DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
The amendment filed 4/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are pending. Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention. In the amendment filed 04/13/2026, claims 1-2 and 4-5 were amended and claim 3. Claims 1-2 and 4 are under examination on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4 (apparatus) in the reply filed on 11/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 5 remains withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (method), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/26/2025.
Claim Interpretation
The claim 1 limitations “a gas mixture”, “generate a plasma”, “etch a silicon-containing film on a substrate by delivering the plasma and a fluorine-containing gas to the silicon-containing film, wherein the gas mixture contains hydrogen atoms, nitrogen atoms, and oxygen atoms” is interpreted as being directed to at least one of: the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be employed (e.g. etching, delivering plasma), the article worked upon (e.g. “silicon-containing film on a substrate”), and contents of the apparatus during operation (e.g. gas mixture containing specific elements). Regarding the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be employed, [i]t has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Regarding the article worked upon, [i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Regarding contents of the apparatus during operation, [e]xpressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Where the applied prior art teaches any of the above limitations, the citations will be included for the purpose of compact prosecution on the merits. This is not an indication that the limitations are more than the above discussion has addressed.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“gas supply unit” in claim 1 interpreted as structure 21 of Fig 1 including a source of gas (21A-C) and a gas line (shown not numbered in Fig 1), and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-2 and 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in line 9 “the gas mixture contains hydrogen atoms, nitrogen atoms, and oxygen atoms”. This limitation is unclear because it is unclear if the limitation of line 9 is referring to the gas mixture when supplied to the discharge tube or the gas mixture after plasma formation. Consistent with the instant specification, the limitation of line 9 of claim 1 is interpreted inclusive of referring to the gas mixture after plasma generation. Applicant is kindly requested to amend the claim for clarity such as by amending the claim to recite “the plasma of the gas mixture contains hydrogen atoms, nitrogen atoms, and oxygen atoms;”.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the oxygen gas concentration is a concentration of oxygen molecules in the accommodation chamber when converting an amount of the oxygen atoms in the accommodation chamber into an amount of the oxygen molecules.” This limitation is unclear because it is unclear what is meant by “when converting an amount of the oxygen atoms in the accommodation chamber into an amount of the oxygen molecules” and whether this is a chemical conversion (i.e. a sensor that causes the atoms to recombine to molecules and measures the molecules) or a mathematical conversion (i.e. a basic calculation that two atoms convert to one molecule or a more advanced calculation relating the number of atoms in the plasma to the number of molecules in the plasma based on models and/or data from prior runs). The instant specification does not indicate how the conversion is done. For purpose of examination on the merits, the claim will be interpreted inclusive of the conversion is a basic calculation of two oxygen atoms will form one molecule of oxygen.
The remaining claims are included for their dependence from a claim addressed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabansky (prev. presented US 2002/0179248) in view of Park (prev. presented US 2005/0257890), US Patent Application Publication 2004/0083964 of Ingle et al., hereinafter Ingle, and US Patent Application Publication 2016/0234924 of Smith et al., hereinafter Smith (prev. cited).
Regarding claim 1, Regarding claim 1, Kabansky teaches an etching device (Fig. 2 and [0025]), comprising: a discharge tube (plasma tube 146 Fig 2 [0027]) irradiated with microwaves [0027]; and a gas supplying unit (conventional source 148 Fig 2 with line connected to inlet 150 [0027] is a functional equivalent) configured to supply a gas mixture to the discharge tube [0026-0027]; an accommodation chamber (132 Fig 2) configured to accommodate a substrate [0025], wherein the etching device is configured to generate plasma of the gas mixture in the discharge tube [0026-0027] and etch [0025] a silicon-containing film [0003] on a substrate (wafer 136 Fig 2 [0025]) by delivering the plasma [0028] and a fluorine-containing gas (see 172 Fig 2 and [0029-0030]) to the silicon-containing film (Fig 2, see wafer 136), wherein the plasma of the gas mixture contains hydrogen atoms, nitrogen atoms, and oxygen atoms [0008], and wherein the discharge tube is formed from a main component of aluminum oxide (tube 146 made of ceramic alumina or sapphire [0027]). If the conventional source 148 Fig 2 with line connected to inlet 150 [0027] for supplying gas to the tube in which plasma is generated of Kabansky is not a functional equivalent of the claimed “gas supplying unit”, then in the same field of endeavor of etching apparatuses [0026] Park teaches a gas supply unit includes a source of gas (140, 142 Fig 3), a gas line (shown as unnumbered line), and a valve (140b, 142b Fig 3) for supplying a gas mixture to a tube (134 Fig 3) which will be irradiated with microwaves (from 148 Fig 3) to form plasma [0078]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kabansky to use the gas supply structure of Park in place of the “conventional source 148” of Kabansky because this represents a simple substitution of one known structure (gas supply structure of Park) for another (gas supply structure of Kabansky) to achieve predictable results (gas supply to the tube in which plasma is formed by microwave irradiation). Kabansky fails to teach a controller and fails to teach the controller is configured to control the gas supplying unit such that an oxygen gas concentration in the accommodation chamber is maintained at 10 ppm or more and 1000 ppm or less, wherein the oxygen gas concentration is a concentration of oxygen molecules in the accommodation chamber when converting an amount of the oxygen atoms in the accommodation chamber into an amount of the oxygen molecules. Initially regarding the controller, it is noted that Broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958). Therefore It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kabansky to include a controller because this allows for automated operation. Further, in the same field of endeavor of a remote microwave plasma system [0029], Ingle teaches a controller to control the operation of the apparatus [0010] and teaches controlling the gas supply including oxygen gas sources [0042] to control the concentration of the gas in the chamber [0010], [0052]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kabansky to include a controller and the controller configured to control the gas supplying unit such that an oxygen gas concentration in the accommodation chamber is maintained at a set value because Ingle teaches a controller with this function for automated control of a plasma process in a remote microwave plasma chamber. Regarding the specific concentration range, In the same field of endeavor of plasma apparatuses (abstract), Smith teaches controlling the oxygen in the chamber to be 1-1000ppm because this reduces erosion of the chamber walls [0058]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kabansky and the combination to include the oxygen is controlled to have a concentration of 1-1000 ppm because Smith teaches this range avoids erosion of the chamber walls [0058]. Regarding the calculation of atoms to molecules, it is noted that Smith suggests 1-1000 ppm of oxygen molecules which would be 2-2000 ppm oxygen atoms using a conversion of 2 oxygen atoms to 1 oxygen molecule (see rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above).
Regarding claim 2, Kabansky teaches the main component is formed from sapphire [0027].
Regarding claim 4, regarding the specific gases recited, the analysis remains as applied in the claim interpretation section that this is directed to the contents of the apparatus. Additionally, the apparatus of Kabansky is capable of containing the recited gases and specifically teaches oxygen gas and nitrogen gas [0008]. Further Park teaches ammonia gas as a source of hydrogen [0013].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/13/2026, hereinafter reply, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (reply p6) that while Kabansky teaches the claimed discharge tube materials, the reference does not recognize applicant’s identified advantage and prefers using a cheaper material. In response to applicant's argument that sapphire mitigates nitrogenization of the discharge tube, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
The argument (reply p7) that Kabansky or Kabansky in view of Park do not teach the controller as amended (reply p6-7) is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection including additional references to teach the controller and claimed oxygen concentration. Therefore the arguments are not persuasive as to the allowability of the instant claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2010/0247805 teaches a microwave plasma apparatus with oxygen supply, concentration control [0010], and a controller [0014] (Fig 1). US 2010/0093111 teaches a control unit for controlling chamber gas concentration (Fig 2 and [0016]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET KLUNK/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716