DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 01/08/2024 claims 1-7 are pending. Claim 1 is independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 01/08/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the plot in Fig. 5 is missing x-axis and y-axis titles and units. Amend Fig. 5 to include titles and units for the x-axis and the y-axis.
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 1-5 are blurred. Resubmit the drawings taking into consideration the grayscale.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Power Loss Protection Integrated Circuit for Charging Storage Capacitors”.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 11 replace “when” with --wherein-- for improved reading comprehension. For examination purposes below this limitation will be interpreted as “wherein”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3 remove “the” before “M” and add additional supporting limitations supported by applicant’s specification dated 01/08/2024 found in lines 16-23 of page 11 to avoid a lack of antecedent basis issue. For examination purposes below “M” will be interpreted as supported by the applicant’s disclosure, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lu et al. (USPGPN 20230324970).
With respect to claim 1, Lu teaches a power loss protection integrated circuit for charging N (N is a natural number greater than or equal to 2) storage capacitors (Figs. 1-3; a power management integrated circuit (PMIC) 110 for charging N ≥ 2 storage capacitors 102).
Lu teaches a charge circuit generating a charge current to charge the N storage capacitors (Fig. 2; ¶[25]; bidirectional buck-boost converter 113 charges the storage capacitors 102).
Lu teaches N separate electrical paths connected in a one-to-one relationship with the N storage capacitors and supplying the charge current to the N storage capacitors therethrough (Fig. 2; N ≥ 2 paths denoted by 142-n in a one-to-one relationship with the storage capacitors 102 and for supplying the charge current to the storage capacitors 102 therethrough).
Lu teaches N switches arranged in the corresponding electrical paths and turned ON/OFF to supply (ON) the charge current through the electrical paths or interrupt (OFF) the supply of the charge current (Fig. 2; ¶[27]; N ≥ 2 switches denoted by blocking circuits 220-n arranged in the corresponding electrical paths 142-n and turned ON/OFF to supply (ON) the charge current through the path 142-n or interrupt (OFF) the supply of the charge current).
Lu teaches an overcurrent detection unit detecting whether the charge current supplied through the electrical paths is an overcurrent exceeding a predetermined critical current (Fig. 3; ¶[35]; sense circuit 301 detects overcurrent of the charging current flowing through paths 142-n and it is compared to a threshold value to determine overcurrent).
Lu teaches a control unit sequentially turning ON/OFF the N switches and immediately stopping charging the storage capacitor through a working path where the overcurrent is detected when the working path is defined as the electrical path where the switch in the ON state is arranged (Figs. 1-3; ¶[23-24]; ¶[36]; controller 112 sequentially turns ON or OFF the transistor M5 of the blocking circuit 220-n in response to the detection of overcurrent. One of ordinary skill understands a working path is one when the transistor M5 is turned ON thus a charge current reaches the corresponding capacitor 102 (i.e, a working path)).
With respect to claim 2, Lu teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Lu teaches wherein the switches are field effect transistor (FET) switches (Fig. 3; transistors M5 of the blocking circuits 220-n are FETs).
With respect to claim 3, Lu teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Lu teaches wherein the overcurrent detection unit comprises a current comparator comparing the charge current and the critical current (¶[35]; “The sense circuit 301 may include a comparator that compares the sense current to a threshold to detect overcurrent”).
With respect to claim 4, Lu teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Lu teaches wherein the control unit continuously turns OFF the switch arranged in the working path to block the working path when the overcurrent is detected (¶[36]; “...the sense circuit 301 sends a sense signal to the controller 112, which controls the third terminal of the transistor M5 to turn the transistor M5 OFF when the sense signal indicates overcurrent...”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (USPGPN 20230324970) and further in view of Nagayasu (Japanese Patent JP-5995420-B2).
With respect to claim 5, Lu teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Lu teaches wherein the power loss protection integrated circuit comprises a discharge circuit generating a sink current to discharge the M (M is a natural number greater than or equal to 2) storage capacitors charged through some or all of the N electrical paths wherein the control unit sequentially turns ON/OFF the switches arranged in the separate electrical paths connected to the M charged storage capacitors (Fig. 2; DC-DC converter 131 provides a discharge path 203 generating a current to discharge the storage capacitors 102 that were charged through the corresponding paths 142-n using the controller 112 to sequentially turn ON/OFF the M5 switches arranged in the paths 142-n connected to the storage capacitors 102 as cited above).
However, Lu fails to explicitly teach a charge capacity measurement unit measuring voltage drops in the storage capacitors during discharge and measure the charge capacity of the storage capacitor discharged through the working path based on the voltage drop measured in the storage capacitor discharged through the working path.
Nagayasu teaches a charge capacity measurement unit measuring voltage drops in the storage capacitors during discharge and measure the charge capacity of the storage capacitor discharged through the working path based on the voltage drop measured in the storage capacitor discharged through the working path (Fig. 1, a capacitor capacitance measuring device 1; ¶[09], the voltage drops of the capacitor are measured during discharge to determine the capacitance. The working path is understood by one of ordinary skill to be a circuit path with current flowing).
Measuring the voltage of a capacitor helps finds its capacity because capacity depends on how much charge it holds and how much voltage builds up. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Nagayasu’s charge capacity measurement method to Lu’s PMIC. The advantage of this being that capacitor capacity can be measured regularly with precision, thus improving reliability (see ¶[02] of Nagayasu).
With respect to claim 6, Lu teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. However, Lu fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 6.
Nagayasu teaches wherein when the measured charge capacity of the storage capacitor discharged through the working path is lower than the predetermined critical capacity, the control unit judges the storage capacitor as having a failure (¶[02]; aging of the capacitor may be determined based on the measurement results, thus one of ordinary skill understands the measured capacitance is compared with a predetermined critical capacity to make this judgement).
Comparing capacitance values determines aging or failure by measuring how much a capacitor’s energy storage capacity drops over time. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Nagayasu’s charge capacity measurement method to Lu’s PMIC. The advantage of this being that capacitor capacity can be measured regularly with precision, thus improving reliability (see ¶[02] of Nagayasu).
With respect to claim 7, Lu teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. Further, Lu teaches wherein when the discharged storage capacitor is judged as having a failure, the switch arranged in the working path is continuously turned OFF to block the working path (¶[03]; “When a storage capacitor fails, a blocking transistor (e.g., metal-oxide semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET)) is turned OFF to disconnect all of the storage capacitors from the PMIC, thereby preventing the resulting large inrush current from triggering over current protection and losing the bus voltage”).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The additional prior art identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) were considered by the examiner, however, for examination purposes were not relied upon for citation purposes.
Lee et al. (USPGPN 20220199122) is about a memory/storage device that can keep working briefly when external power suddenly fails. It uses an auxiliary power device made of one or more capacitors to store backup energy. A charging circuit keeps those capacitors charged during normal operation. A state-determining circuit watches the capacitor voltage and the timing of charge/discharge cycles to tell whether the auxiliary power device is healthy.
Huang (USPGPN 20100226194) describes a backup power protection circuit and method for a non-volatile storage device such as flash memory. The device uses an energy storage unit, preferably a large capacitor, to keep the memory system alive long enough to save data when normal power fails. During ordinary operation, a main control unit monitors the capacitor’s charge level and charges it only when needed. When the external power supply becomes abnormal or drops out, the circuit switches the device over to the capacitor as the power source. The circuit is designed to keep the capacitor from being overcharged or undercharged.
Conclusion
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859