Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 9, 2024, June 24, 2024, and February 11, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 2, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-5 & 10-24 remain pending in the application. Claims 6-9 have been cancelled, claims 21-24 are new, claims 1, 11, & 20 were amended, and claims 4, 11, 15, & 20 were further amended editorially. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed September 3, 2025, hereafter referred to as the Non-Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 2, 2025, have been entered and fully considered. In light of the amendments, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections have been made, and applicant’s arguments are rendered moot.
In response to applicant's argument that the reference, see pages 6-11 of applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejection of amended independent claim 1, under U.S.C. § 102, that prior art reference, Hwang et al. (US2021/0102973A1), as cited by the applicant, fails to disclose, teach or suggest individually, the amended features of the invention, each of the first and second receivers includes “an aperture, two arms, and two shoulders, each of the two shoulders having a shoulder stop, the two shoulders being opposite in a width direction, the aperture being between the two shoulders and between the two arms in the width direction”.
A new ground of rejection is made over Kimura et al. (US2012/0129408A1). The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s contentions that Hwang, in light of the new prior art reference Kimura, fail to teach, disclose, or suggest individually or in combination, the amended features of the invention, in particular, the amended claim limitations “an aperture, two arms, and two shoulders, each of the two shoulders having a shoulder stop, the two shoulders being opposite in a width direction, the aperture being between the two shoulders and between the two arms in the width direction”. Hwang, in view of Kimura, further disclose the additional limitations that have been amended, and meet these requirements. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are unconvincing and the rejections of amended independent claim 1, and dependent claims 2-5 & 10, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of amended independent claim 1, are respectively maintained. Rejections based on the newly cited prior art reference follow.
In response to applicant's argument that the reference, see pages 6-11 of applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejection of amended independent claim 11, under U.S.C. § 102, that prior art reference, Yang et al. (US2011/017839A1), as cited by the applicant, fails to disclose, teach or suggest individually, the amended features of the invention (similar to amended independent claim 1), each of the first and second receivers includes “an aperture, two arms, and two shoulders, each of the two shoulders having a shoulder stop, the two shoulders being opposite in a width direction, the aperture being between the two shoulders and between the two arms in the width direction”.
A new ground of rejection is made over Kimura et al. (US2012/0129408A1). The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s contentions that Yang, in light of the new prior art reference Kimura, fail to teach, disclose, or suggest individually or in combination, the amended features of the invention, in particular, the amended claim limitations, “an aperture, two arms, and two shoulders, each of the two shoulders having a shoulder stop, the two shoulders being opposite in a width direction, the aperture being between the two shoulders and between the two arms in the width direction”. Yang, in view of Kimura, further disclose the additional limitations that have been amended, and meet these requirements. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are unconvincing and the rejections of amended independent claim 11, and dependent claims 12-19, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of amended independent claim 11, are respectively maintained. Rejections based on the newly cited prior art reference follow.
In response to applicant's argument that the references, see pages 6-11 of applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejection of amended independent claim 20, under U.S.C. § 103, that primary art reference, Yang et al. (US2011/017839A1), and the secondary prior art reference Hwang et al. (US2021/0102973A1), fail to disclose, teach or suggest individually or in combination, the amended features of the invention (similar to amended independent claims 1 & 11), each of the first and second receivers includes “ an aperture, two arms, and two shoulders, each of the two shoulders having a shoulder stop, the two shoulders being opposite in a width direction, the aperture being between the two shoulders and between the two arms in the width direction”.
A new ground of rejection is made over Kimura et al. (US2012/0129408A1). The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s contentions that Yang, in view of Hwang, and in light of the new prior art reference Kimura, fail to disclose or suggest individually or in combination, the amended features of the invention, in particular, the amended claim limitations, “an aperture, two arms, and two shoulders, each of the two shoulders having a shoulder stop, the two shoulders being opposite in a width direction, the aperture being between the two shoulders and between the two arms in the width direction”. Yang, in view of Hwang, and further in view of Kimura, further disclose the additional limitations that have been amended, and meet these requirements. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are unconvincing and the rejections of amended independent claim 20, and dependent claims 21-24, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of amended independent claim 20, are respectively maintained. Rejections based on the newly cited prior art reference follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 24, recites “the retainer is greater thana width of the aperture of each of the first and second receivers, the lower shaft has a cylindrical shape, and the retainer includes a conical chamfered end.”, in ll. 1-3, is not disclosed in the disclosure, and a POSITA would not be able to determine from the disclosure and or drawings, the diameter width in relation to the aperture of the first and second receivers, or that the lower shaft has a cylindrical shape, or that the retainer further includes a conical chamfered end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 & 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2021/0102973 A1, Pub. Date Apr. 8, 2021, hereinafter Hwang), in view of Kimura et al. (US2012/0129408 A1, Pub. Date May. 12, 2012, hereinafter, Kimura)
Regarding independent claim 1, Hwang, teaches:
A compliant probe contact assembly for a testing system for testing integrated circuit devices ([Title: Spring Contact and Test Socket with Same], [Abstract], [0002], [0022], & [0055]), the contact assembly comprising:
an upper plunger (Figs. 6 & 7A-7B; [0055], [0060], & [0062]: upper contact pin 110 (upper plunger)) including a first shoulder separating an upper shaft from a lower shaft (Figs. 7A & 7B; [0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060], [0062] & [0064]: upper contact pin 110 (upper plunger), includes shoulder protrusions 113 (first shoulder), the shoulder separates the body portion 112 (upper shaft) from the pair of elastic portions 115 (lower shaft)), and a retainer proximate an end of the lower shaft (Figs. 7A & 7B; [0019], [0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060] & [0064]: portion of the upper contact pin 110 (upper plunger), includes shoulder protrusions 113 (first shoulder), the shoulder separates the body portion 112 (upper shaft) from the pair of elastic portions 115 (lower shaft), guide surface 117 and inflection end 117a at the end of the elastic portions 115 of the upper contact pin 110 function as a retainer);
a biasing member ([Fig.6; [0055]-[0056] & [0058]-[0060]: spring 130 (biasing member), is a “coiled compression spring”),
wherein when the contact assembly is assembled (Figs. 8B & 8C; [0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060] & [0071]: spring 130 (biasing member) captured between shoulder protrusions 113 of the upper contact pin 110 (plunger),
Hwang, is silent in regard to:
a first receiver and a second receiver configured to engage with the upper plunger, each of the first and second receivers including an aperture, two arms, and two shoulders, each of the two shoulders having a shoulder stop, the two shoulders being opposite in a width direction, the aperture being between the two shoulders and between the two arms in the width direction; and
the biasing member is captured between a bottom of the first shoulder and the shoulder stops of the first and second receivers, the upper plunger separates sides of upper portions of the first and second receivers, and sides of lower portions of the first and second receivers contact with each other.
However, Kimura, further teaches:
a first receiver and a second receiver configured to engage with the upper plunger, each of the first and second receivers including an aperture, two arms, two shoulders, each of the two shoulders having a shoulder stop, the two shoulders being opposite in a width direction, the aperture being between the two shoulders and between the two arms in the width direction (Figs. 18-23; [0087]-[0088], [0096], & [0121]-[0123]: teaches a 1:2 configuration (one first plunger, two second plungers), where the third embodiment teaches receivers (plungers) that are bifurcated (two arms) with a slit (aperture) located between the two arms of each receiver to allow radial expansion, spring receiving portion 76 (shoulders), figures further illustrate the two arms, two shoulders with stops); and
the biasing member ([0100]) is captured ([0100]) between a bottom of the first shoulder and the shoulder stops of the first and second receivers, the upper plunger separates ([0089]) sides of upper portions of the first and second receivers, and sides of lower portions of the first and second receivers contact ([0092]) each other ([0089], [0092], & [0100]: compression coil spring 64 (biasing member) teaches the specific assembly where the biasing member is captured between the shoulders of the first plunger and the two second plungers (receivers), the first plunger is physically located between (separating) the upper portions of the second plungers/receivers).
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments, because the combination of prior art elements motivates experimentation and optimization, motivating the modification of Hwang’s lower contact pin assembly as two separate receivers (plungers) rather than a single piece, as taught by Kimura, or fabricate the lower contact structures as two separate pieces (first and second receivers), to increase and to achieve the benefits of reliable electrical contacts (increasing the number) and improve contact reliability and durability of the probe ([0018], [0099], & [0106]), where Kimura further teaches that using independent/split plungers allows the probe to follow the shape (i.e., for example a bump) for reliable electrical contact and that the bifurcated (apertured) arms allow the contact points to separate from one another to open in the radial directions for better of stamping, assembly, where the combination of known elements (split pin vs. split/dual pin) according to known methods, yield predictable results (KBR).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Hwang, teaches:
The contact assembly according to claim 1 ([Title: Spring Contact and Test Socket with Same], [Abstract], [0002], & [0055]), wherein the retainer (Figs. 7A & 7B; [0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060] & [0064]: guide surface 117 and inflection end 117a at the end of the elastic portions 115 of the upper contact pin 110 function as a retainer), the lower shaft (Figs. 7A & 7B; [0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060], & [0064]: portion of the upper contact pin 110 (upper plunger) below the shoulder protrusions 113 (first shoulder), the shoulder separates the body portion 112 (upper shaft) from the pair of elastic portions 115 (lower shaft), entire description of the structure below the shoulder protrusions 113 defines the lower shaft), and the upper portions of the first and second receivers (Figs. 8B & 8C: [0066] & [0071]: elastic portions 125 of the lower contact pin 120 (symmetrical first and second receivers integrally joined/formed together) are the upper portions of the receivers, figures further illustrate the cross-sectional views where the parts are inside the spring 130, these portions interlock with the ”lower shaft” elastic portions 115) are constrained to an inner space of the biasing member (Figs. 8B, 8C, & 9B; [0066] & [0071]-[0074]: lower shaft (body 112 and elastic portions 115 with guide surfaces 117) of the upper pin contact 110 and the upper portions(elastic portions 125) of the lower pin are inserted into the opposing pin’s groove and located within the inner diameter of the coil spring 130, figures 8C further illustrates a sectional view that shows the lower contact pin’s structure (the receiver) residing inside the cylindrical space formed by the spring 130).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Hwang, teaches:
The contact assembly according to claim 1 ([Title: Spring Contact and Test Socket with Same], [Abstract], [0002], & [0055]), wherein when the contact assembly is assembled ([0055]-[0056] & [0058]-[0060]), the first and second receivers form a progressively narrowing gap (Figs. 7A, 7B, 8B & 8C; [0055]-[0056] & [0058]-[0060], [0064]-[0068], & [0071]-[0072]: elastic portions 125 of the lower contact pin 120 (symmetrical first and second receivers integrally formed/joined together), these are the structures that receive and engage with the upper contact pin 110, figures further illustrate the cross-sectional views where the parts are inside the spring 130, these portions interlock with the ”lower shaft” elastic portions 115, elastic portions 115/125 of both contact pins include guide surfaces 117/127 that protrude inward, their geometry creates a V-shaped or tapered gap that is wider at the entrance and narrower towards the body of the pin, and the mutual insertion into the grooves 111 is facilitated by and occurs within the progressively narrowing gap formed by facing guide surfaces, figure 8B further illustrates the gap between the two sides of the lower contact pin’s elastic portions visibly narrows from the open end towards the body, progressively narrowing or V-shaped gap).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Hwang, teaches:
The contact assembly according to claim 1 ([Title: Spring Contact and Test Socket with Same], [Abstract], [0002], & [0055]), wherein when the contact assembly is assembled ([0055]-[0056] & [0058]-[0060]), the contact assembly has an uncompressed state (Figs. 8A, 8B, & 8C; [0070]-[0072]: extended state (uncompressed state) of the spring contact 100) and a compressed state (Figs. 9A, 9B, & 9C; [0073]-[0074], [0076], & [0081]: compressed state of the spring contact 100),
when the contact assembly is in the uncompressed state (Figs. 8A, 8B, & 8C; [0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060], & [0070]-[0072]), the retainer (Figs. 7A & 7B; [0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060], & [0064]: guide surface 117 and inflection end 117a at the end of the elastic portions 115 of the upper contact pin 110 function as a retainer, where the structure “acts as a hook to limit upward and downward movement between the two contact pins”) is resting against up-stops of the apertures of the first and second receivers (Figs. 7A, 7B, & 8B; [0060]-[0061], [0116]-[0117], & [0119]-[0120]: lower contact pin 120 (symmetrical first and second receivers integrally formed/joined together) and the grooves 111 (apertures) in the body portion of lower contact pin 120, the “up-stops” are the hook locking step 111a located at the end of each groove, figures illustrate the retainer resting against the hook locking step 111a (up-stop) of the opposing pin’s grove 111 (aperture), limiting further travel).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Hwang, teaches:
The contact assembly according to claim 4 ([Title: Spring Contact and Test Socket with Same], [Abstract], [0002], [0055], & [0114]), wherein when the contact assembly is in the compressed state (Figs. 9A, 9B, & 9C; [0073]-[0074], [0076], & [0081]: spring contact 100 in a compressed state), the retainer (Figs. 3B, 7A, & 7B; [0008]-[0009], [0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060], & [0064]: retainer is further disclosed (description of related art) as the locking protrusion 15, that moves within the flow groove 23a (aperture) of the opposing pin, the main embodiment describes this same feature as the guide surface 117 moving within the groove 111) is near a bottom of the apertures of the first and second receivers (Figs. 3B, 7A, & 7B; [0008]-[0009], [0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060], & [0064]: retainer is further disclosed as the locking protrusion 15, that moves within the flow groove 23a (aperture) of the opposing pin (lower contact pin 20 with symmetrical first and second receivers integrally formed/joined together), the main embodiment describes this as the guide surface 117 moving within the groove 111, figures further illustrate the assembly in the compressed state, where locking protrusion 15 (retainer) moved along the groove and is near the bottom (i.e., end of its travel path in the groove)), and a clearance area is formed between the retainer and the bottom of the apertures (Figs. 3A & 3B; [0008]-[0009], [0073]-[0074], [0076], & [0081]: discloses the compressed state is defined by the position “where end portions 13b and 23b of the bodies 13 and 23 of the upper and lower contact pins 10 and 20 come into contact with each other”, where compression is halted by the main bodies, the retainer is prevented from reaching the end of the aperture, figures further illustrate and confirm, showing a clearance between the locking protrusion 15 (retainer) and the end of the flow groove 23a (aperture), where the main embodiment (e.g., spring contact 100) is structurally and functionally analogous and operates in the same manner).
Regarding dependent claim 21, Hwang, teaches:
The contact assembly according to claim 1 ([Title: Spring Contact and Test Socket with Same], [Abstract], [0002], & [0055]), wherein when the contact assembly is assembled (Fig. 6; [0055] & [0071]),
Hwang, is silent in regard to:
the first receiver and the second receiver form a V-shape in a side view.
However, Kimura, further teaches:
the first receiver and the second receiver form a V-shape in a side view (Figs. 10-11 & 16; [0098]-[0099], [0111]-[0112], & [Claim 6]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the contact tips of Hwang with the V-shape or tapered configuration taught by Kimura to improve the engagement with spherical terminals (bump electrodes), ensuring the probe centers the ball and prevents damage and/or slipping as taught by Kimura, yielding predictable results (KBR).
Regarding dependent claim 22, Hwang, teaches:
The contact assembly according to claim 1 ([Title: Spring Contact and Test Socket with Same], [Abstract], [0002], & [0055]), wherein when the contact assembly is assembled (Fig. 6; [0055] & [0071]), a bottom side of the first receiver contacts a bottom side of the second receiver (Fig. 6 & 7A; [0066]: figures further illustrate groove 111 and guide surface 117 arrangement that facilitates the contact between the receivers).
Regarding dependent claim 23, Hwang, teaches:
The contact assembly according to claim 1 ([Title: Spring Contact and Test Socket with Same], [Abstract], [0002], & [0055]),
Hwang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the first receiver is symmetrical along a central line of the first receiver in a length direction of the first receiver, and the second receiver is symmetrical along a central line of the second receiver in a length direction of the second receiver.
However, Kimura, further teaches:
wherein the first receiver is symmetrical along a central line of the first receiver in a length direction of the first receiver (Figs. 11 & 13; [0083]: figure illustrates first plunger 62 (first receiver) showing bilateral symmetry along the vertical (length) axis), and the second receiver is symmetrical along a central line of the second receiver in a length direction of the second receiver (Figs. 10 & 14; [0095] & [0098]: figure illustrates plunger 63 (second receiver) showing bilateral symmetry along the vertical (length) axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the contact assembly of Hwang with the two separate contact assembly receiver configuration taught by Kimura to improve the engagement with spherical terminals (bump electrodes), ensuring the probe centers the ball and prevents damage and/or slipping as taught by Kimura, with the receivers that are symmetrical about their central axis to ensure and improve balanced forces and uniform manufacturing, yielding predictable results (KBR).
Regarding dependent claim 24, Hwang, teaches:
The contact assembly according to claim 1 ([Title: Spring Contact and Test Socket with Same], [Abstract], [0002], & [0055]),
Hwang, is silent in regard to:
wherein a diameter of the retainer is greater than a width of the aperture of each of the first and second receivers, the lower shaft has a cylindrical shape, and the retainer includes a conical chamfered end.
However, Kimura, further teaches:
wherein a diameter of the retainer is greater than a width of the aperture of each of the first and second receivers (Figs. 11-12; [0082]-[0083] & [0095]: falling preventing portion 71 (retainer), slightly protruded (greater than), inside diameter of adhesion small-diameter portion 81 (aperture)), the lower shaft has a cylindrical shape (Figs. 9 & 11; [0049]: discloses the first supporting holes 16A (cylindrical apertures) with a cylindrical shaft for optimal fit, figures further illustrate the cylindrical shape of the lower shaft), and the retainer includes a conical chamfered end (Figs. 13-14; [0082] & [0094]: discloses the tip end insertion has a gentle and curved sloped surface (conical chamfered) to facilitate insertion, figures further illustrate the tapered/conical geometry at the tip of the coupling/retaining portions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the plate shaped embodiments of Hwang, and apply the retention and insertion features of Kimura to a standard cylindrical shaft geometry to utilize standard manufacturing processes (turning/machining) or to fit cylindrical housing houses, as disclosed by Kimura, to the contact assembly of Hwang, yielding predictable and expected results (KBR).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, in view of Yang et al. (US 2011/0171839 A1, Pub. Date Jul. 14, 2011, hereinafter Yang), and further in view of Kimura.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Hwang, teaches:
The contact assembly of claim 1 ([Title: Spring Contact and Test Socket with Same], [Abstract], [0002], & [0055]), wherein each of the first and second receivers ([0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060]: lower contact pin 120 includes symmetrical first and second receivers integrally formed/joined together)
Hwang, is silent in regard to:
includes a gap at a top of the first and second receivers.
However, Yang, further teaches:
includes a gap at a top of the first and second receivers (Fig. 3; [0017] teaches an upper contact pin 2 with a first contacting portion 20 that is described and shown as having a “V-type configuration for connecting with the IC”, the V-shape constitutes a “gap at the top” of the receivers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a gap at a top of the first and second receivers, of Yang to Hwang, in order to attain and improve, by modifying Hwang’s contact pin, replacing it with the V-shaped tip taught by Yang, and the simple substitution of one known type of contact tip for another to achieve the predictable result of improved contact (KSR).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, in view of Kimura.
Regarding independent claim 11, Yang, teaches:
A testing system for testing integrated circuit devices (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0002], [0016], & [0018]), comprising:
a device under test (DUT) (Fig. 1; [0016]: integrated circuit (IC) interpreted as device under test (DUT));
a load board (Fig. 1; [0002] & [0016]: PCB interpreted as a load board); and
a compliant probe contact assembly (Fig. 1; [0016]: contact terminal 1 (compliant probe contact assembly)) including:
an upper plunger (Figs. 1 & 2; [0016]-[0017]: upper contact pin 2 (upper plunger)) including a first shoulder (Fig. 2; [0017]: pair of shoulders 21 (first pair of shoulders)) separating an upper shaft (Fig. 2; [0017]: first contacting portion 20 (upper shaft)) from a lower shaft (Fig. 2; [0017]: plate-like main portion 22 (lower shaft), figure further illustrates the separation between the upper and lower shaft by a pair of shoulders 21 (first shoulder)), and a retainer (Fig. 2; [0017] & [0019]: pair of stopping portions 24 (retainer)) proximate an end of the lower shaft (Fig. 2; [0017] & [0019]:bottom end of the lower shaft (plate-like main portion 22));
each of the first and second receivers including an aperture, two arms, and two shoulders, each of the two shoulders having a shoulder stop (Figs. 2-4; [0017]-[0024]: lower contact pin 3 is made from sheet metal and has elastic arms 32 with clamping portions 33, the shoulder protrusions 31 and the hooks 34 that abut the stops 24 function as shoulders with shoulder stops),
a biasing member (Fig.1; [0016]: spring device 4 (biasing member)),
wherein when the contact assembly is assembled (Fig. 1; [0016] & [0022]: contact terminal 1 (compliant probe contact assembly)), the biasing member (Fig. 1; [0016] & [0022]: spring device 4) is captured between a bottom (Figs. 1-3; [0016] & [0022]: bottom surface of shoulder 21 of the upper contact pin 2 (upper plunger), where the spring 4 (biasing member) abuts the shoulder 21 when assembled, further illustrated by Fig. 1, shoulder 21 is unmarked in the figure) of the first shoulder (Figs. 1-3; [0022]:pair of shoulders 21 (first shoulder)) and the shoulder stops (Figs. 1-4; [0022]: upper surface of each of the pair of shoulders 31 (second shoulder) on the lower contact pin 3 (lower plunger), where spring 4 (biasing member) abuts the upper surface of each of the pair of shoulders (31) as illustrated in Fig. 1, where the shoulders 31 are unmarked) of the first (Figs. 2 & 5: first half of lower contact pin 3 that includes the left arm 32 of the pair of arms 32) and second receivers (Figs. 2 & 5; [0022]: second half of lower contact pin 3 that includes the right arm 32 of the pair of arms 32), the upper plunger (Figs. 1 & 2; [0016 & [0018]-[0019]]: upper contact pin 2 (upper plunger) physically separates the upper arms of the receivers) separates sides of upper portions (Figs. 2, 3, & 5; [0018]-[0020]: side facing the plate-like main portion 22 (lower shaft) of the upper contact pin 2 (upper plunger) is inserted between the two elastic arms 32 as illustrated in Fig. 3, the clamping portions 33 of each arm 32 of the pair of arms 32 can clamp two sides of the main portion (lower shaft) of the upper contact pin 2 (upper plunger)) of the first (Figs. 2 & 5: first half of lower contact pin 3 that includes the left arm 32 of the pair of arms 32) and second receivers (Figs. 2 & 5; [0018]-[0020] & [0022]: second half of lower contact pin 3 that includes the right arm 32 of the pair of arms 32),
wherein the upper plunger (Figs. 1 & 2; [0016]-[0017]: upper contact pin 2 (upper plunger)) includes a DUT interface (Fig. 2; [0016]-[0017]: V-shaped notch at the top of upper contact pin 2 (upper plunger)) configured to engage with the DUT ([0016]-[0017]: integrated circuit (IC) not illustrated in figures, where the first contacting portion 20 of the upper contact pin 2 (upper plunger) is for connecting to the IC (DUT)), and an end (Figs. 2-4; [0018]: bottom end including respective regions of the contacting portion 30, of each of the first and second halves of lower contact pin 3) of the first and second receivers (Figs. 2 & 5; [0018]-[0020] & [0022]: first half of lower contact pin 3 that the pair of arms 32) is configured to engage with the load board ([0018]-[0019]: printed circuit board (PCB), not illustrated in the figures, where the second contacting portion 30 of the lower contact pin 3 (from which the receivers/arms extend) is for connected to the PCB (load board)).
Yang, is silent in regard to:
a first receiver and a second receiver configured to engage with the upper plunger, the two shoulders being opposite in a width direction, the aperture being between the two shoulders and between the two arms in the width direction;
and sides of lower portions of the first and second receivers contact with each other,
However, Kimura, further teaches:
a first receiver and a second receiver configured to engage with the upper plunger, the two shoulders being opposite in a width direction, the aperture being between the two shoulders and between the two arms in the width direction (Figs. 18-23; [0087]-[0088], [0096], & [0121]-[0123]: teaches a 1:2 configuration (one first plunger, two second plungers), where the third embodiment teaches receivers (plungers) that are bifurcated (two arms) with a slit (aperture) located between the two arms of each receiver to allow radial expansion, spring receiving portion 76 (shoulders), to facilitate independent movement or contact, figures further illustrate the two arms, two shoulders with stops);
and sides of lower portions of the first and second receivers contact ([0092]) each other ([0089], [0092], & [0100]: compression coil spring 64 (biasing member) teaches the specific assembly where the biasing member is captured between the shoulders of the first plunger and the two second plungers (receivers), the first plunger is physically located between (separating) the upper portions of the second plungers/receivers),
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments, because the combination of prior art elements motivates experimentation and optimization, motivating the modification of Yang’s upper/lower contact pin assembly as two separate pieces (first and second receivers) rather than a single piece, as taught by Kimura, or fabricate the lower contact structures as two separate pieces (first and second receivers), to improve the compliance and contact reliability of the probe, where Kimura further teaches that using independent/split plungers allows the probe to follow the shape (i.e., for example a bump) for reliable electrical contact and that the bifurcated (apertured) arms allow the contact points to separate from one another to open in the radial directions for better of stamping, assembly, or to allow independent movement, as suggested by the split-arm configurations and reinforced by Yang, teaching bifurcated arms made from bent metallic plates, that is structurally equivalent to Kimura’s design, where the combination of prior art elements according to known methods yield predictable results (KBR).
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, in view of Hwang, and further in view of Kimura.
Regarding dependent claim 12, Yang, teaches:
The testing system according to claim 11 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0002], [0016], & [0018]),
Yang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the DUT is a device having a ball grid array package.
However, Hwang, further teaches in a second embodiment:
wherein the DUT is a device having a ball grid array package (Fig. 23; [0122]-[0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the DUT as a device having a ball grid array package, of Hwang to Yang, in order to attain and improve, by modifying Yang’s test system, integrating Hwang’s testing of Ball Grid Array packages, improving the contact and alignment features that sockets provide for such packages, to achieve predictable results of improved contacts (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Yang, teaches:
The testing system according to claim 11 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0002], [0016], & [0018]), further comprising:
Yang, is silent in regard to:
a housing configured to house the contact assembly.
However, Hwang, further teaches:
a housing configured to house the contact assembly (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0116]: discloses a main plate 1110 (housing) with accommodating holes 1111 for housing spring contacts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a housing configured to house the contact assembly, of Hwang to Yang, in order to attain and improve, by modifying and housing Yang’s contact assembly within the test socket housing taught by Hwang, where the components are complementary parts of a standard IC testing system, would be a logical and predictable that modifying Yang’s system would yield predictable results, to create a complete, functional testing system of improved contacts (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Yang, teaches:
The testing system according to claim 13 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0002], [0016], & [0018]), further comprising:
Yang, is silent in regard to:
a socket, the socket including the housing and the contact assembly, wherein the socket is configured to provide a pathway from inputs and outputs of the DUT to inputs and outputs of the load board, respectively.
However, Hwang, further teaches:
a socket (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]: test socket 1100), the socket including the housing (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0116]: test socket 1100 a main plate 1110 (housing) with accommodating holes 1111 for housing spring contacts) and the contact assembly (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0119]: spring contacts 200 (contact assembly)), wherein the socket (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]: test socket 1100) is configured to provide a pathway from inputs and outputs of the DUT to inputs and outputs of the load board (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0002], [0115]-[0119]: purpose is to “spring contacts that electrically connects…leads of an integrated circuit (IC) to…pads of a printed circuit board (PCB)”), respectively (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0002], [0115]-[0119]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a socket including the housing and the contact assembly wherein the socket is configured to provide a pathway from inputs and outputs of the DUT to inputs and outputs of the load board, of Hwang to Yang, in order to attain and improve, by modifying Yang’s contact assembly and install it into the complementary housing taught by Hwang, where the components are complementary parts of a standard IC testing system, would be a logical and predictable assembly of known components to create a complete, functional test socket, that would yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Yang, teaches:
The testing system according to claim 13 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0002], [0016], & [0018]),
Yang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the housing includes a hole configured to house the contact assembly, wherein the hole includes an up-stop between a first cavity and a second cavity, and wherein the second cavity has a diameter greater than a diameter of the first cavity.
However, Hwang, further teaches:
wherein the housing (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0116]: discloses a main plate 1110 (housing)) includes a hole (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0116]: discloses a main plate 1110 (housing) with accommodating holes 1111 for housing spring contacts) configured to house the contact assembly (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0116]: a main plate 1110 (housing) with accommodating holes 1111 for housing spring contacts 200 (contact assembly)), wherein the hole (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0116]: discloses a main plate 1110 (housing) with accommodating holes 1111 for housing spring contacts) includes an up-stop (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0119]: discloses a main plate 1110 (housing) with accommodating holes 1111 “to support each of the respective upper contact pins 210 by a stepped portion 1112”, where the stepped portion 1112 is the up-stop) between a first cavity and a second cavity (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0119]: first opening 1113 (first cavity) and accommodating holes 1111 (second cavity), where the accommodating holes 1111 itself is below the step is the second cavity), and wherein the second cavity has a diameter greater than a diameter of the first cavity (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0119]: first opening 1113 (first cavity) and accommodating holes 1111 (second cavity), where the accommodating holes 1111 itself is below the step is the second cavity with a larger diameter (d1), and the first opening 1113 above the step is the first cavity with a smaller diameter (d2)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the housing that includes a hole configured to house the contact assembly, the hole includes an up-stop between a first cavity and a second cavity, and the second cavity has a diameter greater than a first cavity diameter, of Hwang to Yang, in order to attain and improve, by modifying Yang’s contact assembly within the housing taught by Hwang, combining a known contact pin (Yang) with a known mounting structure (Hwang) to achieve predictable results of a properly housed contact pin (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Yang, teaches:
The testing system according to claim 15 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0002], [0016], & [0018]),
Yang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the up-stop of the hole is configured to prevent the first shoulder from moving up towards the DUT.
However, Hwang, further teaches:
wherein the up-stop (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0119] & [0149]: discloses a main plate 1110 (housing) with accommodating holes 1111 “to support each of the respective upper contact pins 210 by a stepped portion 1112”, where the stepped portion 1112 is the up-stop) of the hole (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0116]: discloses a main plate 1110 (housing) with accommodating holes 1111 for housing spring contacts) is configured to prevent the first shoulder from moving up towards the DUT (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0120]: teaches a hole with a “stepped portion 1112” (up-stop) that limits the “upward movement of the upper contact pins” by engaging their shoulder protrusions 213 (first shoulder) of each of the respective upper contact pins 210, “whereby leads of an IC and leads of a PCB are elastically connected to each other”, DUT is the IC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the up-stop of the hole configured to prevent the first shoulder from moving up towards the DUT, of Hwang to Yang, in order to attain and improve, by modifying Yang’s contact assembly with shoulders into the housing with a corresponding up-stop as taught by Hwang, combination is a simple application of a standard engineering solution (Hwang’s mounting feature) to a known component (Yang’s contact pin), to achieve the predictable and desired result of a securely mounted contact assembly with an up-stop configured to prevent the first shoulder from moving up, of a properly housed contact pin (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Yang, teaches:
The testing system according to claim 15 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0002], [0016], & [0018]), further comprising:
Yang, is silent in regard to:
a retainer plate disposed at a bottom of the housing.
However, Hwang, further teaches:
a retainer plate (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0120]: film plate 1120 (retainer plate)) disposed at a bottom (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0120]: film plate 1120 (retainer plate) “provided on a lower portion of the main plate 1110” (housing) to retain contact pins) of the housing (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0120]: discloses a main plate 1110 (housing)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a retainer plate disposed at a bottom of the housing, of Hwang to Yang, in order to attain and improve, by modifying Yang’s contact assembly within the housing as taught by Hwang, and integrating Hwang’s retainer for its known function of retaining the assembly, the combination is a logical and predictable application of a standard engineering solution (Yang’s contact pin) with a known housing and retention system (Hwang’s socket and film plate), to achieve and create a complete, functional system, with the predictable and desired results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Yang, teaches:
The testing system according to claim 17 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0002], [0016], & [0018]),
Yang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the retainer plate includes a through-hole configured to allow a bottom end of the first and second receivers to pass through.
However, Hwang, further teaches:
wherein the retainer plate (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0120]: film plate 1120 (retainer plate)) includes a through-hole (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0120]: film plate 1120 (retainer plate) with “second openings 1121” (through-holes)) configured to allow a bottom end (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0115]-[0120]: film plate 1120 (retainer plate) “provided on a lower portion of the main plate 1110” (housing) to retain contact pins) of the first ([0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060], [0068] & [0071]: The “first and second receivers” are a symmetrical physical lower contact pin 220 (first and second receivers integrally formed/joined together) and second receivers to pass through hole (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060], [0068], [0071], & [0115]-[0120]: film plate 1120 (retainer plate) with “second openings 1121” (through-holes) through which the lower contact pins 220 pass through, the “first and second receivers” are a symmetrical lower contact pin 220 integrally formed/joined together).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the retainer plate including a through-hole configured to allow a bottom end of the first and second receivers to pass through, of Hwang to Yang, in order to attain and improve, by modifying and mounting Yang’s contact assembly, combining and integrating with Hwang’s retainer plate with through-holes for its known complementary function of mounting and retention system, to achieve and create a complete, functional, retained contact pin, with the predictable and desired results (KSR).
desired results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Yang, teaches:
The testing system according to claim 18 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0002], [0016], & [0018]),
Yang, is silent in regard to:
wherein a diameter of the through-hole is smaller than the diameter of the second cavity of the housing.
However, Hwang, further teaches:
wherein a diameter (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0022]-[0023], & [0115]-[0120]: teaches that the diameter (d3)) of the through-hole (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0022]-[0023], & [0115]-[0120]: film plate 1120 (retainer plate) with “second openings 1121” (through-holes)) is smaller than the diameter (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0022]-[0023], & [0115]-[0120]: teaches that the diameter (d3) of the second openings 1121 (through-holes) is “smaller than the diameter d1” of the accommodating holes 1111) of the second cavity (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0022]-[0023], & [0115]-[0120]: accommodating holes 1111 (second cavity)) of the housing (Figs. 21-22; [Abstract], [0022]-[0023], & [0115]-[0120]: discloses a main plate 1110 (housing), all further illustrated in Fig. 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a diameter of the through-hole plate that is smaller than the diameter of the second cavity of housing, of Hwang to Yang, in order to attain and improve, by modifying Yang’s contact assembly, combining and integrating with Hwang’s housing and retainer plate with the plate’s through-holes smaller than the main housing hole to create the necessary stop for retention, to achieve and create a complete, functional, retained contact pin, with the predictable and desired results (KSR).
Regarding independent claim 20, Yang, teaches:
A compliant probe contact assembly (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0002], [0008], [0016], [0018]-[0020], & [0022]: contact terminal 1 (compliant probe contact assembly)) for a testing system (Fig. 1; [Abstract] & [0016]: not shown in full, includes contact terminal 1 (compliant probe contact assembly)) for testing integrated circuit devices (Fig. 1; [Abstract] & [0016]: contact terminal 1 (compliant probe contact assembly) connecting an integrated circuit (IC) to a printed circuit board (PCB) during a test of the IC), the contact assembly comprising:
a plunger (Figs. 1 & 2; [0016]-[0017]: upper contact pin 2 (plunger)) including a retainer (Fig. 2; [0017] & [0019]: pair of stopping portions 24 (retainer)) proximate an end of a lower shaft (Fig. 2; [0017], [0019], & [Claim 15]: bottom end of the lower shaft (plate-like main portion 22));
each receiver plate having an aperture, two arms, and two shoulders, each of the two shoulders having a shoulder stop (Figs. 2-4; [0017]-[0024]: lower contact pin 3 is made from sheet metal and has elastic arms 32 with clamping portions 33, the shoulder protrusions 31 and the hooks 34 that abut the stops 24 function as shoulders with shoulder stops), the two shoulders being opposite in a width direction, the aperture being between the two shoulders and between the two arms in the width direction, ([0018] & [Claim 14]: discloses shoulders on the receiver structure that extend outwardly, the shoulder stop corresponds to the surface abutting the spring), the aperture being sized to receive only a portion of the retainer ([0017]-[0024]: teaches hooks 34 defining the aperture/space limit) that catch the stopping portions 24 (retainer)),
a biasing member (Fig.1; [0016]: spring device 4 (biasing member)),
wherein when the contact assembly is assembled (Fig. 1; [0016] & [0022]: contact terminal 1 (compliant probe contact assembly)), the biasing member (Fig. 1; [0016] & [0022]: spring device 4) surrounds at least a portion of the plunger (Figs. 1-3; [0016] & [0022]-[0023]: bottom surface of shoulder 21 of the upper contact pin 2, where the spring 4 (biasing member) abuts the shoulder 21 when assembled, further illustrated by Fig. 1, shoulder 21 is unmarked in the figure, spring device 4 extends exteriorly around the main portion 22 (plunger) and the elastic arms 32 ( receiver plates)) and receives the first and second receiver plates thereby holding the first and second receiver plates (Figs. 2-3 & 5; [0017]-[0024]: clamping portions 33) and electrical contact as the plunger moves along the apertures of the first and second receiver plates ([0017]-[0025]: electrical connector contact 1 (electrical contact)).
Yang, is silent in regard to:
the aperture being not wide enough to allow the retainer to pass therethrough; and
wherein the first and second receiver plates are aligned relative to each other so that the first and second receiver plates are progressively closer to each other at the bottom relative to the top;
and the retainer in physical and electrical contact as the plunger moves along the apertures of the first and second receiver plates.
However, Hwang, further teaches:
the aperture being not wide enough to allow the retainer to pass therethrough (Figs. 3A, 3B, 7A, 7B, 8B, & 8C; [0008]-[0009], [0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060], [0064], [0073]-[0074], [0076], & [0081]: clarifies the groove/aperture retention limitation (i.e., not wide enough to pass), main embodiment describes this as the guide surface 117 moving within the groove 111, figures further illustrate the assembly where locking protrusion 15 (retainer) moved along the groove and is near the bottom (i.e., end of its travel path in the groove, the retainer is prevented from reaching the end of the aperture, figures further illustrate and confirm, showing a clearance between the locking protrusion 15 (retainer) and the end of the flow groove 23a (aperture)); and
wherein the first and second receiver plates are aligned relative to each other (Figs. 7A, 7B, 8B & 8C; [0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060], [0064]-[0068], & [0071]-[0072]: figures further illustrate first and second receiver plates aligned relative to each other) so that the first and second receiver plates are progressively closer to each other at the bottom relative to the top (Figs. 7A, 7B, 8B & 8C; [0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060], [0064]-[0068], & [0071]-[0072]: elastic portions 125 of the lower contact pin 120 (first receiver plate includes the first pair of end contact portions 116 formed by two different contact surfaces 116a/116b and second receiver includes the second pair of first end contact portions 116 formed by two different contact surfaces 116a/116b, first and second receiver plates are symmetrical and integrally formed), these are the structures that receive and engage with the upper contact pin 110, figures further illustrate the cross-sectional views where the parts are inside the spring 130, these portions interlock with the ”lower shaft” elastic portions 115, elastic portions 115/125 of both contact pins include guide surfaces 117/127 that protrude inward, their geometry creates a V-shaped or tapered gap that is wider at the entrance and narrower towards the body of the pin, and the mutual insertion into the grooves 111 is facilitated by and occurs within the progressively narrowing gap formed by facing guide surfaces, figure 8B further illustrates the gap between the two sides of the lower contact pin’s elastic portions visibly narrows from the open end towards the body, progressively narrowing or V-shaped gap, closer at the bottom relative to the top);
and the retainer (Figs. 7A & 7B; [Abstract], [0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060], [0064], & [0115]-[0120]: film plate 1120 (retainer)) in physical and electrical contact (Figs. 21 & 22; [0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0060], [0066]-[0068], [0071], & [0115]-[0120]: lower contact pin 210 (first receiver and second receiver plates) in physical and electrical contact with the retainer, figures further illustrate the surfaces are in contact with each other as part of a unified lower contact pin) as the plunger (Figs. 21-22; [0115]-[0120]: upper contact pin 210 (plunger)) moves along the apertures of the first and second receiver plates (Figs. 21-22; [0115]-[0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first and second receiver plates having a top and a bottom with a longitudinal aperture to receive a portion of the retainer and not allow the retainer to pass through, a biasing member, where the first and second received plates are aligned to each other and are progressively closer at the bottom, and when the contact assembly is assembled, and the retainer is in physical and electrical contact with the plunger as it moves along the aperture of the first and second receiver plates, of Hwang to Yang, in order to attain and improve, by modifying the complex, integral receiver arms of Yang to be separate receiver plates, as suggested by the plate-like construction in Hwang, for easier of manufacturing, once the arms are made separate, they would lose the clamping force from Yang, instead would use inward radial force of the spring to press the separate plates inward, holding them in physical and electrical contact with the plunger as it moves, to achieve and create a complete, functional solution to keep components intact, with predictable and desired results (KSR).
Yang, in combination with Hwang, are silent in regard to:
first and second receiver plates having a top and a bottom,
However, Kimura, further teaches:
first and second receiver plates having a top and a bottom, (Figs. 1, 14, & 18-23; [0086]-[0098] & [0121]-[0123]: discloses two second plungers 63, which are plate-shaped, each has a coupling portion 75 (aperture region) contact piece 77 (arms/shoulders), and an upper supporting shoulder portion 79 (shoulder stop), they are separate distinct plates);
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments in a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments because the combination of prior art elements motivates experimentation and optimization, motivating the modification of Yang’s lower contact pin into two separate first and second receiver plates as taught by Kimura to achieve independent movement of the contact arms or to simplify manufacturing and assembly, having a top and a bottom (elastic arms) to include the central aperture/groove feature of Hwang that receive locking protrusions (retainers) where the groove end prevents the protrusion from passing, teaching the size portion that could be received, to improve the guiding stability and interlocking capability of the plunger and receiver, as taught by Hwang’s assembly which utilizes the grooves for precise alignment, and in order to attain and improve, by modifying the complex, integral receiver arms of Yang to be separate receiver plates, as suggested by the plate-like construction in Hwang, for easier of manufacturing, once the arms are made separate, they would lose the clamping force from Yang, and instead would use inward radial force of the spring to press the separate plates inward, holding them in physical and electrical contact with the plunger as it moves, to achieve and create a complete, functional solution to keep components intact, where the combination of prior art elements according to known methods yield predictable and desired results (KSR).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kazama (US5004977) discloses a contact probe with an electroconductive needle member, a tubular holder slidable receiving the needle member, a compression spring fitted on the needle member in the tubular holder, a stopper arrangement for restricting the extent to which the forward end of the needle member projects, and a lead wire integral with the needle member. Kazama (US5291129) discloses a similar contact probe. Frederickson et al. (US5955888) discloses an apparatus and method for testing ball grid array packaged integrated circuits. Wu et al. (US12078657B2) discloses compliant pin probes with extension springs, methods for making, and methods for using. Wu et al. (US12181493B2) discloses compliant probes including dual independently operable probe contact elements including at least one flat extension spring, methods for making, and methods for using. West et al. (US20160202292A1) discloses a method and apparatus for docking a test head with a peripheral. Wu (US20240103038A1) discloses compliant probes with enhanced pointing stability and including at least one flat extension spring, methods for making, and methods for using. Hwang et al. (US2023/0043825A1) discloses a spring contact and test socket with same.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGO NAVARRO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858 02/02/2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 2/6/2025