DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see Page 8, filed 10/23/2025, with respect to claim 8 and 11-13 interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) have been fully considered and are sufficient. The interpretation of claim 8 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 9-11, filed 10/23/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8 and 11-12 under 35 USC 102 and claims 2-3, 6-7, 9-10 and 13-13 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. Applicant has canceled claims 5 and 12. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Oh et al. (US 2023/0074096 A1) and Masuch et al. (US 2024/0249401 A1). The Examiner has presented arguments below in support of Oh and Masuch, given that the references are used in the rejection presented in the new Office Action.
Applicant argues on Page 8-14 that Oh merely discloses that the cited references fail to disclose or suggest “the generation of predicted electrode arrangement images of non-tomographed regions” where the primary reference, Oh, merely discloses image generation of tomographed regions. Specifically, Applicant argues that “the individual negative electrode plate 12 and positive electrode plate 14 in Oh is calculated from their photograph and X-ray image data”. The Examiner agrees with Applicant’s argument regarding Oh.
Applicant further argues that the secondary reference, Masuch, does not cure the deficiency of Oh. Specifically, it is noted that Masuch discloses a technique of identifying the corner positions of an electrode sheet to mathematically calculate overall position, orientation, and deviation based only on two measured corners where the deviation may be from a designed position. Further, Applicant argues that though Masuch confirms the positions of all edges of the electrode sheet and visualizes a single corner region, Masuch “merely discloses visualizing a single corner according to the geometrical structure when the geometrical structure of the electrode sheet is already known” and, therefore, does not disclose any concept of predicting electrode arrangement patterns for an unknown corner region.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to paragraphs [0042]-[0043] and [0049]-[0050] of Masuch which describes provisions made that positions of remaining corners of a respective electrode sheet that has not yet been determined is ascertained for each electrode sheet from the determined position or positions of the corners. Masuch further describes that the known geometry of electrode sheets can be ascertained by optical methods prior to stacking, for example, by a camera system connected to the evaluation unit (see paragraphs [0113]-[0115]) which is interpreted as analogous to steps involving acquiring vision photography images by imaging an upper surface of specimen 21 by camera 201 in the instant specification (Fig. 3; Pg 23, line 23 – Pg 24, line 3). Lastly, one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret mathematically calculating an overall position, orientation, and deviation of electrodes in a corner region relative to a designed position and/or orientation as equivalent to predicting an electrode arrangement in said corner. Further reasoning is provided in the new rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2023/0074096) in view of Masuch et al. (US 2024/0249401 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oh discloses a method for inspecting an abnormality in electrodes, the method comprising:
generating at least one vision photography image by imaging one surface of a specimen (10) in which a plurality of electrodes (12, 14) are stacked (Fig. 1, 2c – block S101; [0048]-[0049]);
generating at least one tomography image obtained by tomography of a side in at least one corner region of the specimen based on the at least one vision photography image of the specimen (Fig. 1 – block S106, Fig. 7a-b and 8a; [0056], lines 1-4; [0062], lines 1-7; [0064]-[0065]; [0067], lines 1-6; Pg. 6, claim 13 – where it is understood that the inner and outer widths between adjacent corners of corresponding positive and negative electrodes are identified and measured from at least one vision photography image and this placement information is then used in determining alignment and/or gap parameters of electrodes in tomography images of those corners);
generating a 3-dimensional image of the specimen based on the at least one vision photography image and the at least one tomography image (Fig. 13a-b; [0067], lines 1-6; [0068]); and
performing an electrode abnormality inspection on the plurality of electrodes based on the 3-dimensional image ([0067]-[0069]).
Oh does not disclose wherein the step of generating a 3-dimensional image of the specimen comprises generating predicted electrode arrangement images for other corner regions except the at least one corner region where tomography has been performed of the specimen, based on electrode arrangement information included in the at least one tomography image.
However, Masuch, in the same field of endeavor of battery inspection systems and methods, discloses wherein a step of generating a 3-dimensional image of a specimen comprises generating predicted electrode arrangement images for other corner regions except at least one corner region where tomography has been performed of the specimen, based on electrode arrangement information included in the at least one tomography image ([0042]-[0043]; [0049]-[0050]; [0113]-[0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh with the a means to determine predicted electrode arrangement images for other corner regions except the at least one corner region where tomography has been performed of the specimen, based on electrode arrangement information included in the at least one tomography image, providing the advantage of improved efficiency and increased precision (Masuch: [0050]).
Regarding claim 2, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the step of generating at least one vision photography image comprises: determining cutting (LW, RW) and inner widths (CW) of the one surface in the vision photography image; and determining placement information of first electrodes extracted from the vision photography image based on the cutting and inner widths (Oh: Fig. 1 – block S101, Fig. 6; [0048]-[0049]; [0060]).
Oh in view of Masuch does not explicitly disclose determining a center point of the one surface in the vision photography image and determining placement information of first electrodes based on the center point.
However, Masuch, further discloses a system and method which determines a center point of a surface (interpreted as defined by a center of rotation) and placement information of first electrodes based on the center point (Fig. 5, 7; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – where a coordinate system, including the center point of the surface of each electrode sheet, is predetermined based on the position and orientation of a carrier; Masuch does not explicitly disclose determining the center from a vision photography image but describes a camera system used for determining the geometry of electrode sheets before stacking in an electrode assembly stack using the carrier, implying that center points would have to first be identified using surface imaging systems [0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh in view of Masuch with the system and method of Masuch which fixes the center of electrode sheets to a carrier and provides a means for efficiently determining the location of corners of electrode sheets, from a single or pair of diagonally opposed corners, and deviations from a predefined pose, relative to a center of rotation. The system and method allows for determining deviations of electrode sheets while optimizing the production process (Masuch: [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the method according to claim 2, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the step of generating at least one tomography image comprises performing tomography of a side in the at least one corner region of the specimen based on the center point (Masuch: Fig. 5, 7; [0103], lines 1-4; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – where the coordinate system, including the center point of a surface of each electrode sheet, is predetermined based on the position and orientation of a carrier).
Regarding claim 4, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the method according to claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the step of generating a 3-dimensional image of the specimen comprises generating the 3-dimensional image of the specimen based on the electrode arrangement information included in the at least one tomography image and predicted electrode arrangement information according to the predicted electrode arrangement images (Masuch: [0042]-[0043]; [0049]-[0050]; [0113]-[0115]).
Regarding claim 6, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the method according to claim 4, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the step of generating a 3-dimensional image of the specimen comprises determining placement information for each of the plurality of electrodes based on the electrode arrangement information on a basis of cutting (LW, RW) and inner widths (CW) determined for the one surface (Oh: Fig. 6; [0060]), and
wherein the 3-dimensional image comprises a whole image of each of the plurality of electrodes reconstructed according to the placement information for each of the plurality of electrodes (Oh: Fig. 12a-b, 13a-b; [0065]; [0067], lines 1-6; [0008] – Oh appears to describe analyzing corners of electrodes in a battery cell and using calculated information relating to gaps between electrodes and alignment parameters, along with surface images, to reflect the measured gap dimensions and alignment parameters for a plurality of electrodes, to produce a complete three-dimensional representation of the battery cell).
Oh in view of Masuch does not explicitly disclose determining a center point of the one surface in the vision photography image and determining placement information of first electrodes based on the center point.
However, Masuch further discloses a system and method which determines a center point of a surface (500 – interpreted as defined by a first rotational axis/center of rotation) (Fig. 1; [0103], lines 13-17) and placement information of first electrodes based on the center point (Fig. 5, 7; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – where a coordinate system, including the center point of the surface of each electrode sheet, is predetermined based on the position and orientation of a carrier; Masuch does not explicitly disclose determining the center from a vision photography image but describes a camera system used for determining the geometry of electrode sheets before stacking in an electrode assembly stack using the carrier, implying that center points would have to first be identified using surface imaging systems [0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh in view of Masuch with the method of Masuch which fixes the center of electrode sheets to a carrier and provides a means for efficiently determining the location of corners of electrode sheets, from a single or pair of diagonally opposed corners, and deviations from a predefined pose, relative to a center of rotation. The system and method allows for determining deviations of electrode sheets while optimizing the production process (Masuch: [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the method according to claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses imaging corners which are adjacent to one another and using cutting (LW, RW) and inner widths (CW) determined for the one surface (Oh: Fig. 6; [0060]; [0062], lines 1-7) of a plurality of electrodes, along with information relating to gaps between electrodes, to generate a three-dimensional image of the battery cell (Oh: Fig. 12a-b, 13a-b; [0065]; [0067], lines 1-6; [0068]).
Oh in view of Masuch does not disclose that when two corner regions are included as the at least one corner region, the two corner regions as the at least one corner region are not adjacent to each other.
However, Masuch, further discloses that when two corner regions are included as the at least one corner region, the two corner regions as the at least one corner region are not adjacent to each other point (Fig. 5, 7; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – “the means that a relative rotation and translation with respect to a nominal pose is determined via the known geometry (rectangle) of the electrode sheet and the determined diagonally opposite corner positions of the electrode sheet”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh in view of Masuch with the method of Masuch which fixes the center of electrode sheets to a carrier and provides a means for efficiently determining the location of corners of electrode sheets, from a single or pair of diagonally opposed corners, and deviations from a predefined pose, relative to a center of rotation. The system and method allows for determining deviations of electrode sheets while optimizing the production process (Masuch: [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 8, Oh discloses a device for inspecting an abnormality in electrodes, the device comprising:
an imaging controller (5, 50, 60) (Fig. 2a, f; [0056], lines 1-4; [0062], lines 1-7) configured to generate at least one vision photography image by imaging one surface of a specimen (10) in which a plurality of electrodes (12, 14) are stacked (Fig. 1, 2c – block S101; [0048]-[0049]), and generate at least one tomography image obtained by tomography of a side in at least one corner region of the specimen based on the at least one vision photography image of the specimen (Fig. 1 – block S106, Fig. 7a-b and 8a; [0056], lines 1-4; [0062], lines 1-7; [0064]-[0065]; [0067], lines 1-6; Pg. 6, claim 13 – where it is understood that the inner and outer widths between adjacent corners of corresponding positive and negative electrodes are identified and measured from at least one vision photography image and this placement information is then used in determining alignment and/or gap parameters of electrodes in tomography images of those corners);
a specimen image generator (Fig. 2c; [0041], lines 1-5 – where the processor is interpreted as the specimen image generator) configured to generate a 3-dimensional image of the specimen based on the at least one vision photography image and the at least one tomography image (Fig. 13a-b; [0067], lines 1-6; [0068]); and
an electrode inspector (Fig. 2c; [0041], lines 1-5 – where the processor would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as capable of both performing the functions of generating the 3-dimensional image and inspect the image for abnormalities) is interpreted as the electrode inspector) configured to perform an electrode abnormality inspection on the plurality of electrodes based on the 3-dimensional image ([0067]-[0069]).
Oh does not disclose wherein the specimen image generator generates predicted electrode arrangement images for other corner regions except the at least one corner region where tomography has been performed of the specimen, based on electrode arrangement information included in the at least one tomography image.
However, Masuch, in the same field of endeavor of battery inspection systems and methods, discloses wherein a specimen image generator generates predicted electrode arrangement images for other corner regions except at least one corner region where tomography has been performed of the specimen, based on electrode arrangement information included in the at least one tomography image ([0042]-[0043]; [0049]-[0050]; [0113]-[0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh with the a means to determine predicted electrode arrangement images for other corner regions except the at least one corner region where tomography has been performed of the specimen, based on electrode arrangement information included in the at least one tomography image, providing the advantage of improved efficiency and increased precision (Masuch: [0050]).
Regarding claim 9, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the device according to claim 8, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the imaging controller determines cutting (LW, RW) and inner widths (CW) of the one surface in the vision photography image, and determines placement information of first electrodes extracted from the vision photography image based on the cutting and inner widths (Oh: Fig. 1 – block S101, Fig. 6; [0048]-[0049]; [0060]).
Oh in view of Masuch does not explicitly disclose determining a center point of the one surface in the vision photography image and determining placement information of first electrodes based on the center point.
However, Masuch further discloses a system and method which determines a center point of a surface (500 – interpreted as defined by a first rotational axis/center of rotation) (Fig. 1; [0103], lines 13-17) and the placement information of first electrodes based on the center point (Fig. 5, 7; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – where the coordinate system, including the center point of the surface of each electrode sheet, is predetermined based on the position and orientation of a carrier; Masuch does not explicitly disclose determining the center from a vision photography image but describes a camera system used for determining the geometry of electrode sheets before stacking in an electrode assembly stack using the carrier, implying that center points would have to first be identified using surface imaging systems [0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh in view of Masuch with the method of Masuch which fixes the center of electrode sheets to a carrier and provides a means for efficiently determining the location of corners of electrode sheets, from a single or pair of diagonally opposed corners, and deviations from a predefined pose, relative to a center of rotation. The system and method allows for determining deviations of electrode sheets while optimizing the production process (Masuch: [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 10, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the device according to claim 9, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the imaging controller performs tomography of a side in the at least one corner region of the specimen based on the center point (Masuch: Fig. 5, 7; [0103], lines 1-4; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – where the coordinate system, including the center point of a surface of each electrode sheet, is predetermined based on the position and orientation of a carrier).
Regarding claim 11, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the device according to claim 8, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the specimen image generator generates the 3-dimensional image of the specimen based on electrode arrangement information included in the at least one tomography image and predicted electrode arrangement information according to the predicted electrode arrangement images (Masuch: [0042]-[0043]; [0049]-[0050]; [0113]-[0115]).
Regarding claim 13, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the device according to claim 11, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the specimen image generator determines placement information for each of the plurality of electrodes based on the electrode arrangement information on the basis of cutting (LW, RW) and inner widths (CW) determined for the one surface (Oh: Fig. 6; [0060]), and
wherein the 3-dimensional image comprises a whole image of each of the plurality of electrodes reconstructed according to the placement information for each of the plurality of electrodes (Oh: Fig. 12a-b, 13a-b; [0065]; [0067], lines 1-6; [0008]).
Oh in view of Masuch does not explicitly disclose determining the placement information for each of the plurality of electrodes based on the electrode arrangement information on the basis of a center point.
However, Masuch further discloses a system and method which determines a center point of a surface (500 – interpreted as defined by a first rotational axis/center of rotation) (Fig. 1; [0103], lines 13-17) and the placement information of first electrodes based on the center point (Fig. 5, 7; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – where the coordinate system, including the center point of the surface of each electrode sheet, is predetermined based on the position and orientation of a carrier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh in view of Masuch with the method of Masuch which fixes the center of electrode sheets to a carrier and provides a means for efficiently determining the location of corners of electrode sheets, from a single or pair of diagonally opposed corners, and deviations from a predefined pose, relative to a center of rotation. The system and method allows for determining deviations of electrode sheets while optimizing the production process (Masuch: [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 14, Oh in view of Masuch discloses the device according to claim 8, as outlined above, and further discloses imaging corners which are adjacent to one another and using cutting (LW, RW) and inner widths (CW), along with information relating to gaps between electrodes, determined for the one surface (Oh: Fig. 6; [0060]) of a plurality of electrodes to generate a three-dimensional image of the battery cell (Oh: Fig. 12a-b, 13a-b; [0065]; [0067], lines 1-6; [0068]).
Oh in view of Masuch does not disclose that when two corner regions are included as the at least one corner region, the two corner regions as the at least one corner region are not adjacent to each other.
However, Masuch further discloses that when two corner regions are included as the at least one corner region, the two corner regions as the at least one corner region are not adjacent to each other point (Fig. 5, 7; [0127]-[0129]; [0031]-[0032]; [0042]-[0045] – “the means that a relative rotation and translation with respect to a nominal pose is determined via the known geometry (rectangle) of the electrode sheet and the determined diagonally opposite corner positions of the electrode sheet”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Oh in view of Masuch with the method of Masuch which fixes the center of electrode sheets to a carrier and provides a means for efficiently determining the location of corners of electrode sheets, from a single or pair of diagonally opposed corners, and deviations from a predefined pose, relative to a center of rotation. The system and method allows for determining deviations of electrode sheets while optimizing the production process (Masuch: [0046]-[0047]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHER YAZBACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877