Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Specifically, the color “turquoise” does not have an unambiguous, well-established scope rendering the claim indefinite. The color wavelength is defined in [0013] of the specification, 460-550 nm will be assumed to be turquoise for purposes of examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8-10 13, 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20190333964 to Lee et al. (Lee).
Regarding Claims 1, 4, 10, 13, and 20, Lee teaches a display module, comprising:
a substrate 34; and
a plurality of pixels C1-3 (relevant to Claim 20) provided on the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises:
a self-luminescence layer CA, 13, 15, 17;
a first color conversion layer 53”, a second color conversion layer 52”, and a third color conversion layer 51” provided on the self-luminescence layer, and
a first color filter (relevant to Claim 10), a second color filter, and a third color filter provided on the first color conversion layer, the second color conversion layer, and the third color conversion layer, respectively [0090],
wherein the self-luminescence layer is configured to emit light of a wavelength that is less than or equal to 460 nm [0042], and
wherein the first color conversion layer comprises a first color conversion material configured to produce a color of a wavelength of greater than 460 nm and less than 550 nm ([0086], relevant to Claims 4 and 13).
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, Lee teaches the display modules of claims 1 and 10, wherein each of the plurality of pixels is configured such that a converted light converted by the first color conversion layer and light that was leaked without being absorbed into the first color conversion layer are mixed to produce a mixed light of a blue color (LEDs in Fig. 4 emit upwards on page, meaning unconverted light mixes with the converted light as shown in the instant Fig. 5).
Regarding Claims 8, 16 and 18, Lee teaches the display modules of claims 1 and 10, wherein the second color conversion layer comprises a second color conversion material configured to emit light of a red wavelength, and wherein the third color conversion layer comprises a third color conversion material configured to emit light of a green wavelength [0051].
Regarding Claims 9, 17 and 19, Lee teaches the display module of claims 8 and 16, wherein the second color conversion material comprises a red quantum dot or a red phosphor, and wherein the third color conversion material comprises a green quantum dot or a green phosphor [0052].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, 11, 12, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding Claims 2, 3, 11 and 12, Lee teaches display modules of claims 1 and 10, wherein the self-luminescence layer comprises:
at least one self-luminescence element configured to emit light of a wavelength greater than 430 nm and less than 460 nm or greater than 438 nm and less than 448 nm ([0042], see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein the self-luminescence layer comprises InGaN semiconductor elements [0134-0135], but does not explicitly teach that ratio of In:Ga in the InGaN semiconductor elements is about 1:4. However, the stoichiometry of materials in an LED directly affect the bandgap and thereby the emitted color, and are therefore result effective variables that may be optimized by the person of ordinary skill to meet the emission wavelengths taught by Lee (MPEP 2144.05(II)(B)).
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, Lee teaches the display modules of claims 1 and 10, but does not explicitly teach that a first strength of a first peak wavelength of a spectrum of a first light converted by the first color conversion layer is 0.5 times to 2 times of a second strength of a second peak wavelength of a second spectrum of a second light that was leaked without being absorbed into the first color conversion layer. However, this ratio is determined by the offset between the LED and the wavelength converter, and also the composition of the wavelength converter, and is therefore a result effective variable that may be optimized by the person of ordinary skill to meet the claimed emission wavelength which is taught by Lee (MPEP 2144.05(II)(B)).
Conclusion
/EVREN SEVEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812