DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there are typographical errors in Fig. 6. Specifically, “Coner 1” and “Coner 2” should read “Corner 1” and “Corner 2”, respectively. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Pg. 7-13, filed 05/07/2026, with respect to claims 1-4, 6-11 and 13-14 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has canceled claims 4 and 11.
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to disclose or suggest every element of the claimed invention, and that specifically, Oh “merely disclose a technique of generating a 3-dimensional image for an imaged region and … does not disclose any configuration of predicting an internal stacked cross-sectional structure of a non-tomographed corner region and implementing the same as an image.” Applicant further argues that Masuch, the secondary reference, discloses a technique of calculating a corner position, rotation, and deviation of an electrode stack for determining an overall posture but fails to disclose arrangement information of the stack including internal stacked cross-section structural information such as electrode endpoints or gaps between electrodes adjacent to each other.
In response to the above arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Masuch discloses a method for determining electrode edge locations captured using tomographic imaging methods where, as shown in Fig. 11-12, sections defined by L1-L2 edges appear to relate to an alignment of electrodes along their corresponding x-y plane i.e., gap/interval information between adjacent electrodes – see [0148] for relation to stack height – while edges L2-L3 and L3-L4 relate to end points of cathodes and anodes, respectively (Fig. 1 and 11-12; [0103]; [0134]-[0140]). The Examiner is interpreting this sectional data as the claimed electrode arrangement information of the instant application.
Applicant further argues that Masuch relates to “an outer shape and a geometrical positional relationship” which is technically distinguishable from specifying an internal stacked cross-section structure. Further, Applicant argues that Masuch “does not disclose any configuration of acquiring cut surface images through tomography or extracting internal stacked cross-sectional information, such as end points of electrodes or gaps between adjacent electrodes, from such cut surfaces.”
In response to the above arguments, is has already been shown that Masuch uses tomographic methods for capturing cross-sectional information of corner regions (see [0103]), and as described above, sectional information corresponding to electrode edge locations is interpreted by the Examiner as reflecting internal stacked cross-section structure including end points of electrodes or gaps between adjacent electrodes. Further, it is noted that “outer shape and a geometrical positional relationship” referenced by the Applicant is considered by Masuch when correcting for deviations from a pre-defined pose relative to a carrier and/or marker determined based on the pose of each electrode sheet (see [0128] and claim 7 of Masuch).
Lastly, Applicant argues that Masuch “does not disclose any configuration of predicting an internal cross-sectional structure for a non-tomographed corner region, or generating such a cross-section structure as an image and implementing the same in a three-dimensional structure.”
In response to the above arguments, the Examiner has already shown that Masuch discloses that positions of remaining corners of the respective electrode sheets are determined from the position or positions of previously tomographically-imaged corners and that optical imaging systems are used to determine the geometry of each electrode sheet prior to stacking ([0042]-[0043]; [0049]-[0050]; [0113]-[0115]). Therefore, For the reasons outlined above, the rejection of independent claims 1 and 8 are maintained. Claims 2-3 and 6-7 are rejected due to the dependence on claim 1. Claims 9-10 and 13-14 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2023/0074096) in view of Masuch et al. (US 2024/0249401 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oh discloses a method for inspecting an abnormality in electrodes, the method comprising:
generating at least one vision photography image by imaging one surface of a specimen (10) in which a plurality of electrodes (12, 14) are stacked (Fig. 1, 2c – block S101; [0048]-[0049]);
generating at least one tomography image obtained by tomography of a side in at least one corner region of the specimen based on the at least one vision photography image of the specimen (Fig. 1 – block S106, Fig. 7a-b and 8a; [0056], lines 1-4; [0062], lines 1-7; [0064]-[0065]; [0067], lines 1-6; Pg. 6, claim 13 – where it is understood that the inner and outer widths between adjacent corners of corresponding positive and negative electrodes are identified and measured from at least one vision photography image and this placement information is then used in determining alignment and/or gap parameters of electrodes in tomography images of those corners);
generating a 3-dimensional image of the specimen based on the at least one vision photography image and the at least one tomography image (Fig. 13a-b; [0067], lines 1-6; [0068]); and
performing an electrode abnormality inspection on the plurality of electrodes based on the 3-dimensional image ([0067]-[0069]).
wherein the step of generating a 3-dimensional image of the specimen comprises;
extracting electrode arrangement information of the stacked plurality of electrodes from cut surface images of the stacked plurality of electrodes included in the at least one tomography image ([0056]-[0057]; [0062], lines 1-7);
wherein the electrode arrangement information includes end points of each of the stacked plurality of electrodes and gap information between adjacent electrodes ([0056]-[0057]; [0062], lines 1-7).
Oh does not disclose wherein the step of generating a 3-dimensional image of the specimen comprises;
predicting electrode arrangement information of the stacked plurality of electrodes in other corner regions except the at least one corner region where tomography has been performed of the specimen, based on the extracted electrode arrangement information;
generating predicted electrode arrangement images for the other corner regions based on the predicted electrode arrangement information; and
generating the 3-dimensional image in which the stacked plurality of electrode are disposed based on the extracted electrode arrangement information and the predicted electrode arrangement images,
However, Masuch, in the same field of endeavor of battery inspection systems and methods, discloses wherein a step of generating a 3-dimensional image of the specimen comprises;
predicting electrode arrangement information (Fig. 1 and 11-12; [0103]; [0134]-[0140] – where electrode arrangement information is interpreted as electrode edge locations; specifically, L1-L2 edges appear to relate to alignment of electrodes along their corresponding x-y plane i.e., gap/interval information between adjacent electrodes – see [0148] – while edges L2-L3 and L3-L4 relate to the end points of cathodes and anodes, respectively) of a stacked plurality of electrodes in other corner regions except the at least one corner region where tomography has been performed of a specimen, based on the extracted electrode arrangement information ([0042]-[0043]; [0049]-[0050]; [0113]-[0115]);
generating predicted electrode arrangement images for the other corner regions based on the predicted electrode arrangement information ([0042]-[0043]; [0049]-[0050]; [0113]-[0115]); and
generating the 3-dimensional image in which the stacked plurality of electrode are disposed based on the extracted electrode arrangement information and the predicted electrode arrangement images ([0042]-[0043]; [0049]-[0050]; [0113]-[0115]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh with the a means to determine predicted electrode arrangement images for other corner regions except the at least one corner region where tomography has been performed of the specimen, based on electrode arrangement information included in the at least one tomography image, providing the advantage of improved efficiency and increased precision in the manufacturing of electrode-separator assemblies (Masuch: [0050]).
Regarding claim 2, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the step of generating at least one vision photography image comprises: determining cutting (LW, RW) and inner widths (CW) of the one surface in the vision photography image; and determining placement information of first electrodes extracted from the vision photography image based on the cutting and inner widths (Oh: Fig. 1 – block S101, Fig. 6; [0048]-[0049]; [0060]).
Oh in view of Masuch does not explicitly disclose determining a center point of the one surface in the vision photography image and determining placement information of first electrodes based on the center point.
However, Masuch, further discloses a system and method which determines a center point of a surface (interpreted as defined by a center of rotation) and placement information of first electrodes based on the center point (Fig. 5, 7; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – where a coordinate system, including the center point of the surface of each electrode sheet, is predetermined based on the position and orientation of a carrier; Masuch does not explicitly disclose determining the center from a vision photography image but describes a camera system used for determining the geometry of electrode sheets before stacking in an electrode assembly stack using the carrier, implying that center points would have to first be identified using surface imaging systems [0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh in view of Masuch with the system and method of Masuch which fixes the center of electrode sheets to a carrier and provides a means for efficiently determining the location of corners of electrode sheets, from a single or pair of diagonally opposed corners, and deviations from a predefined pose, relative to a center of rotation. The system and method allows for determining deviations of electrode sheets while optimizing the production process (Masuch: [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the method according to claim 2, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the step of generating at least one tomography image comprises performing tomography of a side in the at least one corner region of the specimen based on the center point (Masuch: Fig. 5, 7; [0103], lines 1-4; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – where the coordinate system, including the center point of a surface of each electrode sheet, is predetermined based on the position and orientation of a carrier).
Regarding claim 6, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the method according to claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the step of generating a 3-dimensional image of the specimen comprises determining placement information for each of the plurality of electrodes based on the electrode arrangement information on a basis of cutting (LW, RW) and inner widths (CW) determined for the one surface (Oh: Fig. 6; [0060]), and
wherein the 3-dimensional image comprises a whole image of each of the plurality of electrodes reconstructed according to the placement information for each of the plurality of electrodes (Oh: Fig. 12a-b, 13a-b; [0065]; [0067], lines 1-6; [0008] – Oh appears to describe analyzing corners of electrodes in a battery cell and using calculated information relating to gaps between electrodes and alignment parameters, along with surface images, to reflect the measured gap dimensions and alignment parameters for a plurality of electrodes, to produce a complete three-dimensional representation of the battery cell).
Oh in view of Masuch does not explicitly disclose determining a center point of the one surface in the vision photography image and determining placement information of first electrodes based on the center point.
However, Masuch further discloses a system and method which determines a center point of a surface (500 – interpreted as defined by a first rotational axis/center of rotation) (Fig. 1; [0103], lines 13-17) and placement information of first electrodes based on the center point (Fig. 5, 7; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – where a coordinate system, including the center point of the surface of each electrode sheet, is predetermined based on the position and orientation of a carrier; Masuch does not explicitly disclose determining the center from a vision photography image but describes a camera system used for determining the geometry of electrode sheets before stacking in an electrode assembly stack using the carrier, implying that center points would have to first be identified using surface imaging systems [0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh in view of Masuch with the method of Masuch which fixes the center of electrode sheets to a carrier and provides a means for efficiently determining the location of corners of electrode sheets, from a single or pair of diagonally opposed corners, and deviations from a predefined pose, relative to a center of rotation. The system and method allows for determining deviations of electrode sheets while optimizing the production process (Masuch: [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the method according to claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses imaging corners which are adjacent to one another and using cutting (LW, RW) and inner widths (CW) determined for the one surface (Oh: Fig. 6; [0060]; [0062], lines 1-7) of a plurality of electrodes, along with information relating to gaps between electrodes, to generate a three-dimensional image of the battery cell (Oh: Fig. 12a-b, 13a-b; [0065]; [0067], lines 1-6; [0068]).
Oh in view of Masuch does not disclose that when two corner regions are included as the at least one corner region, the two corner regions as the at least one corner region are not adjacent to each other.
However, Masuch, further discloses that when two corner regions are included as the at least one corner region, the two corner regions as the at least one corner region are not adjacent to each other point (Fig. 5, 7; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – “the means that a relative rotation and translation with respect to a nominal pose is determined via the known geometry (rectangle) of the electrode sheet and the determined diagonally opposite corner positions of the electrode sheet”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh in view of Masuch with the method of Masuch which fixes the center of electrode sheets to a carrier and provides a means for efficiently determining the location of corners of electrode sheets, from a single or pair of diagonally opposed corners, and deviations from a predefined pose, relative to a center of rotation. The system and method allows for determining deviations of electrode sheets while optimizing the production process (Masuch: [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 8, Oh discloses a device for inspecting an abnormality in electrodes, the device comprising:
an imaging controller (5, 50, 60) (Fig. 2a, f; [0056], lines 1-4; [0062], lines 1-7) configured to generate at least one vision photography image by imaging one surface of a specimen (10) in which a plurality of electrodes (12, 14) are stacked (Fig. 1, 2c – block S101; [0048]-[0049]), and generate at least one tomography image obtained by tomography of a side in at least one corner region of the specimen based on the at least one vision photography image of the specimen (Fig. 1 – block S106, Fig. 7a-b and 8a; [0056], lines 1-4; [0062], lines 1-7; [0064]-[0065]; [0067], lines 1-6; Pg. 6, claim 13 – where it is understood that the inner and outer widths between adjacent corners of corresponding positive and negative electrodes are identified and measured from at least one vision photography image and this placement information is then used in determining alignment and/or gap parameters of electrodes in tomography images of those corners);
a specimen image generator (Fig. 2c; [0041], lines 1-5 – where the processor is interpreted as the specimen image generator) configured to generate a 3-dimensional image of the specimen based on the at least one vision photography image and the at least one tomography image (Fig. 13a-b; [0067], lines 1-6; [0068]); and
an electrode inspector (Fig. 2c; [0041], lines 1-5 – where the processor, which would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as capable of both performing the functions of generating the 3-dimensional image and inspect the image for abnormalities, is interpreted as the electrode inspector) configured to perform an electrode abnormality inspection on the plurality of electrodes based on the 3-dimensional image ([0067]-[0069]),
wherein the specimen image generator is configured to:
extract electrode arrangement information of the stacked plurality of electrodes from cut surface images of the stacked plurality of electrodes included in the at least one tomography image ([0056]-[0057]; [0062], lines 1-7);
wherein the electrode arrangement information includes end points of each of the stacked plurality of electrodes and gap information between adjacent electrodes ([0056]-[0057]; [0062], lines 1-7).
Oh does not disclose wherein the specimen image generator is configured to:
predict electrode arrangement information of the stacked plurality of electrodes in other corner regions except the at least one corner region where tomography has been performed of the specimen, based on the extracted electrode arrangement information;
generate predicted electrode arrangement images for the other corner regions based on the predicted electrode arrangement information, and
generate a 3-dimensional image in which the stacked plurality of electrode are disposed based on the extracted electrode arrangement information and the predicted electrode arrangement images.
However, Masuch, in the same field of endeavor of battery inspection systems and methods, discloses wherein a specimen image generator is configured to:
predict electrode arrangement information (Fig. 1 and 11-12; [0103]; [0134]-[0140] – where electrode arrangement information is interpreted as electrode edge locations; specifically, L1-L2 edges appear to relate to alignment of electrodes along their corresponding x-y plane i.e., gap/interval information between adjacent electrodes – see [0148] – while edges L2-L3 and L3-L4 relate to the end points of cathodes and anodes, respectively) of the stacked plurality of electrodes in other corner regions except the at least one corner region where tomography has been performed of the specimen, based on the extracted electrode arrangement information ([0042]-[0043]; [0049]-[0050]; [0113]-[0115]);
generate predicted electrode arrangement images for the other corner regions based on the predicted electrode arrangement information ([0042]-[0043]; [0049]-[0050]; [0113]-[0115]); and
generate a 3-dimensional image in which the stacked plurality of electrode are disposed based on the extracted electrode arrangement information and the predicted electrode arrangement images ([0042]-[0043]; [0049]-[0050]; [0113]-[0115]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh with the a means to determine predicted electrode arrangement images for other corner regions except the at least one corner region where tomography has been performed of the specimen, based on electrode arrangement information included in the at least one tomography image, providing the advantage of improved efficiency and increased precision in the manufacturing of electrode-separator assemblies (Masuch: [0050]).
Regarding claim 9, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the device according to claim 8, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the imaging controller determines cutting (LW, RW) and inner widths (CW) of the one surface in the vision photography image, and determines placement information of first electrodes extracted from the vision photography image based on the cutting and inner widths (Oh: Fig. 1 – block S101, Fig. 6; [0048]-[0049]; [0060]).
Oh in view of Masuch does not explicitly disclose determining a center point of the one surface in the vision photography image and determining placement information of first electrodes based on the center point.
However, Masuch further discloses a system and method which determines a center point of a surface (500 – interpreted as defined by a first rotational axis/center of rotation) (Fig. 1; [0103], lines 13-17) and the placement information of first electrodes based on the center point (Fig. 5, 7; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – where the coordinate system, including the center point of the surface of each electrode sheet, is predetermined based on the position and orientation of a carrier; Masuch does not explicitly disclose determining the center from a vision photography image but describes a camera system used for determining the geometry of electrode sheets before stacking in an electrode assembly stack using the carrier, implying that center points would have to first be identified using surface imaging systems [0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh in view of Masuch with the method of Masuch which fixes the center of electrode sheets to a carrier and provides a means for efficiently determining the location of corners of electrode sheets, from a single or pair of diagonally opposed corners, and deviations from a predefined pose, relative to a center of rotation. The system and method allows for determining deviations of electrode sheets while optimizing the production process (Masuch: [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 10, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the device according to claim 9, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the imaging controller performs tomography of a side in the at least one corner region of the specimen based on the center point (Masuch: Fig. 5, 7; [0103], lines 1-4; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – where the coordinate system, including the center point of a surface of each electrode sheet, is predetermined based on the position and orientation of a carrier).
Regarding claim 13, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the device according to claim 8, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the specimen image generator determines placement information for each of the plurality of electrodes based on the electrode arrangement information on the basis of cutting (LW, RW) and inner widths (CW) determined for the one surface (Oh: Fig. 6; [0060]), and
wherein the 3-dimensional image comprises a whole image of each of the plurality of electrodes reconstructed according to the placement information for each of the plurality of electrodes (Oh: Fig. 12a-b, 13a-b; [0065]; [0067], lines 1-6; [0008]).
Oh in view of Masuch does not explicitly disclose determining the placement information for each of the plurality of electrodes based on the electrode arrangement information on the basis of a center point.
However, Masuch further discloses a system and method which determines a center point of a surface (500 – interpreted as defined by a first rotational axis/center of rotation) (Fig. 1; [0103], lines 13-17) and the placement information of first electrodes based on the center point (Fig. 5, 7; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – where the coordinate system, including the center point of the surface of each electrode sheet, is predetermined based on the position and orientation of a carrier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh in view of Masuch with the method of Masuch which fixes the center of electrode sheets to a carrier and provides a means for efficiently determining the location of corners of electrode sheets, from a single or pair of diagonally opposed corners, and deviations from a predefined pose, relative to a center of rotation. The system and method allows for determining deviations of electrode sheets while optimizing the production process (Masuch: [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 14, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the device according to claim 8, as outlined above, and further discloses imaging corners which are adjacent to one another and using cutting (LW, RW) and inner widths (CW), along with information relating to gaps between electrodes, determined for the one surface (Oh: Fig. 6; [0060]) of a plurality of electrodes to generate a three-dimensional image of the battery cell (Oh: Fig. 12a-b, 13a-b; [0065]; [0067], lines 1-6; [0068]).
Oh in view of Masuch does not disclose that when two corner regions are included as the at least one corner region, the two corner regions as the at least one corner region are not adjacent to each other.
However, Masuch further discloses that when two corner regions are included as the at least one corner region, the two corner regions as the at least one corner region are not adjacent to each other point (Fig. 5, 7; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – “the means that a relative rotation and translation with respect to a nominal pose is determined via the known geometry (rectangle) of the electrode sheet and the determined diagonally opposite corner positions of the electrode sheet”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh in view of Masuch with the method of Masuch which fixes the center of electrode sheets to a carrier and provides a means for efficiently determining the location of corners of electrode sheets, from a single or pair of diagonally opposed corners, and deviations from a predefined pose, relative to a center of rotation. The system and method allows for determining deviations of electrode sheets while optimizing the production process (Masuch: [0046]-[0047]).
Conclusion
/MAHER YAZBACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877