DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–17 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0182217 A1.
Drawings
Applicants' amendments have overcome the objections to the drawings.
Specification
Applicants' amendments have overcome the objections to the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the length direction" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2–12 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2–12 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "wherein in the direction perpendicular to the cable tie body." A cable tie body is a three-dimensional object with an unknown number of surfaces or cross sections that can be chosen to have a direction to be perpendicular to. It is unclear what encompasses "the direction perpendicular to the cable tie body."
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the cable tie according to any one of claims 1 to 13” and may include all the limitations of claim 1 and claim 13. Therefore, claim 14 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 15 and 16 are directly dependent from claim 14 and include all the limitations of claim 14. Therefore, claims 15 and 16 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the electrical connection structure according to claim 14” and includes all the limitation of claim 14. Therefore, claim 17 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–5, 7, 8, and 10–13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (CN 207001248 U, hereinafter Hu).
Regarding claim 1, Hu discloses a cable tie (FIG. 1, [0018]), comprising:
a cable tie body (1, 2; [0018]),
wherein the cable tie body (1, 2) is provided with a plurality of first locking teeth (9) arranged in the length direction (FIG. 1, [0019]) of the cable tie body (1, 2); and
a first snapping portion (3) and a second snapping portion (4), which are two snapping portions (3, 4) and arranged at a first end (1) of the cable tie body and spaced by a preset distance (FIG. 1, [0018]),
wherein the first snapping portion (3) is provided with a first snapping hole (10, [0019]),
the second snapping portion (4) is provided with a second snapping hole (11, [0019]), and
the first snapping hole (10) is internally provided with a second locking tooth (12),
the second snapping hole (11) is internally provided with a third locking tooth (12), and
the cable tie body (1, 2) has an unfolded state and a wrapping state (FIG. 1, [0020]), and
the first snapping portion (3) and the second snapping portion (4) are arranged on the same side of the cable tie body (1, 2) in the unfolded state (FIG. 1, [0018]); and
a second end (2) of the cable tie body (1, 2) is connected to the first snapping portion (3) and the second snapping portion (4) in the wrapping state (FIG. 1, [0020]), and
both the second locking tooth (12) and the third locking tooth (12) are formed on bottom walls of the first snapping hole (10) and the second snapping hole (11), respectively (FIG. 2, [0018]).
Regarding claim 2, Hu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cable tie:
wherein the plurality of first locking teeth (9) are in snap-fit with the first snapping portion (3) through the first snapping hole (10) and in snap-fit with the second snapping portion (4) through the second snapping hole (11, [0020]).
Regarding claim 3, Hu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cable tie:
wherein the plurality of first locking teeth (9) are arranged on a side surface of the cable tie body (1, 2; FIG. 1, [0019]),
the side surface is provided with the first snapping portion (3) and the second snapping portion (4, [0019]).
Regarding claim 4, Hu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cable tie:
wherein a cross section of the cable tie body (1, 2) is in an arc shape in a width direction of the cable tie body (FIG. 1, [0019]), and
the first snapping portion (3), the second snapping portion (4) and the first locking teeth (9) are all arranged on a concave side of the cable tie body (FIG. 1, [0019]).
Regarding claim 5, Hu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cable tie:
wherein the second locking tooth (12) IS matched with the first locking teeth (9, [0019]); and/or,
the third locking tooth (12) is matched with the first locking teeth (9, [0019]).
Regarding claim 7, Hu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cable tie:
wherein a width of the first locking tooth (9) is greater than a width of the second locking tooth (12) in a width direction of the cable tie body (FIG. 2, [0019]); and/or,
the width of the first locking tooth (9) is greater than the width of the third locking tooth (12) in the width direction of the cable tie body (FIG. 2, [0019]).
Regarding claim 8, Hu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cable tie:
wherein a portion, opposite to the second locking tooth (12), of the first snapping hole (3) is in an arc shape (FIG. 1, [0019]); and/or,
a portion, opposite to the third locking tooth (12), of the second snapping hole (4) is in an arc shape (FIG. 1, [0019]).
Regarding claim 10, Hu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cable tie:
wherein the first snapping portion (3) is arranged at a position closer to the first end (1) of the cable tie body than to the second end of the cable tie body (FIG. 1, [0018]), and
the second snapping portion (4) is arranged between the first snapping portion (3) and the first locking teeth (9, [0018]).
Regarding claim 11, Hu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cable tie:
wherein a width of the second snapping hole (11) is smaller than a width of the cable tie body (FIG. 2, [0019]).
Regarding claim 12, Hu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cable tie:
wherein a width of the first snapping hole (10) is greater than or equal to a width of the second snapping hole (11, [0019]), and
two sides of the cable tie body are attached to a side wall of the first snapping hole (10) respectively (FIG. 1 [0019]).
Regarding claim 13, Hu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cable tie:
wherein a distance between a top wall of the first snapping hole (10) and a top surface of the first snapping portion (3) is smaller than a distance between a top wall of the second snapping hole (11) and a top surface of the second snapping portion (4) in the direction perpendicular to the cable tie body (FIG. 2, [0019]).
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ando (JP 2007-089364 A).
Regarding claim 1, Ando discloses a cable tie (1, [0012]), comprising:
a cable tie body (10, 20; [0012]),
wherein the cable tie body (10, 20) is provided with a plurality of first locking teeth (120) arranged in the length direction of the cable tie body (FIG. 2, [0012]); and
a first snapping portion (13) and a second snapping portion (12), which are two snapping portions and arranged at a first end (10) of the cable tie body and spaced by a preset distance (FIG. 1, [0012]),
wherein the first snapping portion (13) is provided with a first snapping hole (13b, [0016]),
the second snapping portion (12) is provided with a second snapping hole (12a, [0015]), and
the first snapping hole (13b) is internally provided with a second locking tooth (162, [0016]),
the second snapping hole (12a) is internally provided with a third locking tooth (152, [0016]), and
the cable tie body (10, 20) has an unfolded state (FIG. 1, [0012]) and a wrapping state (FIG. 3, [0012]), and
the first snapping portion (13) and the second snapping portion (12) are arranged on the same side of the cable tie body (10, 20) in the unfolded state (FIG. 1, [0012]); and
a second end (20) of the cable tie body (10, 20) is connected to the first snapping portion (13) and the second snapping portion (12) in the wrapping state (FIG. 3, [0012]), and
both the second locking tooth (162) and the third locking tooth (152) are formed on bottom walls of the first snapping hole (13b) and the second snapping hole (12a), respectively (FIG. 3, [0012]).
Regarding claim 2, Ando discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cable tie:
wherein the plurality of first locking teeth (120) are in snap-fit with the first snapping portion (13) through the first snapping hole (13b, [0016]) and in snap-fit with the second snapping portion (12) through the second snapping hole (12a, [0015]).
Regarding claim 5, Ando discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cable tie:
wherein the second locking tooth (162) is matched with the first locking teeth (120, [0016]); and/or,
the third locking tooth (152) is matched with the first locking teeth (120, [0015]).
Regarding claim 6, Ando discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cable tie:
wherein a height of the first locking tooth (120) is greater than a distance between a top of the second locking tooth (162) in the first snapping hole (13b) and a top wall of the first snapping hole (13b) in a direction perpendicular to the length direction of the cable tie body (FIG. 2, [0014]); and/or,
a height of the first locking tooth (120) is greater than a distance between the top of the third locking tooth (152) in the second snapping hole (12a) and a top wall of the second snapping hole (12a) in a direction perpendicular to the cable tie body (FIG. 2, [0014]).
Regarding claim 9, Ando discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cable tie:
wherein a side surface of the first locking tooth (120) is in a right triangle shape (FIG. 2, [0012]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14–17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (DE 102006035100 A1) in view of Hu (CN 207001248 U).
Regarding claim 14, Wu discloses an electrical connection structure (FIG. 13, [0033]) comprising:
a first connecting element (54), comprising a first connecting portion (54) and a second connecting portion (54, [0026]);
a second connecting element (52), comprising a third connecting portion (52) and a fourth connecting portion (52, [0027]);
a first connecting structure (53), through which the first connecting portion (54) and the third connecting portion (52) are electrically connected (FIG. 8, [0025]);
a second connecting structure (53), through which the second connecting portion (54) and the fourth connecting portion (52) are electrically connected (FIG. 8, [0025]),
wherein the first connecting structure (53) and the second connecting structure (53) are located on two sides of a second snapping portion (63a) respectively (FIG. 13, [0033]); and
a cable tie (60c) comprising a cable tie body (61a); and a first snapping portion (63a) and the second snapping portion (63a), which are arranged at a first end of the cable tie body (61a) and spaced by a preset distance (FIG. 12. [0033]), wherein the cable tie body (61a) has an unfolded state (FIG. 12, [0033]) and a wrapping state (FIG. 13, [0033]), and the first snapping portion (63a) and the second snapping portion (63a) are arranged on the same side of the cable tie body (61a) in the unfolded state (FIG. 12, [0033]); and a second end of the cable tie body (61a) is connected to the first snapping portion (63a) and the second snapping portion (63a) in the wrapping state (FIG. 13, [0033]);
wherein the first connecting structure (53) is caused to be located among the first snapping portion (63a), the second snapping portion (63a) and the cable tie body (61a) when the cable tie body (61a) is in the wrapping state (FIG. 13, [0033]), and
the second connecting structure (53) is caused to be located between the second snapping portion (63a) and the cable tie body (61a) when the cable tie body (61a) is in the wrapping state (FIG. 13, [0033]).
Wu does not explicitly disclose a cable tie comprising:
a first snapping portion and a second snapping portion, which are two snapping portions and arranged at a first end of the cable tie body and spaced by a preset distance,
wherein the first snapping portion is provided with a first snapping hole,
the second snapping portion is provided with a second snapping hole, and
the first snapping hole is internally provided with a second locking tooth,
the second snapping hole is internally provided with a third locking tooth, and
both the second locking tooth and the third locking tooth are formed on bottom walls of the first snapping hole and the second snapping hole, respectively.
Hu discloses a cable tie (FIG. 1, [0018]), comprising a cable tie body (1, 2; [0018]), wherein the cable tie body (1, 2) is provided with a plurality of first locking teeth (9) arranged in the length direction (FIG. 1, [0019]) of the cable tie body (1, 2); and a first snapping portion (3) and a second snapping portion (4), which are two snapping portions (3, 4) and arranged at a first end (1) of the cable tie body and spaced by a preset distance (FIG. 1, [0018]), wherein the first snapping portion (3) is provided with a first snapping hole (10, [0019]), the second snapping portion (4) is provided with a second snapping hole (11, [0019]), and the first snapping hole (10) is internally provided with a second locking tooth (12), the second snapping hole (11) is internally provided with a third locking tooth (12), and the cable tie body (1, 2) has an unfolded state and a wrapping state (FIG. 1, [0020]), and the first snapping portion (3) and the second snapping portion (4) are arranged on the same side of the cable tie body (1, 2) in the unfolded state (FIG. 1, [0018]); and a second end (2) of the cable tie body (1, 2) is connected to the first snapping portion (3) and the second snapping portion (4) in the wrapping state (FIG. 1, [0020]), and both the second locking tooth (12) and the third locking tooth (12) are formed on bottom walls of the first snapping hole (10) and the second snapping hole (11), respectively (FIG. 2, [0018]) to improve the binding effect of the cable tie (see binding, [0011]). Wu and Hu are analogous because they are directed to cable ties. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the electrical connection structure of Wu with the cable tie of Hu in order to improve the binding effect of the cable tie.
Regarding claim 15, modified Wu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrical connection structure, further comprising:
a first fixing element (44) and a second fixing element (44, [0032]),
wherein the first fixing element (44) is used to fix the first connecting structure (53) to the cable tie body (61a, [0032]), and
the second fixing element (44) is used to fix the second connecting structure (53) to the cable tie body (61a, [0032]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Wu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrical connection structure:
wherein the cable tie body (61a) is provided with a first connecting hole (64a) and a second connecting hole (64a, [0033]),
the first connecting hole (64a) is arranged between the first snapping portion (63a) and the second snapping portion (63a, [0033]),
the second connecting hole (64a) is arranged on the side, away from the first snapping portion (63a), of the second snapping portion (63a, [0033]),
the first fixing element (44) penetrates through the first connecting structure (53) and the first connecting hole (64a) so as to connect the first connecting portion (54), the third connecting portion (52) and the cable tie body (61a, [0033]), and
the second fixing element (44) penetrates through the second connecting structure (63a) and the second connecting hole (64a) so as to connect the second connecting portion (54), the fourth connecting portion (62) and the cable tie body (61a, [0033]).
Regarding claim 17, Wu discloses a battery (FIG. 8, [0021]) comprising a case (20) internally provided with an accommodating cavity (FIG. 8, [0021]), wherein a side wall (22) of the case (20) is provided with a first through hole (221) communicating with the accommodating cavity (FIG. 8, [0022]); a battery body (40) arranged in the accommodating cavity (FIG. 8, [0021]); and an electrical connection structure (FIG. 13, [0033]) comprising:
a first connecting element (54), comprising a first connecting portion (54) and a second connecting portion (54, [0026]);
a second connecting element (52), comprising a third connecting portion (52) and a fourth connecting portion (52, [0027]);
a first connecting structure (53), through which the first connecting portion (54) and the third connecting portion (52) are electrically connected (FIG. 8, [0025]);
a second connecting structure (53), through which the second connecting portion (54) and the fourth connecting portion (52) are electrically connected (FIG. 8, [0025]),
wherein the first connecting structure (53) and the second connecting structure (53) are located on two sides of a second snapping portion (63a) respectively (FIG. 13, [0033]); and
a cable tie (60c) comprising a cable tie body (61a); and a first snapping portion (63a) and the second snapping portion (63a), which are arranged at a first end of the cable tie body (61a) and spaced by a preset distance (FIG. 12. [0033]), wherein the cable tie body (61a) has an unfolded state (FIG. 12, [0033]) and a wrapping state (FIG. 13, [0033]), and the first snapping portion (63a) and the second snapping portion (63a) are arranged on the same side of the cable tie body (61a) in the unfolded state (FIG. 12, [0033]); and a second end of the cable tie body (61a) is connected to the first snapping portion (63a) and the second snapping portion (63a) in the wrapping state (FIG. 13, [0033]); wherein the first connecting structure (53) is caused to be located among the first snapping portion (63a), the second snapping portion (63a) and the cable tie body (61a) when the cable tie body (61a) is in the wrapping state (FIG. 13, [0033]), and the second connecting structure (53) is caused to be located between the second snapping portion (63a) and the cable tie body (61a) when the cable tie body (61a) is in the wrapping state (FIG. 13, [0033]); and
wherein the first connecting element (54) is electrically connected to the battery body (40, [0030]),
the second connecting element (52) is arranged outside the case (20, [0027]), and
the third connecting portion (52) and the fourth connecting portion (52) penetrate through the first through hole (221) to be connected to the first connecting element (54, [0027]), and
the electrical connection structure (FIG. 13, [0033]) is arranged in the accommodating cavity (FIG. 8, [0033]).
Wu does not explicitly disclose a cable tie comprising:
a first snapping portion and a second snapping portion, which are two snapping portions and arranged at a first end of the cable tie body and spaced by a preset distance,
wherein the first snapping portion is provided with a first snapping hole,
the second snapping portion is provided with a second snapping hole, and
the first snapping hole is internally provided with a second locking tooth,
the second snapping hole is internally provided with a third locking tooth, and
both the second locking tooth and the third locking tooth are formed on bottom walls of the first snapping hole and the second snapping hole, respectively.
Hu discloses a cable tie (FIG. 1, [0018]), comprising a cable tie body (1, 2; [0018]), wherein the cable tie body (1, 2) is provided with a plurality of first locking teeth (9) arranged in the length direction (FIG. 1, [0019]) of the cable tie body (1, 2); and a first snapping portion (3) and a second snapping portion (4), which are two snapping portions (3, 4) and arranged at a first end (1) of the cable tie body and spaced by a preset distance (FIG. 1, [0018]), wherein the first snapping portion (3) is provided with a first snapping hole (10, [0019]), the second snapping portion (4) is provided with a second snapping hole (11, [0019]), and the first snapping hole (10) is internally provided with a second locking tooth (12), the second snapping hole (11) is internally provided with a third locking tooth (12), and the cable tie body (1, 2) has an unfolded state and a wrapping state (FIG. 1, [0020]), and the first snapping portion (3) and the second snapping portion (4) are arranged on the same side of the cable tie body (1, 2) in the unfolded state (FIG. 1, [0018]); and a second end (2) of the cable tie body (1, 2) is connected to the first snapping portion (3) and the second snapping portion (4) in the wrapping state (FIG. 1, [0020]), and both the second locking tooth (12) and the third locking tooth (12) are formed on bottom walls of the first snapping hole (10) and the second snapping hole (11), respectively (FIG. 2, [0018]) to improve the binding effect of the cable tie (see binding, [0011]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the electrical connection structure of Wu with the cable tie of Hu in order to improve the binding effect of the cable tie.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue Hu does not disclose “both the second locking tooth and the third locking tooth are formed on bottom walls of the first snapping hole and the second snapping hole, respectively” because Hu discloses the two teeth 12 are located on the top walls of the holes of the two portions 3 and 4 respectively (P9/¶5). The pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (i.e., BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111. The plain meaning of the term “bottom” is the point or part situated not far above the ground (see bottom, New Oxford American Dictionary; see low, New Oxford American Dictionary). The plain meaning of the term “on” is located some where in the general surface area of a place. The limitation “both the second locking tooth and the third locking tooth are formed on bottom walls of the first snapping hole and the second snapping hole, respectively” does not require the second locking tooth and the third locking tooth to be in direct contact with a bottom wall of the first snapping hole and the second snapping hole, respectively, based on BRI. The BRI of the limitation “both the second locking tooth and the third locking tooth are formed on bottom walls of the first snapping hole and the second snapping hole, respectively” only requires the second locking tooth and the third locking tooth to be in the general surface area of a wall that is situated not far above the ground of the first snapping hole and the second snapping hole, respectively. Hu discloses two teeth 12 are in the general surface area of a wall, which is situated not far above the ground, of the holes of the two portions 3 and 4 respectively. Therefore, Hu discloses “both the second locking tooth and the third locking tooth are formed on bottom walls of the first snapping hole and the second snapping hole, respectively.”
Applicants argue Ando does not disclose “both the second locking tooth and the third locking tooth are formed on bottom walls of the first snapping hole and the second snapping hole, respectively” because Hu discloses the locking claw 162 is formed on the top wall of the inserting hole 13 and the locking claw 152 is formed on the bottom wall of the inserting hole 12 (P12/¶2). The pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (i.e., BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111. The plain meaning of the term “bottom” is the point or part situated not far above the ground (see bottom, New Oxford American Dictionary; see low, New Oxford American Dictionary). The plain meaning of the term “on” is located somewhere in the general surface area of a place. The limitation “both the second locking tooth and the third locking tooth are formed on bottom walls of the first snapping hole and the second snapping hole, respectively” does not require the second locking tooth and the third locking tooth to be in directly contact with a bottom wall of the first snapping hole and the second snapping hole, respectively, based on BRI. The BRI of the limitation “both the second locking tooth and the third locking tooth are formed on bottom walls of the first snapping hole and the second snapping hole, respectively” only requires the second locking tooth and the third locking tooth to be in the general surface area of a wall that is situated not far above the ground of the first snapping hole and the second snapping hole, respectively. Ando discloses locking claw 162 and the locking claw 152 are in the general surface area of a wall, which is situated not far above the ground, of the inserting holes 12 and 13 respectively. Therefore, Ando discloses “both the second locking tooth and the third locking tooth are formed on bottom walls of the first snapping hole and the second snapping hole, respectively.”
Applicants argue Wu does not disclose “both the second locking tooth and the third locking tooth are formed on bottom walls of the first snapping hole and the second snapping hole, respectively” (P13/¶1). One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725