DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract remains objected to. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The present disclosure is directed to,” etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA in Figs. 1A-2D, discussed in the Background of the invention) in view of Warwick et al. (US 9,685,717) and Schultz (US 3,535,676).
Regarding claim 1, AAPA discloses an assembly in a base station antenna arrangement, comprising: a radio having a cover (322) with a hole and a printed circuit board (PCB) (310) positioned below the cover, wherein the PCB has first and second contact pads; a pogo-pin connector (200) having a spring-loaded inner contact and an outer contact (345) that circumferentially surrounds the inner contact, wherein the inner contact extends through the hole in the cover and engages the first contact pad of the PCB; and a gasket (350), the gasket including a lower ring (354) and an upper ring (352), wherein the lower ring is positioned in the hole in the cover and engages the second contact pad of the PCB and the upper ring engages the outer contact to establish an electrical connection between the outer contact and the second contact pad, the gasket further including an integrally-formed skirt (360) that extends radially outwardly from and circumferentially surrounds the upper ring, the skirt engaging an upper surface of the cover of the radio, thereby covering an open space between the lower ring and an edge of the hole in the cover radio.
Figures 1A-2D disclose substantially the claimed invention but is unclear about the material being a conductive elastomer material. Warwick teaches a gasket (13) for establishing an electrical connection between an outer contact (6) and a pad on a PCB. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a conductive elastomer, as taught by Warwick, in order to improve signal integrity.
To the extent that AAPA does not describe that the skirt is deflected, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a deflectable material, as taught by Schultz (22), in order to provide a secure seal by the skirt, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design preference. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 2, AAPA discloses the skirt including a transition region (bottom of 360 contacting 322) that extends radially outwardly from the upper ring and a lip (outer end corner of 360) that extends radially outwardly from the transition region, and wherein the lip engages the upper surface of the cover.
Regarding claim 4, AAPA discloses the outer contact includes a shoulder, and wherein the transition region abuts the shoulder (Fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 5, AAPA discloses the upper ring having a first diameter that is greater than a second diameter of the lower ring (Fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 6, Schultz teaches the use of a conductive elastomer (22) comprising rubber. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the conductive elastomer comprising rubber and a conductive material, as taught by Schultz, in order to provide an efficient and reliable conductive elastomer.
Regarding claim 7, Schultz teaches the conductive elastomer (22) comprising a conductive metal.
Regarding claim 8, AAPA discloses the lower ring having a lower end that deflects radially outwardly to engage the second contact pad of the PCB (intended use, Fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 9, AAPA discloses the pogo-pin connector connecting a filter with the PCB of the radio (intended use, Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 10, AAPA discloses the pogo-pin connector further comprising a dielectric member between the inner contact and the other contact (not labeled, Figs. 2C and 2D).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA and Warwick, and further in view of Courtaigne (US 5,775,830).
Regarding claim 3, Courtaigne discloses a skirt (5) including a lip (15) that extends from the transition section (14) at an oblique angle. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use an oblique lip, as taught by Courtaigne, in order to provide an efficient seal while minimizing material and interference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as applied.
Conclusion
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833