DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 – 7, 9 – 10, 15 and 17 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onuki et al. (US 2020/0402577).
(Claim 1) Onuki et al. teach a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate (fig. 28 #231);
a buffer layer (511, paragraph 430) located on the substrate;
a first thin-film transistor (paragraph 353) located on the buffer layer, the first thin-film transistor comprising a first semiconductor layer (530) and a first gate electrode (560) insulated from the first semiconductor layer,
the first semiconductor layer (530) comprising an oxide semiconductor (paragraph 46); and
a first inorganic insulating layer (550) located between the first semiconductor layer (530) and the first gate electrode (505),
wherein a hydrogen (H2) emission amount of the first inorganic insulating layer is at least 1 x 10E19 mole/cm3 (paragraph 359).
(Claim 2) Onuki et al. teach wherein a nitrogen oxide (NOx) emission amount of the first inorganic insulating layer is no higher than 1 x 10E19 mole/cm3 (paragraph 365).
(Claim 4) Onuki et al. teach wherein the first inorganic insulating layer comprises silicon oxide (SiOx, paragraph 357).
(Claim 5) Onuki et al. teach wherein a hydrogen (H2) emission amount of the buffer layer is at least 3 x 10E19 mole/cm3 (paragraph 359).
(Claim 6) Onuki et al. teach wherein a hydrogen (H2) concentration in the buffer layer is no higher than 8 x 10E20 atom/cm3 (paragraph 35).
(Claim 7) Onuki et al. teach wherein the buffer layer comprises one of silicon oxide (SiOx) and silicon nitride (SiNx) (paragraph 357).
(Claim 9) Onuki et al. teach wherein the first semiconductor layer comprises at least one of indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), indium tin gallium oxide (ITGO), indium tin gallium zinc oxide (ITGZO), indium tin oxide (ITO), indium gallium oxide (IGO), and indium zinc oxide (IZO) (paragraph 387).
(Claim 10) a method of manufacturing a display apparatus, the method comprising:
forming a buffer layer (511, paragraph 430) on a substrate;
forming, on the buffer layer, a first semiconductor layer (530) comprising an oxide semiconductor;
forming a first inorganic insulating layer (550) on the first semiconductor layer; and
forming a first gate electrode (560) on the first inorganic insulating layer (550) to form a first thin-film transistor comprising the first semiconductor layer and the first gate electrode insulated from the first semiconductor layer,
wherein a hydrogen (H2) emission amount of the first inorganic insulating layer is at least 1 x 10E19 mole/cm3 (paragraph 357).
(Claim 15) Onuki et al. teach wherein the forming of the first semiconductor layer comprising the oxide semiconductor comprises performing a sputtering process (paragraphs 385 – 386),
wherein defects of a lower buffer layer due to plasma damage in the sputtering process are no higher than 8x 10E14 spins/cm2 (paragraphs 361 – 363; note the units cm2 to cm3).
(Claim 17) Onuki et al. teach wherein a nitrogen oxide (NOx) emission amount of the first inorganic insulating layer is no higher than 1 x 1019 mole/cm3 (paragraph 365).
(Claim 18) Onuki et al. teach wherein a hydrogen (H2) emission amount of the first inorganic insulating layer is at least 1 x 10E19 mole/cm3 (paragraph 359).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuki et al. (US 2020/0402577) in view of Ito et al. (US 2016/0329434).
(Claim 8) Onuki et al. lack wherein a thickness of the first semiconductor layer ranges from about 20 Å to about 400 Å.
However, Ito et al. teach wherein a thickness of the first semiconductor layer (fig. 1B #122) ranges from about 20 Å to about 400 Å (paragraph 270) for the benefit of stabilizing the electrical characteristics of a transistor (paragraph 269).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the references for the benefit of stabilizing the electrical characteristics of a transistor.
(Claim 20) Onuki et al. lack wherein a thickness of the first semiconductor layer ranges from about 20 Å to about 400 Å.
However, Ito et al. teach wherein a thickness of the first semiconductor layer (fig. 1B #122) ranges from about 20 Å to about 400 Å (paragraph 270) for the benefit of stabilizing the electrical characteristics of a transistor (paragraph 269).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the references for the benefit of stabilizing the electrical characteristics of a transistor.
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuki et al. (US 2020/0402577) in view of Na et al. (US 2018/0061868)
(Claim 3) Onuki et al. lack wherein a thickness of the first inorganic insulating layer ranges from about 1000 Å to about 2000 Å.
However, Na et al. teach wherein a thickness of the first inorganic insulating layer (fig. 2 #213) ranges from about 1000 Å to about 2000 Å for the benefit of functioning as a gate insulating layer (paragraph 95).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the references for the benefit of functioning as a gate insulating layer.
(Claim 19) Onuki et al. lack wherein a thickness of the first inorganic insulating layer ranges from about 1000 Å to about 2000 Å.
However, Na et al. teach wherein a thickness of the first inorganic insulating layer (fig. 2 #213) ranges from about 1000 Å to about 2000 Å for the benefit of functioning as a gate insulating layer (paragraph 95).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the references for the benefit of functioning as a gate insulating layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 – 14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in PTO – 892 Form.
Contact Information
/IGWE U ANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891
March 27, 2026