DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujitaet al. (2016/0238971) in view of Caton et al. (2005/0046874).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 14, Fujitateaches an inkjet printer and method comprising:
a primer applicator (fig. 3, item 106) configured to apply primer to media as the media passes the primer applicator ([0027]), and
a controller (fig. 3, item 118) operatively connected to the primer applicator, the controller being configured to:
identify a range of primer thicknesses for the media to which the primer is being applied ([0071]-[0076], see fig. 5B, Note that maximum and minimum primer layer thickness is identified so that the a constant amount of primer can be applied for toners with different penetration amounts),
identify a thickness of the primer on the media ([0071]-[0076], again, note that the ideal thickness is identified and then applied to the media).
Fujitadoes not teach a sensor configured to generate electrical signals corresponding to a thickness of the primer applied to the media; and wherein the controller compares the identified thickness to the identified range of primer thicknesses, adjust operation of the primer applicator in response to the identified thickness being out of the identified range of primer thicknesses. Caton teaches using sensors to detect a thickness of a primer layer (Caton, [0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to add the primer thickness detection sensor disclosed by Caton to the device disclosed by Fujitabecause doing so would allow for real-time adjustment and precise determination of primer thickness, thereby ensuring high print quality.
Upon combination of Caton with Fujita, the resultant device would use the eddy current sensor disclosed by Caton to obtain primer thickness and then compare the thickness with the thickness range determined by Fujitaand adjust the thickness of the primer layer if the thickness fell outside of the viable range. That is, Fujitais being applied as determining a range of thicknesses of a primer layer and applying a primer layer of that thickness to the media. For purposes of this rejection, Caton’s eddy current sensor is being added to Fujitadownstream of the primer applicator to sense the actual thickness of the primer layer. Upon combination, if the actual thickness sensed by Caton’s sensor deviated from the thickness determined by Fujita’s controller due to ejection failure or some other cause, the primer applicator would adjust the operation of the applicator to ensure the primer layer stayed within the range.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Fujitain view of Caton teaches the inkjet printer and method of claims 1 and 11, respectively, wherein the primer applicator is a roller (Fujita, fig. 3, item 110).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Fujita in view of Caton teaches the inkjet printer of claims 1 and 11, wherein the primer applicator is a printhead having a plurality of ejectors configured to eject drops of primer onto the media (Fujita, see fig. 3, item 114)
Regarding claims 4, Fujita in view of Caton teaches the inkjet printer of claim 3 wherein the sensor is a eddy current sensor (Caton, [0031]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Fujita in view of Caton teaches the inkjet printer and method of claims 4 and 14, respectively, the controller being further configured to: identify a first end of the range of primer thicknesses as a thickness that is too thin to enable deinking of the media; and identify a second end of the range of primer thicknesses as a thickness that is too thick for sufficient ink drying within an image dryer in the inkjet printer to fix an ink image to the media (Fujita, [0071]-[0076], Note that a range viable primer amounts per unit area/thicknesses is identified, and any amount outside of that range is too thick or too thin).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Fujita in view of Caton teaches the inkjet printer and method of claims 5 and 15, respectively, the controller being further configured to: adjust operation of the primer applicator by altering a firing signal parameter for the primer applicator (Fujita, Note that this is how a printhead works).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Fujita in view of Caton teaches the inkjet printer of claims 6 and 16, respectively, wherein the firing signal parameter is a firing signal magnitude (Fujita, Note that this is how a printhead works. Note that “firing signal magnitude” has not been defined with any specificity).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Fujita in view of Caton teaches the inkjet printer and method of claims 7 and 17, respectively, further comprising: a plurality of eddy current sensors arranged in a cross-process direction of a path for the media through the inkjet printer; and the controller being further configured to:
operate the primer applicator using a test pattern to eject drops of primer on the media passing the primer applicator; generate a map of positions of primer drops on the media; compare the positions of the primer drops on the media to the test pattern used to operate the primer applicator; and identify an ejector in the primer applicator as inoperative in response to a position in the test pattern not having a corresponding position for a primer drop in the generated map (Fujita, fig. 5, Note two sensors on scanner 106 for reading primer test chart 1202, and the test chart compares the actual chart to a target chart to ascertain misfired and absent droplets. Note that positions of target drops and actual drops are mapped). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the primer thickness determination and adjustment technique disclosed by Fujita with a primer test chart printing technique, as disclosed by Fujita, because doing so would result in even more precise evaluation of primer deposition, thereby ensuring better print quality.
Regarding claims 9, 19 and 20, Fujita in view of Caton teaches the inkjet printer and method of claims 8 and 18, respectively, wherein the eddy current sensors are separated in the cross-process direction by one-half a field of view of the eddy current sensors (Fujita, fig. 6, Note sensors arranged in the cross-process direction. Note that, upon substitution of Caton’s eddy current sensors for the optical sensors of Fujita’317, the limitation would be met).
Regarding claim 10, Fujita in view of Caton teaches the inkjet printer of claim 9 wherein the test pattern is a plurality of dashes (Fujita, see fig. 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fujita.
Conclusion
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853