DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0355638 (Tsutsumi) in view of EP 4242268 (Sukegawa).
Tsutsumi discloses a curable resin composition having an excellent dielectric property for encapsulating semiconductor devices comprising:
a maleimide compound having a dimer acid backbone (meets Applicant’s maleimide compound (A));
an inorganic particulate filler such as silica and/or alumina (meets Applicant’s silica and/or alumina particles (D)); and
a curing accelerator/polymerization initiator (meets Applicant’s reaction initiator (B)) (e.g., abstract, [0007] [0022-0049], examples, claims).
Tsutsumi sets forth various working examples of cured products comprising a bismaleimide compound (A-1 or A-2), spherical silica (B-1), polymerization initiator (C) and optionally an epoxy resin (D-1 or D-2).
In essence, Tsutsumi differs from claims 1 and 4 in not expressly disclosing the further inclusion of the presently claimed high-relative permittivity inorganic filler (C). In this regard, Sukegawa (e.g., abstract, [0023], [0125]) discloses including an inorganic filler containing calcium titanate (meets Applicant’s high-relative permittivity inorganic filler (C)) into similar-such curable resin compositions comprising an epoxy resin and/or bismaleimide and silica or alumina particles provides a cured product having a high dielectric constant and a low dielectric loss tangent useful for the encapsulation of semiconductors. Thus, it would have been within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to further include a calcium titanate filler into Tsutsumi’s compositions for its expected benefit of providing a cured product having a high dielectric constant and a low dielectric loss tangent.
As to claim 2, Tsutsumi exemplified maleimide (A-1) [0077] has the formula
(meets Applicant’s formula (1) wherein m is 3 and l is 3).
As to claim 3, Tsutsumi’s exemplified maleimide (A-1) contains the presently claimed tetravalent group A having the structural formula
.
As to claim 5, Sukegawa discloses incorporating, relative to the entire composition, from 15 to 70% by volume of calcium titanate [0122] and 40 to 90% by volume total filler [0142], said volume percentages reasonably meeting the presently claimed mass percentages.
As to claim 6, Tsutsumi expressly discloses the polymerization initiator PERCUMYL D [0081].
As to claim 7, Tsutsumi exemplifies a crushed resin composition [0088] (i.e., granules).
As to claim 8, Tsutsumi’s resin composition is useful for encapsulating semiconductor devices inclusive of packaging [0003].
As to claims 9 and 10, Tsutsumi discloses cured products of the resin composition for semiconductor encapsulation [0009].
Conclusion
/ANA L. WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765