DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 16-17, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubin et al., (US 20090270894; hereinafter Rubin) in view of Hall et al., (US 20110282270; hereinafter Hall).
Regarding claim 1, Rubin (Figures 1-7) discloses a medical device (10) comprising: an elongate inner member (18) disposed at least partially within an elongate outer member (16) defining an outer lumen (93) along a longitudinal axis of the elongate outer member (16) and a lateral fluid port (31) at the elongate outer member (16), the lateral fluid port (31) in fluid communication with the outer lumen (16), wherein the elongate inner member (18): defines an inner lumen (64) along a longitudinal axis of the elongate inner member (18), is rotatable relative to the elongate outer member (16), comprises a first passage (45) on a distal end portion (44) of the elongate inner member (18) in fluid communication with the inner lumen (64), comprises a second passage (47) proximal to the first passage (45), the second passage being in fluid communication with the inner lumen and configurable to be in at least partial alignment with the lateral fluid port (31) of the elongate outer member (16) to provide fluid communication between the lateral fluid port (31) and the inner lumen (64), an obstruction (proximal end) closing off the inner lumen at a position proximal to the second passage (47) such that fluid entering the inner lumen through the first passage (45) exits the inner lumen through the second passage (47) and into the lateral fluid port (31), and an end effector (24) at a distal end of the elongate inner member (18), ([0024]-[0028], [0033]).
Rubin fails to disclose that the lateral fluid port is a lateral suction port, wherein the inner member is rotatable to adjust an alignment of the second passage with the lateral suction port to control an amount of suction through the first passage. However, Hall (Figure 3) discloses a medical device (100) in which a lateral fluid port (136) is configured as a combined suction and irrigation port ([0038]), wherein an inner member (104) is rotatable to adjust an alignment of a second passage (134) with the lateral suction port (136) to control an amount of suction through a first passage (148), ([0045]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rubin to include the lateral fluid port configured as a combined suction and irrigation port, wherein the inner member is rotatable to adjust an alignment of the second passage with the lateral suction port to control an amount of suction through the first passage, as taught by Hall, since the modification would ensure thorough cleaning of the treatment site (Hall; [0045]).
Regarding claim 7, Rubin (Figures 1-7) further discloses a working channel (93) located between an inner surface of the outer member (16) and an outer surface of the inner member (18), the working channel being (93) in fluid communication with the lateral port (31), ([0024]-[0028], [0033]).
Regarding claim 8, Rubin (Figures 1-7) discloses wherein the second passage (47) is disposed more proximal than the first passage (45), and a length between the first passage (45) and the second passage (47) is more than a length between a distal end of the outer member (16) and the lateral port (31), ([0024]-[0028], [0033]).
Regarding claim 16, Rubin (Figures 1-7) further discloses a seal (52) disposed more proximal than the second passage (47), ([0024]-[0028], [0032]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 17, Rubin (Figures 1-7) further discloses a seal (49) disposed between an outer surface of the inner member (18) and an inner surface of the outer member (16) and more proximal than the second passage (47), ([0024]-[0028], [0032]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 19, Rubin (Figures 1-7) discloses a medical device (10) comprising: an elongate inner member (18) disposed at least partially within an elongate outer member (16) defining an outer lumen (lumen defining the open channel within outer member 16) along a longitudinal axis of the outer member (16) and a lateral fluid port (31) at the elongate outer member (16), the lateral fluid port (31) in fluid communication with the outer lumen (93), wherein the inner member (18) defines a inner lumen (64) along a longitudinal axis of the inner member (18), wherein: the inner member (18) comprises a first passage (45) on a distal end (44) portion of the inner member (18) in fluid communication with the inner lumen (64), comprises a second passage (47) proximal to the first passage (45), the second passage being in fluid communication with the inner lumen and configurable to be in at least partial alignment with the lateral fluid port (31) of the elongate outer member (16) to provide fluid communication between the lateral fluid port (31) and the inner lumen (64), an obstruction (proximal end) closing off the inner lumen at a position proximal to the second passage (47) such that fluid entering the inner lumen through the first passage (45) exits the inner lumen through the second passage (47) and into the lateral fluid port (31), and a working channel (93) disposed between an inner surface of the outer lumen (lumen defining the open channel within outer member 16) and an outer surface of the inner lumen (64), the working channel being in fluid communication with the fluid port (31), ([0024]-[0028], [0033]).
Regarding claim 18, Rubin fails to disclose sterilizing the medical device; and storing the medical device in a sterile container. However, Hall teaches a method for processing an instrument for surgery, the method comprising sterilizing the medical device and storing the medical device in a sterile container ([0067]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rubin/Hall to include the steps of sterilizing the medical device and storing the medical device in a sterile container, as taught by Hall, because the modification would provide a sterilized and safe medical device for use in treatment as desired (Hall; [0067]).
Rubin fails to disclose that the lateral fluid port is a lateral suction port, wherein the inner member is rotatable to adjust an alignment of the second passage with the lateral suction port to control an amount of suction through the first passage. However, Hall (Figure 3) discloses a medical device (100) in which a lateral fluid port (136) is configured as a combined suction and irrigation port ([0038]), wherein an inner member (104) is rotatable to adjust an alignment of a second passage (134) with the lateral suction port (136) to control an amount of suction through a first passage (148), ([0045]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rubin to include the lateral fluid port configured as a combined suction and irrigation port, wherein the inner member is rotatable to adjust an alignment of the second passage with the lateral suction port to control an amount of suction through the first passage, as taught by Hall, since the modification would ensure thorough cleaning of the treatment site (Hall; [0045]).
Regarding claim 20, Rubin fails to disclose sterilizing the medical device; and storing the medical device in a sterile container. However, Hall teaches a method for processing an instrument for surgery, the method comprising sterilizing the medical device and storing the medical device in a sterile container ([0067]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rubin/Hall to include the steps of sterilizing the medical device and storing the medical device in a sterile container, as taught by Hall, because the modification would provide a sterilized and safe medical device for use in treatment as desired (Hall; [0067]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubin/Hall, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Flom et al., (US 5830214; hereinafter Flom).
Regarding claim 2, Rubin (Figures 1-7) further discloses wherein the first passage (45) comprising a front opening at a distal end (44) of the inner member (18), ([0027]), but fails to disclose a side opening on a side wall of the inner member at the distal end portion in fluid communication with the second lumen. However, Flom (Figures 1-2A) teaches a medical device comprising a side opening (8) on a side wall of an inner member (4) at the distal end portion in fluid communication with a second lumen (14), (Col. 4, lines 40-45 and 60-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rubin/Hall to include a side opening on a side wall of the inner member at the distal end portion in fluid communication with the second lumen, as taught by Flom, because the modification would enhance the evacuation of fluids from the target area (Flom; Col. 5, lines 55-60).
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubin/Hall, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shalon et al., (US 20100137891; hereinafter Shalon).
Regarding claims 3-6, Rubin (Figures 1-7) further teaches an elongate outer member (16), but Rubin/Hall fails to teach a camera at a distal end of the elongate outer member, further comprising an alignment marker located at the distal end the inner member, the alignment marker being alignable with the second passage and positionable in a field of view of the camera, wherein the inner member is slidable relative to the outer member between a retracted position and an extended position. However, Shalon (Figure 3b) teaches a medical device comprising an elongate outer member (60) and a camera (72) at a distal end of the elongate outer member (60), further comprising an alignment marker (84) located at a distal end of an inner member (64), the alignment marker (84) being alignable as desired and positionable in a field of view of the camera (72), wherein the inner member (64) is slidable relative to the outer member (60) between a retracted position and an extended position ([0111]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rubin/Hall to include a camera at a distal end of the elongate outer member, further comprising an alignment marker located at the distal end the inner member, the alignment marker being alignable as desired and positionable in a field of view of the camera, wherein the inner member is slidable relative to the outer member between a retracted position and an extended position, as taught by Shalon, because the modification would enable desired positioning and alignment of the different parts of the device during use (Shalon; [0111]). Furthermore, since the base device is concerned with the alignment of the different passages of the device, the alignment marker of the modified device would be alignable with the second passage.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubin/Hall, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Goble et al., (US 6090106; hereinafter Goble).
Regarding claim 9, Rubin/Hall teaches the medical device of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the end effector is a helical electrode defining helical loops adjacently spaced apart from each other to allow fluid flow therebetween. However, Goble (Figure 6) teaches a medical device in which the end effector (51) is a helical electrode defining helical loops adjacently spaced apart from each other to allow fluid flow therebetween (Col. 15, lines 4-19). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rubin/Hall to include the end effector configured as a helical electrode defining helical loops adjacently spaced apart from each other to allow fluid flow therebetween, as taught by Goble, because the modification would provide active cutting using the active electrode, wherein the helical shape of the electrode would enable a low power threshold (Goble; Col. 15, lines 4-19).
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubin/Hall, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Woloszko et al., (US 20030216725; hereinafter Woloszko).
Regarding claims 10-12, Rubin/Hall teaches the medical device of claim 1, but fails to disclose a ceramic insulator coupled to the inner member to separate the inner member from the end effector, wherein the end effector is located on the ceramic insulator and the end effector includes fluid inflow ports permitting fluid inflow through the end effector and into the inner lumen defined by the inner member and wherein the ceramic insulator defines a ceramic insulator opening in fluid communication with the inner lumen in the inner member, further wherein the electrode includes a grill spanning across the ceramic insulator opening. However, Woloszko (Figures 23A-23C) teaches a medical device (2100) in which a ceramic insulator (2108) is coupled to an inner member (2102) to separate the inner member (2102) from an end effector (2110), wherein the end effector (2110) is located on the ceramic insulator (2108) and the end effector (2110) includes fluid inflow ports (spaces between electrodes 2110 directing fluid into aspiration channel 2142 through element 2140) permitting fluid inflow through the end effector (2110) and into an inner lumen (2142) defined by the inner member (2102) and wherein the ceramic insulator (2108) defines a ceramic insulator opening (2140) in fluid communication with the inner lumen (2142) in the inner member (2102), further wherein the electrode (2110) includes a grill spanning across the ceramic insulator opening (2140), ([0172]-[0175]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the double tubular member configuration disclosed by Rubin, comprising tube 18 surrounding tube 14 which has end effector 24, with a single tubular member configuration taught by Woloszko, comprising only one tube 2102 which has end effector 2110 attached to the distal end of the one tube 2102 through ceramic insulator 2108, since both configurations perform the same function of providing an access shaft with an end effector located at the distal end of the device, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B). Furthermore, reducing the double tubular member configuration disclosed by Rubin with a single tubular member configuration taught by Woloszko would reduce the bulk of the device.
Regarding claim 13, Rubin/Hall/Woloszko further teaches wherein the ceramic insulator (Woloszko; 2108) includes an inflow port (Woloszko; 2140) in fluid communication with the inner lumen (2142) defined by the inner member (Woloszko; 2102), (Woloszko; [0172]-[0175]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/08/2026, directed to the newly amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 19, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection(s) has/have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the new Rubin/Hall combination, wherein Hall teaches that the lateral fluid port is a lateral suction port, wherein the inner member is rotatable to adjust an alignment of the second passage with the lateral suction port to control an amount of suction through the first passage. Furthermore, Rubin discloses an obstruction (proximal end) closing off the inner lumen at a position proximal to the second passage (47) such that fluid entering the inner lumen through the first passage (45) exits the inner lumen through the second passage (47) and into the lateral fluid port (31). Therefore, the Rubin/Hall combination teaches the invention as claimed at least in amended independent claims 1 and 19.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794