily adapted to various tasks in an expeditious manner with minimal HITL effort.”
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS-GUNE combination now fine-tunes the machine learning model of BOUALLEG using the teachings of GUNE, where such fine-tuning uses geosteering-related measurement data as provided by GUNE, and which can also fine-tune based on particular logs (which correspond to recited “measurement data”))
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS and GUNE as explained above. As disclosed by GUNE, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to use machine learning techniques for denoising raster images of the wellbore. (para. 0100). One of ordinary skill would have further been motivated to do so in order to fine-tune a machine learning model using additional data, which one of skill in the art would understand to be less computationally intensive than fully re-training the model.
Regarding Claim 2
BOUALLEG, MICHALOPULOS, and GUNE teach the method of claim 1 as explained above. However, BOUALLEG and MICHALOPULOS fail to explicitly teach:
further comprising tuning the trained ML model with a geosteering context to form a tuned ML model.
However, in a related field of endeavor (geologic drilling, see para. 0027, 0030), GUNE teaches and makes obvious:
further comprising tuning the trained ML model with a geosteering context to form a tuned ML model. (GUNE, para. 0079: “As explained, a system may be a steerable system and may include equipment to perform a method such as geosteering. A steerable system can include equipment on a lower part of a drillstring which, just above a drill bit, a bent sub may be mounted. Above directional drilling equipment, a drillstring can include MWD equipment that provides real time or near real time data of interest (e.g., inclination, direction, pressure, temperature, real weight on the drill bit, torque stress, etc.) and/or LWD equipment. As to the latter, LWD equipment can make it possible to send to the surface various types of data of interest, including for example, geological data (e.g., gamma ray log, resistivity, density and sonic logs, etc.).”;
GUNE, para. 0082: “Geosteering can include intentional directional control of a wellbore based on results of downhole geological logging measurements in a manner that aims to keep a directional wellbore within a desired region, zone (e.g., a pay zone), etc. Geosteering may include directing a wellbore to keep the wellbore in a particular section of a reservoir, for example, to minimize gas and/or water breakthrough and, for example, to maximize economic production from a well that includes the wellbore.”;
GUNE, para. 0144: “FIG. 13 shows an example of a method 1300 for ML model fine-tuning and/or retraining. As shown, the method 1300 can include a training block 1310 for training of a base ML model, and a test block 1320 for testing the trained base ML model using test data for evaluation and feedback.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS-GUNE combination now fine-tunes the machine learning model of BOUALLEG using the teachings of GUNE, where such fine-tuning uses geosteering-related data as provided by GUNE)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS and GUNE as explained above. As disclosed by GUNE, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to use machine learning techniques for denoising raster images of the wellbore. (para. 0100). One of ordinary skill would have further been motivated to do so in order to fine-tune a machine learning model using additional data, which one of skill in the art would understand to be less computationally intensive than fully re-training the model.
Regarding Claim 5
BOUALLEG and MICHALOPULOS teach the method of claim 1 as explained above. However, BOUALLEG fails to explicitly teach:
wherein historical data comprises previous logging data from the wellbore, a different wellbore within the same formation as the wellbore, information from the same formation, or information about an adjacent formation.
However, in a related field of endeavor (drilling of wells for oil and gas production, see para. 0001), MICHALOPULOS teaches and makes obvious:
wherein historical data comprises previous logging data from the wellbore, a different wellbore within the same formation as the wellbore, information from the same formation, or information about an adjacent formation. (MICHALOPULOS, para. 0058: “The input information may also include a drill plan, a regional formation history, drilling engineer parameters, downhole toolface/inclination information, downhole tool gamma/resistivity information, economic parameters, and reliability parameters, among various other parameters. Some of the input information, such as the regional formation history, may be available from a drilling hub 410, which may have respective access to a regional drilling database (DB) 412 (see FIG. 4).”;
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS combination now trains the machine learning model of BOUALLEG using the regional formation history from the regional drilling database of MICHALOPULOS)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS as explained above. As disclosed by MICHALOPULOS, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to use a LLM or other AI to “ receive the drilling operations information, the well plan, and existing information from systems and reports, and consolidate that information and use it to generate a new report. The AI system may be used to accept additional requests or feedback from stakeholders and use that information to generate future video reports that include information like that requested for that stakeholder.” (para. 0164). One of ordinary skill would further be motivated to do so in order to take advantage of related information relevant to the training of the model, including information readily available in a database.
Regarding Claim 7
BOUALLEG, MICHALOPULOS, and GUNE teach the method of claim 2 as explained above. However, BOUALLEG and MICHALOPULOS fail to explicitly teach:
wherein the question is an input to the tuned ML model.
However, in a related field of endeavor (geologic drilling, see para. 0027, 0030), GUNE teaches and makes obvious:
wherein the question is an input to the tuned ML model. (GUNE, para. 0144: “FIG. 13 shows an example of a method 1300 for ML model fine-tuning and/or retraining. As shown, the method 1300 can include a training block 1310 for training of a base ML model, and a test block 1320 for testing the trained base ML model using test data for evaluation and feedback.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS-GUNE combination now fine-tunes the machine learning model of BOUALLEG using the teachings of GUNE, so that a user can now input a question to the tuned model as in MICHALOPULOS)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS and GUNE as explained above. As disclosed by GUNE, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to use machine learning techniques for denoising raster images of the wellbore. (para. 0100). One of ordinary skill would have further been motivated to do so in order to fine-tune a machine learning model using additional data, which one of skill in the art would understand to be less computationally intensive than fully re-training the model.
Regarding Claim 8
BOUALLEG, MICHALOPULOS, and GUNE teach the method of claim 7 as explained above. However, BOUALLEG fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the question asks any number of drilling parameters, drilling operation suggestions, tool orientation, formation evaluation, or current and modifications to a well plan of the wellbore.
However, in a related field of endeavor (drilling of wells for oil and gas production, see para. 0001), MICHALOPULOS teaches and makes obvious:
wherein the question asks any number of drilling parameters, drilling operation suggestions, tool orientation, formation evaluation, or current and modifications to a well plan of the wellbore. (MICHALOPULOS, para. 0165: “An example would be the drilling engineer could ask “how does this current H2-MB14 well intermediate section and curve compared to the last three MB14 wells we drilled, include trajectories, bit and BHA's, hours on each of those during that time, geological formations and faults, mud type and mud additives added at this stage, mud properties?””;
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS-GUNE combination now inputs questions to the model as in MICHALOPULOS, where questions can include drilling parameters such as trajectories, and also information about geological formulations and faults)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS and GUNE as explained above. As disclosed by MICHALOPULOS, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to use a LLM or other AI to “ receive the drilling operations information, the well plan, and existing information from systems and reports, and consolidate that information and use it to generate a new report. The AI system may be used to accept additional requests or feedback from stakeholders and use that information to generate future video reports that include information like that requested for that stakeholder.” (para. 0164).
Regarding Claim 9
BOUALLEG, MICHALOPULOS, and GUNE teach the method of claim 8 as explained above. However, BOUALLEG fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the answer is one or more solutions to the question.
However, in a related field of endeavor (drilling of wells for oil and gas production, see para. 0001), MICHALOPULOS teaches and makes obvious:
wherein the answer is one or more solutions to the question. (MICHALOPULOS, para. 0165: “The system would be able to use large language models (like ChatGPT) or other AI/ML tools to be interactive, such as by accepting users' input questions and then outputting the short video clips with answers to the questions, such as by providing additional information, showing backup information, or providing a more detailed explanation. An example would be the drilling engineer could ask “how does this current H2-MB14 well intermediate section and curve compared to the last three MB14 wells we drilled, include trajectories, bit and BHA's, hours on each of those during that time, geological formations and faults, mud type and mud additives added at this stage, mud properties?” The large language models can take that input, output the correct language response, and then the video reporting tool would generate a video report including the audio narration of the answer, together with the 3D representation of the well, with the display of the current well provided with displays of the earlier three reference wells so that the video report visually shows the similarities and differences of the current well and the three earlier reference wells that were the subject of the question. The engineer could then refine the request after reviewing the generated video report and say “now take wells MB14 and X well and also compare the dip angles on each well as well as direction the wells were drilled”. The large language model would then provide a response, which the video reporting engine can use to provide an updated report with updated text and/or audio narration including the response to the second input query.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS-GUNE combination now inputs questions to the model as in MICHALOPULOS, where questions can include drilling parameters such as trajectories, and also information about geological formulations and faults, and the model outputs an answer as in MICHALOPULOS)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS and GUNE as explained above. As disclosed by MICHALOPULOS, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to use a LLM or other AI to “ receive the drilling operations information, the well plan, and existing information from systems and reports, and consolidate that information and use it to generate a new report. The AI system may be used to accept additional requests or feedback from stakeholders and use that information to generate future video reports that include information like that requested for that stakeholder.” (para. 0164).
Regarding Claim 10
BOUALLEG, MICHALOPULOS, and GUNE teach the method of claim 9 as explained above. However, BOUALLEG fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the answer comprises suggested drilling parameters, suggested drilling operation, current tool orientation, or answers about the formation, or current and modifications to the well plan.
However, in a related field of endeavor (drilling of wells for oil and gas production, see para. 0001), MICHALOPULOS teaches and makes obvious:
wherein the answer comprises suggested drilling parameters, suggested drilling operation, current tool orientation, or answers about the formation, or current and modifications to the well plan. (MICHALOPULOS, para. 0165: “The system would be able to use large language models (like ChatGPT) or other AI/ML tools to be interactive, such as by accepting users' input questions and then outputting the short video clips with answers to the questions, such as by providing additional information, showing backup information, or providing a more detailed explanation. An example would be the drilling engineer could ask “how does this current H2-MB14 well intermediate section and curve compared to the last three MB14 wells we drilled, include trajectories, bit and BHA's, hours on each of those during that time, geological formations and faults, mud type and mud additives added at this stage, mud properties?” The large language models can take that input, output the correct language response, and then the video reporting tool would generate a video report including the audio narration of the answer, together with the 3D representation of the well, with the display of the current well provided with displays of the earlier three reference wells so that the video report visually shows the similarities and differences of the current well and the three earlier reference wells that were the subject of the question. The engineer could then refine the request after reviewing the generated video report and say “now take wells MB14 and X well and also compare the dip angles on each well as well as direction the wells were drilled”. The large language model would then provide a response, which the video reporting engine can use to provide an updated report with updated text and/or audio narration including the response to the second input query.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS-GUNE combination now inputs questions to the model as in MICHALOPULOS, where questions can include drilling parameters such as trajectories, and also information about geological formulations and faults, and the model outputs an answer as in MICHALOPULOS that includes responses with respect to drilling parameters and geological formulations and faults)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS and GUNE as explained above. As disclosed by MICHALOPULOS, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to use a LLM or other AI to “ receive the drilling operations information, the well plan, and existing information from systems and reports, and consolidate that information and use it to generate a new report. The AI system may be used to accept additional requests or feedback from stakeholders and use that information to generate future video reports that include information like that requested for that stakeholder.” (para. 0164).
Regarding Claim 11
BOUALLEG, MICHALOPULOS, and GUNE teach the method of claim 10 as explained above. However, BOUALLEG fails to explicitly teach:
further comprising providing a geosteerer an interface to provide a question and receive an answer, wherein the interface comprises screens with keyboards, audio interfaces.
However, in a related field of endeavor (drilling of wells for oil and gas production, see para. 0001), MICHALOPULOS teaches and makes obvious:
further comprising providing a geosteerer an interface to provide a question and receive an answer, wherein the interface comprises screens with keyboards, audio interfaces. (MICHALOPULOS, para. 0115: “ In embodiments suitable for use with user interfaces, controller 1000, as depicted in FIG. 10, may include peripheral adapter 1006, which provides connectivity for the use of input device 1008 and output device 1009. Input device 1008 may represent a device for user input, such as a keyboard or a mouse, or even a video camera. Output device 1009 may represent a device for providing signals or indications to a user, such as loudspeakers for generating audio signals.”;
MICHALOPULOS, para. 0163: “The system can connect via application programming interface (API) to other client applications to gather the necessary data to create the video report, like an electronic drilling recorder (EDR), geosteering software (e.g., Starsteer), customer well data recording (e.g. WellView), well planning software (e.g. Compass), enterprise resource planning (ERP), optical character recognition (OCR) to text applications, etc.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS-GUNE combination now inputs questions to the model as in MICHALOPULOS, where a user such as a person using geosteering software (corresponding to recited “geosteerer”) can use an interface comprising keyboards and audio interfaces)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS and GUNE as explained above. As disclosed by MICHALOPULOS, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to use a LLM or other AI to “ receive the drilling operations information, the well plan, and existing information from systems and reports, and consolidate that information and use it to generate a new report. The AI system may be used to accept additional requests or feedback from stakeholders and use that information to generate future video reports that include information like that requested for that stakeholder.” (para. 0164).
Regarding Claim 12
BOUALLEG and MICHALOPULOS teach the method of claim 1 as explained above. BOUALLEG further teaches:
wherein the one or more measurements ... comprise ... drilling parameters, and sensor data measurements. (BOUALLEG, para. 0020: “Various sensors may be located about the wellsite to collect data (or drilling parameters) related to the drilling operation, such as standpipe pressure, pump pressure, hook load, wellbore depth, surface torque, rotary rpm, among others. The bottom hole assembly (BHA) 50 may also include downhole sensors disposed in the drill bit, the steering tool 34, the LWD tool 36, or the MWD tool 38 to provide information about downhole conditions, such as wellbore pressure, weight on bit, torque on bit, or attitude (inclination and azimuth), collar rpm, tool temperature, annular temperature, and toolface, among others. These sensors (e.g., both uphole and downhole sensors) may be configured to provide data to the system 60 for optimizing the drill bit 32 (e.g., for a subsequent drilling operation).;
Examiner’s Note: sensor measurements, such as drilling parameters, include wellbore pressure, weight on bit, torque on bit, etc.)
However, BOUALLEG fails to explicitly teach:
However, in a related field of endeavor (drilling of wells for oil and gas production, see para. 0001), MICHALOPULOS teaches and makes obvious:
wherein the one or more measurements are performed in real time and comprise resistivity, drilling parameter, and sensor data measurements. (MICHALOPULOS, para. 0168: “Downhole sensors 1106 at a drilling rig can provide various types of real-time data and information about the drilling process, the formation being drilled, and the condition of the wellbore. These downhole sensors 1106 can help drilling operators make informed decisions to optimize drilling performance, ensure safety, and maximize well productivity.”;
MICHALOPULOS, para. 0169: “Downhole sensors 1106 can monitor and transmit information about drilling parameters such as toolface, weight on bit (WOB), rate of penetration (ROP), rotary speed, torque, mud flow rate, vibration, accelerations, other drilling dysfuctions, and differential pressure. This data helps operators optimize drilling efficiency and prevent issues like bit wear or hole instability.”
MICHALOPULOS, para. 0170: “Downhole sensors 1106 can provide information about the properties of the formation being drilled, including resistivity, porosity, permeability, and fluid saturation. This data aids in understanding the potential for hydrocarbon reservoirs and in determining the best drilling strategy.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS combination now trains the machine learning model of BOUALLEG using the real-time sensor data of MICHALOPULOS, including data relating to resistivity)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS as explained above. As disclosed by MICHALOPULOS, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to “help drilling operators make informed decisions to optimize drilling performance, ensure safety, and maximize well productivity.” (para. 0168).
Regarding Claim 13
BOUALLEG and MICHALOPULOS teach the method of claim 1 as explained above. However, BOUALLEG fails to explicitly teach:
further comprising processing a customer question and customer answer.
However, in a related field of endeavor (drilling of wells for oil and gas production, see para. 0001), MICHALOPULOS teaches and makes obvious:
further comprising processing a customer question and customer answer. (MICHALOPULOS, para. 0142: “The application can be customizable to be able to deliver the pertinent information through the video to the appropriate internal and external customer levels and personas.”;
MICHALOPULOS, para. 0164: “The video reports system disclosed herein may use Large Language Models (like ChatGPT) or other artificial intelligence and/or machine learning systems. For example, the video reports system may include one or more AI systems designed to receive the drilling operations information, the well plan, and existing information from systems and reports, and consolidate that information and use it to generate a new report. The AI system may be used to accept additional requests or feedback from stakeholders and use that information to generate future video reports that include information like that requested for that stakeholder.”;
MICHALOPULOS, para. 0165: “The system would be able to use large language models (like ChatGPT) or other AI/ML tools to be interactive, such as by accepting users' input questions and then outputting the short video clips with answers to the questions, such as by providing additional information, showing backup information, or providing a more detailed explanation. An example would be the drilling engineer could ask “how does this current H2-MB14 well intermediate section and curve compared to the last three MB14 wells we drilled, include trajectories, bit and BHA's, hours on each of those during that time, geological formations and faults, mud type and mud additives added at this stage, mud properties?” The large language models can take that input, output the correct language response, and then the video reporting tool would generate a video report including the audio narration of the answer”;
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS combination now modifies the trained machine learning model of BOUALLEG to add the interactive question/answering functionality of MICHALOPULOS, so that stakeholders, including customers, can query the machine learning model as taught by MICHALOPULOS)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS as explained above. As disclosed by MICHALOPULOS, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to use a LLM or other AI to “ receive the drilling operations information, the well plan, and existing information from systems and reports, and consolidate that information and use it to generate a new report. The AI system may be used to accept additional requests or feedback from stakeholders and use that information to generate future video reports that include information like that requested for that stakeholder.” (para. 0164).
Regarding Claim 14
BOUALLEG teaches:
A system comprising: (BOUALLEG, para. 0005: “Methods and systems for optimizing a drill bit are disclosed.”)
a bottom hole assembly (BHA) disposed in a wellbore, wherein the BHA comprises a measurement assembly configured to acquire one or more measurements; and (BOUALLEG, para. 0017: “FIG. 1 depicts an example drilling rig 20 including a system 60 for optimizing a drill bit. The drilling rig 20 may be positioned over a subterranean formation (not shown) and may be configured for drilling a geothermal well or a hydrocarbon exploration and/or production well. The rig 20 may include, for example, a derrick and a hoisting apparatus (also not shown) for raising and lowering a drill string 30, which, as shown, extends into wellbore 40 and includes, for example, a drill bit 32 (such as a drill bit, optimized using system 60), a steering tool 34 (such as a rotary steerable tool), and optional logging while drilling (LWD) 36 and measurement while drilling (MWD) 38 tools.”;
BOUALLEG, para. 0020: “Various sensors may be located about the wellsite to collect data (or drilling parameters) related to the drilling operation, such as standpipe pressure, pump pressure, hook load, wellbore depth, surface torque, rotary rpm, among others. The bottom hole assembly (BHA) 50 may also include downhole sensors disposed in the drill bit, the steering tool 34, the LWD tool 36, or the MWD tool 38 to provide information about downhole conditions, such as wellbore pressure, weight on bit, torque on bit, or attitude (inclination and azimuth), collar rpm, tool temperature, annular temperature, and toolface, among others. These sensors (e.g., both uphole and downhole sensors) may be configured to provide data to the system 60 for optimizing the drill bit 32 (e.g., for a subsequent drilling operation).”
Examiner’s Note: the sensors correspond to the recited “measurement assembly” and measurements include wellbore pressure, weight on bit, torque on bit, etc.)
an information handling system configured to: (BOUALLEG, para. 0021: “The system 60 may be further configured to receive the trained machine learning model(s). It will be further understood that the disclosed embodiments may include processor executable instructions stored in the data storage device. The executable instructions may be configured, for example, to execute method 100 to optimize the drill bit characteristics. It will, of course, be understood that the disclosed embodiments are not limited to the use of or the configuration of any particular computer hardware and/or software.”)
acquire historical data from the wellbore; (BOUALLEG, para. 0027: “Historical data 115 from a large number of wells is input into the ML model 110 at 115. The historical data includes drilling operation parameters that may include drill bit parameters, drilling parameters, BHA and/or RSS parameters, wellbore parameters, formation parameters, and a measured drill bit performance metric (PM) such as ROP, DLS, or ACC. ... Example wellbore parameters may include, for example, wellbore diameter, measured depth, inclination, azimuth, and curvature. Example BHA and/or RSS parameters may include, for example, drill string diameter, flex or stiffness, RSS type, RSS pad pressure, and the axial distance between the drill bit cutting surface and the RSS actuators.”)
extract relevant information from the historical data; (BOUALLEG, para. 0027: “Historical data 115 from a large number of wells is input into the ML model 110 at 115. The historical data includes drilling operation parameters that may include drill bit parameters, drilling parameters, BHA and/or RSS parameters, wellbore parameters, formation parameters, and a measured drill bit performance metric (PM) such as ROP, DLS, or ACC. ... Example wellbore parameters may include, for example, wellbore diameter, measured depth, inclination, azimuth, and curvature. Example BHA and/or RSS parameters may include, for example, drill string diameter, flex or stiffness, RSS type, RSS pad pressure, and the axial distance between the drill bit cutting surface and the RSS actuators.”;
Examiner’s Note: extracted relevant information includes wellbore diameter, measured depth, inclination, azimuth, and curvature)
train a machine learning (ML) model with the relevant information to form a trained ML model; and (BOUALLEG, para. 0028: “With continued reference to FIG. 4, the machine learning model 110 processes the historical drilling data 115 to generate a trained model 120 including relationships and/or correlations between a drill bit performance metric (PM) and the drill bit parameters, drilling parameters, BHA and/or RSS parameters, wellbore parameters, and/or formation parameters in the historical drilling data 115.”)
However, BOUALLEG fails to explicitly teach:
tune the trained machine learning (ML) model with the measurements from a drilling operation
providing one or more of the following:
an answer to a question utilizing the trained ML model; or
at least one operational command for the drilling operation; and
modifying a drilling operation using the at least one operational command or the answer to a question utilizing the trained ML model.
However, in a related field of endeavor (drilling of wells for oil and gas production, see para. 0001), MICHALOPULOS teaches and makes obvious:
providing one or more of the following:
an answer to a question utilizing the trained ML model; or (MICHALOPULOS, para. 0165: “The system would be able to use large language models (like ChatGPT) or other AI/ML tools to be interactive, such as by accepting users' input questions and then outputting the short video clips with answers to the questions, such as by providing additional information, showing backup information, or providing a more detailed explanation. An example would be the drilling engineer could ask “how does this current H2-MB14 well intermediate section and curve compared to the last three MB14 wells we drilled, include trajectories, bit and BHA's, hours on each of those during that time, geological formations and faults, mud type and mud additives added at this stage, mud properties?” The large language models can take that input, output the correct language response, and then the video reporting tool would generate a video report including the audio narration of the answer, together with the 3D representation of the well, with the display of the current well provided with displays of the earlier three reference wells so that the video report visually shows the similarities and differences of the current well and the three earlier reference wells that were the subject of the question. The engineer could then refine the request after reviewing the generated video report and say “now take wells MB14 and X well and also compare the dip angles on each well as well as direction the wells were drilled”. The large language model would then provide a response, which the video reporting engine can use to provide an updated report with updated text and/or audio narration including the response to the second input query.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS combination now modifies the trained machine learning model of BOUALLEG to add the interactive question/answering functionality of MICHALOPULOS)
at least one operational command for the drilling operation; and (MICHALOPULOS, para. 0054: “Manual control may involve direct control of the drilling rig equipment, albeit with certain safety limits to prevent unsafe or undesired actions or collisions of different equipment. To enable manual-assisted control, steering control system 168 may present various information, such as using a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on a display device (see FIG. 8), to a human operator, and may provide controls that enable the human operator to perform a control operation. The information presented to the user may include live measurements and feedback from the drilling rig and steering control system 168, or the drilling rig itself, and may further include limits and safety-related elements to prevent unwanted actions or equipment states, in response to a manual control command entered by the user using the GUI.”
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS combination now modifies the drill bit system of BOUALLEG to add a GUI for manual control by an operator to provide a command for the drilling operation, such as for steering, as taught by MICHALOPULOS.
modifying a drilling operation using the at least one operational command or the answer to a question utilizing the trained ML model. (MICHALOPULOS, para. 0054: “Manual control may involve direct control of the drilling rig equipment, albeit with certain safety limits to prevent unsafe or undesired actions or collisions of different equipment. To enable manual-assisted control, steering control system 168 may present various information, such as using a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on a display device (see FIG. 8), to a human operator, and may provide controls that enable the human operator to perform a control operation. The information presented to the user may include live measurements and feedback from the drilling rig and steering control system 168, or the drilling rig itself, and may further include limits and safety-related elements to prevent unwanted actions or equipment states, in response to a manual control command entered by the user using the GUI.”
MICHALOPULUS, para. 0059: “The output information generated by steering control system 168 may include indications to modify one or more drilling parameters, the direction of drilling, and the drilling mode, among others. In certain operational modes, such as semi-automatic or automatic, steering control system 168 may generate output information indicative of instructions to rig controls 520 to enable automatic drilling using the latest location of BHA 149. Therefore, an improved accuracy in the determination of the location of BHA 149 may be provided using steering control system 168.”
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS combination now modifies the drill bit system of BOUALLEG to add a GUI for manual control by an operator to provide a command for the drilling operation, such as for steering, as taught by MICHALOPULOS, where such steering modifies a drilling operation by modifying drilling modes, parameters, and directions as taught by MICHALOPULOS)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS as explained above. As disclosed by MICHALOPULOS, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to use a LLM or other AI to “ receive the drilling operations information, the well plan, and existing information from systems and reports, and consolidate that information and use it to generate a new report. The AI system may be used to accept additional requests or feedback from stakeholders and use that information to generate future video reports that include information like that requested for that stakeholder.” (para. 0164).
However, BOUALLEG and MICHALOPULOS fail to explicitly teach:
tune the trained machine learning (ML) model with the measurements from a drilling operation
However, in a related field of endeavor (geologic drilling, see para. 0027, 0030), GUNE teaches and makes obvious:
tune the trained machine learning (ML) model with the measurements from a drilling operation (GUNE, para. 0082: “Geosteering can include intentional directional control of a wellbore based on results of downhole geological logging measurements in a manner that aims to keep a directional wellbore within a desired region, zone (e.g., a pay zone), etc. Geosteering may include directing a wellbore to keep the wellbore in a particular section of a reservoir, for example, to minimize gas and/or water breakthrough and, for example, to maximize economic production from a well that includes the wellbore.”;
GUNE, para. 0144: “FIG. 13 shows an example of a method 1300 for ML model fine-tuning and/or retraining. As shown, the method 1300 can include a training block 1310 for training of a base ML model, and a test block 1320 for testing the trained base ML model using test data for evaluation and feedback.”;
GUNE, para. 0152: “As an example, a method can include providing a trained base ML model and then fine-tuning and/or retraining the trained base ML model for a particular task, which may be associated with a particular type of log, a particular type of downhole assembly, a particular client, etc. In such an example, a trained base ML model can be readily adapted to various tasks in an expeditious manner with minimal HITL effort.”
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS-GUNE combination now fine-tunes the machine learning model of BOUALLEG using the teachings of GUNE, where such fine-tuning uses geosteering-related measurement data as provided by GUNE, and which can also fine-tune based on particular logs (which correspond to recited “measurement data”))
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS and GUNE as explained above. As disclosed by GUNE, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to use machine learning techniques for denoising raster images of the wellbore. (para. 0100). One of ordinary skill would have further been motivated to do so in order to fine-tune a machine learning model using additional data, which one of skill in the art would understand to be less computationally intensive than fully re-training the model.
Claim 15 depends from claim 14 and recites a system that corresponds to the method of claim 2, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 2 and 14.
Claim 18 depends from claim 14 and recites a system that corresponds to the method of claim 5, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 5 and 14.
Claim 20 depends from claim 14 and recites a system that corresponds to the method of claim 12, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 12 and 14.
Claims 3-4 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOUALLEG, in view of MICHALOPULOS and GUNE, and further in view of US 20240362421 A1, hereinafter referenced as MARKOV.
Regarding Claim 3
BOUALLEG, MICHALOPULOS, and GUNE teach the method of claim 2 as explained above. However, BOUALLEG, MICHALOPULOS, and GUNE fail to explicitly teach:
wherein the tuning the geosteering context comprises rating a quality of an output of the trained ML model.
However, in a related field of endeavor (fine-tuning a language model, see para. 0041), MARKOV teaches and makes obvious:
wherein the tuning the geosteering context comprises rating a quality of an output of the trained ML model. (MARKOV, para. 0041: “System 100 can further include LM refinement engine 116. In some embodiments, LM refinement engine 116 may be configured to execute optimization operations, such as by aligning or fine-tuning a language model from language model access engine 108. In some embodiments, aligning or fine-tuning may be based on one or more desired output behaviors or user intent derived from a set of user instructions, or one or more content policies as exemplified by content policy 101b. ... In some embodiments, LM refinement engine 116 may use refined data as validation data to determine quality scores or other metrics of model output, to train a language model to generate improved digital text outputs or content classification.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS-GUNE-MARKOV combination now fine-tunes the trained model of BOUALLEG using the fine-tuning teachings of GUNE and MARKOV using the quality scores of model output of MARKOV)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS, GUNE, and MARKOV as explained above. As disclosed by MARKOV, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the efficiency and resource usage of model training. (para. 0033). One of ordinary skill would have further been motivated to do so in order to fine-tune a machine learning model using additional data, which one of skill in the art would understand to be less computationally intensive than fully re-training the model.
Regarding Claim 4
BOUALLEG, MICHALOPULOS, GUNE, and MARKOV teach the method of claim 3 as explained above. However, BOUALLEG, MICHALOPULOS, and GUNE fail to explicitly teach:
further comprising tuning parameter, hyper parameter, function, and/or architecture of the trained ML model based at least on the quality of an output of the trained ML model.
However, in a related field of endeavor (fine-tuning a language model, see para. 0041), MARKOV teaches and makes obvious:
further comprising tuning parameter, hyper parameter, function, and/or architecture of the trained ML model based at least on the quality of an output of the trained ML model. (MARKOV, para. 0041: “System 100 can further include LM refinement engine 116. In some embodiments, LM refinement engine 116 may be configured to execute optimization operations, such as by aligning or fine-tuning a language model from language model access engine 108. In some embodiments, aligning or fine-tuning may be based on one or more desired output behaviors or user intent derived from a set of user instructions, or one or more content policies as exemplified by content policy 101b. ... In some embodiments, LM refinement engine 116 may use refined data as validation data to determine quality scores or other metrics of model output, to train a language model to generate improved digital text outputs or content classification.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS-GUNE-MARKOV combination now fine-tunes at least the parameters of the trained model of BOUALLEG using the fine-tuning teachings of GUNE and MARKOV using the quality scores of model output of MARKOV)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS, GUNE, and MARKOV as explained above. As disclosed by MARKOV, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the efficiency and resource usage of model training. (para. 0033). One of ordinary skill would have further been motivated to do so in order to fine-tune a machine learning model using additional data, which one of skill in the art would understand to be less computationally intensive than fully re-training the model.
Claim 16 depends from claim 15 and recites a system that corresponds to the method of claim 3, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 3 and 15.
Claim 17 depends from claim 16 and recites a system that corresponds to the method of claim 4, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 4 and 16.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOUALLEG in view of MICHALOPULOS and GUNE and further in view of US 20200248545 A1, hereinafter referenced as MAUS.
Regarding Claim 6
BOUALLEG and MICHALOPULOS and GUNE teach the method of claim 1 as explained above. However, BOUALLEG and MICHALOPULOS and GUNE fail to explicitly teach:
wherein historical data comprises internal geosteering reports.
However, in a related field of endeavor (drilling wells for oil and gas production, see para. 0002), MAUS teaches and makes obvious:
wherein historical data comprises internal geosteering reports. (MAUS, para. 0189: “In addition, geosteering control system 168 may have the ability to switch on/off different interpretations, the ability to load a 3rd party interpretation, and the ability to select a definitive interpretation, among others. For every subject well MD, geosteering control system 168 may be enabled to display the likelihood of being at a given TVD on the type log, to generate a highly customizable geosteering report, and to generate a geosteering report without delay with minimal user input. Further, geosteering control system 168 may have the ability to compute and display KPI of how much of the well is “in zone”, the ability to export an interpretation in various different formats, such as MS-Excel (Microsoft Corp.), or a format supported by another application program, and the ability to export a complete geosteering data set (e.g., all input data, trajectories, interpretations, etc.)”;
Examiner’s Note: the BOUALLEG-MICHALOPULOS-GUNE-MAUS combination now modifies the training of the model of BOULLEG to also include generated geosteering reports by the user (so they are therefore internal reports to the user’s organization) in the historical data for training the model)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of BOUALLEG with MICHALOPULOS, GUNE, and MAUS as explained above. As disclosed by MAUS, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to utilize machine learning techniques to aid humans in recognizing patterns, such as for predictive analytics. (para. 0200).
Claim 19 depends from claim 14 and recites a system that corresponds to the method of claim 6, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 6 and 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL C. LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2128