DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the amendments of 7/29/2026, claims 4, 11, and 17 were cancelled and the rest of the claims were amended. Therefore, Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-16 and 18-20 are still pending in this Application. In the Amendment, various portions of the Specification were also amended
Response to Amendments/Remarks
The amendments to the specification overcome the objections to the drawings and the specification. Therefore, the amendments to the specification/disclosure and drawings are acceptable since they do not introduce new matter.
The amendments to the specification are acceptable. The amendments are entered since they do not introduce new matter. The amendments to the specification correct the objection to the drawings. Therefore, the objections to the drawings and the disclosure are moot and the objections are withdrawn based on the amendments to the disclosure.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-10, with respect to rejections to the claims under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims under 35 USC § 102 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-10, with respect to rejections to the claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but they are respectfully unpersuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims under 35 USC § 102 have been maintained.
On pages 8-9, the Applicant argues that: “…Zhang, by contrast, as characterized by the Examiner's own citations, is directed to identifying "a type of cable" using resistors in a general electronic device charging and data context. Zhang's disclosed application involves identifying cables rated to deliver various maximum currents (e.g., 4A, 5A, 7A) for electronic device charging purposes. Zhang has no connection whatsoever to air conditioning equipment…A person of ordinary skill in the art addressing the problem of automatically configuring an air conditioner's heater, fan, and compressor for a detected AC line voltage would have no reason to look to Zhang's electronic-device cable-identification circuitry. Zhang is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and is not reasonably pertinent to the particular problem addressed by the claimed invention. Accordingly, Zhang does not qualify as analogous art, and the combination of Billman with Zhang is improper”. These arguments are respectfully unpersuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Zhang is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Billman clearly teaches the identification of a cable out of several cables connected to an air conditioner based on a detected voltage (see 0022 and 0065) and control the components of the AC based on the cable identification. Billman is silent on how the cable is identified or is silent about the structure of the device used to identify the cable. Zhang clearly teaches using a voltage divider, (see Fig. 2 [0049]) and shows a cable/plug with a first resistor and see [0050]) to determine a type of cable and its amperage as admitted by the Applicant in the arguments. Zhang suggests using a voltage divider for such purpose. Thus, they are in the same endeavor of identifying the type of cable and its operating characteristics. One of ordinary skill in the art, can easily identify the type of cable or its characteristic based on using the well-known formulas of Kirchoff’s law and by using the voltage divider of Zhang.
On page 9-10, the Applicant further argues that:
“Second, even assuming arguendo that Zhang were properly combinable with Billman, the proposed combination still does not disclose or suggest the claimed structural arrangement…Zhang's resistors, even if hypothetically transposed, operate in a unified cable-identification circuit for electronic device charging-not in a split resistor arrangement where one resistor resides in a power-cord plug and a second, separate resistor resides in a receptacle-side circuit for the specific purpose of identifying an AC line voltage rating for air conditioning equipment. In this manner, neither Billman nor Zhang discloses locating one resistor in a power-cord plug and a second, separate resistor in a receptacle-side circuit specifically to identify an AC line voltage rating for air conditioning equipment”. These arguments are respectfully not persuasive.
Zhang clearly teaches the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 14 in Fig. 2, wherein the voltage divider is formed by locating a first resistor in the plug and a second resistor in the receptable (also, see [0049] “As described above, in the circuit, the first resistor and the second resistor are connected in series, and thus, the output voltage from the internal power source may be divided”; also, see [0047], [0050]. Therefore, when the different types of cables are provided with second resistors having different resistance values, respectively, voltage drops across the different cables are also different, and thus it is feasible to identify the type of the connected cable based on the voltage drop across the first resistor (i.e., one example of the measured voltage), or, the voltage drop across the cable”; also, see [0078]).
Also, the Examiner has provided a plurality of references in the previous office action and in this office action (see the conclusion), wherein a voltage divider is used to determine a voltage to identify a cable. Also, the references below clearly teaches that a first resistor is connected to the plug and the second resistor is connected to the receptacle, wherein when they are mated the voltage divider is formed and a voltage is measured. Thus, the combination of Billman and Zhang would have suggested the claimed subject matter to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Billman et al (US 20160061501) in view of Zhang et al (US 20170179744).
As per claim 1, Billman teaches a device for use with a detachable power cord having a plug (see Fig. 1 device 100 with supply cord 104 and see Fig. 2-4 different cords that are detachable; also, see [0040] “…thus, the first power supply cord 204 can be mated to the power input interface 202”; also, see [0064] “…, a plurality of different but interchangeable power supply cords can be used to power the air conditioner unit. In particular, the plurality of different power supply cords can respectively provide power at a plurality of different amperages (e.g. 15, 20, and 30) …”), the device comprising:
a receptacle configured to receive the plug (see Fig. 1 supply cord and see Fig. 2-4 different cords that are detachable; also, see [0040] “…thus, the first power supply cord 204 can be mated to the power input interface 202”, thus, the interface 202 is a receptacle that receives the cord mating interface/plug);
a circuit configured to determine a maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see [0052] “thus, by sampling or otherwise determining a voltage at the ninth input connection of the power input interface, it can be determined whether the first power supply cord 202, the second power supply cord 302, or the third power supply cord 404 is being utilized to provide power to the air conditioner unit. As a consequence, the voltage at the ninth input connection can be indicative of whether the power provided to air conditioner unit is provided at 30 amperes or 15 or 20 amperes”; also, see [0064] and [0065-0067] the maximum current/amperage of a cord is determined); and
a controller configured to operate a function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see Fig. 1 controller 106 and see [0036] “According to an aspect of the present disclosure, the controller 106 can control operation of the heaters 112 based on parameters of the power supplied by the power supply cord 104. As an example, the controller 106 may de-energize one or more of the heaters 112 when the heaters 112 are operating, the fans 114 are operating below a threshold speed level, and the power supplied by the power supply cord 104 exceeds a threshold power.”; also, see [0037] “In particular, by determining a first voltage at a first electrical connection between the power input interface 102 and the power supply cord 104, the controller 106 or other system components may determine which of a plurality of different, interchangeable power supply cords is being utilized. More particularly, based on the first voltage at power input interface 102 it can be determined whether the power supply cord 104 is rated to provide power having amperages above or below a threshold amperage”; see [0038] “If the power supply cord 104 is determined to be rated for amperages exceeding the threshold amperage and various other conditions are met, then the controller 106 can de-energize at least one of the one or more heaters 112, thereby reducing a risk of overheating the air conditioner unit…”; also, see Fig. 5 and see [0065-0067] “…. However, if it is determined at 516 that the power supply cord being utilized is providing power at amperages greater than a threshold amperage, then method 500 can proceed to 518. At 518 at least one heater of the air conditioner unit can be de-energized. For example, a lowest wattage heater of three different heaters can be de-energized at 518. However, other heaters or other combinations of heaters can be de-energized at 518 as well. In such fashion, overheating conditions associated with maximum wattage heater use and low fan speed can be eliminated”),
While Billman teaches that a type of cable out of a plurality of cables is detected based on a detected voltage, Billman does not explicitly teach wherein the circuit comprises a resistor to be used in conjunction with the plug to form a voltage divider.
However, Zhang teaches a devices for identifying a type of cable comprising a voltage divider circuit, wherein the circuit comprises a resistor to be used in conjunction with the plug to form a voltage divider (see Fig. 2 second resistor and circuit forming a voltage divider; also, see [0049] “As described above, in the circuit, the first resistor and the second resistor are connected in series, and thus, the output voltage from the internal power source may be divided”; also, see [0047], [0050] “…Therefore, when the different types of cables are provided with second resistors having different resistance values, respectively, voltage drops across the different cables are also different, and thus it is feasible to identify the type of the connected cable based on the voltage drop across the first resistor (i.e., one example of the measured voltage), or, the voltage drop across the cable”; also, see [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman’s invention to include a voltage divider circuit, wherein the circuit comprises a resistor to be used in conjunction with the plug to form a voltage divider as taught by Zhang in order to identify a type of cable being connected based on the circuit and maximum operating parameter associated with the cable (see [0020] and [0078] “…the voltage range corresponding to the type of the cable provided with the second resistor having a resistance value of 10 kΩ (for example, a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 7 A on the premise that the security is ensured when using) may be 1.6˜1.8V, or the voltage range corresponding to the type of the cable provided with the second resistor having a resistance value of 5 kΩ (for example, a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 5 A on the premise that the security is ensured when using) may be 1.0˜1.2V, or the voltage range corresponding to the type of the cable provided with the second resistor having a resistance value of 1.2 kΩ (for example, a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 4 A on the premise that the security is ensured when using) may be 0.6˜0.8V”; also, see [0080] “ Therefore, for example, if the measured voltage is 1.7V, the adapter may determine that the measured voltage within a voltage range of 1.6˜1.8V, and in turn, may determine that the type of connected cable is the type corresponding to the voltage range (i.e., a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 7 A)”; Thus, applying the same steps and/or structure to the device of Billman, the type of cable in Billman’s can be identified and any cable can be identified by simply using a volage divider).
As per claim 2, Billman-Zhang teaches the device of claim 1, Billman further teaches wherein the circuit is configured to determine a maximum operating current of the detachable power cord as the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see [0052] “thus, by sampling or otherwise determining a voltage at the ninth input connection of the power input interface, it can be determined whether the first power supply cord 202, the second power supply cord 302, or the third power supply cord 404 is being utilized to provide power to the air conditioner unit. As a consequence, the voltage at the ninth input connection can be indicative of whether the power provided to air conditioner unit is provided at 30 amperes or 15 or 20 amperes”; also, see [0064] and [0065-0067] “… if it is determined at 516 that the power supply cord being utilized is providing power at amperages greater than a threshold amperage”, Thus, the maximum current/amperage of a cord is determined).
As per claim 3, Billman-Zhang teaches the device of claim 1, Billman further teaches
further comprising:
a fan (see Fig. 1 fan(s) 114 );
a heater (see Fig. 1 heater(s) 112 );
and a condenser (see Fig. 1 refrigeration system 116 includes a condenser and see [0035] “ the refrigeration system 116 can be a sealed refrigeration system that includes components such as a compressor, a condenser, an evaporator, and an expansion valve”),
wherein the controller is configured to operate, as the function of the device, at least one of the fan, the heater, and the condenser based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see [0036] “According to an aspect of the present disclosure, the controller 106 can control operation of the heaters 112 based on parameters of the power supplied by the power supply cord 104. As an example, the controller 106 may de-energize one or more of the heaters 112 when the heaters 112 are operating, the fans 114 are operating below a threshold speed level, and the power supplied by the power supply cord 104 exceeds a threshold power.”; also, see [0037-0038] “…If the power supply cord 104 is determined to be rated for amperages exceeding the threshold amperage and various other conditions are met, then the controller 106 can de-energize at least one of the one or more heaters 112, thereby reducing a risk of overheating the air conditioner unit…”; also, see Fig. 5 and see [0065-0067] “…. However, if it is determined at 516 that the power supply cord being utilized is providing power at amperages greater than a threshold amperage, then method 500 can proceed to 518. At 518 at least one heater of the air conditioner unit can be de-energized. For example, a lowest wattage heater of three different heaters can be de-energized at 518. However, other heaters or other combinations of heaters can be de-energized at 518 as well. In such fashion, overheating conditions associated with maximum wattage heater use and low fan speed can be eliminated”).
As per claim 8, Billman-Zhang teaches a device (see Fig. 1 device 100 with supply cord 104 and see Fig. 2-4 different cords that are detachable; also, see [0040] “…thus, the first power supply cord 204 can be mated to the power input interface 202”; also, see [0064] “…, a plurality of different but interchangeable power supply cords can be used to power the air conditioner unit. In particular, the plurality of different power supply cords can respectively provide power at a plurality of different amperages (e.g. 15, 20, and 30). …”) comprising:
a detachable power cord having a plug (see [0064]);
a receptacle configured to receive the plug (see Fig. 1-4 see Fig. 1 supply cord and see Fig. 2-4 different cords that are detachable; also, see [0040] “…thus, the first power supply cord 204 can be mated to the power input interface 202”, thus, the interface 202 is a receptacle that receives the cord mating interface/plug );
a circuit configured to determine a maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see [0052], [0064] and [0065-0067] the maximum current/amperage of a cord is determined; also, see claim 1 above same rationale applies herein); and
a controller configured to operate a function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see Fig. 1 controller 106 and see [0036], [0037], [0038]; also, see Fig. 5 and see [0065-0067]; also, see claim 1 above same rationale applies herein), While Billman teaches that a type of cable out of a plurality of cables is detected based on a detected voltage, Billman does not explicitly teach wherein the circuit comprises a circuit resistor, wherein the plug comprises a plug resistor, and wherein the circuit resistor and the plug resistor form a voltage divider.
However, Zhang teaches a devices for identifying a type of cable comprising a circuit that comprises a circuit resistor, wherein a plug comprises a plug resistor, and wherein the circuit resistor and the plug resistor form a voltage divider (see Fig. 2 circuit resistor includes first resistor and plug resistor include a second resistor and circuit forming a voltage divider; also, see [0049] “As described above, in the circuit, the first resistor and the second resistor are connected in series, and thus, the output voltage from the internal power source may be divided”; also, see [0047], [0050] “…Therefore, when the different types of cables are provided with second resistors having different resistance values, respectively, voltage drops across the different cables are also different, and thus it is feasible to identify the type of the connected cable based on the voltage drop across the first resistor (i.e., one example of the measured voltage), or, the voltage drop across the cable”; also, see [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman’s invention to include a circuit that comprises a circuit resistor, wherein a plug comprises a plug resistor, and wherein the circuit resistor and the plug resistor form the voltage divider as taught by Zhang in order to identify a type of cable being connected based on the circuit and maximum operating parameter associated with the cable (see [0020] and [0078] “…the voltage range corresponding to the type of the cable provided with the second resistor having a resistance value of 10 kΩ (for example, a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 7 A on the premise that the security is ensured when using) may be 1.6˜1.8V, or the voltage range corresponding to the type of the cable provided with the second resistor having a resistance value of 5 kΩ (for example, a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 5 A on the premise that the security is ensured when using) may be 1.0˜1.2V, or the voltage range corresponding to the type of the cable provided with the second resistor having a resistance value of 1.2 kΩ (for example, a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 4 A on the premise that the security is ensured when using) may be 0.6˜0.8V”; also, see [0080] “ Therefore, for example, if the measured voltage is 1.7V, the adapter may determine that the measured voltage within a voltage range of 1.6˜1.8V, and in turn, may determine that the type of connected cable is the type corresponding to the voltage range (i.e., a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 7 A)”; Thus, applying the same steps and/or structure to the device of Billman, the type of cable in Billman’s can be identified and any cable can be identified by simply using a volage divider).
As to claim 9, this claim is the device claim corresponding to the device claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 10, this claim is the device claim corresponding to the device claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As per claim 14, Billman teaches a method of operating a device, the method comprising:
attaching a detachable power cord having a plug into a receptacle configured to receive the plug (see Fig. 1 device 100 with supply cord 104 and see Fig. 2-4 different cords that are detachable; also, see [0040] “…thus, the first power supply cord 204 can be mated to the power input interface 202”; also, see [0064] “…, a plurality of different but interchangeable power supply cords can be used to power the air conditioner unit. In particular, the plurality of different power supply cords can respectively provide power at a plurality of different amperages (e.g. 15, 20, and 30) …”; see Fig. 1-4 see Fig. 1 supply cord and see Fig. 2-4 different cords that are detachable; also, see [0040] “…thus, the first power supply cord 204 can be mated to the power input interface 202”, thus, the interface 202 is a receptacle that receives the cord mating interface/plug );
determining, via a circuit, a maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see [0052] “thus, by sampling or otherwise determining a voltage at the ninth input connection of the power input interface, it can be determined whether the first power supply cord 202, the second power supply cord 302, or the third power supply cord 404 is being utilized to provide power to the air conditioner unit. As a consequence, the voltage at the ninth input connection can be indicative of whether the power provided to air conditioner unit is provided at 30 amperes or 15 or 20 amperes”; also, see [0064] and [0065-0067] the maximum current/amperage of a cord is determined); and
operating, via a controller, a function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see Fig. 1 controller 106 and see [0036], [0037], [0038]; also, see Fig. 5 and see [0065-0067]; also, see claim 1 above same rationale applies herein), wherein the circuit comprises a circuit resistor, wherein the plug comprises a plug resistor, and wherein the circuit resistor and the plug resistor form a voltage divider based on the plug being plugged into the receptacle.
However, Zhang teaches a device for identifying a type of cable comprising a circuit that comprises a circuit resistor, wherein the circuit resistor and the plug resistor form a voltage divider based on the plug being plugged into the receptacle (see Fig. 2 circuit resistor includes first resistor and plug resistor include a second resistor and circuit forming a voltage divider; also, see [0049] “As described above, in the circuit, the first resistor and the second resistor are connected in series, and thus, the output voltage from the internal power source may be divided”; also, see [0047], [0050] “0] Therefore, when the different types of cables are provided with second resistors having different resistance values, respectively, voltage drops across the different cables are also different, and thus it is feasible to identify the type of the connected cable based on the voltage drop across the first resistor (i.e., one example of the measured voltage), or, the voltage drop across the cable”; also, see [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman’s invention to include a circuit that comprises a circuit resistor, wherein the circuit resistor and the plug resistor form a voltage divider based on the plug being plugged into the receptacle as taught by Zhang in order to identify a type of cable being connected based on the circuit and maximum operating parameter associated with the cable (see [0020] and [0078] “…the voltage range corresponding to the type of the cable provided with the second resistor having a resistance value of 10 kΩ (for example, a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 7 A on the premise that the security is ensured when using) may be 1.6˜1.8V, or the voltage range corresponding to the type of the cable provided with the second resistor having a resistance value of 5 kΩ (for example, a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 5 A on the premise that the security is ensured when using) may be 1.0˜1.2V, or the voltage range corresponding to the type of the cable provided with the second resistor having a resistance value of 1.2 kΩ (for example, a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 4 A on the premise that the security is ensured when using) may be 0.6˜0.8V”; also, see [0080] “ Therefore, for example, if the measured voltage is 1.7V, the adapter may determine that the measured voltage within a voltage range of 1.6˜1.8V, and in turn, may determine that the type of connected cable is the type corresponding to the voltage range (i.e., a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 7 A)”; Thus, applying the same steps and/or structure to the device of Billman, the type of cable in Billman’s can be identified and any cable can be identified by simply using a volage divider).
As to claim 15, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the device claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 16, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the device claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As per claim 20, Billman-Zhang teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: Billman further teaches detaching the detachable power cord from the receptacle configured to receive the plug (see [0010] “… The utilized power supply cord is one of a plurality of different power supply cords that are interchangeable for providing power to the power input interface. The plurality of different power supply cords are capable of respectively providing power at a plurality of different amperages…”; also, see [0021] “For example, the utilized power supply cord providing power to the air conditioner unit can be one of a plurality of different power supply cords that are capable of interchangeable use with the air conditioner unit. The plurality of different power supply cords are capable of respectively providing power at a plurality of different amperages”; also, see [0037] and [0064]); and
attaching a second detachable power cord having a second plug into the receptacle configured to receive the second plug (see [0010], [0021], [0037] and [0064]);
determining, via the circuit, a maximum operating parameter of the second detachable power cord (see [0010], [0021], [0037] and [0064]; also, see [0052] “see [0052] “thus, by sampling or otherwise determining a voltage at the ninth input connection of the power input interface, it can be determined whether the first power supply cord 202, the second power supply cord 302, or the third power supply cord 404 is being utilized to provide power to the air conditioner unit. As a consequence, the voltage at the ninth input connection can be indicative of whether the power provided to air conditioner unit is provided at 30 amperes or 15 or 20 amperes”; also, see [0064] and [0065-0067] the maximum current/amperage of a cord is determined”);
and operating, via the controller, the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the second detachable power cord (see Fig. 1 controller 106 and see [0036] “According to an aspect of the present disclosure, the controller 106 can control operation of the heaters 112 based on parameters of the power supplied by the power supply cord 104. As an example, the controller 106 may de-energize one or more of the heaters 112 when the heaters 112 are operating, the fans 114 are operating below a threshold speed level, and the power supplied by the power supply cord 104 exceeds a threshold power.”; also, see [0037] “In particular, by determining a first voltage at a first electrical connection between the power input interface 102 and the power supply cord 104, the controller 106 or other system components may determine which of a plurality of different, interchangeable power supply cords is being utilized. More particularly, based on the first voltage at power input interface 102 it can be determined whether the power supply cord 104 is rated to provide power having amperages above or below a threshold amperage”; see [0038] “ If the power supply cord 104 is determined to be rated for amperages exceeding the threshold amperage and various other conditions are met, then the controller 106 can de-energize at least one of the one or more heaters 112, thereby reducing a risk of overheating the air conditioner unit…”; also, see Fig. 5 and see [0065-0067] “…. However, if it is determined at 516 that the power supply cord being utilized is providing power at amperages greater than a threshold amperage, then method 500 can proceed to 518. At 518 at least one heater of the air conditioner unit can be de-energized. For example, a lowest wattage heater of three different heaters can be de-energized at 518. However, other heaters or other combinations of heaters can be de-energized at 518 as well. In such fashion, overheating conditions associated with maximum wattage heater use and low fan speed can be eliminated”).
Claim(s) 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Billman et al (US 20160061501) in view of Zhang et al (US 20170179744) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Langgood et al (US 20100117453).
As per claim 5, Billman-Zhang teaches the device of claim 1, Billman further teaches wherein the plug comprises a (see [0027] “…the power supply cord 104 can transmit alternating current power from a utility outlet to the power input interface 102 of the air conditioner unit. In some embodiments, the alternating current power can have a voltage at about 208 to 230 volts”; see [0039] “ In particular, the first power supply cord 204 is rated to provide 208/230 volt alternating current power at about 15 amperes. The particular values for power supply cords (e.g. 15, 20, and 30 ampere ratings) and heaters discussed herein are provided as examples only, the present disclosure can be applied to many different components exhibiting many different parameters”). Billman suggests that any cable can be used, and while 208 V and 240 V are known for having three prongs, Billman does not explicitly teach wherein the plug comprises a three-wire grounding plug used for 208 V circuits, a three-wire grounding plug used for 240 V circuits, and/or a two-pole and ground plug used for 277 V circuits.
Langgood teaches a device comprising cable with a first plug, wherein the first plug comprises a three-wire grounding plug used for 208 V circuits, a three-wire grounding plug used for 240 V circuits, and/or a two-pole and ground plug used for 277 V circuits (see [0018] “ The device 10 may receive power by virtue of connecting either one of the power connectors 21, 22 to any of a variety of AC power outlets available worldwide using an appropriate power cord having a line socket at one end for connecting to one of the power connectors 21, 22 and a location-specific power plug at the other end for connecting to an AC power outlet… While many different standards exist for AC wall outlets, the following discussion assumes, by way of example, that the first power outlet 41 is a high-line outlet having two prong receptacles 44 and operating at 10 amperes and 220V at 50 Hz, and that the second power outlet 42 is a low-line outlet having three prong receptacles 46 and operating at 15 amperes and 110V at 60 Hz”; also, see Fig. 1 cord 31 with three wire prongs and see [0019] “..The first power cord 31 includes a ten-ampere C13 line socket 33 at one end for connecting to the corresponding type-C14 first power connector 21… the second power cord 32 includes a C19 line socket 37 at one end for connecting to the corresponding C20 second power connector 22 on the device 10.”, C13 and C14 are three prong grounded connectors for handling 0-250 Volts AC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman's combination as taught above to include one or more plugs, wherein the plug comprises a three-wire grounding plug used for 208 V circuits, a three-wire grounding plug used for 240 V circuits, and/or a two-pole and ground plug used for 277 V circuits as taught by Langgood in order to provide a different selection of power settings for functions of the device based on different connector/plug type (see [0022] “A different selection of power settings may be predefined for use with each power connector 21, 22 according to connector type. For example, the power settings selected for use with the first connector 21 may include a current limit of ten amperes appropriate for the C13/C14 connector type. Likewise, the power settings selected for use with the second power connector 22 may include a current limit of sixteen amperes appropriate for the C19/C20 connector type. Any unique combination of power settings may be associated with each different connector type, which will typically be expressed in terms of a particular combination of voltage, frequency, and current/amperage. These power settings may be enforced, in part, by a power supply controller 19 configured to invoke the power settings corresponding to the exposed power connector 21 or 22…”).
Claim(s) 6, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Billman et al (US 20160061501) in view of Zhang et al (US 20170179744) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Li (CN 105914807 A, as supported by the machine translation provided).
As per claim 6, Billman-Zhang teaches the device of claim 1, Billman further teaches further comprising a memory and a data structure (see [0030] “The memory media can be co-located with the processing devices or can be located remotely. The processing devices can implement instructions stored in the memory media to perform operations. For example, controller 106 can implement instructions stored in memory to perform method 500 of FIG. 5.) and control a function of the device based on the maximum operating parameter (see Fig. 5 steps 516-18 and [0067] a specific heater is controlled), but Billman-Zhang does not explicitly teach a memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, wherein the controller is configured to access the data structure to operate a function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (e.g. using a look up table to determine a function/operation of the device based on an association of the function and the max operating parameter).
Li teaches a method and device comprising a memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 page 8 a data structure such as a table associating a priori maximum operating parameter such as maximum current in a cable associated with a detected impedance/resistor of the cable, and associating the maximum current with a function of the device such as heating poet consumption), wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 and see page 8 last par. “ When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated…”, and see page 9 pars. 1-2 “In the embodiment of the present invention, for the maximum input current setting charging cable of charging cable under each impedance, when the charging cable input current that system needs is more than the charging cable maximum input current set, by charging cable input current clamper at the charging cable maximum input current set, electric current is excessive causes charging cable seriously to generate heat in prevention, thus ensure the safety of charging cable, promote Consumer's Experience. Step 104, generates the second instruction, sends described second instruction to the charging adapter being connected with described charging cable, makes the electric current that described charging cable is exported by described charging adapter less than or equal to described maximum charge threshold current”; also, see page 10 pars 6-8 “…When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter
less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated. In the embodiment of the present invention…”; also, see page 15 last 5 paragraphs “In the embodiment of the present invention, the comparison table arranged between the first electrical parameter value and the threshold
current born by charging cable is stored in the memorizer of described electronic equipment; Described controller 50, being additionally operable to according to described first electrical parameter is that described charging cable determines the first charge threshold electric current, including: According to the first electrical parameter of the described charging cable calculated, search described comparison table, determine that described charging cable determines maximum charge threshold current…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman’s combination as taught above to include a memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord as taught by Li in order to facilitate the control of the function of the device and its power output of the device by using a table correlating values to maximum operating parameters and avoid overheating f the system or cable (see page 11 Par. 2, 4 and 7 “the first instruction is i.e. to make electronic equipment be in the mode of operation performing that charging adapter carries out relevant control, even if electronic equipment is in the second mode of operation. Second mode of operation is i.e. on the computation schema of the impedance etc. to charging cable, by the calculating to charging cable impedance, is controlled the charging current of charging cable, makes the charging cable will not be overheated…”] page 12 par. 9 “ … make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated”).
As to claim 12, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the system claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As per claim 18, Billman-Zhang teaches the method of claim 14, Billman further teaches wherein the operating, via the controller, the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord comprises operating the function of the device via the controller including a memory having a data structure stored therein (see [0030] “The memory media can be co-located with the processing devices or can be located remotely. The processing devices can implement instructions stored in the memory media to perform operations. For example, controller 106 can implement instructions stored in memory to perform method 500 of FIG. 5.) and control a function of the device based on the maximum operating parameter (see Fig. 5 steps 516-18 and [0067] a specific heater is controlled), but Billman does not explicitly teach the memory having a data structure stored associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, and wherein the operating, via the controller, the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord further comprises accessing, via the controller, the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord.
Li teaches a method and device comprising a memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 page 8 a data structure such as a table associating a priori maximum operating parameter such as maximum current in a cable associated with a detected impedance/resistor of the cable, and associating the maximum current with a function of the device such as heating poet consumption), wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 and see page 8 last par. “ When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated…”, and see page 9 pars. 1-2 “In the embodiment of the present invention, for the maximum input current setting charging cable of charging cable under each impedance, when the charging cable input current that system needs is more than the charging cable maximum input current set, by charging cable input current clamper at the charging cable maximum input current set, electric current is excessive causes charging cable seriously to generate heat in prevention, thus ensure the safety of charging cable, promote Consumer's Experience. Step 104, generates the second instruction, sends described second instruction to the charging adapter being connected with described charging cable, makes the electric current that described charging cable is exported by described charging adapter less than or equal to described maximum charge threshold current”; also, see page 10 pars 6-8 “…When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter
less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated. In the embodiment of the present invention…”; also, see page 15 last 5 paragraphs “In the embodiment of the present invention, the comparison table arranged between the first electrical parameter value and the threshold
current born by charging cable is stored in the memorizer of described electronic equipment; Described controller 50, being additionally operable to according to described first electrical parameter is that described charging cable determines the first charge threshold electric current, including: According to the first electrical parameter of the described charging cable calculated, search described comparison table, determine that described charging cable determines maximum charge threshold current…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman’s combination as taught above to include a memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord as taught by Li in order to facilitate the control of the function of the device and its power output of the device by using a table correlating values to maximum operating parameters and avoid overheating f the system or cable (see page 11 Par. 2, 4 and 7 “the first instruction is i.e. to make electronic equipment be in the mode of operation performing that charging adapter carries out relevant control, even if electronic equipment is in the second mode of operation. Second mode of operation is i.e. on the computation schema of the impedance etc. to charging cable, by the calculating to charging cable impedance, is controlled the charging current of charging cable, makes the charging cable will not be overheated…”] page 12 par. 9 “ … make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated”).
Claim(s) 7, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Billman et al (US 20160061501) in view of Zhang et al (US 20170179744) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li (CN 105914807 A, as supported by the machine translation provided) and Hines et al (US 20220140635).
As per claim 7, Billman-Zhang teaches the device of claim 1, but it does not explicitly teach wherein the controller comprises a programmable logic array associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, and wherein the controller is configured to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord.
Li teaches a method and device comprising a controller and memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 page 8 a data structure such as a table associating a priori maximum operating parameter such as maximum current in a cable associated with a detected impedance/resistor of the cable, and associating the maximum current with a function of the device such as heating poet consumption), wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 and see page 8 last par. “ When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated…”, and see page 9 pars. 1-2 “In the embodiment of the present invention, for the maximum input current setting charging cable of charging cable under each impedance, when the charging cable input current that system needs is more than the charging cable maximum input current set, by charging cable input current clamper at the charging cable maximum input current set, electric current is excessive causes charging cable seriously to generate heat in prevention, thus ensure the safety of charging cable, promote Consumer's Experience. Step 104, generates the second instruction, sends described second instruction to the charging adapter being connected with described charging cable, makes the electric current that described charging cable is exported by described charging adapter less than or equal to described maximum charge threshold current”; also, see page 10 pars 6-8 “…When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter
less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated. In the embodiment of the present invention…”; also, see page 15 last 5 paragraphs “In the embodiment of the present invention, the comparison table arranged between the first electrical parameter value and the threshold
current born by charging cable is stored in the memorizer of described electronic equipment; Described controller 50, being additionally operable to according to described first electrical parameter is that described charging cable determines the first charge threshold electric current, including: According to the first electrical parameter of the described charging cable calculated, search described comparison table, determine that described charging cable determines maximum charge threshold current…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman’s invention to include a controller and memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord as taught by Li in order to facilitate the control of the function of the device and its power output of the device by using a table correlating values to maximum operating parameters and avoid overheating f the system or cable (see page 11 Par. 2, 4 and 7 “the first instruction is i.e. to make electronic equipment be in the mode of operation performing that charging adapter carries out relevant control, even if electronic equipment is in the second mode of operation. Second mode of operation is i.e. on the computation schema of the impedance etc. to charging cable, by the calculating to charging cable impedance, is controlled the charging current of charging cable, makes the charging cable will not be overheated…”] page 12 par. 9 “ … make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated”).
While Lin teaches a controller 50 associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter, Billman and Lin dos not explicitly teach a programmable logic array associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter.
However, Hines teaches a system and method comprising a programmable logic array for performing a method associating a function of a device with an a priori maximum operating parameter (see 0069 “some or all steps of the method 600 can be implemented by charger controller 314 of FIG. 3. The method 600 can be performed by any suitable computing structures, such as, for example, programmable logic circuits and/or programmable logic arrays”; see [0063] “… the maximum charging current can be retrieved from a lookup table where temperature is provided to the lookup table as input…”; , The method 600 can include, at 608, controlling a battery charger based at least in part on the maximum charging current to charge the one or more cells. For instance, in some embodiments, the battery charger, such as a supply of the battery charger, can be configured to provide an amount of voltage and/or current to battery pack that is equal to or less than the maximum charging current. . For instance, in some embodiments, the charger controller can adjust characteristics of one or more digital signals, such as pulse width modulated (PWM) signals, to configure an amount of current and/or voltage and/or power supplied by the battery charger (e.g., the supply”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman’s combination as taught above to include a programmable logic array for performing a method associating a function of a device with an a priori maximum operating parameter as taught by Hines in order to control the current output of a device based on the maximum current (see the Abstract) and reduce overheating of the device (see [0034]) and because programmable logic array consume less power than a conventional or regular CPU controller.
As to claim 13, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the system claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As per claim 19, Billman-Zhang teaches the method of claim 14, Billman further teaches wherein the operating, via the controller, the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord comprises operating the function of the device via the controller (see [0028-0229], [0036]), but Billman does not explicitly teach the controller including a programmable logic array associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, and wherein the operating, via the controller, the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord further comprises operating, via the controller, the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord.
Li teaches a method and device comprising a controller and memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 page 8 a data structure such as a table associating a priori maximum operating parameter such as maximum current in a cable associated with a detected impedance/resistor of the cable, and associating the maximum current with a function of the device such as heating poet consumption), wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 and see page 8 last par. “ When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated…”, and see page 9 pars. 1-2 “In the embodiment of the present invention, for the maximum input current setting charging cable of charging cable under each impedance, when the charging cable input current that system needs is more than the charging cable maximum input current set, by charging cable input current clamper at the charging cable maximum input current set, electric current is excessive causes charging cable seriously to generate heat in prevention, thus ensure the safety of charging cable, promote Consumer's Experience. Step 104, generates the second instruction, sends described second instruction to the charging adapter being connected with described charging cable, makes the electric current that described charging cable is exported by described charging adapter less than or equal to described maximum charge threshold current”; also, see page 10 pars 6-8 “…When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter
less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated. In the embodiment of the present invention…”; also, see page 15 last 5 paragraphs “In the embodiment of the present invention, the comparison table arranged between the first electrical parameter value and the threshold
current born by charging cable is stored in the memorizer of described electronic equipment; Described controller 50, being additionally operable to according to described first electrical parameter is that described charging cable determines the first charge threshold electric current, including: According to the first electrical parameter of the described charging cable calculated, search described comparison table, determine that described charging cable determines maximum charge threshold current…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman’s combination as taught above to include a controller and memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord as taught by Li in order to facilitate the control of the function of the device and its power output of the device by using a table correlating values to maximum operating parameters and avoid overheating f the system or cable (see page 11 Par. 2, 4 and 7 “the first instruction is i.e. to make electronic equipment be in the mode of operation performing that charging adapter carries out relevant control, even if electronic equipment is in the second mode of operation. Second mode of operation is i.e. on the computation schema of the impedance etc. to charging cable, by the calculating to charging cable impedance, is controlled the charging current of charging cable, makes the charging cable will not be overheated…”] page 12 par. 9 “ … make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated”).
While Lin teaches a controller 50 associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter, Billman and Lin dos not explicitly teach a programmable logic array associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter.
However, Hines teaches a system and method comprising a programmable logic array for performing a method associating a function of a device with an a priori maximum operating parameter (see 0069 “some or all steps of the method 600 can be implemented by charger controller 314 of FIG. 3. The method 600 can be performed by any suitable computing structures, such as, for example, programmable logic circuits and/or programmable logic arrays”; see [0063] “… the maximum charging current can be retrieved from a lookup table where temperature is provided to the lookup table as input…”; , The method 600 can include, at 608, controlling a battery charger based at least in part on the maximum charging current to charge the one or more cells. For instance, in some embodiments, the battery charger, such as a supply of the battery charger, can be configured to provide an amount of voltage and/or current to battery pack that is equal to or less than the maximum charging current. . For instance, in some embodiments, the charger controller can adjust characteristics of one or more digital signals, such as pulse width modulated (PWM) signals, to configure an amount of current and/or voltage and/or power supplied by the battery charger (e.g., the supply”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman’s combination as taught above to include a programmable logic array for performing a method associating a function of a device with an a priori maximum operating parameter as taught by Hines in order to control the current output of a device based on the maximum current (see the Abstract) and reduce overheating of the device (see [0034]) and because programmable logic array consume less power than a conventional or regular CPU controller.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, as cited in PTO form 892, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rode et al (US 6085259) teaches a system comprising a voltage divider includes a first resistor and a second resistor, the first resistor being positioned in the plug and the second resistor being positioned in the respective network component (see page 8 claim 10).
Rotheroe (US 20050063116) teaches a plug with an embedded monitoring voltage device comprising a voltage divider that is activated when the plug and the receptacle are connected.
McIntyre er al (US 20140228903) teaches a system comprising a plug with a resistor and a receptable with a circuit and a second resistor, when the plug is connected to the receptable a voltage divider is created (see Fig. 1 and 2 and see [0028] “the voltage divider circuit may be connected to the first pair of conducting contacts of the electrode plug via the first pair of conducting contacts of the defibrillator socket in an arrangement which divides the voltage of the voltage generator between the identification element of the electrode plug and the electrical impedance element of the voltage divider circuit), the system identifies the size of the cable/electrode based on the voltage divider.
Hirano et al ( JP H10247570 A) teaches a system comprising a voltage divider, wherein a first resistor is in the plug, and second resistor is located in the receptacle (see Fig. 1-3), wherein in the voltage divider is formed when the plug is inserted in the receptacle, detecting a voltage based on the voltage divider and controlling the power of the system based on the detected voltage (see page 4 par. 1-2).
Jordan (DE202004012920U1) teaches a system comprising a voltage divider, wherein a first resistor is in the plug, and second resistor is located in the receptacle (see Fig. 4/4 and see the Abstract “A medium voltage installation voltage measurement resistive splitter has fuse primary impedances (2) in a connector socket (1)
with secondary connection (2.2) directly to an external contact (2.3) and secondary impedance at the other end of a signal line
(4) close to the signal processor (6).”),
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid or differentiate from such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117