DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 and 22-26 in the reply filed on 4/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8-13, 22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US 2022/0369464 in view of Canning et al. US 2022/0319951.
Re claim 1, Huang teaches an apparatus (fig14 and 15), comprising:
preformed metal pieces (140, fig14, [80]) comprising DC voltage pins (1409,1410, 1411, 1414, fig14, [85]) and windings (1412 and 1413, fig14, [83]), a magnetically permeable core (1415, fig14, [84]) and signal pins (1401-1408, fig14, [85]);
wherein the magnetically permeable core (1415, fig14, [84]) is arranged around at least a part of the windings (1412 and 1413, fig14, [83]), and
the DC voltage pins (1409, 1414, fig14, [85]) are integrated with the magnetically permeable core (1415, fig14, [84]);
wherein the signal pins (1401-1408, fig14, [85]) are arranged on outer surfaces of the magnetically permeable core (1415, fig14, [84]) through a metallization process (A "product by process" claim is directed to the final product per se, no matter how it is actually made. In re Hirao and Sato et al., 190 USPQ 15, 17 (CCPA 1976); see also In re Brown and Saffer, 173 USPQ 685 (CCPA 1972); In re Luck and Gainer, 177 USPQ 523 (CCPA 1973); In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA 1974); and In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289 (CAFC 1983). It is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a "product by process" claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product, produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in "product by process" claims or not. Id. Note that Applicant has the burden of proof in such cases. Id. Furthermore, "[e]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)); and
wherein the preformed metal pieces (140, fig14, [80]) and the signal pins (1401-1408, fig14, [85]) are respectively provided with bonding-pad regions (top and bottom surface of 140 with 1401-1408, fig14) and non-pad regions (side surface of 140 with 1401-1408, fig14).
Huang does not explicitly show bonding-pad regions on either of an upper surface and a lower surface of the magnetically permeable core are coplanar.
Canning teaches bonding pads (122 and 107, fig1, [36]) being coplanar with substrate (101, fig1, [36]) and surface of layer being bonded (bottom surface of 100 and top surface of 102, fig1, [32]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Huang and Canning to make bonding-pad regions on either of an upper surface and a lower surface of the magnetically permeable core coplanar and form a flat top and bottom surface to bond with PCB 1502 and 1501 as in fig15 of Huang. The motivation to do so is make heat generated by the core dissipate efficiently and prevent device failure and degradation (Canning, [1]).
Re claim 2, Huang modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the non-pad regions of the DC voltage pins (side surface of 1409, 1414, fig14, [85]) are arranged on the selected outer surface or selected outer surfaces of the magnetically permeable core, or are embedded in the magnetically permeable core with a distance of no more than 1mm to the surface (all pins are coplanar with outer surface of 1415, fig14).
Re claim 4, Huang modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the magnetically permeable core (1415, fig14, [84]) and the preformed metal pieces (1401-1414, fig14, [83, 84, 85]) are integrally formed through a hot-pressing process and annealing treatment (A "product by process" claim is directed to the final product per se, no matter how it is actually made. In re Hirao and Sato et al., 190 USPQ 15, 17 (CCPA 1976); see also In re Brown and Saffer, 173 USPQ 685 (CCPA 1972); In re Luck and Gainer, 177 USPQ 523 (CCPA 1973); In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA 1974); and In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289 (CAFC 1983). It is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a "product by process" claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product, produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in "product by process" claims or not. Id. Note that Applicant has the burden of proof in such cases. Id. Furthermore, "[e]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
Re claim 8, Huang modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DC voltage pins comprise ground pins (1410 and 1411, fig14, [85]) and input voltage pins (1414 and 1409, fig14, [85]) which are alternately arranged (alternately arranged around side of 140, fig14).
Re claim 9, Huang modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the non-pad regions of the preformed metal pieces (1401-1414, fig14, [83, 84, 85]) are arranged on at least two side surfaces of the magnetically permeable core (1415, fig14, [84]); the bonding-pad regions (top and bottom part of 140 with 1401-1408, fig14) of the preformed metal pieces comprise thick-layer lateral-wiring regions (region of 1401-1408 on upper and lower surface along edge, fig14) and bonding pads (part of 1401-1408 with bottom surface in contact with 1415, fig14), and the thick-layer lateral-wiring regions are electrically connected with the bonding pads and the non-pad regions (thick-layer wiring at the edge connecting bonding pad at top and bottom surface and non-pad region at side surface of 1401-1408, fig14).
Re claim 10, Huang modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the bonding-pad regions on the lower surface of the magnetically permeable core comprise a plurality of square bonding pads arranged in a two-dimensional array (bottom part of 140 with 1401-1408, fig14).
Re claim 11, Huang modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the magnetically permeable core (1001/1415, fig13 and 14, [72, 84]) comprises at least two magnetically permeable core sections (region with 1001-1 and region with 1001-2 in fig12 or region with 1412 and region with 1413 in fig14); the windings (1002-1 and 1002-2 in fig13 or 1412 and 1413 in fig14, [68, 83]) are arranged between the magnetically permeable core sections within grooves formed in the selected magnetically permeable core section or selected magnetically permeable core sections.
Re claim 12, Huang modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein two windings (1002-1 and 1002-2 in fig13 or 1412 and 1413 in fig14, [68, 83]) and three magnetically permeable core sections (three regions of 1001 in fig13 or three regions of 1415 in fig14) are provided; the magnetically permeable core sections comprise a first magnetically permeable core section (first region with 1001-1 and 1001-2 in fig13 or first region with 1401-1413 in fig14), a second magnetically permeable core section (second region with lower groove holding 1002-B in fig13 or second region with 1405-1412 in fig14) and a third magnetically permeable core section (third region with 1203-1 and 1203-2 in fig13 or third region with 1414 and 1409 in fig14), wherein the third magnetically permeable core section (third region with 1203-1 and 1203-2 in fig13 or third region with 1414 and 1409 in fig14) is arranged between the first and second magnetically permeable core sections (two sections with windings exposed, fig13 or 14); and wherein the windings (1002-1 and 1002-2 in fig13 or 1412 and 1413 in fig14, [68, 83]) are respectively arranged between the magnetically permeable core sections; either of the windings are arranged within a groove (1001-1 and 1001-2 in fig13 and groove holding 1412 and 1413 in fig14) formed on a surface of the respective one of the first and second magnetically permeable core sections.
Re claim 13, Huang modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the first and second magnetically permeable core sections have a same width (fig13 and 14), and a width of the third magnetically permeable core section is less than twice a width of the first magnetically permeable core section (three regions of 1001 or 1415 about the same width, fig13 and 14).
Re claim 22, Huang teaches a power module (fig14 and 15) comprising:
a magnetic apparatus comprising preformed metal pieces (140, fig14, [80]), a magnetically permeable core (1415, fig14, [84]) and signal pins (1401-1408, fig14, [85]); and
IPM units (1502, fig15, [88]) comprising power semiconductor devices (203, fig15, [88]);
wherein the preformed metal pieces comprise DC voltage pins (1409,1410, 1411, 1414, fig14, [85]) and windings (1412 and 1413, fig14, [83]);
wherein the magnetically permeable core (1415, fig14, [84]) is arranged around at least a part of the windings (1412 and 1413, fig14, [83]), and the DC voltage pins (1409,1410, 1411, 1414, fig14, [85]) are integrated with the magnetically permeable core (1415, fig14, [84]);
wherein the signal pins (1401-1408, fig14, [85]) are arranged on outer surfaces of the magnetically permeable core (1415, fig14, [84]) through a metallization process (The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985));
wherein the preformed metal pieces and the signal pins are respectively provided with bonding-pad regions (top and bottom surface of 140 with 1401-1408, fig14) and non-pad regions (side surface of 140 with 1401-1408, fig14), and
wherein the IPM units (1502, fig15, [88]) are arranged on the upper surface of the magnetically permeable core (1415, fig14 and 15, [84]).
Huang does not explicitly show the bonding-pad regions on either of an upper surface and a lower surface of the magnetically permeable core are coplanar;
Canning teaches bonding pads (122 and 107, fig1, [36]) being coplanar with substrate (101, fig1, [36]) and surface of layer being bonded (bottom surface of 100 and top surface of 102, fig1, [32]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Huang and Canning to make bonding-pad regions on either of an upper surface and a lower surface of the magnetically permeable core coplanar and form a flat top and bottom surface to bond with PCB 1502 and 1501 as in fig15 of Huang. The motivation to do so is make heat generated by the core dissipate efficiently and prevent device failure and degradation (Canning, [1]).
Re claim 25, Huang modified above teaches the power module of claim 22, further comprising a controller (208, 203, fig15, [88]); wherein the controller is arranged on a surface of the magnetic apparatus (208 and 203 on top surface of 1415, fig14 and 15), and the controller is electrically connected with the signal pins (1401-1408, fig14, [85]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 5-7, 14, 23-24 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim.
Specifically, the limitations are material to the inventive concept of the application in hand to effectively reduced the open-circuit risk caused by the coplanarity of the power pins and signal pins.
Conclusion
/XIAOMING LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2812