DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1 and 11, “a lower plastic” is unclear and renders the claim indefinite.
In claim 2, “a groove is formed in adjacent two of the hot-melt regions” is grammatically unclear and renders the claim indefinite.
In claims 9 and 10, “the chamfered spacer” lacks sufficient antecedent basis because claim 8 recites “chamfered spacers” (plural) while claims 9 and 10 are singular.
In claim 13, “a plurality of the battery cells” lacks sufficient antecedent basis because claim 11 recites “a battery cell” in singular form while claim 13 is in plural form. Please use consistent language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (“Guo”, US 2023/0100444 A1), as evidenced by Lejosne et al. (“Lejosne”, US 2020/0083515 A).
Regarding claims 1-14, Guo discloses a battery (title) comprising a housing ([0006]), a core assembly ([0007]), a separator ([0008]), and a top cover assembly ([0009]). Guo teaches an insulating sheet comprises a circumferentially covering area which covers the peripheral surface of the body portion, and the separator is integrally formed with the insulating sheet and serves as a bottom covering area of the insulating sheet, and the bottom covering area covers the bottom end surface of the body portion ([0011]). Guo teaches an opening of the accommodating cavity of the housing is closed by a top cover assembly, and the top cover assembly is provided to be spaced apart from the insulating sheet to prevent the insulating sheet from interfering with the top cover assembly during welding the top cover assembly and housing which may result in curling of the insulating sheet, which in turn leads to deformation of the insulating sheet ([0030]).
Guo teaches the top cover assembly comprises a top cover plate and a lower plastic member connected to a lower surface of the top cover plate facing towards the jelly-roll ([0132]). Guo teaches that in order to achieve a comprehensive protection for the jelly-roll, the insulating sheet is covering the outer peripheral surface of each connection boss at the same time ([0132]). Considering that the connection boss is also made of plastic material, in order to achieve a stable connection between the insulating sheet and the lower plastic member, each connection boss has a first hot melting connection position, and the insulating sheet also has a second hot melting connection position, where the insulating sheet and the plurality of connection bosses are hot melted for connection in the hot melting connection area, thereby achieving a stable connection between the insulating sheet and the top cover assembly, then achieving a comprehensive protection for the jelly-roll ([0132]). See Fig. 14: insulating sheet 22; second hot melting connection position 2213.
Further regarding claims 2-5, Guo depicts in Fig. 14 a groove on lower plastic member 42 next to connection boss 421. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the shape, size, and location of the groove would be a matter of design choice so long as the connection is made between the corresponding parts.
Further regarding claims 6 and 7, Guo depicts in Figs. 9a-9f multiple embodiments, including an embodiment that would read on the I-shaped insulation patch of claim 6 and the overlap region of claim 7. Guo also discusses partial overlap and teaches overlapping connections may further strengthen the structural strength of the connection portion ([0099]-[0102]).
As to claims 8-10, Guo does not teach chamfered spacers with specific shapes or angles. However, Guo teaches corners of the bottom surface of the housing can be designed as rounded corners during processing the housing ([0059]) to protect from large pressure and protecting from electrical failure of the battery and even danger ([0059]). Changing the shape of a corner is considered an obvious matter in order to accommodate the shape of the internal components or to provide additional protection.
Further regarding claims 11-14, Guo teaches the battery having a core assembly, separator, and top cover assembly as well as the insulating sheet (abstract). Guo does not go into detail about a pole on the top cover member connected to a tab of the electrode assembly or a switching member. However, pole and switching members are well known and conventional in the art. For example, Lejosne teaches switching members provide variable voltage or a regulated voltage ([0076]) as well as a cover supporting current poles ([0025]). It is also well known that devices can use batteries as a power source.
Conclusion
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746