DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunji et al. (“Gunji”, US 2012/0263999 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gunji discloses a lithium-ion rechargeable battery module having a plurality of lithium-ion battery cells, arranged that battery cells located at a high temperature portion of the module are electrically connected in parallel with battery cells located at a low temperature portion of the module (abstract). The battery cells at the high temperature portion have a higher electric resistance at 20 degrees C. and a better high-temperature storage characteristic at 50 degrees C. than those of the battery cells located at the low temperature portion (abstract). Gunji teaches the higher resistance in those battery cells located at a high temperature portion of the module makes it harder for electric current to flow therethrough, causing more current to flow through other cells connected in parallel with them ([0039]). This reduces the amount of heat produced in the battery cells located at the high temperature portion and thereby minimizes a further temperature rise in the high temperature portion ([0039]). Figs. 5 and 7 show the different resistance and heat transfer rates of the cells.
Gunji teaches the lithium-ion rechargeable battery cells in the battery module of this invention can have basically the same construction as the conventional one ([0033]). For example, each of them may comprise a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator sandwiched between the positive and negative electrodes and impregnated with an organic electrolyte ([0033]). The separate separates the positive and negative poles from each other to prevent a short-circuit and has pore through which lithium ions in the organic electrolyte pass ([0033]).
As to claim 2, Gunji does not teach the specific ratios claimed. However, based on the Gunji’s teachings in [0039], one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the amount of heat produced is directly correlated with resistance and that optimizing resistance and heat transfer could be done through routine optimization.
As to claims 3-5, 7-8, 10, and 18-19, selecting the resistance, thermal conductivity, and capacity of components would be a matter of design choice.
As to claim 6, Fig. 3 depicts heat transfer rates of greater than 20 degrees per hour.
As to claims 9 and 20, the claimed current collector materials are well known in the art.
As to claims 11-16, determining the distribution of battery cells would be a matter of design choice. See, for example, Fig. 7. Furthermore, Ganji teaches series connections, parallel connections, and combination ([0038]).
As to claim 17, electrical devices powered by batteries are well known.
Conclusion
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746