DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4 (apparatus) in the reply filed on 11/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (method), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/26/2025.
Claim Interpretation
The claim 1 limitations “a gas mixture”, “generate a plasma”, “etch a silicon-containing film on a substrate by delivering the plasma and a fluorine-containing gas to the silicon-containing film, wherein the gas mixture contains hydrogen atoms, nitrogen atoms, and oxygen atoms” is interpreted as being directed to at least one of: the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be employed (e.g. etching, delivering plasma), the article worked upon (e.g. “silicon-containing film on a substrate”), and contents of the apparatus during operation (e.g. gas mixture containing specific elements). Regarding the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be employed, [i]t has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Regarding the article worked upon, [i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Regarding contents of the apparatus during operation, [e]xpressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Where the applied prior art teaches any of the above limitations, the citations will be included for the purpose of compact prosecution on the merits. This is not an indication that the limitations are more than the above discussion has addressed.
Claim 3 refers to an accommodation chamber but does not recite this as a structure of the apparatus. Therefore the claim is not interpreted as requiring an accommodation chamber. As noted above, where the applied prior art teaches an accommodation chamber, a citation will be made in the event applicant amends the claims to recite an accommodation chamber as a structure of the etching device. Applicant is kindly requested to consider amending to recite the etching device “further comprises an accommodation chamber” prior to the current recitations of accommodation chamber to actively claim the structure as part of the apparatus.
Additionally regarding claim 3, recitations of the oxygen gas concentration including within a specific range are interpreted as being directed to contents of the apparatus during operation as explained above for claim 1 and the references to the gas mixture or specific gas components.
Regarding claim 4, recitations of the specific gases of the gas mixture are interpreted as being directed to contents of the apparatus during operation as explained above for claim 1 and the references to the gas mixture or specific gas components.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“gas supply unit” in claim 1 interpreted as structure 21 of Fig 1 including a source of gas (21A-C) and a gas line (shown not numbered in Fig 1), and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites that “the discharge tube is formed from sapphire” this is unclear because sapphire is a specific form of aluminum oxide and claim 1 requires in line 7-8 that “the discharge tube is formed from a main component of aluminum oxide”. It is unclear if the limitation of claim 2 is intended to indicate the discharge tube is formed from a main component of aluminum oxide and formed from sapphire (i.e. the sapphire is different from the main component and thus to what extent of the discharge tube is the main component to be considered a “main component” while the tube is also considered formed of sapphire) or if applicant intends for the main component formed of aluminum oxide to specifically be sapphire. Consistent with the instant specification (see [0027]) and for purpose of examination on the merits, the claim will be examined inclusive of an interpretation that the claim language of claim 2 is intended to limit the main component formed of aluminum oxide to specifically be sapphire. Applicant is kindly requested to amend the claim for clarity such as amending the claim to recite “the main component is formed from sapphire”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2002/0179248 of Kabansky, hereinafter Kabansky.
Regarding claim 1, Kabansky teaches an etching device (Fig. 2 and [0025]), comprising: a discharge tube (plasma tube 146 Fig 2 [0027]) irradiated with microwaves [0027]; and a gas supplying unit (conventional source 148 Fig 2 with line connected to inlet 150 [0027] is a functional equivalent) configured to supply a gas mixture to the discharge tube [0026-0027], wherein the etching device is configured to generate plasma of the gas mixture in the discharge tube [0026-0027] and etch [0025] a silicon-containing film [0003] on a substrate (wafer 136 Fig 2 [0025]) by delivering the plasma [0028] and a fluorine-containing gas (see 172 Fig 2 and [0029-0030]) to the silicon-containing film (Fig 2, see wafer 136), wherein the gas mixture contains hydrogen atoms, nitrogen atoms, and oxygen atoms [0008], and wherein the discharge tube is formed from a main component of aluminum oxide (tube 146 made of ceramic alumina or sapphire [0027]).
Regarding claim 2, Kabansky teaches the main component is formed from sapphire [0027].
Regarding claim 3, as noted above in the claim interpretation section, the claim does not require an accommodation space where the substrate is accommodated. However, Kabansky does teach an accommodation space (process chamber 132 Fig 2 [0025]) where the substrate (136 Fig 2) is accommodated (Fig 2 and [0025]). Regarding the specific inclusion of oxygen at the recited amount, the analysis remains as applied in the claim interpretation section. Kabansky teaches this supplied to the chamber [0008]. The apparatus of Kabansky is capable of being operated with the recited amount of oxygen in the chamber.
Regarding claim 4, regarding the specific gases recited, the analysis remains as applied in the claim interpretation section that this is directed to the contents of the apparatus. Additionally, the apparatus of Kabansky is capable of containing the recited gases and specifically teaches oxygen gas and nitrogen gas [0008].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are additionally and/or alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabansky in view of US Patent Application Publication 2005/0257890 of Park et al., hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 1, Kabansky remains as applied to claim 1 in the anticipation rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 as applied above. This rejection is provided additionally and/or alternatively in the event applicant can demonstrate that the “conventional source 148 Fig 2 with line connected to inlet 150 [0027]” is not a functional equivalent of the claimed “gas supplying unit”. If the conventional source 148 Fig 2 with line connected to inlet 150 [0027] for supplying gas to the tube in which plasma is generated of Kabansky is not a functional equivalent of the claimed “gas supplying unit”, then in the same field of endeavor of etching apparatuses [0026] Park teaches a gas supply unit includes a source of gas (140, 142 Fig 3), a gas line (shown as unnumbered line), and a valve (140b, 142b Fig 3) for supplying a gas mixture to a tube (134 Fig 3) which will be irradiated with microwaves (from 148 Fig 3) to form plasma [0078]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kabansky to use the gas supply structure of Park in place of the “conventional source 148” of Kabansky because this represents a simple substitution of one known structure (gas supply structure of Park) for another (gas supply structure of Kabansky) to achieve predictable results (gas supply to the tube in which plasma is formed by microwave irradiation).
Regarding claim 2, Kabansky teaches the main component is formed from sapphire [0027].
Regarding claim 3, as noted above in the claim interpretation section, the claim does not require an accommodation space where the substrate is accommodated. However, Kabansky does teach an accommodation space (process chamber 132 Fig 2 [0025]) where the substrate (136 Fig 2) is accommodated (Fig 2 and [0025]). Regarding the specific inclusion of oxygen at the recited amount, the analysis remains as applied in the claim interpretation section. Kabansky teaches this supplied to the chamber [0008]. The apparatus of Kabansky is capable of being operated with the recited amount of oxygen in the chamber.
Regarding claim 4, regarding the specific gases recited, the analysis remains as applied in the claim interpretation section that this is directed to the contents of the apparatus. Additionally, the apparatus of Kabansky is capable of containing the recited gases and specifically teaches oxygen gas and nitrogen gas [0008]. Further Park teaches ammonia gas as a source of hydrogen [0013].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2016/0234924 teaches remotely formed plasma using microwaves [0003]. [0078] and teaches oxygen at 1-1000 ppm in the chamber to reduce surface erosion in the chamber [0058]. JP 2013-016592 teaches irradiating a tube (12) with microwaves to form plasma prior to supplying to a chamber (Fig. 5-8). US 2012/0006486 demonstrates the effects of different feeding configurations to supply gases to both the remote plasma unit or some directly to the chamber and others to the remote plasma unit (Fig 4A-7B). US 2011/0143546 teaches a microwave generator to apply gas to a pipe to form plasma prior to entry to the chamber (Fig 1). US 2008/0214017 teaches a microwave generator to apply gas to a pipe to form plasma prior to entry to the chamber (Fig 3).
/MARGARET KLUNK/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716