DETAILED ACTION
Claims status: amended claims: 1 & 24; the rest is unchanged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 1 & 24 recite “the light incident thereon is the second portion of the light from the light source that has not been returned from the specimen”. While the spec describes blocking light, it does not expressly state "the second portion of the light from the light source that has not been returned from the specimen".
Claims 2-23 are rejected on the same basis as claim 1 for dependency reasons
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1 & 24 recite “the light incident thereon is the second portion of the light from the light source that has not been returned from the specimen”. While the spec describes blocking light, it does not expressly state "the second portion of the light from the light source that has not been returned from the specimen". It is possible for the part of light that passed through the detector cut-out towards the specimen not be returned by the specimen.
Claims 2-23 are rejected on the same basis as claim 1 for dependency reasons
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/24/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the previously used secondary reference Juschkin et al. (US 2021/0262944 A1; pub. Aug. 26, 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Juschkin et al. disclose: segmented detectors as shown in fig.3A & 230 in fig.2. The detectors are positioned between the light source 212 & the specimen 250 and a part of an illumination light impinging on segmented detectors (see para. [00337], this is the light that is not returned by the specimen) another part of the illumination light travels through an aperture between the segmented detector to reach the specimen (see para. [0036]-[0039]). The segmented detectors additionally detect characteristics of the illumination light (see para. [0036]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 24, Juschkin et al. disclose: a first detector fig.2 item 260 for detecting light reflected from specimen fig.2 item 250 (see para. [0027]), a second segmented detector fig.2 item 230 (see para. [0036]-[0039]) for detecting light coming from the source 212 (see para. [0036]). The second detectors are positioned between the light source 212 & the specimen 250 and a part of an illumination light impinging segmented detectors (see para. [00337], this is the light that is not returned by the specimen) another part of the illumination light travels through an aperture between the segmented detector to reach the specimen (see para. [0036]-[0039]). The segmented detectors additionally detect characteristics of the illumination light (see para. [0036]-[0039]). The detected characteristics are used to adjust the position of the light source (see para. [0043]-[0044], [0047]-[0048])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 13-21, 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juschkin et al. (US 2021/0262944 A1; pub. Aug. 26, 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Juschkin et al. disclose in a first embodiment: A system configured for determining one or more characteristics of light in an optical system (para. [0015]), comprising:
a detector (fig.2 item 230) positioned in a path of light between a light source (fig.2 item 212) in the optical system and a specimen (fig.2 item 250) for which the optical system performs a process.
In the first embodiment Juschkin et al. are silent about: the detector comprises:
a center cut-out configured to allow only a first portion of the light from the light source to pass therethrough, wherein the first portion of the light is directed to the specimen by the optical system during the process; and
four or more detector segments positioned around the center cut-out and in a path of only a second portion of the light from the light source, wherein the four or more detector segments are configured to separately generate output responsive to the light incident thereon, and wherein the light incident thereon is the second portion of the light from the light source that has not been returned from the specimen; and
a control subsystem configured for determining one or more characteristics of the light from the light source based on the output separately generated by the four or more detector segments.
In a further embodiment Juschkin et al. disclose: the detector comprises:
a center cut-out (fig.3A, para. [0038]-[0039]) configured to allow only a first portion of the light from the light source to pass therethrough, wherein the first portion of the light is directed to the specimen by the optical system during the process (fig.3A, para. [0038]-[0039]); and
four or more detector segments positioned around the center cut-out and in a path of only a second portion of the light from the light source (fig.3A, para. [0038]-[0039]), wherein the four or more detector segments are configured to separately generate output responsive to the light incident thereon, and (fig.3A, para. [0038]-[0039]) wherein the light incident thereon is the second portion of the light from the light source that has not been returned from the specimen (para. [0037] teaches “The multi-cell detectors 233a-b and 237 may be configured to generate a photocurrent when EUV photons of the beam 201 impinge the detectors 233a-b and 237 positioned at the periphery of the illumination beam”), the para. teaches there are two portions; one portion goes through aperture between the detectors to reach the sample, another portion impinges on the detectors (that part is not returned by the specimen/sample); and a control subsystem configured for determining one or more characteristics of the light from the light source based on the output separately generated by the four or more detector segments (para. [0037]-[0039]) motivated by the benefits for improved imaging without an equivalent increase in cost or complexity of the optics or the radiation source (Juschkin et al. para. [0020]).
In light of the benefits for i improved imaging without an equivalent increase in cost or complexity of the optics or the radiation source as taught by Juschkin et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the two embodiments of Juschkin et al.
Regarding claim 2, Juschkin et al. disclose: the first portion is greater than a majority of the light and less than all of the light (the claim does not recite any additional structure that further limits claim 1, therefore, the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Juschkin et al. disclose: the second portion of the light is approximately equal to a minimum amount of the light required for determining the one or more characteristics. (the claim does not recite any additional structure that further limits claim 1, therefore, the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Juschkin et al. disclose: the first and second portions of the light are mutually exclusive (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Juschkin et al. disclose: the light from the light source has one or more wavelengths shorter than 190 nm (para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 6, Juschkin et al. disclose: the detector is positioned in the path of the light between the light source and the specimen while the optical system is detecting the light from the specimen during the process to thereby determine information for the specimen (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Juschkin et al. disclose: the detector is configured to have a fixed position in the optical system during use (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Juschkin et al. disclose: the one or more characteristics comprise one or more spatial characteristics of the light (para. [0036]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 9, Juschkin et al. disclose: the four or more detector segments comprise six or more detector segments, wherein the one or more characteristics comprise one or more spatial characteristics and one or more shape characteristics of the light, and wherein the control subsystem is further configured for simultaneously determining the one or more spatial characteristics and the one or more shape characteristics based on the output separately generated by the six or more detector segments (para. [0036]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 13, Juschkin et al. disclose: the center cut-out is further configured to allow the first portion of the light to pass therethrough without any attenuation of power of the first portion of the light (para. [0036]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 14, Juschkin et al. disclose: the four or more detector segments are further configured to block the second portion of the light from reaching the specimen (para. [0036]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 15, Juschkin et al. disclose: the control subsystem is further configured for altering one or more parameters of the optical system based on the determined one or more characteristics (para. [0043]-[0044], [0047]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 16, Juschkin et al. disclose: the control subsystem is further configured for outputting the determined one or more characteristics to a computer subsystem of the optical system, and wherein the computer subsystem is configured for altering one or more parameters of the optical system based on the determined one or more characteristics (para. [0043]-[0044], [0047]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 17, Juschkin et al. disclose: the control subsystem or a computer subsystem is configured for altering one or more parameters of the optical system based on the determined one or more characteristics, and wherein the one or more parameters comprise one or more parameters of a movable optical element in the optical system configured to control a position of the light on the specimen (para. [0043]-[0044], [0047]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 18, Juschkin et al. disclose: the light is extreme ultraviolet light (para. [0023], [0046]).
Regarding claim 19, Juschkin et al. disclose: the light is vacuum ultraviolet light (para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 20, Juschkin et al. disclose: the light is soft x-rays (para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 21, Juschkin et al. disclose: the optical system is configured as an inspection system (para. [0018]).
Regarding claim 23, Juschkin et al. disclose: the optical system is configured as an inspection system (para. [0018]).
Regarding claim 24, Juschkin et al. disclose: A system configured for determining one or more characteristics of light in an optical system, comprising: a light source configured for generating light having one or more wavelengths shorter than 190 nm; optical elements configured for directing the light generated by the light source to a specimen and directing the light from the specimen to one or more first detectors configured to generate first output responsive to the light from the specimen; a computer subsystem configured for determining information for the specimen based on the first output; a second detector positioned in a path of the light between the light source and the specimen, wherein the second detector comprises: a center cut-out configured to allow only a first portion of the light from the light source to pass therethrough, wherein the first portion of the light is directed to the specimen by one or more of the optical elements; and four or more detector segments positioned around the center cut-out and in a path of a second portion of the light from the light source, wherein the four or more detector segments are configured to separately generate second output responsive to the light incident thereon and wherein the light incident thereon is the second portion of the light from the light source that has not been returned from the specimen; and a control subsystem configured for determining one or more characteristics of the light from the light source based on the second output and for altering at least one of one or more parameters of the light source, one or more parameters of the optical elements, one or more parameters of the one or more first detectors, and one or more parameters used by the computer subsystem to determine the information based on the determined one or more characteristics (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 16).
Claims 10, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juschkin et al. (US 2021/0262944 A1; pub. Aug. 26, 2021) in view of Derstine et al. (US 2021/0022233 A1; pub. Jan. 21, 2021).
Regarding claim 10, Juschkin et al. are silent about: the one or more shape characteristics comprise beam aberration.
In a similar field of endeavor, Derstine et al. disclose: the one or more shape characteristics comprise beam aberration (para. [0044], [0063]) motivated by the benefits for efficient light focus (Derstine et al. para. [0063]).
In light of the benefits for efficient light focus as taught by Juschkin et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Juschkin et al. with the teachings of Derstine et al.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Juschkin et al. and Derstine et al. disclose: the optical system is configured as a metrology system (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 10).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juschkin et al. (US 2021/0262944 A1; pub. Aug. 26, 2021) in view of Komatsuda et al. (US 2013/0128248 A1; pub. May 23, 2013).
Regarding claim 11, Juschkin et al. are silent about: the one or more shape characteristics comprise anisotropy in the light.
In a similar field of endeavor, Komatsuda et al. disclose: the one or more shape characteristics comprise anisotropy in the light (para. [0092]) motivated by the benefits for improved illumination (Komatsuda et al. para. [0092]).
In light of the benefits for improved illumination as taught by Komatsuda et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Juschkin et al. with the teachings of Komatsuda et al.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juschkin et al. (US 2021/0262944 A1; pub. Aug. 26, 2021) in view of Ebert et al. (US 2017/0235230 A1; pub. Aug. 17, 2017).
Regarding claim 12, Juschkin et al. are silent about: the one or more shape characteristics comprise one or more characteristics of multi-pole components of the light.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ebert et al. disclose: the one or more shape characteristics comprise one or more characteristics of multi-pole components of the light (para. [0070]) motivated by the benefits for a scalable illumination (Ebert et al. para. [0096]).
In light of the benefits for a scalable illumination as taught by Ebert et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Juschkin et al. with the teachings of Ebert et al.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884