DETAILED ACTION
35 USC § 112 (f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a backbone conversion network", “an event sampling module” and " video to event prediction pipeline” in claim claims 1-10.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. However, the examiner cannot find any specific hardware or computer structures in the specification to perform the recited claim functions. According to MPEP section 2181.II, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph is appropriate if the specification discloses no corresponding algorithm associated with a computer or microprocessor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is determined to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). there is no disclosure of structure, material or acts for performing the recited function, the claim fails to satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See MPEP 2181.III.
Dependent claims 2-10 are also rejected because the dependencies to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claim 1, when a claim containing a computer-implemented 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation is found to be indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for failure to disclose sufficient corresponding structure (e.g., the computer and the algorithm) in the specification that performs the entire claimed function, it will also lack written description under section 112(a). See MPEP 2181.IV.
Dependent claims 2-10 are also rejected because of their respective dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticiapted by Zhang et al. (“V2CE: Video to Continuous Events Simulator.” 2024 IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA) (2023): 12455-12461., 09/16/2023, https://doi.org/10.48550/arXiv.2309.08891 ).
As to claim 1, Zhang discloses a video to event prediction pipeline system, comprising:
a backbone conversion network having a model that is configured to receive a raw active pixel sensor video sequence and convert it into 3D predicted voxels (Zhang, Abstract, Page 2, Fig. 2, Motion-Aware Event Voxel Prediction Pipeline” Page 2, “Motion-Aware Event Voxel Prediction”);
an event sampling module configured to receive the 3D predicted voxels and create event timestamps in a continuous scale by leveraging nonlinear dynamics of event firing trends in each voxel of the 3D predicted voxels (Page 4, “Voxels to Continuous Events Sampling” “This second task aims to recover the exact event timestamps in a continuous scale from Stage1’s output event voxel.”);
wherein the backbone conversion network comprises a series of training loss function modules, the training loss function modules teaching the backbone conversion network to account for variations in the active pixel sensor video sequence caused by adjustable camera parameters of the active pixel sensor video sequence (Page 3, “The first loss to introduce is the Spatial-Temporal-Pyramid Loss” “Temporal-Pyramid Loss” “Adversarial Loss (ADV Loss”).
As to claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and the Zhang discloses the adjustable camera parameters comprise one or more of exposure, ISO, and aperture (Page 2, “Additionally, both camera types have adjustable parameters such as exposure, ISO, and aperture”).
As to claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and the Zhang discloses the training loss function module comprises a loss module that encourages the model to extract multi-scale information from adjacent voxels by applying coarse supra- voxel matching (Page 3, “The STP Loss encourages the model to extract multi-scale information from adjacent voxels, enhancing its robustness against noise by applying coarse supra-voxel matching.”).
As to claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated and the Zhang discloses the training loss function module comprises a loss module that encourages the model to prioritize neighboring events (Page 3, “Temporal-Pyramid Loss (TP Loss, LTP ) is designed to prioritize neighboring events, which are crucial for voxel level event reconstruction.”).
As to claim 5, claim 4 is incorporated and the Zhang discloses the training loss function module comprises a loss module that encourages the model to align information flow between the predicted event frames and the active pixel sensor video sequence (Page 3, “This addresses the issue of sparsity in voxels and ensures better and aligned information flow between generated event frames and the input frame sequence.”).
As to claim 6, claim 5 is incorporated and the Zhang discloses the training loss function module comprises a loss module that encourages the model to enhance realness of the predicted 3D event based voxels by training a discriminator using ground truth and predicted voxels and real and fake samples (Page 3, “Adversarial Loss (ADV Loss, LADV) aims to enhance the realness of our generated event voxels.”).
As to claim 7, claim 6 is incorporated and the Zhang discloses the training loss function module comprises a loss module that encourages the model to compute average brightness of voxels exceeding a threshold and align with brightness of ground truth voxels (Page 3, “compute the average brightness Ia of voxels exceeding a threshold β, and align this Ia with that of the ground truth voxels.”).
As to claim 8, claim 7 is incorporated and the Zhang discloses the event sampling module ensures that each event influences a voxel series only for a predetermined duration (Page 4, “Each event influences the voxel series for a short and finite duration which can be characterized by a continuous-time unit step signal (with an on-time duration same as δ).”).
As to claim 9, claim 1 is incorporated and the Zhang discloses the event sampling module ensures that each event influences a voxel series only for a predetermined duration (Page 4, “Each event influences the voxel series for a short and finite duration which can be characterized by a continuous-time unit step signal (with an on-time duration same as δ).”).
As to claim 10, claim 1 is incorporated and the Zhang discloses the event sampling module assumes that each voxel of the 3D predicted voxels conforms to a slope distribution described by a probability density function (Page 4, “To accurately model this phenomenon, we assume that each voxel and its neighboring voxels conform to a slope distribution described by the Probability Density Function”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, Yuhuang, Shih-Chii Liu, and Tobi Delbruck. ("v2e: From video frames to realistic DVS events." Proceedings of the IEEE/CVF conference on computer vision and pattern recognition. 2021.) in view of Wang, Zihao W., et al. "Event-driven video frame synthesis." Proceedings of the IEEE/CVF International Conference on Computer Vision Workshops. 2019.).
As to claim 1, Hu discloses a video to event prediction pipeline system, comprising:
a backbone conversion network having a model that is configured to receive a raw active pixel sensor video sequence and convert it into 3D predicted voxels (Hu, Page 6, “Event voxel grid representation” “Our experiments use the event voxel grid method to convert N events into a 3D representation with size H ×W × D [27, 11] to use as the network input for the Sec. 6 results. H and W are sensor height and width dimensions. D is a hyperparameter that defines the number of slices of the output voxel grid.” Page 6, “This setting is identical to [11]. There are 5,900 intensity frame and event voxel grid pairs generated from the v2e day recording. These pairs are used as training samples for NGA. For experiments in Sec. 6.3, we also used the training and validation datasets from [11] that were generated from the real events.”);
an event sampling module configured to receive the 3D predicted voxels and create event timestamps in a continuous scale by leveraging nonlinear dynamics of event firing trends in each voxel of the 3D predicted voxels (Page 2, “Fig. 1 shows a simplified schematic of the DVS pixel circuit. The continuous-time process of generating events is illustrated in Fig. 1C. The DVS pixel bias current parameters control the pixel event threshold and analog bandwidth. In Fig. 1A, the input photocurrent generates a continuous logarithmic photoreceptor output voltage Vp. The change amplifier in Fig. 1B produces an inverted and amplified output voltage Vd. When Vd crosses either the ON or OFF threshold voltage, the pixel emits an event (via a shared digital output that is not shown).” “During the initial “moderately bright” cycles, the signal photocurrent, Ip ≫ Idark and the bandwidth of the photoreceptor, which depends on Ip, is high enough so that Vp can follow the input current fluctuations.”);
Hu does not explicitly disclose wherein the backbone conversion network comprises a series of training loss function modules, the training loss function modules teaching the backbone conversion network to account for variations in the active pixel sensor video sequence caused by adjustable camera parameters of the active pixel sensor video sequence.
Wang teaches the backbone conversion network comprises a series of training loss function modules, the training loss function modules teaching the backbone conversion network to account for variations in the active pixel sensor video sequence caused by adjustable camera parameters of the active pixel sensor video sequence (Wang, abstract, “Our differentiable model enables iterative optimization of
the latent video tensor via auto differentiation, which propagates the gradients of a loss function defined on the measured data.” Page 2, “2) Prediction: Recent work on future frame prediction has proposed to use adversarial nets [28], temporal consistency losses [6] and layered cross convolution networks [43].”).
Hu and Wang are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to video frame synthesizing. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hu with the features of “the backbone conversion network comprises a series of training loss function modules, the training loss function modules teaching the backbone conversion network to account for variations in the active pixel sensor video sequence caused by adjustable camera parameters of the active pixel sensor video sequence” as taught by Wang. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to unifying a variety of TVFS scenarios (Wang, abstract.).
As to claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Hu and Wang the adjustable camera parameters comprise one or more of exposure, ISO, and aperture (Wang, Page 1, “When the motion in the scene is significantly faster than the capturing speed, the motion is usually under-sampled, resulting in motion blur or large discrepancies between consecutive frames, depending on the shutter speed (exposure time).” Fig.9, “the events during exposure time”).
Conclusion
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613