DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and the dependent claims thereof are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the passive" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because prior to "the passive" there is no limitation of "a passive".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin et al. (US 2022/0319759 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Jin”).
With respect to claim 1, Jin discloses, in Figs.1A-16, a power module, comprising: a first substrate (4), having a top surface and a bottom surface (see Par.[0058] wherein the basic power unit is disposed on the circuit board 4); a magnetic component disposed on the first substrate (4), wherein the magnetic component (2) comprises a primary winding (Np1) and a secondary winding (Ns1, Ns2) (see Par.[0038] wherein the first magnetic device 2 includes a magnetic core assembly 20, a primary winding Np1, a first secondary winding Ns1 and a second secondary winding Ns2); a primary side circuit (1) comprising a first plurality of power integrated circuits (ICs) (Q1, Q2), wherein the primary side circuit (1) is coupled across the primary winding (Np1), and wherein at least a part of the first plurality of power ICs (Q1, Q2) are disposed on the top surface of the first substrate (4); a secondary side circuit (3) comprising a second plurality of power ICs (S1, S2), wherein the secondary side circuit (3) is coupled across the secondary winding (Ns1, Ns2), and wherein at least a part of the second plurality of power ICs (S1, S2) are disposed on the top surface of the first substrate (4) (see Par.[0036] wherein the primary switching circuit 1 is a half-bridge circuit; the switch bridge arm includes a first switch Q1 and a second switch Q2 electrically connected in series; see Par.[0039]-[0040] wherein the first secondary rectifying circuit 3 includes a first rectifier assembly S1, a second rectifier assembly S2 and an output capacitor Co); and a heat spreader/(heat sink) disposed on the top surface of the first substrate, wherein the heat spreader covers the part of the first plurality of power ICs disposed on the top surface of the first substrate, the part of the second plurality of power ICs disposed on the top surface of the first substrate, and the part of the passive devices (Cr1, Cr2) disposed on the top surface of the first substrate; wherein the heat spreader is fixed on the first substrate through a structural adhesive/(thermal conductive base), and is in contact with top surfaces of the part of the first plurality of power ICs disposed on the first surface of the first substrate and top surfaces of the part of the second plurality of power ICs disposed on the first surface of the first substrate through a thermal conductive adhesive (see Par.[0066]-[0067] wherein the primary winding Np1 of the first magnetic device 2 and the primary winding Np1 of the second magnetic device 2a are serially connected between the midpoint A of the switch bridge arm and the midpoint B of the capacitor bridge arm; the second terminal of the first secondary winding Ns1 and the second terminal of the second secondary winding Ns2 are electrically connected with each other and collaboratively formed as a center-tap point; the center-tap point is electrically connected with the first terminal of the output capacitor Co; the first terminal of the first rectifier assembly S1 and the first terminal of the second rectifier assembly S2 of the second secondary rectifying circuit 3a are electrically connected with the second terminal of the output capacitor Co; see Par.[0065] wherein a heat dissipation device (e.g., a heat sink and/or a thermal conduction base) can be disposed on the top surface of the first switch Q1, the top surface of the second switch Q2, the top surface of the first rectifier element S11 of the first rectifier assembly S1, the top surface of the first rectifier element S21 of the second rectifier assembly S2 and the top surface of the first magnetic cover 21 more easily).
With respect to claim 3, Jin discloses, in Figs.1A-16, the power module, further comprising: a plurality of driver ICs, configured to provide driving voltages to the first plurality of power ICs and the second plurality of power ICs, wherein at least a part of the plurality of driver ICs are disposed on the top surface of the first substrate, and the part of the plurality of driver ICs disposed on the top surface of the first substrate are covered by the heat spreader (see Par.[0073] wherein the primary switch circuit 1 further includes a driver 10; the driver 10, the first switch Q1 and the second switch Q2 are sequentially arranged along the Y-axial direction of the circuit board 4, for example the driver 10 is arranged on the upper side of the first switch Q1 and the second switch Q2).
With respect to claim 4, Jin discloses, in Figs.1A-16, the power module, further comprising: a controller, configured to provide control signals to control the primary side circuit and the secondary side circuit (see Par.[0041] wherein the phase difference between the driving signal VQ1 for controlling the first switch Q1 and the driving signal VQ2 for controlling the first switch Q2 is 180 degrees; the duty cycle D of the driving signal VQ1 and the duty cycle D of the driving signal VQ2 are nearly equal. The driving signal VS1 for controlling the first rectifier assembly S1 is complementary to the driving signal VQ2. The driving signal VS2 for controlling the second rectifier assembly S2 is complementary to the driving signal VQ1; see Par.[0067] wherein the phase difference between the driving signal for controlling the first rectifier assembly S1 of the first secondary rectifying circuit 3 and the driving signal for controlling the first rectifier assembly S1 of the second secondary rectifying circuit 3a is 0 degree; the phase difference between the driving signal for controlling the second rectifier assembly S2 of the first secondary rectifying circuit 3 and the driving signal for controlling the second rectifier assembly S2 of the second secondary rectifying circuit 3a is 0 degree).
With respect to claim 5, Jin discloses, in Figs.1A-16, the power module, further comprising: a second substrate (22) having a top surface facing the first substrate (4) and a bottom surface opposite to the top surface of the second substrate; and a plurality of connectors disposed between the bottom surface of the first substrate and the top surface of the second substrate, wherein the plurality of connectors are configured to connect the first substrate and the second substrate and transmit electrical signals between the first substrates and the second substrate; wherein the controller is disposed on the top surface of the second substrate (see Fig.10C).
With respect to claim 6, Jin discloses, in Figs.1A-16, the power module, wherein: the first substrate further comprises at least two holes, and the heat spreader comprises at least two assembly terminals, each of the assembly terminals comprising an insertion portion and an exposed portion; wherein the insertion portion of each assembly terminal is inside the corresponding hole of the first substrate, and an outer surface of the insertion portion of each assembly terminal is in contact with inner walls of the corresponding hole through a structural adhesive; and wherein the exposed portion of each assembly terminal is outside the corresponding hole of the first substrate, and is in contact with the top surface of the first substrate (see Par.[0069] wherein the first terminal of the first secondary winding Ns1 of the second magnetic device 2a is disposed between the first magnetic leg 23 and the second magnetic leg 24; the second terminal of the first secondary winding Ns1 of the second magnetic device 2a is disposed between the third magnetic leg 25 and the fourth magnetic leg 26; the second terminal of the first secondary winding Ns1 of the second magnetic device 2a is electrically connected with the first terminal of the output capacitor Co).
With respect to claim 7, Jin discloses, in Figs.1A-16, the power module of claim 6, wherein: the heat spreader further comprises at least two contact terminals connected with the first substrate through the structural adhesive (see Par.[0069] wherein the first terminal of the first secondary winding Ns1 of the second magnetic device 2a is disposed between the first magnetic leg 23 and the second magnetic leg 24; the second terminal of the first secondary winding Ns1 of the second magnetic device 2a is disposed between the third magnetic leg 25 and the fourth magnetic leg 26; the second terminal of the first secondary winding Ns1 of the second magnetic device 2a is electrically connected with the first terminal of the output capacitor Co).
Claims 1, 3, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2021/0110958 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Liu”).
With respect to claim 1, Liu discloses, in Figs.1A-17, a power module, comprising: a first substrate (21), having a top surface and a bottom surface (see Par.[0075] wherein a plurality of groups of magnetic components 10 over a plastic base cover 21); a magnetic component (Tx, Lr) disposed on the first substrate (21), wherein the magnetic component (Tx, Lr) comprises a primary winding (Lr) and a secondary winding (Tx); a primary side circuit comprising a first plurality of power integrated circuits (ICs)/(left power flow devices), wherein the primary side circuit is coupled across the primary winding (Lr), and wherein at least a part of the first plurality of power ICs are disposed on the top surface of the first substrate (21); a secondary side circuit comprising a second plurality of power ICs/(right power flow devices), wherein the secondary side circuit is coupled across the secondary winding (Tx), and wherein at least a part of the second plurality of power ICs are disposed on the top surface of the first substrate (21) (see Par.[0086] wherein FIG. 5 is an application circuit diagram of a magnetic component according to Embodiment 1, where the circuit may be LLC or Boost LC or etc; take a uni-directional converter LLC as an example, the power flow flows from left to right, an input voltage is typically 400V or 800V, and an output voltage is in a range of 270-480V or even wider; take a bidirectional converter Boost LC as an example, the power flow can flow in both ways; the voltage on one side is typically 400V or 800V, and the voltage on the other side is in a range of 270-480V or even wider; where the magnetic component includes resonant inductor L.sub.r and transformer T.sub.x in a converter resonant tank (including C.sub.r1, (C.sub.r2), L.sub.r, T.sub.x), or the magnetic component can simply be the transformer T.sub.x or the resonant inductor L.sub.r); and a heat spreader (13) disposed on the top surface of the first substrate (21), wherein the heat spreader (13) covers the part of the first plurality of power ICs disposed on the top surface of the first substrate (21), the part of the second plurality of power ICs disposed on the top surface of the first substrate (21), and the part of the passive devices disposed on the top surface of the first substrate (21); wherein the heat spreader (13) is fixed on the first substrate (21) through a structural adhesive, and is in contact with top surfaces of the part of the first plurality of power ICs disposed on the first surface of the first substrate and top surfaces of the part of the second plurality of power ICs disposed on the first surface of the first substrate through a thermal conductive adhesive (see Fig.6, Par.[0073]-[0086] wherein in the magnetic component provided by the present disclosure, the first heat sink 13 may be in direct contact with the first coil 121, the second coil 122 and the magnetic core 11, or the first heat sink 13 may also can be in indirect contact with the first coil 121, the second coil 122 and the magnetic core 11 through a thermally conductive adhesive or other materials with high heat conductivities).
With respect to claim 3, Liu discloses, in Figs.1A-17, the power module, further comprising: a plurality of driver ICs, configured to provide driving voltages to the first plurality of power ICs and the second plurality of power ICs, wherein at least a part of the plurality of driver ICs are disposed on the top surface of the first substrate, and the part of the plurality of driver ICs disposed on the top surface of the first substrate are covered by the heat spreader (see Figs.2-6).
With respect to claim 6, Liu discloses, in Figs.1A-17, the power module, wherein: the first substrate further comprises at least two holes, and the heat spreader comprises at least two assembly terminals, each of the assembly terminals comprising an insertion portion and an exposed portion; wherein the insertion portion of each assembly terminal is inside the corresponding hole of the first substrate, and an outer surface of the insertion portion of each assembly terminal is in contact with inner walls of the corresponding hole through a structural adhesive; and wherein the exposed portion of each assembly terminal is outside the corresponding hole of the first substrate, and is in contact with the top surface of the first substrate (see Fig.6).
With respect to claim 7, Liu discloses, in Figs.1A-17, the power module, wherein: the heat spreader further comprises at least two contact terminals connected with the first substrate through the structural adhesive (see Fig.6, Par.[0073]-[0086] wherein in the magnetic component provided by the present disclosure, the first heat sink 13 may be in direct contact with the first coil 121, the second coil 122 and the magnetic core 11, or the first heat sink 13 may also can be in indirect contact with the first coil 121, the second coil 122 and the magnetic core 11 through a thermally conductive adhesive or other materials with high heat conductivities).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9-11, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu.
With respect to claim 2, Liu discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1. Moreover, Liu discloses, in Figs.1A-17, the power module, wherein the magnetic component (11) is exposed on the first substrate (21), and is placed beside the heat spreader (13), and wherein a difference between a height measured from a topmost surface of the magnetic component (11) to the top surface of the first substrate and a height measured from a topmost surface of the heat spreader (13) to the top surface of the first substrate is of specific thickness.
Even though Liu does not disclose a difference height range within 300 µm, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice such as size of package and overall heat generated by power device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 9, Liu discloses, in Figs.1A-17, a power module, comprising: a substrate (21), having a top surface and a bottom surface (see Par.[0075] wherein a plurality of groups of magnetic components 10 over a plastic base cover 21); a magnetic component (Tx Lr) disposed on the substrate (21); a plurality of power integrated circuits (ICs), wherein at least a part of the plurality of power ICs are disposed on the top surface of the substrate; and a heat spreader disposed on the top surface of the substrate, wherein the heat spreader covers top surfaces of the part of the plurality of power ICs disposed on the top surface of the substrate (see Par.[0086] wherein FIG. 5 is an application circuit diagram of a magnetic component according to Embodiment 1, where the circuit may be LLC or Boost LC or etc; take a uni-directional converter LLC as an example, the power flow flows from left to right, an input voltage is typically 400V or 800V, and an output voltage is in a range of 270-480V or even wider; take a bidirectional converter Boost LC as an example, the power flow can flow in both ways; the voltage on one side is typically 400V or 800V, and the voltage on the other side is in a range of 270-480V or even wider; where the magnetic component includes resonant inductor L.sub.r and transformer T.sub.x in a converter resonant tank (including C.sub.r1, (C.sub.r2), L.sub.r, T.sub.x), or the magnetic component can simply be the transformer T.sub.x or the resonant inductor L.sub.r); wherein the heat spreader is fixed on the substrate through a structural adhesive, and is in contact with the top surfaces of the part of the plurality of power ICs disposed on the top surface of the substrate through a thermal conductive adhesive; and wherein a difference between a height measured from a topmost surface of the magnetic component to the top surface of the substrate and a height measured from a topmost surface of the heat spreader to the top surface of the substrate (see Fig.6, Par.[0073]-[0086] wherein in the magnetic component provided by the present disclosure, the first heat sink 13 may be in direct contact with the first coil 121, the second coil 122 and the magnetic core 11, or the first heat sink 13 may also can be in indirect contact with the first coil 121, the second coil 122 and the magnetic core 11 through a thermally conductive adhesive or other materials with high heat conductivities).
Even though Liu does not disclose a difference height range within 300 µm, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice such as size of package and overall heat generated by power device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 10, Liu discloses, in Figs.1A-17, the power module, wherein: the substrate further comprises at least two holes, and the heat spreader comprises at least two assembly terminals, each of the two assembly terminals comprising an insertion portion and an exposed portion; wherein the insertion portion of each assembly terminal is inside the corresponding hole of the substrate, and an outer surface of the insertion portion of each assembly terminal is in contact with inner walls of the corresponding hole through a structural adhesive; and wherein the exposed portion of each assembly terminal is outside the corresponding hole of the substrate, and is in contact with the top surface of the substrate (see Fig.6).
With respect to claim 11, Liu discloses, in Figs.1A-17, the power module, wherein: the heat spreader further comprises at least two contact terminals connected with the substrate through the structural adhesive (see Fig.6, Par.[0073]-[0086] wherein in the magnetic component provided by the present disclosure, the first heat sink 13 may be in direct contact with the first coil 121, the second coil 122 and the magnetic core 11, or the first heat sink 13 may also can be in indirect contact with the first coil 121, the second coil 122 and the magnetic core 11 through a thermally conductive adhesive or other materials with high heat conductivities).
With respect to claim 15, Liu discloses, in Figs.1A-17, the power module, wherein the magnetic component comprises a primary winding and a secondary winding, the power module further comprising: a primary side circuit to receive an input voltage, comprising a first part of the plurality of power ICs, wherein the primary side circuit is coupled across the primary winding; and a secondary side circuit to provide an output voltage, comprising a second part of the plurality of power ICs, wherein the secondary side circuit is coupled across the secondary winding (Figs.2-6).
With respect to claim 16, Liu discloses, in Figs.1A-17, an assembly method of a power module, comprising: disposing a magnetic component (Tx, Lr) on a substrate, wherein the substrate comprises a top surface and a bottom surface; disposing a plurality of power ICs on the top surface of the substrate; mounting a heat spreader on the top surface of the substrate through a structural adhesive; and making the heat spreader in contact with top surfaces of the plurality of power ICs through a thermal conductive adhesive (see Par.[0075] wherein a plurality of groups of magnetic components 10 over a plastic base cover 21; see Par.[0086] wherein FIG. 5 is an application circuit diagram of a magnetic component according to Embodiment 1, where the circuit may be LLC or Boost LC or etc; take a uni-directional converter LLC as an example, the power flow flows from left to right, an input voltage is typically 400V or 800V, and an output voltage is in a range of 270-480V or even wider; take a bidirectional converter Boost LC as an example, the power flow can flow in both ways; the voltage on one side is typically 400V or 800V, and the voltage on the other side is in a range of 270-480V or even wider; where the magnetic component includes resonant inductor L.sub.r and transformer T.sub.x in a converter resonant tank (including C.sub.r1, (C.sub.r2), L.sub.r, T.sub.x), or the magnetic component can simply be the transformer T.sub.x or the resonant inductor L.sub.r); wherein the heat spreader covers the top surfaces of the plurality of power ICs; and wherein a difference between a height measured from a topmost surface of the magnetic component to the top surface of the substrate and a height measured from a topmost surface of the heat spreader to the top surface of the substrate (see Fig.6, Par.[0073]-[0086] wherein in the magnetic component provided by the present disclosure, the first heat sink 13 may be in direct contact with the first coil 121, the second coil 122 and the magnetic core 11, or the first heat sink 13 may also can be in indirect contact with the first coil 121, the second coil 122 and the magnetic core 11 through a thermally conductive adhesive or other materials with high heat conductivities).
Even though Liu does not disclose a difference height range within 300 µm, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice such as size of package and overall heat generated by power device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 17, Liu discloses, in Figs.1A-17, the assembly method, wherein the heat spreader comprises at least two assembly terminals, each of the two assembly terminals comprising an insertion portion and an exposed portion, and wherein mounting the heat spreader on the top surface of the substrate through the structural adhesive comprises: putting the structural adhesive in at least two holes of the substrate; putting the thermal conductive adhesive on the top surfaces of the plurality of power ICs; squeezing the structural adhesive in the at least two holes by inserting the insertion portion of each assembly terminal into the corresponding hole to fill a space between the insertion portion of each assembly terminal and the corresponding hole with the structural adhesive; and placing the exposed portions of the at least two assembly terminals out of the at least two holes to make the exposed portions in contact with the top surface of the substrate (see Fig.2).
With respect to claim 18, Liu discloses, in Figs.1A-17, the assembly method, further comprising: connecting at least two contact terminals of the heat spreader with the top surface of the substrate through the structural adhesive (see Fig.6, Par.[0073]-[0086] wherein in the magnetic component provided by the present disclosure, the first heat sink 13 may be in direct contact with the first coil 121, the second coil 122 and the magnetic core 11, or the first heat sink 13 may also can be in indirect contact with the first coil 121, the second coil 122 and the magnetic core 11 through a thermally conductive adhesive or other materials with high heat conductivities).
Claims 2, 8-16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin in in view of Kinoshita et al. (US 2024/0120252 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Kinoshita”).
With respect to claim 2, Jin discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1. However, Jin does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 2.
Kinoshita discloses, in Figs.1-9, the power module, wherein the magnetic component is exposed on the first substrate (SUB1), and is placed beside the heat spreader (LID), and wherein a difference between a height measured from a topmost surface of the magnetic component (CP1) to the top surface of the first substrate and a height measured from a topmost surface of the heat spreader to the top surface of the first substrate is within 50µm (see fig.5, Par.[0058] wherein the heat dissipation efficiency in the heat dissipation path through the adhesive layer BND1 is inversely proportional to the thickness T1 of the adhesive layer BND1; therefore, the thickness T1 is preferably thinner, for example, 50µm).
Even though Jin does not disclose a difference height range within 300 µm, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice such as size of package and overall heat generated by power device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Jin and Kinoshita are analogous art because they are all directed to a semiconductor device package, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Jin to include Kinoshita because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify heat sink of Jin by including heat sink and adhesive with gap between heat sink and device as taught by Koshita in order to utilize the heat sink structure to facilitate the heat dissipation of device thereby mitigate the overheating problem of the device.
With respect to claim 8, Kinoshita discloses, in Figs.1-9, the power module, wherein the structural adhesive comprises an epoxy resin adhesive, and the thermal conductive adhesive comprises an adhesive with alumina particles (see Par.[0055] wherein as shown in FIG. 5, the adhesive layer BND1 includes a plurality of fillers F1 included in a resin R1 having an adhesive function. FIG. 5 is an enlarged cross-sectional view showing around an adhesive layer bonded to the heat sink shown in FIG. 4; the filler F1 includes, for example, an alumina filler that is a metallic oxide; the alumina filler is an insulating material having a higher thermal conductivity than that of the adhesive layer BND1).
With respect to claim 9, Jin discloses, in Figs.1A-16, a power module, comprising: a substrate (4), having a top surface and a bottom surface (see Par.[0058] wherein the basic power unit is disposed on the circuit board 4); a magnetic component (2) disposed on the substrate; a plurality of power integrated circuits (ICs), wherein at least a part of the plurality of power ICs are disposed on the top surface of the substrate; and a heat spreader disposed on the top surface of the substrate, wherein the heat spreader covers top surfaces of the part of the plurality of power ICs disposed on the top surface of the substrate (see Par.[0038] wherein the first magnetic device 2 includes a magnetic core assembly 20, a primary winding Np1, a first secondary winding Ns1 and a second secondary winding Ns2; see Par.[0036] wherein the primary switching circuit 1 is a half-bridge circuit; the switch bridge arm includes a first switch Q1 and a second switch Q2 electrically connected in series; see Par.[0039]-[0040] wherein the first secondary rectifying circuit 3 includes a first rectifier assembly S1, a second rectifier assembly S2 and an output capacitor Co); wherein the heat spreader is fixed on the substrate through a structural adhesive, and is in contact with the top surfaces of the part of the plurality of power ICs disposed on the top surface of the substrate through a thermal conductive adhesive (see Par.[0065] wherein a heat dissipation device (e.g., a heat sink and/or a thermal conduction base) can be disposed on the top surface of the first switch Q1, the top surface of the second switch Q2, the top surface of the first rectifier element S11 of the first rectifier assembly S1, the top surface of the first rectifier element S21 of the second rectifier assembly S2 and the top surface of the first magnetic cover 21 more easily). However, Jin does not explicitly disclose wherein a difference between a height measured from a topmost surface of the magnetic component to the top surface of the substrate and a height measured from a topmost surface of the heat spreader to the top surface of the substrate is within 300um.
Kinoshita discloses, in Figs.1-9, the power module, wherein the magnetic component is exposed on the first substrate (SUB1), and is placed beside the heat spreader (LID), and wherein a difference between a height measured from a topmost surface of the magnetic component (CP1) to the top surface of the first substrate and a height measured from a topmost surface of the heat spreader to the top surface of the first substrate is within 50µm (see fig.5, Par.[0058] wherein the heat dissipation efficiency in the heat dissipation path through the adhesive layer BND1 is inversely proportional to the thickness T1 of the adhesive layer BND1; therefore, the thickness T1 is preferably thinner, for example, 50µm).
Even though Jin does not disclose a difference height range within 300 µm, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice such as size of package and overall heat generated by power device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Jin and Kinoshita are analogous art because they are all directed to a semiconductor device package, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Jin to include Kinoshita because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify heat sink of Jin by including heat sink and adhesive with gap between heat sink and device as taught by Koshita in order to utilize the heat sink structure to facilitate the heat dissipation of device thereby mitigate the overheating problem of the device.
With respect to claim 10, Jin discloses, in Figs.1A-16, the power module, wherein: the substrate further comprises at least two holes, and the heat spreader comprises at least two assembly terminals, each of the two assembly terminals comprising an insertion portion and an exposed portion; wherein the insertion portion of each assembly terminal is inside the corresponding hole of the substrate, and an outer surface of the insertion portion of each assembly terminal is in contact with inner walls of the corresponding hole through a structural adhesive; and wherein the exposed portion of each assembly terminal is outside the corresponding hole of the substrate, and is in contact with the top surface of the substrate (see Par.[0069] wherein the first terminal of the first secondary winding Ns1 of the second magnetic device 2a is disposed between the first magnetic leg 23 and the second magnetic leg 24; the second terminal of the first secondary winding Ns1 of the second magnetic device 2a is disposed between the third magnetic leg 25 and the fourth magnetic leg 26; the second terminal of the first secondary winding Ns1 of the second magnetic device 2a is electrically connected with the first terminal of the output capacitor Co).
With respect to claim 11, Jin discloses, in Figs.1A-16, the power module, wherein: the heat spreader further comprises at least two contact terminals connected with the substrate through the structural adhesive (see Par.[0065] wherein a heat dissipation device (e.g., a heat sink and/or a thermal conduction base) can be disposed on the top surface of the first switch Q1, the top surface of the second switch Q2, the top surface of the first rectifier element S11 of the first rectifier assembly S1, the top surface of the first rectifier element S21 of the second rectifier assembly S2 and the top surface of the first magnetic cover 21 more easily).
With respect to claim 11, Kinoshita discloses, in Figs.1-9, the power module, wherein: the heat spreader further comprises at least two contact terminals connected with the substrate through the structural adhesive (see Par.[0055] wherein as shown in FIG. 5, the adhesive layer BND1 includes a plurality of fillers F1 included in a resin R1 having an adhesive function. FIG. 5 is an enlarged cross-sectional view showing around an adhesive layer bonded to the heat sink shown in FIG. 4; the filler F1 includes, for example, an alumina filler that is a metallic oxide; the alumina filler is an insulating material having a higher thermal conductivity than that of the adhesive layer BND1).
With respect to claim 12, Kinoshita discloses, in Figs.1-9, the power module, wherein the structural adhesive comprises an epoxy resin adhesive, and the thermal conductive adhesive comprises an adhesive with alumina particles (see Par.[0055] wherein as shown in FIG. 5, the adhesive layer BND1 includes a plurality of fillers F1 included in a resin R1 having an adhesive function. FIG. 5 is an enlarged cross-sectional view showing around an adhesive layer bonded to the heat sink shown in FIG. 4; the filler F1 includes, for example, an alumina filler that is a metallic oxide; the alumina filler is an insulating material having a higher thermal conductivity than that of the adhesive layer BND1).
With respect to claim 13, Jin discloses, in Figs.1A-16, the power module, wherein the substrate comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) (see Par.[0058] wherein the basic power unit is disposed on the circuit board 4).
With respect to claim 14, Jin discloses, in Figs.1A-16, the power module, wherein the plurality of power ICs comprises a plurality of metal oxide semiconductor field transistors (MOSFETs) (see Par.[0052] wherein the power module of claim 9, wherein the plurality of power ICs comprises a plurality of metal oxide semiconductor field transistors (MOSFETs)).
With respect to claim 15, Jin discloses, in Figs.1A-16, the power module, wherein the magnetic component comprises a primary winding and a secondary winding, the power module further comprising: a primary side circuit to receive an input voltage, comprising a first part of the plurality of power ICs, wherein the primary side circuit is coupled across the primary winding; and a secondary side circuit to provide an output voltage, comprising a second part of the plurality of power ICs, wherein the secondary side circuit is coupled across the secondary winding (see Par.[0036] wherein the primary switching circuit 1 is a half-bridge circuit; the switch bridge arm includes a first switch Q1 and a second switch Q2 electrically connected in series; see Par.[0039]-[0040] wherein the first secondary rectifying circuit 3 includes a first rectifier assembly S1, a second rectifier assembly S2 and an output capacitor Co).
With respect to claim 16, Jin discloses, in Figs.1A-16, an assembly method of a power module, comprising: disposing a magnetic component (2) on a substrate (4), wherein the substrate comprises a top surface and a bottom surface (see Par.[0058] wherein the basic power unit is disposed on the circuit board 4; see Par.[0038] wherein the first magnetic device 2 includes a magnetic core assembly 20, a primary winding Np1, a first secondary winding Ns1 and a second secondary winding Ns2; the first terminal of the primary winding Np1 is electrically connected with the midpoint A of the switch bridge arm); disposing a plurality of power ICs (Q1, Q2) on the top surface of the substrate (4) (see Par.[0041] wherein the phase difference between the driving signal VQ1 for controlling the first switch Q1 and the driving signal VQ2 for controlling the first switch Q2 is 180 degrees; the duty cycle D of the driving signal VQ1 and the duty cycle D of the driving signal VQ2 are nearly equal); mounting a heat spreader on the top surface of the substrate through a structural adhesive; and making the heat spreader in contact with top surfaces of the plurality of power ICs through a thermal conductive adhesive; wherein the heat spreader covers the top surfaces of the plurality of power ICs(see Par.[0065] wherein a heat dissipation device (e.g., a heat sink and/or a thermal conduction base) can be disposed on the top surface of the first switch Q1, the top surface of the second switch Q2, the top surface of the first rectifier element S11 of the first rectifier assembly S1, the top surface of the first rectifier element S21 of the second rectifier assembly S2 and the top surface of the first magnetic cover 21 more easily). However, Jin does not explicitly disclose wherein a difference between a height measured from a topmost surface of the magnetic component to the top surface of the substrate and a height measured from a topmost surface of the heat spreader to the top surface of the substrate is within 300um.
Kinoshita discloses, in Figs.1-9, the power module, wherein the magnetic component is exposed on the first substrate (SUB1), and is placed beside the heat spreader (LID), and wherein a difference between a height measured from a topmost surface of the magnetic component (CP1) to the top surface of the first substrate and a height measured from a topmost surface of the heat spreader to the top surface of the first substrate is within 50µm (see fig.5, Par.[0058] wherein the heat dissipation efficiency in the heat dissipation path through the adhesive layer BND1 is inversely proportional to the thickness T1 of the adhesive layer BND1; therefore, the thickness T1 is preferably thinner, for example, 50µm).
Even though Jin does not disclose a difference height range within 300 µm, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice such as size of package and overall heat generated by power device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Jin and Kinoshita are analogous art because they are all directed to a semiconductor device package, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Jin to include Kinoshita because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify heat sink of Jin by including heat sink and adhesive with gap between heat sink and device as taught by Koshita in order to utilize the heat sink structure to facilitate the heat dissipation of device thereby mitigate the overheating problem of the device.
With respect to claim 18, Jin discloses, in Figs.1A-16, the assembly method, further comprising: connecting at least two contact terminals of the heat spreader with the top surface of the substrate through the structural adhesive (see Fig.6A).
With respect to claim 19, Kinoshita discloses, in Figs.1-9, the power module, wherein the structural adhesive comprises an epoxy resin adhesive, and the thermal conductive adhesive comprises an adhesive with alumina particles (see Par.[0055] wherein as shown in FIG. 5, the adhesive layer BND1 includes a plurality of fillers F1 included in a resin R1 having an adhesive function. FIG. 5 is an enlarged cross-sectional view showing around an adhesive layer bonded to the heat sink shown in FIG. 4; the filler F1 includes, for example, an alumina filler that is a metallic oxide; the alumina filler is an insulating material having a higher thermal conductivity than that of the adhesive layer BND1).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record (e.g.; see PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner’s Telephone/Fax Contacts
/Mouloucoulaye Inoussa/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818