DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alpman et al., US 2020/0091608 (corresponding to US 11,414,539), in view of Alexander et al., US 7,138,815.
In re Claim 1, Alpman discloses a package structure 2000 (Fig. 20), comprising: a substrate 20001 defining a cavity 2003; and a module 2006 comprising a portion 2006 and a portion 2007, wherein the portion 20006 and the 2007 are disposed in the cavity 2003 of the substrate 2001 (Figs. 20; [0764 -0771]).
Alpman does not specify that the module 2006 is a power module, as well as that the portion 2006 is a power regulation portion and the portion 2007 is a noise filter portion.
Alexander teaches a package comprising power module 10 comprising a power regulation portion 18 and a noise filter portion 14 (Figs. 1 and 2; column 4, line 8 – column 8, line 5).
Alexander does not disclose the power regulation portion 18 and the noise filter portion 14 are disposed in the cavity of the substrate.
To reject a claim based on this rationale set forth in MPEP 2143 (B), Office personnel must resolve the Graham factual inquiries. Then, Office personnel must articulate the following:
(1) a finding that the prior art contained a device (method, product, etc.) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (step, element, etc.) with other components;
(2) a finding that the substituted components and their functions were known in the art;
(3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable; and
(4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
In the instant case, examiner articulates the following:
(1) Alpman’s reference contains a package structure which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (the portion 2006 with a power regulation portion and the portion 2007 with a noise filter portion).
;
(2) Alexander’s package structure with is a power regulation portion 18 and a noise filter portion 14 and its functions were known in the art;
(3) Due to high level of knowledge and skills of personal capable to operate very sophisticated and expensive equipment in semiconductor technology, one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor art could have substituted one known element (Alpman’s portions 2006 and 2007 inside the cavity 2003) for another (Alexander’s power regulation portion 18 and noise filter portion 14), and the results of the substitution would have been predictable, because Alexander’s device successfully functions;
(4) In view of the facts of the case under consideration, there appear to be no additional findings (re, e.g. long-felt need, unexpected results, commercial success, etc.) needed, based on the Graham factual inquiries.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reason for indicating allowable subject matter
In re Claim 2: The prior art of record cited by the current office action, alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious such limitation of claim 2 as: “the power regulation portion is configured to operate at a first frequency, and the noise filter portion is configured to operate at a second frequency higher than the first frequency”, in combination with limitations of Claim 1 on which it depends.
Claims 11 and 20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In re Claim 11, prior-art fails to disclose package structure “wherein the package structure defines a power path configured to provide a power signal to the electronic component, the power path comprises a first path portion extending from the power regulation portion to the noise filter portion and a second path portion extending from the noise filter portion to the electronic component, and a path length of the first path portion is greater than a path length of the second path portion.” Therefore, the claimed device differs from prior art devices on this point and there is no evidence it would have been obvious to make this change.
In re Claim 17, prior-art fails to disclose package structure “wherein the second capacitor is configured to operate at a frequency higher than that of the first capacitor, and the second capacitor is closer to an edge of the substrate than the first capacitor is.” Therefore, the claimed device differs from prior art devices on this point and there is no evidence it would have been obvious to make this change.
Conclusion
/NIKOLAY K YUSHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893