DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Applicant filed an RCE on 04/02/2026. Claims 2, 9, and 20 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3–5, 19, and 21 are currently amended. Claims 22–23 are new. Claims 1, 3–8, 10–19, and 21–23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 103: Applicant's arguments filed 04/02/2026 with respect to Mohlin et al. (US20110088509A1) in view of Mott (US6267701B1) and Rosenwald et al. (DE102019132224A1) have been fully considered but they are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument in view of Engerman et al. (US 20210254686 A1) in view of Mohlin et al. (US 20110088509 A1), and further in view of Wenthen (US 20100285914 A1).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3–5, 7–8, 10–19, and 21–23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman et al. (US 2021/0254686 A1) in view of Mohlin et al. (US 2011/0088509 A1), and further in view of Wenthen (US 2010/0285914 A1), hereinafter referred to as Engerman, Mohlin, and Wenthen.
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Engerman discloses
An electric vehicle comprising: a transmission system, comprising: (“vehicle 100 having an electric drive axle system 102 with a gear train 104 and an electric motor-generator 106” [0028]; “the vehicle may be a battery electric vehicle (BEV)” [0030]; FIGS. 1–2);
a first gear assembly; (“first gear set 127”; “first gear set” delivering a first selectable ratio [0035]; see also “fifth gear 308” path [0048]–[0049], [0056]; FIGS. 1, 3);
a second gear assembly; (“second gear set 129”; “sixth gear 310” path [0035], [0048]–[0049], [0056]; FIGS. 1, 3);
an intermediate unit comprising a first sprocket element, a second sprocket element, and a coupling element (“A second gear 116 is rotationally coupled to the first gear 114 and resides on an intermediate shaft 118. As described herein, rotational coupling between gears or other components may include an interface between the gears where teeth of the gears mesh to facilitate rotational energy transfer therebetween.” [0032];
an output gear assembly with an output shaft, (“output shaft 136”; “output shaft 214” rotationally coupled along the torque path to the planetary/differential final drive [0036]–[0037], [0048]–[0049]; FIGS. 1, 3, 7–8);
wherein the first sprocket element is connected to an input shaft of a traction motor of the electric vehicle in an axial direction of the first sprocket element to receive an input torque, (Engerman teaches the traction-motor / input-shaft axial connection that receives motor torque: (“The rotor shaft 180 of the electric motor-generator 106 is coupled to an input shaft 112”; “A first gear 114 is positioned or formed on the input shaft 112” [0031]; see also [0052]; FIGS. 1, 5);
wherein the first gear assembly is connected to the second sprocket element coaxially to convert the input torque to a first output torque, (Engerman teaches a first selectable gear path delivering a first output torque on a shaft parallel/offset from the motor input (first gear set via fifth gear 124/308 and first clutch assembly to the output shaft (“and the fifth gear 124” [0035]; “the fifth gear 308 may be included in a first gear set 312.” [0049]; “and decouple the fifth gear 308 to/from the output shaft 214” [0056]; see also [0035]–[0036], [0056]–[0057]; FIGS. 1, 8–9, 19);
wherein the second gear assembly is connected to the first sprocket element coaxially to convert the input torque to a second output torque, ( Engerman teaches a second gear path (second gear set via sixth gear 126/310 and second clutch assembly (”the sixth gear 126, may be included in a second gear set 129.”[0035]; “a second clutch assembly 802 is configured to rotationally couple and decouple the sixth gear 310 to/from the output shaft.” [0056], see also [0035]–[0036], [0056], [0061]; FIGS. 1, 8–9, 20);
wherein the first gear assembly comprises a first pinion element engageable with the output gear assembly in a circumferential direction of the output gear assembly ( Engerman teaches meshing gears (fifth gear 124/308) delivering torque into the output shaft / final-drive path by circumferential tooth mesh(“and the fifth gear 124” [0035]; “the fifth gear 308 may be included in a first gear set 312.” [0049]; “and decouple the fifth gear 308 to/from the output shaft 214” [0056]; see also ([0034]–[0036], [0049]; FIGS. 1, 3, 8);
wherein the second gear assembly comprises a second pinion element engageable with the output gear assembly in a circumferential direction of the output gear assembly ( Engerman teaches sixth gear 126/310 similarly meshing into the selective output path (”the sixth gear 126, may be included in a second gear set 129.”[0035]; “a second clutch assembly 802 is configured to rotationally couple and decouple the sixth gear 310 to/from the output shaft.” [0056], see also ([0034]–[0036], [0049]; FIGS. 1, 3, 8).
Engerman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the second sprocket element is arranged radially to the first sprocket element and in communication with the first sprocket element through the coupling element to receive the input torque;
wherein the coupling element comprises a chain or a belt circumscribing the first sprocket element and the second sprocket element;
the first pinion element being arranged coaxially with the second sprocket element and between the second sprocket element and the output gear assembly; and the second pinion element being arranged coaxially with the first sprocket element and between the first sprocket element and the output gear assembly
wherein the output gear assembly is configured to selectively transfer the first output torque from the first gear assembly to the output shaft or the second output torque from the second gear assembly to the output shaft,
However, Mohlin does teach
wherein the second sprocket element is arranged radially to the first sprocket element and in communication with the first sprocket element through the coupling element to receive the input torque (“The DCT 1 employs the chain 70 for torque transmission between the upper layshaft 40 and the lower layshaft 50. The chain drive formed by the chain 70, the first sprocket 28, and the second sprocket 29” [0080]; FIGS. 1–2).;
wherein the coupling element comprises a chain or a belt circumscribing the first sprocket element and the second sprocket element (“The DCT can further comprise a first sprocket gearwheel and a second sprocket gearwheel on separate layshafts that are coupled together via a drive chain. The two sprocket gearwheels are installed on separate layshafts for transmitting driving torque in-between. The first sprocket, the chain and the second sprocket form a chain drive” [0015]; “A first sprocket 28 is mounted onto the upper layshaft 40 whilst a second sprocket 29 is mounted onto the lower layshaft 50. The two sprockets 28, 29 are connected together via a chain 70” [0053]; see also [0080]; FIGS. 1–2).
the first pinion element being arranged coaxially with the second sprocket element and between the second sprocket element and the output gear assembly; and the second pinion element being arranged coaxially with the first sprocket element and between the first sprocket element and the output gear assembly (“A pinion is mounted on one or more of the layshafts and it meshes with an output gearwheel on an output shaft” [0006]; “The final drive pinion combs with an output gearwheel on an output shaft” [0017]; “The DCT can comprise three pinions that are mounted onto the three layshafts respectively. These three pinions mesh with the output gearwheel respectively” [0026]; upper/lower pinions on the sprocket-carrying layshafts meshing with the common output gearwheel, FIGS. 1–2).
Examiner note: Arranging such pinions coaxially with and axially between associated sprocket elements and the common output gear on parallel shafts is the natural packaging of Mohlin’s chain-coupled layshaft architecture (FIGS. 1–2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the parallel-shaft dual gear-assembly EV transmission of Engerman to employ an intermediate unit of first and second sprocket elements coupled by a chain or belt circumscribing the sprockets, as taught by Mohlin, because Mohlin teaches that a chain drive between sprockets on separate parallel shafts is efficient and reliable for torque transmission and allows a wide center distance between layshafts ([0015], [0080]). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Mohlin’s sprocket–chain intermediate with Engerman’s first/second gear assemblies and motor-driven input shaft to obtain compact dual torque pathways into a common output, with a reasonable expectation of success.
However, Wenthen does teach wherein the output gear assembly is configured to selectively transfer the first output torque from the first gear assembly to the output shaft or the second output torque from the second gear assembly to the output shaft, (an electric-vehicle transmission in which a traction motor drives selectable clutch paths into a sprocket and chain assembly that transfers torque toward an output/differential path: (“A two-speed transaxle 10 driven by an exemplary electric motor 12 is depicted in FIGS. 1 and 2. Transaxle 10 includes an input shaft 14 fixed for rotation with an output shaft 16 of electric motor 12” [0011]; “Power is transferred from input shaft 14 through a first planetary gear set 22, a second planetary gear set 24, one of a first clutch 26 and a second clutch 28, a sprocket and chain assembly 30 and a differential assembly 32” [0011]; “First clutch 26 is selectively operable to drivingly interconnect sun gear 50 with sprocket and chain assembly 30. Similarly, second clutch 28 is selectively operable to drivingly interconnect ring gear 52 and sprocket and chain assembly 30” [0014]; “A chain 86 drivingly interconnects drive sprocket 63 and driven sprocket 84” [0018]; claim 8: “drive sprocket selectively driven by one of said first and second clutches, a driven sprocket and a flexible drive member”; FIGS. 1–2).
Therefore, It would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement that sprocket–chain intermediate in an EV traction-motor context with selective clutch drive of the sprocket/chain path, as taught by Wenthen ([0011], [0014], [0018]), because Wenthen confirms that dual clutches selectively feeding a sprocket-and-chain assembly is conventional EV two-speed packaging complementary to Engerman’s dual gear sets and Mohlin’s chain-coupled layshafts. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Wenthen with Engerman in view of Mohlin to adapt the sprocket–chain intermediate to electric-vehicle drive with selective ratio engagement, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 3 and 21, Engerman discloses
wherein the first gear assembly comprises a first clutch member coaxially positioned at the second sprocket element from one side and attachable to the first pinion element from another side, and wherein the first clutch member is configured to cause a delivery of the first output torque when being activated. ("first clutch assembly 132"; "The first clutch assembly 132 is configured to rotationally couple and decouple the fifth gear 124 from an output shaft 136" [0036]; "first clutch assembly 800"; "the first clutch assembly 800 includes a locking clutch 900 and a one-way clutch 902" coaxially about the fifth-gear / output path; when activated, delivers first-path torque [0056]–[0059]; FIGS. 1, 8–9, 19).
Examiner’s note: In the Engerman–Mohlin–Wenthen combination, that first clutch member is positioned along the second-sprocket / first-pinion axis of the intermediate unit (Mohlin sprocket 29 / pinion axis; Wenthen clutch selectively driving the sprocket/chain [0014]).
Regarding claims 4 and 22, Engerman discloses
wherein the second gear assembly comprises a second clutch member at a side of the second pinion element opposite to the first sprocket element, and wherein the second clutch member is configured to cause a delivery of the second output torque when being activated.
("second clutch assembly 134"; "second clutch assembly 802"; “The wet friction clutch includes friction plates 920 engaging one another during clutch activation to transfer rotational energy from the sixth gear 310 to the output shaft 214. “ wet friction clutch with friction plates transferring torque from sixth gear 310 to the output shaft when activated [0036], [0061]–[0063]; FIGS. 8–9, 20).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 23, Engerman discloses
wherein the first gear assembly further comprises a first convey shaft concentric to a first coupling shaft, wherein the first pinion element is mounted on the first convey shaft, and wherein a first clutch member is configured to cause the first convey shaft to engage with the first coupling shaft, thereby converting the input torque to the first output torque, when activated
(concentric shaft/gear engagement via the first clutch: fifth gear 308 arranged on bearing about output shaft 214 with one-way/locking clutch causing engagement so torque converts to the output path ([0056]–[0059], FIGS. 8–9); intermediate/output shaft architecture provides concentric convey/coupling function ([0036]–[0037], [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, Engerman discloses
wherein the second clutch member comprises a carrier element and an elastic element, and wherein the elastic element is arranged on the carrier element at a side opposite to the second pinion element
(wet friction clutch 802 includes interleaved friction plates on hubs/drums (carrier structure) and spring 914 (elastic element) providing preload at the clutch interface ("bearing 912 may be preloaded via a spring 914 (e.g., a wave spring, helical spring, elastomeric spring, etc.)" [0060]; wet friction clutch structure [0061]–[0062], FIG. 9). Arranging the spring opposite the gear/pinion side is the conventional packaging shown. Alternatively, Engerman's sprag clutch embodiment uses "sprag mechanisms 2202 mounted on carrier rings 2204" that "may be spring loaded" [0058], FIG. 22).
Regarding claim 8, Engerman discloses
wherein a second coupling shaft is concentrically engaged with the carrier element
(output shaft 214 concentrically engaged with wet-clutch hubs/plates / carrier structure [0061]–[0062], FIGS. 8–9; planetary carrier 188/816 concentrically on the output path [0037], [0064]).
Regarding claim 10, Engerman in view of Mohlin and Wenthen as applied to claim 1 above does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sprocket element and the second sprocket element comprise different diameters.
However, Mohlin does teach
wherein the first sprocket element and the second sprocket element comprise different diameters. ("The second sprocket 29 has a larger diameter than that of the first sprocket 28 such that the second sprocket 29 has more number of teeth or gears than that of the first sprocket 28" [0060] / FIG. 2; see also [0053], FIGS. 1–2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use different diameters for the first and second sprocket elements in the Engerman–Mohlin–Wenthen combination, as taught by Mohlin, because different sprocket diameters provide different path ratios / reduction across the chain drive ([0015], [0053]). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine this teaching to obtain desired dual-path gear ratios, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, Engerman discloses
wherein the first gear assembly comprises a first coupling shaft extending coaxially to the second sprocket element (Engerman shafts coaxial with first gear-assembly gears [0036], [0048]; “Both of the fixed wheel second gear 30 and the fixed wheel fourth gear 31 are joined to the solid input shaft 20 coaxially.” [0057]).
Regarding claim 13, Engerman discloses
wherein a central axis of the first coupling shaft is arranged in parallel to a central axis of a second coupling shaft (input shaft, intermediate shaft, and output shaft on parallel axes [0031]–[0036], [0048], FIGS. 1–4; “It will be appreciated that the axial directions 854 may be parallel to the rotational axis 220 of the output shaft 214.” [0069]).
Regarding claim 14, Engerman discloses shafts coaxial with second gear-set gears “a second clutch assembly 802 is configured to rotationally couple and decouple the sixth gear 310 to/from the output shaft.” [0056].
Engerman does not explicitly discloses wherein the second gear assembly comprises a second coupling shaft extending coaxially to the first sprocket element.
However, Mohlin does teach wherein the second gear assembly comprises a second coupling shaft extending coaxially to the first sprocket element “A first sprocket 28 is mounted onto the upper layshaft 40 whilst a second sprocket 29 is mounted onto the lower layshaft 50. The two sprockets 28, 29 are connected together via a chain 70.” [0053], FIGS. 1–3 ; “Both of the fixed wheel second gear 30 and the fixed wheel fourth gear 31 are joined to the solid input shaft 20 coaxially.” [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a second coupling shaft extending coaxially to the first sprocket element with Engerman's shafts with second gear-set gears, as reinforced by Mohlin ([0053], [0057]; Engerman [0056]), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 15 and 18, Engerman discloses concentric shaft packaging (axle within output shaft: "the axle 140 is shown arranged within (e.g., co-axial with) the output shaft 136" [0039]; clutch causing engagement of gear to shaft [0061]–[0063]).
Engerman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the input shaft is arranged concentrically inside a second coupling shaft, wherein a second pinion element is mounted on the second coupling shaft, and wherein a second clutch member is configured to cause the input shaft to engage with the second coupling shaft, thereby converting the input torque to the second output torque, when activated.
Mohlin does teach concentric inner/outer input shafts with clutch discs ("inner input shaft is inserted inside the outer input shaft" [0005]; clutch discs non-rotatably connected “The DCT can also comprise an inner clutch disc non-rotatably connected to the inner input shaft and an outer clutch disc non-rotatably connected to the outer input shaft. “ [0018]);
“The application can provide a power train device with the double-clutch transmission device. The power train device can comprise one or more power source, such as an internal combustion engine, an electric motor, and a hybrid engine for generating a driving torque.” [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine concentric motor-input / coupling-shaft engagement with Engerman's second clutch activation, as reinforced by Mohlin's concentric clutch-shaft practice ([0005], [0018]; Engerman [0039]), because axial compactness and known concentric clutch-shaft packaging are predictable design choices for the second gear assembly, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 16, Engerman discloses
wherein the second coupling shaft is concentrically engaged with a carrier element
(output shaft concentrically engaged with wet-clutch carrier/hub structure [0061]–[0062]; planetary carrier 188/816 concentrically on the output path [0037], [0064]).
Regarding claim 17, Engerman discloses
wherein a central axis of a first coupling shaft is arranged in parallel to a central axis of the second coupling shaft (parallel shaft architecture [0031]–[0036], FIGS. 1–4).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman in view of Mohlin and Wenthen as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Itoh (US6082480A), herein after referred to as Itoh.
Regarding claim 6, Engerman discloses recess packaging adjacent drive interfaces ("planet pins extending … into recesses in a case of the differential" [0005]; spring preload interfaces at the clutch, FIG. 9 / [0060]).
The combination as applied to claim 3 does not explicitly disclose wherein the second sprocket element comprises a recess facing the first pinion element for receiving the first clutch member therein.
However, Itoh does teach wherein the second sprocket element comprises a recess facing the first pinion element for receiving the first clutch member therein. (a rotation-transmission / clutch arrangement in which clutch engaging elements are received in recessed pocket / housing structure facing the driven side for compact axial packaging ("Rollers are mounted in pockets formed in a retainer mounted between the input shaft and the outer ring. An electromagnetic clutch is coupled to the retainer" — Abstract; “the multiple-disc friction clutch 51 includes a housing 52 bolted to one end of the outer ring 2, an inner ring 53 fixedly mounted on the input shaft 4, a plurality of outer plates 54 and inner plates 55 alternately mounted between the housing 52 and the inner ring 53 so as to be axially movable but nonrotatable relative to the housing 52 and the inner ring 53, respectively, and a resilient member 56 mounted in a compressed state to axially bias the plates 54 and 55 against each other.” [Col.7 ln 5-14] / FIGS. 1–3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a recess in the second sprocket facing the first pinion for receiving the first clutch member, as taught by Itoh, to achieve an axially compact clutch–sprocket unit, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668