DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1A-2D should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
The drawings are objected to because they have elements shown in cross section which are not properly crosshatched. Insulating members shown in cross section should be properly crosshatched. It is brought to applicant’s attention that the conventional crosshatch for insulating members shown in cross section consist of lines of two different thicknesses alternatively disposed.
An electrically conductive elastomer is normally depicted as an insulating rubber member with conductive particles drawn inside.
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form (i.e. not claim form) and generally limited to a single paragraph (i.e. not a single sentence) on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA in Figs. 1A-2D, discussed in the Background of the invention) in view of Warwick et al. (US 9,685,717).
Regarding claim 1, AAPA discloses an assembly in a base station antenna arrangement, comprising: a radio having a cover (322) with a hole and a printed circuit board (PCB) (310) positioned below the cover, wherein the PCB has first and second contact pads; a pogo-pin connector (200) having a spring-loaded inner contact and an outer contact (345) that circumferentially surrounds the inner contact, wherein the inner contact extends through the hole in the cover and engages the first contact pad of the PCB; and a gasket (350), the gasket including a lower ring (354) and an upper ring (352), wherein the lower ring is positioned in the hole in the cover and engages the second contact pad of the PCB and the upper ring engages the outer contact to establish an electrical connection between the outer contact and the second contact pad, the gasket further including a skirt (360) that extends radially outwardly from and circumferentially surrounds the upper ring, the skirt engaging the cover of the radio.
Figures 1A-2D disclose substantially the claimed invention but is unclear about the material being a conductive elastomer material. Warwick teaches a gasket (13) for establishing an electrical connection between an outer contact (6) and a pad on a PCB. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a conductive elastomer, as taught by Warwick, in order to improve signal integrity.
Regarding claim 2, AAPA discloses the skirt including a transition region (bottom of 360 contacting 322) that extends radially outwardly from the upper ring and a lip (outer end corner of 360) that extends radially outwardly from the transition region, and wherein the lip engages the upper surface of the cover.
Regarding claim 4, AAPA discloses the outer contact includes a shoulder, and wherein the transition region abuts the shoulder (Fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 5, AAPA discloses the upper ring having a first diameter that is greater than a second diameter of the lower ring (Fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 8, AAPA discloses the lower ring having a lower end that deflects radially outwardly to engage the second contact pad of the PCB (intended use, Fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 9, AAPA discloses the pogo-pin connector connecting a filter with the PCB of the radio (intended use, Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 10, AAPA discloses the pogo-pin connector further comprising a dielectric member between the inner contact and the other contact (not labeled, Figs. 2C and 2D).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA and Warwick, and further in view of Courtaigne (US 5,775,830).
Regarding claim 3, Courtaigne discloses a skirt (5) including a lip (15) that extends from the transition section (14) at an oblique angle. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use an oblique lip, as taught by Courtaigne, in order to provide an efficient seal while minimizing material and interference.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA and Warwick, and further in view of Schultz (US 3,535,676).
Regarding claim 6, Schultz teaches the use of a conductive elastomer (22) comprising rubber.
Regarding claim 7, Schultz teaches the conductive elastomer (22) comprising a conductive metal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the conductive elastomer comprising rubber and a conductive material, as taught by Schultz, in order to provide an efficient and reliable conductive elastomer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833