DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 6, 11 – 16, and 19 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (EP 3491962 B1), and further in view of Tsai (US 2004/0031927 A1), Yapaola (US 2008/0251539 A1), and Guerst (US 4,982,882).
With respect to independent claim 1, Sun teaches in Fig. 1A a sun exposure wrist bracelet for monitoring UV exposure, the sun exposure wrist bracelet comprising:
a sun exposure bracelet for monitoring UV exposure having a flexible band 103, a display 110, and a sunscreen reservoir 102; wherein said flexible band forming a closed loop to selectively conform around a wrist of a user in Fig. 1A; but Sun is silent with wherein said display having a touch-based display including a display of a current time, a current temperature, and a UV exposure.
However, Sun teaches his display 110 as a liquid crystal display panel or OLED panel in paragraph [0035]. In view of this, the display of Sun could be touch-based display because at the time of the Sun’s invention, touch-based display is well-known.
Tsai, a pertinent art, teaches in paragraph [0016] a display including a display of a current time, a current temperature, and a UV exposure. In view of this, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Sun in order to have a desired display that can display desired data. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Sun is silent with wherein said sunscreen reservoir disposed inside a portion of said flexible band having a quantity of sunscreen stored therein; and further wherein said sunscreen reservoir having a pivoting lid and a nozzle for dispensing said sunscreen.
Yapaola, a pertinent art, teaches in Fig. 1 wherein said sunscreen reservoir 104 disposed inside a portion of said flexible band having a quantity of sunscreen stored therein and in paragraph [0031] a nozzle that can be opened by activator. And Guerst teaches in Fig. 2 a pivoting lid 9 for dispensing a fluid or viscous product. In view of these, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Sun modified by Tsai in order to protect desired material with a pivotal lid and dispense desired material. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: Obvious to try – choosing form a finite number of predictable results.
With respect to independent claim 11, as discussed above Sun modified by Tsai, Yapaola and Guerst teaches a sun exposure wrist bracelet for monitoring UV exposure, the sun exposure wrist bracelet comprising: a sun exposure bracelet for monitoring UV exposure having a flexible band, a display, a UV sensor, a time keeping module, a temperature sensor, and a sunscreen reservoir; wherein said flexible band forming a closed loop to selectively conform around a wrist of a user; wherein said display having a touch-based display including a display of a current time from said time keeping module, a current temperature from said temperature sensor, and a UV exposure from said UV sensor; wherein said UV sensor detecting UV radiations emitting from the sun onto said sun exposure bracelet; wherein said detected UV radiations comprising said UV exposure; wherein said sunscreen reservoir disposed inside a portion of said flexible band having a quantity of sunscreen stored therein; and further wherein said sunscreen reservoir having a pivoting lid and a nozzle for dispensing said sunscreen.
With respect to dependent claim 2, Yapaola teaches in Fig. 1 wherein said sunscreen reservoir and said pivoting lid forming a portion of an exterior surface of said sun exposure bracelet.
With respect to dependent claim 3, Yapaola teaches in paragraph [0012] wherein said sunscreen reservoir is replenishable.
With respect to dependent claim 4, Sun is silent with wherein said flexible band having a material selected from a group consisting of a polymer and a rubber. Yapaola teaches in paragraph [0031] flexible plastic. In view of this, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Sun modified by Tsai, Yapaola, and Guerst in order to fabricate desired flexible wrist band with known material such as polymer or rubber. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: Obvious to try – choosing form a finite number of predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 5, as discussed above Tsai teaches wherein said UV exposure indicating sun exposure to the user.
With respect to dependent claim 6, Sun teaches in paragraph [0017] wherein said sun exposure bracelet having an alert for alerting the user when said UV exposure exceeds a predetermined threshold of UV exposure.
With respect to dependent claims 12 – 13, Sun teaches in paragraph [0028] wherein said UV sensor having a photodetector responsive to said UV radiations and wherein said UV sensor configured to generate an electrical signal proportional to an intensity of said UV radiations.
With respect to dependent claim 14, Sun teaches in paragraph [0029] wherein said electrical signal transmitted to a microprocessor for calculating a UV index including a numerical rating of the intensity of said UV radiations.
With respect to dependent claim 15, Sun teaches in Fig. 1A a wrist band, and therefore, teaches wherein said UV exposure indicating sun exposure to the user.
With respect to dependent claim 16, Sun teaches in paragraph [0005] wherein said sun exposure bracelet having an alert for alerting the user when said UV exposure exceeds a predetermined threshold of said UV index.
With respect to independent claim 19, as discussed above Sun modified by Tsai, Yapaola and Guerst teaches a sun exposure wrist bracelet for monitoring UV exposure, the sun exposure wrist bracelet comprising: a sun exposure bracelet for monitoring UV exposure having a flexible band, a display, a UV sensor, a time keeping module, a temperature sensor, and a sunscreen reservoir; wherein said flexible band forming a closed loop to selectively conform around a wrist of a wearer; wherein said display having a touch-based display including a display of a current time from said time keeping module, a current temperature from said temperature sensor, and a UV exposure from said UV sensor; wherein said UV sensor detecting UV radiations emitting from the sun onto said sun exposure bracelet; wherein said detected UV radiations comprising said UV exposure; wherein said sunscreen reservoir disposed inside a portion of said flexible band having a quantity of sunscreen stored therein; wherein said sunscreen reservoir having a nozzle for dispensing said sunscreen; wherein said UV sensor configured to generate an electrical signal proportional to an intensity of said UV radiations; wherein said electrical signal transmitted to a microprocessor for calculating a UV index including a numerical rating of the intensity of said UV radiations; and further wherein said sun exposure bracelet having an alert for alerting the wearer when said UV exposure exceeds a predetermined threshold of said UV index.
With respect to dependent claim 20, as discussed above Sun teaches wherein said UV sensor having a photodetector responsive to said UV radiations, and further wherein said UV exposure indicating sun exposure to the wearer.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun modified by Tsai, Yapaola, and Guerst, and further in view of Aslam (US 2012/0326046 A1).
The teaching of Sun modified by Tsai, Yapaola, and Guerst has been discussed above.
With respect to dependent claim 7, Sun is silent with wherein said sun exposure bracelet having a speaker and said alert is an audible alert.
Aslam, a pertinent art, teaches in paragraph [0055] audible alert if a predetermined exposure level has been exceeded. In view of this, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Sun modified by Tsai, Yapaola, and Guerst in order to have a desired function in the wrist sun exposure measuring system. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 17, as discussed above, Aslam teaches wherein said sun exposure bracelet having a speaker and said alert is an audible alert.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun modified by Tsai, Yapaola, Guerst, and Aslam, and further in view of Aslam2 (US 2015/0241273 A1).
The teaching of Sun modified by Tsai, Yapaola, and Guerst has been discussed above.
With respect to dependent claim 8, Sun is silent with wherein said alert is a visual alert on said display for alerting the user when said UV exposure exceeds said predetermined threshold of UV exposure.
Aslam2, a pertinent art, teaches in claim of 16 of Aslam2 a visual alarm. In view of this, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Sun modified by Tsai, Yapaola, Guerst, and Aslam in order to alert a user with a known alerting method. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 18, as discussed above Aslam2 teaches wherein said alert is a visual alert on said display for alerting the user when said UV exposure exceeds said predetermined threshold of said UV index.
Claim(s) 9 – 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun modified by Tsai, Yapaola, Guerst, Aslam, and Aslam2, and further in view of Lapiere (US 2016/0061657 A1).
The teaching of Sun modified by Tsai, Yapaola, Guerst, Aslam, and Aslam2 has been discussed above.
With respect to dependent claim 9, Sun is silent with wherein said sun exposure bracelet having a rechargeable battery and a charging port for charging said rechargeable battery and supplying power to said display.
Lapiere, a pertinent art, teaches a rechargeable battery 135 for a wrist band (see paragraph [0023]). In view of this, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Sun modified by Tsai, Yapaola, Guerst, Aslam, and Aslam2 in order to have desired power source in a wrist band system. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 10, Sun teaches wherein said touch-based display selected from a screen consisting of a capacitive touchscreen, an AMOLED touchscreen, an LCD touchscreen see paragraph [0035], and an E-ink display see paragraph [0035].
Conclusion
KIHO KIM, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/Kiho Kim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884