Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang (US 20220102188 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a substrate lift pin, comprising: an elongate tube (elongate tube comprises lifting tube 102, mounting table 103 and fixed pin 104) having a top end and a bottom end; a magnetic insert (electromagnetic conversion device 4 which generates magnetic force) disposed in the elongate tube proximate the bottom end (Fig. 1 shows when wafer 100 is supported on top end of the elongate tube, the magnetic insert is proximate the bottom end of the elongate tube); and a potting material (drive base 2) disposed within the elongate tube and securing the magnetic insert within the elongate tube (entire par. 0033-0036: “electromagnetic conversion device 4 is arranged on the drive base 2”).
Regarding claim 2, Tang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a cap (bearing plate 1) disposed on the top end of the elongate tube, wherein the cap includes a support surface (top surface) configured to support a substrate (wafer 100) thereon (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Tang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a rod (rod comprises lifting rod 3 and magnetic element 5) disposed within the elongate tube, above the magnetic insert.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 11, 13, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim Hyung-Jun (KR 100989852 B1) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 19, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a process chamber,
comprising: a chamber body defining an interior volume therein; a substrate support disposed in the interior volume, the substrate support comprising a support plate having an upper surface and a plurality of through holes (pin holes 106) extending through the support plate; and a plurality of substrate lift pins each movably disposed in corresponding ones of the plurality of through holes, wherein each substrate lift pin comprising: an elongate tube (flexible tube/bellows 130) having a top end and a bottom end; a magnetic insert (magnets 114 and 126) disposed in the elongate tube proximate the bottom end; and a potting material (body 122) disposed within the elongate tube and securing the magnetic insert within the elongate tube.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a rod (lift pin 112) disposed within the elongate tube, above the magnetic insert.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the rod (lift pin 112) is made of a ceramic material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang.
Regarding claim 7, Tang does not explicitly teach process of making the tube by extrusion.If the product in the product-by-process claim (here extruded tube) is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claims 11-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of HAN et al. (US 20210005504 A1) hereinafter Han.
Regarding claim 11, Tang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a substrate lift pin, comprising: an elongate tube (elongate tube comprises lifting tube 102, mounting table 103 and fixed pin 104) having a top end and a bottom end; a magnetic insert (electromagnetic conversion device 4 which generates magnetic force) disposed in the elongate tube proximate the bottom end (Fig. 1 shows when wafer 100 is supported on top end of the elongate tube, the magnetic insert is proximate the bottom end of the elongate tube); and a potting material (drive base 2) disposed within the elongate tube and securing the magnetic insert within the elongate tube (entire par. 0033-0036: “electromagnetic conversion device 4 is arranged on the drive base 2”). However Tang does not show a plurality of substrate lift pins in respective plurality of through holes of a support plate.
Han teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a substrate support (processing apparatus 10), comprising: a support plate (chuck 120) having an upper surface and a plurality of through holes (plurality of pin holes 122) extending through the support plate; and a plurality of substrate lift pins (lift pins shown in Fig. 4b equipped with magnetic system 222, 214) each movably disposed in corresponding ones of the plurality of through holes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use plurality of lift pins of Tang in a substrate support. Doing so would make it possible to push multiple locations of the substrate bottom portion to prevent damage to the substrate.
Regarding claim 12, Tang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a cap (bearing plate 1) disposed on the top end of the elongate tube, wherein the cap includes a support surface (top surface) configured to support a substrate (wafer 100) thereon (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Tang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a rod (rod comprises lifting rod 3 and magnetic element 5) disposed within the elongate tube, above the magnetic insert.
Regarding claim 19, Tang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a substrate lift pin, comprising: an elongate tube (elongate tube comprises lifting tube 102, mounting table 103 and fixed pin 104) having a top end and a bottom end; a magnetic insert (electromagnetic conversion device 4 which generates magnetic force) disposed in the elongate tube proximate the bottom end (Fig. 1 shows when wafer 100 is supported on top end of the elongate tube, the magnetic insert is proximate the bottom end of the elongate tube); and a potting material (drive base 2) disposed within the elongate tube and securing the magnetic insert within the elongate tube (entire par. 0033-0036: “electromagnetic conversion device 4 is arranged on the drive base 2”). Tang teaches a reaction chamber/chamber body (par. 0054); however Tang does not show a plurality of substrate lift pins in respective plurality of through holes of a support plate, the substrate plate being part of a substrate support located inside the chamber body.
Han teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a process chamber (substrate processing apparatus 10), comprising: a chamber body defining an interior volume therein; a substrate support (processing apparatus 10) disposed in the interior volume, the substrate support (processing apparatus 10), comprising: a support plate (chuck 120) having an upper surface and a plurality of through holes (plurality of pin holes 122) extending through the support plate; and a plurality of substrate lift pins (lift pins shown in Fig. 4b equipped with magnetic system 222, 214) each movably disposed in corresponding ones of the plurality of through holes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use plurality of lift pins of Tang in a substrate support. Doing so would make it possible to push multiple locations of the substrate bottom portion to prevent damage to the substrate.
Claims 11-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Tang.
Regarding 11-14 and 19, Han teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a process chamber (substrate processing apparatus 10), comprising: a chamber body defining an interior volume therein; a substrate support (processing apparatus 10) disposed in the interior volume, the substrate support (processing apparatus 10), comprising: a support plate (chuck 120) having an upper surface and a plurality of through holes (plurality of pin holes 122) extending through the support plate; and a plurality of substrate lift pins (lift pins shown in Fig. 4b equipped with magnetic system 222, 214) each movably disposed in corresponding ones of the plurality of through holes. However lift pins of Han do not have elongate tubes.
Tang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a substrate lift pin, comprising: an elongate tube (elongate tube comprises lifting tube 102, mounting table 103 and fixed pin 104) having a top end and a bottom end; a magnetic insert (electromagnetic conversion device 4 which generates magnetic force) disposed in the elongate tube proximate the bottom end (Fig. 1 shows when wafer 100 is supported on top end of the elongate tube, the magnetic insert is proximate the bottom end of the elongate tube); and a potting material (drive base 2) disposed within the elongate tube and securing the magnetic insert within the elongate tube (entire par. 0033-0036: “electromagnetic conversion device 4 is arranged on the drive base 2”). Tang further teaches a cap (bearing plate 1) disposed on the top end of the elongate tube, wherein the cap includes a support surface (top surface) configured to support a substrate (wafer 100) thereon (see Fig. 1); a rod (rod comprises lifting rod 3 and magnetic element 5) disposed within the elongate tube, above the magnetic insert; the rod is made of a ceramic material (par. 0040).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute lift pin of Tang in substrate support of Han. Doing so would prevent the lifting rod getting stuck and damage the wafer (see par. 0002 of Tang).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Blonigan et al. (US 20050265818 A1) hereinafter Blonigan.
Regarding claim 5, Tang is silent regarding elongate tube material.
Blonigan teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a substrate lift pin, comprising: an elongate tube (906); a magnetic insert (902) disposed in the elongate tube proximate the bottom end; a rod (904) disposed within the elongate tube, above the magnetic insert. Blonigan further in par. 0043 teaches “906 may be made from aluminum, ceramic, or other suitable inert material”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ceramic material for the elongate tube for resistance to high temperature and corrosion.
Claims 5-6, 8-10, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Moon et al. (KR 20210054112 A) hereinafter Moon.
Regarding claims 5-6, 8-10, 14-18 and 20 Tang is silent regarding the elongate tube material, the rod material and the potting material. Tang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a cap (bearing plate 1) disposed on the top end of the elongate tube, wherein the cap includes a support surface (top surface) configured to support a substrate (wafer 100) thereon (see Fig. 1); a rod (rod comprises lifting rod 3 and magnetic element 5) disposed within the elongate tube, above the magnetic insert.
Moon teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a substrate support (processing apparatus 10), comprising: a support plate (susceptor 10) having an upper surface and a plurality of through holes (through opening 10c) extending through the support plate; and a plurality of substrate lift pins (lift pins 21, 22) each movably disposed in corresponding ones of the plurality of through holes; a potting material (contact parts 31) disposed within the elongate tube (bushing 30); Moon further teaches the rod is made of a ceramic material; the elongate tube is made of a ceramic material;
the elongate tube is made of aluminum oxide;
the potting material is a ceramic-based potting material (the bushing 30 and the contact part 31 are made to include an electrically conductive ceramic).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ceramic or alumina for components of the substrate lift pin to resist high temperatures inside the chamber.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, on the grounds that combination of “lifting tube 102, mounting table 103 and fixed pin 104” in device of Tang “do not form an elongate tube” is not found persuasive. Because lifting tube 102, mounting table 103 and fixed pin 104 create a closed-end tube. See definition of tube in Cambridge dictionary:
Note that applicant has not claimed the tube being open from the top and the bottom ends.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, on the grounds that the drive base 2 of device of Tang cannot be interpreted to be the claimed “potting material” is not found persuasive. Because applicant has not structurally claimed what the potting material is, and drive base 2 is interpreted to be a solid potting material inside the elongate tube.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, on the grounds that the drive base 2 of device of Tang does not secure the electromagnetic conversion device 4 within the lifting tube 102 is fully considered, but is not found persuasive. Because electromagnetic conversion device 4 is held within top portion of the potting material/drive base 2. Note that applicant has not claimed the potting material poured between the magnetic insert and the elongate tube.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, on the grounds that flexible bellows 130 in device of Kim “does not fairly read on an elongate tube” is not found persuasive. Because bellows of Kim is a flexible hollow tube and reads on the claimed elongate tube. See definition of tube in Cambridge dictionary:
Note that applicant has not claimed the tube being solid material and not flexible.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, on the grounds that the drive base 2 of device of Kim cannot be interpreted to be the claimed “potting material” is not found persuasive. Because applicant has not structurally claimed what the potting material is, and body 122 is interpreted to be a solid potting material inside the elongate tube and therefore reads on the claim.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, on the grounds that the potting material of device of Kim does not secure the magnetic insert (magnets 114 and 126) within the elongate tube 130 is fully considered, but is not found persuasive. Because the magnetic insert (magnets 114 and 126) is held inside the potting material/body 122. Note that applicant has not claimed the potting material poured between the magnetic insert and the elongate tube.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 7 on the grounds that the tube of Tang is not an extruded tube and that “an extruded tube will structurally be formed in a single piece having a uniform cross section at arbitrary points along the elongate axis (e.g., the axis of extrusion)” is not found persuasive (these limitations are not claimed). Because as stated in rejection of claim 7 above, even if the tube of prior art is made from a different process, the claim is unpatentable (note that extruded tube is interpreted to be product by process limitation).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723