DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 14, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2013-033962 (Kim hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a substrate processing apparatus (Figures 2-8) that discloses a drying unit (Unit 4000 in Figures 7/8) configured to replace a liquid film formed on an upper surface of a substrate in a horizontal state with a supercritical fluid to dry the substrate “The first process chamber 3000 and the second process chamber 4000 may perform a cleaning process. Here, the cleaning process can be sequentially performed in the first process chamber 3000 and the second process chamber 4000. For example, in the first process chamber 3000, a chemical process, a rinse process, and an organic solvent process are performed in the cleaning process, and then, in the second process chamber 4000, a supercritical drying process can be performed.”), wherein the drying unit includes a pressure container provided with a drying chamber formed therein to dry the substrate (Pressure container 4100 in Figure 9), and a lid configured to close an opening of the pressure container (Lid 4131 with driver 4143), and wherein the substrate processing apparatus further comprises a support member configured to support the lid so as to be movable in both a first direction parallel to the opening and a second direction opposite to the first direction (Figure 9 shows that the lid 4131 is operable to open up and down per “The door 4130 includes a door plate 4131 and a door driver 4132, and the door driver 4132 can open and close the opening by moving the door plate 4131 in the vertical direction”).
Regarding claim 2, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 1 where Kim further discloses that the support member includes a linear motion guide configured to guide the lid (Door driver 4132 drives the lid 4131 in a vertical direction).
Regarding claim 4, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 1 where Kim further discloses that the support member is removably connected to the pressure container (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the support member/driver 4132 is capable of being removed).
Regarding claim 5, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 1 where Kim further discloses that the support member is provided so as not to protrude from the drying unit in a direction in which the substrate is unloaded (Figure 9 of Kim where at least a portion of 4131 does not protrude in a direction in which a substrate is unloaded).
Regarding claim 6, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 5 where Kim further discloses a liquid film forming unit configured to form the liquid film on the substrate in the horizontal state (3000 in Figures 2 and 3); a first transfer region adjacent to the liquid film forming unit and the drying unit (Area around 2210 in Figure 2); and a first transfer device configured to transfer the substrate in the first transfer region (Transfer device 2210), and wherein the pressure container is provided so that the opening faces the first transfer region (Inherent of Figures 7-9, particularly 9, when receiving the substrate from the transfer device through the door 4132), and wherein the support member is provided so as not to protrude from the drying unit into the first transfer region (Figure 9 of Kim where at least a portion of 4131 does not protrude in a direction in which a substrate is unloaded).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches a substrate processing apparatus (Figures 2-8) that discloses a drying unit (Unit 4000 in Figures 7/8) configured to replace a liquid film formed on an upper surface of a substrate in a horizontal state with a supercritical fluid to dry the substrate (“The first process chamber 3000 and the second process chamber 4000 may perform a cleaning process. Here, the cleaning process can be sequentially performed in the first process chamber 3000 and the second process chamber 4000. For example, in the first process chamber 3000, a chemical process, a rinse process, and an organic solvent process are performed in the cleaning process, and then, in the second process chamber 4000, a supercritical drying process can be performed.”), wherein the drying unit includes a pressure container provided with a drying chamber formed therein to dry the substrate (Pressure container 4100 in Figure 9), and a lid configured to close an opening of the pressure container (Lid 4131 with driver 4143), and the substrate processing apparatus further comprises a support member configured to support the lid so as to be movable between a closed position at which the opening of the pressure container is closed and a maintenance position at which maintenance of the lid is performed (Figure 9 shows that the lid 4131 is operable to open up and down per “The door 4130 includes a door plate 4131 and a door driver 4132, and the door driver 4132 can open and close the opening by moving the door plate 4131 in the vertical direction”).
Regarding claim 8, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 8 where Kim further discloses that the support member includes a linear motion guide configured to guide the lid toward and away from the opening of the pressure container (Door driver 4132 drives the lid 4131 in a vertical direction).
Regarding claim 14, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 2 where Kim further discloses that the support member is removably connected to the pressure container (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the support member/driver 4132 is capable of being removed).
Regarding claim 15, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 2 where Kim further discloses that the support member is provided so as not to protrude from the drying unit in a direction in which the substrate is unloaded (Figure 9 of Kim where at least a portion of 4131 does not protrude in a direction in which a substrate is unloaded).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches a substrate processing apparatus and method of operation (Figures 2-8) that discloses a drying unit configured to replace a liquid film formed on an upper surface of a substrate in a horizontal state with a supercritical fluid to dry the substrate (“The first process chamber 3000 and the second process chamber 4000 may perform a cleaning process. Here, the cleaning process can be sequentially performed in the first process chamber 3000 and the second process chamber 4000. For example, in the first process chamber 3000, a chemical process, a rinse process, and an organic solvent process are performed in the cleaning process, and then, in the second process chamber 4000, a supercritical drying process can be performed.”), wherein the drying unit includes a pressure container provided with a drying chamber formed therein to dry the substrate (Pressure container 4100 in Figure 9), and a lid configured to close an opening of the pressure container (Lid 4131 with driver 4143), and the substrate processing apparatus maintenance method comprises: moving the lid in both a first direction parallel to the opening and a second direction opposite to the first direction while supporting the lid with a support member (Figure 9 shows that the lid 4131 is operable to open up and down per “The door 4130 includes a door plate 4131 and a door driver 4132, and the door driver 4132 can open and close the opening by moving the door plate 4131 in the vertical direction”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9, 10, 11, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2013/33962 (Kim) in view of US 2013/0068981 (Hotta hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the drying unit includes a rotary shaft protruding from the lid in the second direction, and a bearing holder provided with a hollow shaft into which the rotary shaft is separably fitted and a bearing configured to rotatably support the hollow shaft.
However, Hotta teaches a valve door operation system that discloses a rotary shaft protruding from the lid in the second direction (Rotary shafts 3 and 4 in Figure 1 with equivalent lid 2 producing the vertical movement as seen in Figure 2A and 2B), and a bearing holder provided with a hollow shaft into which the rotary shaft is separably fitted and a bearing configured to rotatably support the hollow shaft (Bearings 17 and 18 in Figure 1). The resultant combination would replace the driver of Kim with the driver of Hotta.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the drive of Kim with the rotational drive of Hotta to minimize the parts in direction of the substrate loading direction into the treatment chamber.
Regarding claim 9, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 7 but are silent with respect that the support member includes a rolling element configured to roll as the lid moves.
However, Hotta teaches a valve door operation system that discloses a rotary shaft protruding from the lid in the second direction (Rotary shafts 3 and 4 in Figure 1 with equivalent lid 2 producing the vertical movement as seen in Figure 2A and 2B). The resultant combination would be such that the driver of Kim would be replaced with the valve driver of Hotta such that the support member includes a rolling element configured to roll as the lid moves.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the drive of Kim with the rotational drive of Hotta to minimize the parts in direction of the substrate loading direction into the treatment chamber.
Regarding claim 10, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 7 but are silent with respect that the support member includes a guide arm configured to rotate about a first rotation shaft connected to the pressure container.
However, Hotta teaches a valve door operation system that discloses a support member includes a guide arm configured to rotate about a first rotation shaft connected to the pressure container (Figures 1-2B with guide arm 2d and 2c connected to the rotating shaft 3/4 to move the equivalent lid 2 vertically).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the drive of Kim with the rotational drive of Hotta to minimize the parts in direction of the substrate loading direction into the treatment chamber.
Regarding claim 11, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 10 where the combination of Kim and Hotta would further disclose that the guide arm supports the lid so as to be rotatable about a second rotation shaft parallel to the first rotation shaft (Evident from Figures 2A and 2B of Hotta).
Regarding claim 13, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 2 but are silent with respect that the drying unit includes a rotary shaft protruding from the lid in the second direction, and a bearing holder provided with a hollow shaft into which the rotary shaft is separably fitted and a bearing configured to rotatably support the hollow shaft.
However, Hotta teaches a valve door operation system that discloses a rotary shaft protruding from the lid in the second direction (Rotary shafts 3 and 4 in Figure 1 with equivalent lid 2 producing the vertical movement as seen in Figure 2A and 2B), and a bearing holder provided with a hollow shaft into which the rotary shaft is separably fitted and a bearing configured to rotatably support the hollow shaft (Bearings 17 and 18 in Figure 1). The resultant combination would replace the driver of Kim with the driver of Hotta.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the drive of Kim with the rotational drive of Hotta to minimize the parts in direction of the substrate loading direction into the treatment chamber.
Regarding claim 16, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 8 but are silent with respect that the support member includes a rolling element configured to roll as the lid moves.
However, Hotta teaches a valve door operation system that discloses a rotary shaft protruding from the lid in the second direction (Rotary shafts 3 and 4 in Figure 1 with equivalent lid 2 producing the vertical movement as seen in Figure 2A and 2B). The resultant combination would be such that the driver of Kim would be replaced with the valve driver of Hotta such that the support member includes a rolling element configured to roll as the lid moves.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the drive of Kim with the rotational drive of Hotta to minimize the parts in direction of the substrate loading direction into the treatment chamber.
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2013/33962 (Kim) in view of US 2013/0068981 (Hotta) and further in view of US 2011/0186762 (Geiser hereinafter).
Regarding claim 12, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 10 where the combination of Kim and Hotta are silent with respect that the guide arm includes a first arm to which the lid is attached, and a second arm to which the first rotation shaft is attached, and wherein the first arm and the second arm are separably fitted to each other.
However, Geiser teaches a valve drive that discloses a guide arm (Figures 1A-1E guide arm that includes a first arm to which the lid is attached (Guide arm 30), and a second arm to which the first rotation shaft is attached (Guide arm 29), and wherein the first arm and the second arm are separably fitted to each other (Evident from Figures 1A-1E). The resultant combination would separate the single guide arm 2c/2d of Hotta.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the singular guide arm of Kim/Hotta with the separate guide arms of Geiser to allow for a more compact motion to be made.
Regarding claim 17, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 11 where the combination of Kim and Hotta are silent with respect that the guide arm includes a first arm to which the lid is attached, and a second arm to which the first rotation shaft is attached, and wherein the first arm and the second arm are separably fitted to each other.
However, Geiser teaches a valve drive that discloses a guide arm (Figures 1A-1E guide arm that includes a first arm to which the lid is attached (Guide arm 30), and a second arm to which the first rotation shaft is attached (Guide arm 29), and wherein the first arm and the second arm are separably fitted to each other (Evident from Figures 1A-1E). The resultant combination would separate the single guide arm 2c/2d of Hotta.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the singular guide arm of Kim/Hotta with the separate guide arms of Geiser to allow for a more compact motion to be made.
Conclusion
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762