DETAILED ACTION
2. This Non-Final office action is in response to application 18/407,673, application filed on 01/09/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/09/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kusnadi et al. (US PG Pub No. 2011/0202893).
7. With respect to independent claim 1, Kusnadi teaches:
A method for generating an optical proximity correction (OPC) model (see OPC model calibration, Title, Abstract; see OPC model, para 20, 36-38), the method comprising:
measuring a first target critical dimension (CD) value (see measuring CD values, para 16-18) at a first measurement point (see measurement points in measurement contour, para 28, 37, ) of a scanning electron microscope (SEM) image (see measurement contour for point values using SEM image, para 37) for a target pattern (see SEM image for measured contour for target image, para 19) and measuring a second target CD value at a second measurement point (see number of points N in the measurement contour, para 39-40);
simulating the OPC model (see OPC process for simulated image, para 32; see OPC model calibration, Title, Abstract; see OPC model, para 20, 36-38) using the first target CD value with respect to a first evaluation point, corresponding to the first measurement point (see Fig. 5 showing simulated contour evaluation points corresponding to measurement point M, para 39-40), on a contour of the OPC model (see contour as shown in Fig, 5, showing both measurement contour portion and simulation contour portion, para 39-40);
simulating the OPC model (see OPC process for simulated image, para 32; OPC model calibration, Title, Abstract; see OPC model, para 20, 36-38) using the second target CD value with respect to a second evaluation point, corresponding to the second measurement point, on the contour (for multiple points, see contour as shown in Fig, 5, showing both measurement contour portion and simulation contour portion, para 39-40); and
fitting the OPC model to each of the first evaluation point and the second evaluation point (fitting model, fitting simulation contour, two sets of contours, evaluation of the fitting of the simulation contour, alignment of the measured contour, para 20).
8. With respect to independent claim 10, Kusnadi teaches:
A method for correcting a first optical proximity correction (OPC) model (see OPC model calibration, Title, Abstract; see OPC model, para 20, 36-38), the method comprising:
measuring a target critical dimension (CD) value (see measuring CD values, para 16-18) of a target pattern for each of a plurality of measurement points of a scanning electron microscopy (SEM) image for the target pattern (see measurement points in measurement contour, para 28, 37; see measurement contour for point values using SEM image, para 37; see SEM image for measured contour for target image, para 19);
measuring a simulation CD value of a contour of the first OPC model for each of a plurality of evaluation points of a contour of the first OPC model for the target pattern, the plurality of evaluation points corresponding to the plurality of measurement points (see OPC process for simulated image, para 32; see OPC model calibration, Title, Abstract; see OPC model, para 20, 36-38; see Fig. 5 showing simulated contour evaluation point S corresponding to measurement point M, para 39-40; see contour as shown in Fig, 5, showing both measurement contour portion and simulation contour portion, para 39-40; see OPC process for simulated image, para 32; OPC model calibration, Title, Abstract; see OPC model, para 20, 36-38; for multiple points, see contour as shown in Fig, 5, showing both measurement contour portion and simulation contour portion, para 39-40); and
fitting the first OPC model using all of the target CD values of the plurality of measurement points and all of the simulation CD values of the plurality of evaluation points (fitting model, fitting simulation contour, two sets of contours, evaluation of the fitting of the simulation contour, alignment of the measured contour, para 20).
9. With respect to independent claim 19, Kusnadi teaches:
A method for fabricating a semiconductor device (manufacturing semiconductor device, para 29; fabrication processes manufacturing a circuit, para 3-8), the method comprising:
fabricating a mask pattern (see creating a mask feature, para 31; see modified mask feature, para 35); and
forming a pattern on a substrate using the mask (forming desired patterns on a substrate, para 29),
wherein the fabricating the mask includes
designing a layout for the pattern (designing layout of geometric patterns to be fabricated onto a substrate, para 29-30),
generating an optical proximity correction (OPC) model for the layout (see OPC process on layout, para 31),
correcting the layout using the optical proximity correction model (see correcting patterns using OPC correction, para 34), and
fabricating the mask with the corrected layout (see modified mask feature, para 35), and
the generating the optical proximity correction model includes
measuring a first target critical dimension (CD) value at a first measurement point of a scanning electron microscope (SEM) image of the pattern and measuring a second target CD value at a second measurement point of the SEM image of the pattern (see measurement points in measurement contour, para 28, 37; see measurement contour for point values using SEM image, para 37; see SEM image for measured contour for target image, para 19);
simulating the OPC model using the first target CD value with respect to a first evaluation point, corresponding to the first measurement point, on a contour of the OPC model (see OPC process for simulated image, para 32; see OPC model calibration, Title, Abstract; see OPC model, para 20, 36-38; see Fig. 5 showing simulated contour evaluation point S corresponding to measurement point M, para 39-40; see contour as shown in Fig, 5, showing both measurement contour portion and simulation contour portion, para 39-40; see OPC process for simulated image, para 32; OPC model calibration, Title, Abstract; see OPC model, para 20, 36-38; for multiple points, see contour as shown in Fig, 5, showing both measurement contour portion and simulation contour portion, para 39-40);
simulating the OPC model using the second target CD value with respect to a second evaluation point, corresponding to the second measurement point, on the contour (see OPC process for simulated image, para 32; OPC model calibration, Title, Abstract; see OPC model, para 20, 36-38; for multiple points, see contour as shown in Fig, 5, showing both measurement contour portion and simulation contour portion, para 39-40); and
fitting the OPC model to each of the first evaluation point and the second evaluation point (fitting model, fitting simulation contour, two sets of contours, evaluation of the fitting of the simulation contour, alignment of the measured contour, para 20).
10. With respect to claim 2, Kusnadi teaches:
measuring a first simulation CD value of the contour at the first evaluation point of the contour (see measurement points in measurement contour, para 28, 37; see measurement contour for point values using SEM image, para 37; see SEM image for measured contour for target image, para 19); and
measuring a second simulation CD value of the contour at the second evaluation point of the contour (see plurality of measurement/evaluation points Mi, for measuring CD contour, simulation contour, para 40-42, Fig 5),
wherein the fitting the OPC model further includes correcting the OPC model using a cost function for the first target CD value, the second target CD value, the first simulation CD value, and the second simulation CD value (fitting model, fitting simulation contour, two sets of contours, evaluation of the fitting of the simulation contour, alignment of the measured contour, para 20).
11. With respect to claim 3, Kusnadi teaches:
setting a first measurement region on the SEM image, the first measurement region including the first measurement point and the second measurement point (see region of measurement region shown for measuring CD/simulation contour, para 29-30, 38-42).
12. With respect to claim 4, Kusnadi teaches:
setting a first evaluation region on the contour such that the first evaluation region corresponds to the first measurement region (see region of measurement region shown for measuring CD/simulation contour, para 29-30, 38-42); and
measuring, within the first evaluation region, a first simulation CD value of the first evaluation point of the contour and a second simulation CD value of the second evaluation point of the contour (see region of measurement region shown for measuring CD/simulation contour, para 29-30, 38-42).
13. With respect to claim 6, Kusnadi teaches:
wherein a first distance between the first measurement point and the second measurement point on the SEM image and a second distance between the first evaluation point and the second evaluation point on the contour are different from each other (see Fig 2B-2C3 showing distances between simulated image points and measured target points change or are different, para 24, 32; see plurality of measurement/evaluation points Mi, for measuring CD contour, simulation contour, para 40-42, Fig 5).
14. With respect to claim 7, Kusnadi teaches:
determining an edge placement error (EPE) of the first evaluation point and the second evaluation point of the contour (see edge placement error during calibration/SEM for contour pattern matching, para 19, 32).
15. With respect to claim 8, Kusnadi teaches:
wherein the determining the EPE includes determining a first EPE corresponding to the first evaluation point and a second EPE corresponding to the second evaluation point, and the fitting the OPC model is repeated until a cost function for the first EPE and the second EPE reaches a minimum (see edge placement error during calibration/SEM for contour pattern matching, para 19, 32; see cost function for CD and contour, para 17-20; calibration for simulation of printed image on substrate, para 20-25; see minimum of distance values to reduce cost function, para 40-45).
16. With respect to claim 9, Kusnadi teaches:
wherein the SEM image includes pixel data, and the measuring the first target CD value at the first measurement point and the second target CD value at the second measurement point includes measuring the first target CD value and the second target CD value of the target pattern based on the pixel data of the SEM image (see SEM contour data, measured contour data, see CD measurements and calibration points based on SEM image, para 15-19, 30-35).
17. With respect to claim 11, Kusnadi teaches:
setting the number of the plurality of measurement points, and setting the number of the plurality of evaluation points (see region of measurement region shown for measuring CD/simulation contour, para 29-30, 38-42; Fig 2B-2C, Fig 5).
18. With respect to claim 12, Kusnadi teaches:
determining an edge placement error (EPE) for the plurality of evaluation points of the contour (see edge placement error during calibration/SEM for contour pattern matching, para 19, 32; see cost function for CD and contour, para 17-20; calibration for simulation of printed image on substrate, para 20-25; see minimum of distance values to reduce cost function, para 40-45).
19. With respect to claim 13, Kusnadi teaches:
wherein the plurality of measurement points are spaced apart from each other at constant intervals on the SEM image (see widths and spacing of measurement points at constant intervals and/or prescribed locations, para 16-20).
20. With respect to claim 14, Kusnadi teaches:
wherein the plurality of evaluation points are spaced apart from each other at constant intervals on the contour (see widths and spacing of measurement points at constant intervals and/or prescribed locations, para 16-20).
21. With respect to claim 15, Kusnadi teaches:
wherein the fitting the first OPC model includes generating a second OPC model such that a difference, using a cost function, between the target CD value of the plurality of measurement points and the simulation CD value of the plurality of evaluation points is less than or equal to a threshold value (see calibration/SEM for contour pattern matching, para 19, 32; see cost function for CD and contour, para 17-20; calibration for simulation of printed image on substrate, para 20-25; see minimum of distance values to reduce cost function, para 40-45).
22. With respect to claim 16, Kusnadi teaches:
wherein the number of the plurality of measurement points and the number of the plurality of evaluation points are the same as each other (see Fig 2B-2C3 showing distances between simulated image points and measured target points change or are different, para 24, 32; see plurality of measurement/evaluation points Mi, for measuring CD contour, simulation contour, para 40-42, Fig 5).
23. With respect to claim 17, Kusnadi teaches:
wherein the plurality of measurement points include a first measurement point and a second measurement point (for multiple points, see contour as shown in Fig, 5, showing both measurement contour portion and simulation contour portion, para 39-40),
the target pattern has a first target CD value at the first measurement point and a second target CD value at the second measurement point (see Fig 2B-2C3 showing distances between simulated image points and measured target points change or are different, para 24, 32; see plurality of measurement/evaluation points Mi, for measuring CD contour, simulation contour, para 40-42, Fig 5),
the plurality of evaluation points include a first evaluation point corresponding to the first measurement point and a second evaluation point corresponding to the second measurement point (see Fig 2B-2C3 showing distances between simulated image points and measured target points change or are different, para 24, 32; see plurality of measurement/evaluation points Mi, for measuring CD contour, simulation contour, para 40-42, Fig 5),
the contour of the first OPC model has a first simulation CD value at the first evaluation point and a second simulation CD value at the second evaluation point (see plurality of measurement/evaluation points Mi, for measuring CD contour, simulation contour, para 40-42, Fig 5), and
the fitting the first OPC model includes fitting the first target CD value and the first simulation CD value with respect to the first evaluation point (fitting model, fitting simulation contour, two sets of contours, evaluation of the fitting of the simulation contour, alignment of the measured contour, para 20), and
fitting the second target CD value and the second simulation CD value with respect to the second evaluation point (fitting model, fitting simulation contour, two sets of contours, evaluation of the fitting of the simulation contour, alignment of the measured contour, para 20).
24. With respect to claim 18, Kusnadi teaches:
setting a measurement region on the SEM image, the measurement region including the plurality of measurement points, on the SEM image (see calibration/SEM for contour pattern matching, para 19, 32; see cost function for CD and contour, para 17-20; calibration for simulation of printed image on substrate, para 20-25; see minimum of distance values to reduce cost function, para 40-45).
25. With respect to claim 20, Kusnadi teaches:
wherein the generating the OPC model further includes determining an edge placement error (EPE) of the first evaluation point and the second evaluation point of the contour (see edge placement error during calibration/SEM for contour pattern matching, para 19, 32; see cost function for CD and contour, para 17-20; calibration for simulation of printed image on substrate, para 20-25; see minimum of distance values to reduce cost function, para 40-45).
Allowable Subject Matter
26. Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
27. With respect to dependent claim 5, the prior art made of record fails to teach the combination of steps recited in claim 5, including the following particular combination of steps as recited in claim 5, as follows:
measuring a third target CD value at a third measurement point of the second measurement region;
measuring a fourth target CD value at a fourth measurement point of the second measurement region; and
determining a target CD average value based on the third target CD value and the fourth target CD value, wherein the fitting the OPC model includes using the target CD average value with respect to a second evaluation region of the contour, and the second evaluation region corresponds to the second measurement region.
Conclusion
/SUCHIN PARIHAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851