DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 07/16/2026, addressing rejection of claims 11-15 and 17 from the non-final office action (04/22/2026), by amending claims 12-13 and 15, cancelling claim 17, and adding new claim 21 is entered and will be addressed below.
Claim Interpretations
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “a gas distribution unit” in claims 1, 11, and 18, Fig. 2 shows the gas distribution unit 520 is a showerhead like structure, and will be consider a showerhead or the equivalent therefore.
The “a gas supply unit” in claims 1, 11, and 18, Fig. 2 shows the gas supply unit is a gas source, and will be consider a gas supply or the equivalent therefore.
The “a first power supply unit” in claims 1 and 18 and the “a power supply unit” of claim 11, Fig. 2 shows the first power supply unit 540 as a power supply source, and will be consider a power supply or the equivalent therefore.
The “a second power supply unit” in claim 1, Fig. 2 shows the second power supply unit 550 as a power supply source, and will be consider a power supply or the equivalent therefore.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the insulator further comprises a seal band at a corner of the second surface, and configured to support an edge of the substrate”, it is not clear where is a corner of a circular mounting table that supports a wafer.
Claim 5 will be examined inclusive “wherein the insulator further comprises a seal band at a periphery of the second surface, and configured to support an edge of the substrate”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khaja et al. (KR 1020210013762, from IDS, US 20190393072 is cited as English translation, hereafter ‘762), in view of Shanbhag et al. (US 20190185999, hereafter ’999), Cooke et al. (US 20160336210, hereafter ‘210).
‘762 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: FIG. 1 is an exemplary processing chamber 100 having a substrate support 140 therein ([0014], includes the claimed “A substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a mounting table”), The substrate support 200 may be used as the substrate support 140 of FIG. 1. The substrate support 200 has a body 202. The body 202 is made from a dielectric material, such as a ceramic like aluminum oxide, or aluminum nitride ([0017]), The body 202 has a substrate chucking surface 212 … The substrate supporting features 214 extend upwardly from a surface of the recess 218 to define an interior region 222 of the substrate chucking surface 212 ([0018], including the claimed “including an insulator having a loading surface on which a substrate is loaded, the loading surface including protrusions”);
A temperature control device 208 may be disposed within the body 202 to heat or cool the substrate support 200 to a desired temperature. In one example, the temperature control device 208 is a resistive heater … An electrode 206 is also disposed within the body 202 ([0017], includes the clamed “an electrode and a heater embedded in the insulator”);
A seasoning layer 400 is formed on the surface of the substrate supporting features 214. The seasoning layer 400 may be conformally formed on the exposed surface of the substrate supporting features 214 … Suitable material may include, but is not limited to, silicon, silicon nitride, silicon oxide, carbon doped silicon oxide (SiOC), silicon carbide (SiC), nitrogen containing silicon carbide (SiCN), aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride ([0025], includes the claimed “a dielectric layer covering the loading surface”);
A process gas inlet 114 may be formed though the lid 102 for providing a process gas from a gas source 116 into the processing volume 112 ([0014], 3rd sentence, includes the claimed “a gas distribution unit facing the mounting table; a gas supply unit configured to supply process gas through the gas distribution unit”);
The electrode 206 is coupled to a power source (such as power source 108 in FIG. 1) which provides an electric charge thereto to chuck a substrate to the substrate support 200 ([0017], 2nd last sentence, includes the claimed “a first power supply unit configured to apply a first voltage to the electrode” and the resistive heater intrinsically requires a power source, includes the claimed “and a second power supply unit configured to apply a second voltage to the heater”),
the seasoning layer 400 is a bi-layer stack including silicon oxide and silicon nitride, which can be arranged in any order ([0026], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the dielectric layer includes a lower material layer, an intermediate material layer, sequentially stacked on the loading surface” and “the intermediate material layer has a third dielectric constant, greater than a first dielectric constant of the lower material layer”).
Claim 18: FIG. 1 is an exemplary processing chamber 100 having a substrate support 140 therein ([0014], includes the claimed “A substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a mounting table”), The substrate support 200 may be used as the substrate support 140 of FIG. 1. The substrate support 200 has a body 202. The body 202 is made from a dielectric material, such as a ceramic like aluminum oxide, or aluminum nitride ([0017]), The body 202 has a substrate chucking surface 212 … The substrate supporting features 214 extend upwardly from a surface of the recess 218 to define an interior region 222 of the substrate chucking surface 212 ([0018], including the claimed “including an insulator having a loading surface on which a substrate is loaded”);
A temperature control device 208 may be disposed within the body 202 to heat or cool the substrate support 200 to a desired temperature. In one example, the temperature control device 208 is a resistive heater … An electrode 206 is also disposed within the body 202 ([0017], includes the clamed “an electrode and a heater embedded in the insulator”);
A seasoning layer 400 is formed on the surface of the substrate supporting features 214 … Suitable material may include, but is not limited to, silicon, silicon nitride, silicon oxide, carbon doped silicon oxide (SiOC), silicon carbide (SiC), nitrogen containing silicon carbide (SiCN), aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride ([0025], includes the claimed “a dielectric layer covering the loading surface”);
A process gas inlet 114 may be formed though the lid 102 for providing a process gas from a gas source 116 into the processing volume 112 ([0014], 3rd sentence, includes the claimed “a gas distribution unit facing the mounting table; a gas supply unit configured to supply process gas through the gas distribution unit”);
The electrode 206 is coupled to a power source (such as power source 108 in FIG. 1) which provides an electric charge thereto to chuck a substrate to the substrate support 200 ([0017], 2nd last sentence, includes the claimed “a first power supply unit configured to apply a first voltage to the electrode” and the resistive heater intrinsically requires a power source, includes the claimed “and a second power supply unit configured to apply a second voltage to the heater”),
the seasoning layer 400 is a bi-layer stack including silicon oxide and silicon nitride, which can be arranged in any order ([0026], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the dielectric layer includes a lower material layer, an intermediate material layer, sequentially stacked on the loading surface”).
‘762 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (1A) (a gas distribution unit) including injection holes (facing the mounting table),
(1B) (wherein the dielectric layer includes a lower material layer, an intermediate material layer), and an upper material layer, (sequentially stacked on the loading surface),
(1C) the intermediate material layer has a third thickness, greater than each of a first thickness of the lower material layer and a second thickness of the upper material layer, and
(1D) (the intermediate material layer has a third dielectric constant, greater than each of a first dielectric constant of the lower material layer) and a second dielectric constant of the upper material layer.
Claim 18: (18A) (a gas distribution unit) including injection holes (facing the mounting table),
(18B) (wherein the dielectric layer includes a lower material layer, an intermediate material layer), and an upper material layer, (sequentially stacked on the loading surface),
(18C) a thickness of the intermediate material layer is greater than a thickness of the lower material layer and a thickness of the upper material layer, and
(18D) hardness of the intermediate material layer is greater than hardness of the upper material layer.
‘999 is analogous art in the field of EX SITU COATING OF CHAMBER COMPONENTS FOR SEMICONDUCTOR PROCESSING (title), protective coating may help reduce contamination on wafers processed using the coated chamber component (abstract), The surface dielectric layer can fulfill the function of at least one of: (1) high strength dielectric barrier, (2) dielectric layer with inherently low metals contamination and low particle source, (3) a plasma etch resistant surface, (4) an abrasion resistant surface ([0012], last sentence), The protective coating may form without exposing the chamber component to plasma in certain cases. In other cases, the protective coating forms as a result of exposure to plasma ([0012]). ‘999 teaches that Process station 700 fluidly communicates with reactant delivery system 701 for delivering process gases to a distribution showerhead 706 (Fig. 7, [0129]), a protective coating may include a bilayer or trilayer comprising two or three sub-layers, respectively … the sub-layers may have different thicknesses ([0065]), it is believed that aluminum oxide (Al2O3), aluminum nitride (AlN), aluminum fluoride (AlF3), aluminum oxynitride (AlON), yttrium oxide (Y2O3), and yttrium fluoride (YF3) based protective coatings can withstand typical fluorine radical-based cleaning processes …These materials are believed to exhibit substantially improved resistance to nitrogen fluoride plasma and ammonia plasma compared to, e.g., silicon oxide, which is commonly used as an undercoat material ([0064]), In one example, a chamber component that was coated ex situ with aluminum oxide (or another coating material) becomes covered in silicon oxide (or another byproduct material) after the chamber component is used to process semiconductor wafers in a relevant reaction chamber ([0115], 3rd sentence).
Both ‘762 and ‘999 are silent on the thickness proportion amongst the three layers.
‘210 is analogous art in the field of Electrostatic Chuck (title), The surface dielectric layer can fulfill the function of at least one of: (1) high strength dielectric barrier, (2) dielectric layer with inherently low metals contamination and low particle source, (3) a plasma etch resistant surface, (4) an abrasion resistant surface ([0012], last sentence). ‘210 teaches that Above the insulator layer 220 is a stack of dielectric layers that includes a first dielectric layer 260 and a second dielectric layer 270. In this version, the first dielectric layer 260 is formed of aluminum oxynitride (AlON), which can be of a thickness of, for example, about 10 μm; and the second dielectric layer 270 is formed of silicon oxide or silicon oxynitride, which can be of a thickness of, for example, between about 40 μm and about 50 μm (Fig. 3, [0032], 9th-11th sentences), Over the protrusions 18, the electrostatic chuck can include a diffusion barrier layer 280, which can be formed of ALD-deposited amorphous alumina (Al2O3). In addition to serving as a diffusion barrier, layer 280 can assist in providing a better high temperature contact for the substrate (as compared, for example, with oxide layer 270, which could potentially weld to the substrate at high temperatures). The diffusion barrier layer 280 can have a thickness of between about 0.2 μm and about 1 μm ([0033], 6th-8th sentences).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a showerhead of ‘999 to the gas inlet 114 of ‘762 (the limitations of 1A and 18A), for the purpose of distribution of gas, as taught by ‘999 ([0129]). Furthermore, to have replaced the bilayer coating of ‘762 to trilayer coating with different thickness of ‘999 (the limitations of 1B and 18B), for the purpose of low contamination and other advantages as taught by ‘999 ([0012]) and/or for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07. Still furthermore, to have adopted the trilayer thickness proportion of (10 μm:50 μm:1 μm) of ‘210, as the trilayer of the combined apparatus (the limitations of 1C and 18C), for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to alternate silicon oxide and silicon nitride of ‘762 to produce the trilayer of ‘999, therefore, the limitations of 1D and 18D (silicon nitride has higher dielectric constant and lower hardness than silicon oxide, as disclosed by Applicants). Alternatively, when the bilayer of ‘762 would be covered by silicon oxide after the chamber component is used to process semiconductor wafers as taught by ‘999 ([0115], 3rd sentence), it would also have the limitations of 1C, 1D, 18C, and 18D.
The combination of ‘762, ‘999, and ‘210 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 2: the imported trilayer thickness ratio (10 μm:50 μm:1 μm) of ‘210 reads into the claimed “wherein the third thickness of the intermediate material layer is 60% or more of a total thickness of the dielectric layer”.
Claim 3: the seasoning layer 400 can have a thickness of about 0.3 μm to about 10 μm. In one embodiment, the seasoning layer 400 is formed in-situ and has a thickness of about 0.5 μm or above, for example about 1 μm or above, such as about 1.2 μm to about 3.5 μm (‘762, [0027], includes the claimed “wherein the total thickness of the dielectric layer is in a range of 1 μm to 10 μm”).
Claims 7-9: the seasoning layer 400 is a bi-layer stack including silicon oxide and silicon nitride, which can be arranged in any order (‘762, [0026], 2nd sentence, alternate silicon oxide and silicon nitride of ‘762 to produce the trilayer of ‘999, it would have the claimed “wherein the third dielectric constant is twice or more than each of the first dielectric constant and the second dielectric constant” of claim 7, “wherein the intermediate material layer comprises at least one of silicon nitride (Si3N4), aluminum oxide (Al203), zirconia (ZrO2), and hafnium oxide (HfO2) of claim 8, and “wherein the lower material layer and the upper material layer comprise silicon dioxide (SiO2)” of claim 9).
Claim 10: The body 202 is made from a dielectric material, such as a ceramic like aluminum oxide, or aluminum nitride (‘762, [0017], 3rd sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the insulator comprises at least one of aluminum nitride (AlN), aluminum oxide (Al2O), and boron nitride (BN)”.
Claims 19 and 21: The body 202 is made from a dielectric material, such as a ceramic like aluminum oxide, or aluminum nitride (‘762, [0017], 3rd sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the insulator comprises aluminum nitride (AlN)”),
the seasoning layer 400 is a bi-layer stack including silicon oxide and silicon nitride, which can be arranged in any order (‘762, [0026], 2nd sentence, alternate silicon oxide and silicon nitride of ‘762 to produce the trilayer of ‘999, it would have the claimed “the lower material layer and the upper material layer comprise silicon dioxide (SiO2), and the intermediate material layer comprises silicon nitride (Si3N4)” of claim 19 and “wherein the lower material layer and the upper material layer comprise a same material” of claim 21).
Claim 20: The seasoning layer 400 may be conformally formed on the exposed surface of the substrate supporting features 214 (‘762, [0025], 3rd sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the dielectric layer covers an entirety of the loading surface”).
Alternatively, claims 1-3, 7-10, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘762, in view of ’999, ‘210, and Wu et al. (US 20200181771, hereafter ‘771).
In case Applicants argue it is not obvious to alternate silicon oxide and silicon nitride of ‘762 to produce the trilayer of ‘999.
‘771 is analogous art in the field of a coated article comprises an article adapted for use in a processing chamber, and a coating formed on exterior and interior surfaces of the article. In one embodiment, the coating comprises a rare earth metal-containing ceramic, and the coating is substantially uniform, conformal, and porosity-free (abstract), The ceramic coating can include a rare earth metal-containing layer that coats all surfaces of a component (e.g., a high temperature heater or electrostatic chuck) ([0001]), when a typical high temperature heater having an AlN material ceramic is exposed to nitrogen trifluoride (NF3) plasma under high temperature … the deposited material may peel or flake or otherwise detach from the other chamber components and deposit as particles onto a wafer therein resulting in defects ([0022], last sentence). ‘771 teaches that the deposition of the rare earth metal-containing layer 224 and the aluminum oxide layer 228 may be repeated n times to form a stack 237 of alternating layers, where n is an integer value greater than 2 (Fig. 2C, [0067]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted a protective coating by repeat layer three time, as taught by ‘771, so as to alternate silicon oxide and silicon nitride of ‘762 to produce the trilayer of ‘999, for its suitability with predictable results.
The rejection of dependent claims are discussed above.
Further alternatively, claims 1-3, 7-10, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘762, in view of ’999, ‘210, and Xu et al. (US 5841624, hereafter ‘624).
In case Applicants argue that ‘210 teaches thickness range (see [0008]) much larger than instant Application and the thickness ratio of the three layers cannot be applied to ‘762 and ‘999.
‘624 is analogous art in the field of Cover Layer For A Substrate Support Chuck (title), during wafer processing, the ceramic material can abrade the wafer oxide from the underside of the wafer resulting in further introduction of particulate contaminants to the process environment (col. 1, lines 42-45). ‘624 discloses the well-known Johnsen-Rahbek effect equation in col. 6, particularly, the chucking force is proportional to the dielectric constant and inversely proportional to the length of the space between the wafer and the chuck surface.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the chucking force by overall dielectric constant and reducing the overall thickness of the three layers of ‘999, further considered the hardness issue of silicon nitride that needs silicon oxide top layer. It would have been obvious to have obtained a large thickness % of the high dielectric constant intermediate silicon nitride layer.
The rejection of dependent claims are discussed above.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘762, ‘999, and ‘210, (optionally with ‘771 and/or ‘624), as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Lin et al. (US 20230313378, hereafter ‘378). Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘762, in view of ‘999, ‘210, , (optionally with ‘771 and/or ‘624), and ‘378.
The combination of ‘762, ‘999, and ‘210 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 4; wherein the loading surface has a first surface, and a second surface recessed from the first surface, and
the protrusions are on the second surface.
Claim 5: wherein the insulator further comprises a seal band at a corner of the second surface, and configured to support an edge of the substrate.
Claim 6: wherein the dielectric layer extends along surfaces of the protrusions and a surface of the seal band.
‘378 is analogous art in the field of METHODS OF PREVENTING METAL CONTAMINATION BY CERAMIC HEATER (title), Substrate support (abstract), including plasma ([0027]), the substrate support comprises a ceramic coating on a top surface of the thermally conductive body. In some embodiments, the ceramic coating comprises AlOx, TiNx, TiOx, TiSiN, SiOx, SiN, AlN or combinations thereof. In some embodiments, the ceramic coating has a thickness in the range of from 20 Å to 5 μm ([0037]). ‘378 teaches that The substrate supports 500 have a body 502 with a support surface 504 and a bottom surface 506. The distance between the support surface 504 and bottom surface 506 define the thickness T of the body 502. In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 6, the support surface 504 is recessed within a pocket 503 formed in the body 502. In some embodiments, the pocket 503 has a depth measured from the outer peripheral edge 509 of the substrate support 500 that is substantially the same as the thickness of a substrate to be processed ([0048]), The field of fluid channels 510 is bounded around an outer edge (relative to a rotational axis 501) by a seal band 512. The substrate sits on the seal band 512 so that the back side of the substrate seals against the seal band 512. In some embodiments, the seal band 512 is a generally circular shape (which can be solid or broken) with an inner diameter slightly smaller than the diameter of a substrate to be processed … the seal band 512 has a top surface substantially even with the support surfaces 504 ([0051]). Note Fig. 6 shows the pocket surface 503 is recessed from the outer peripheral edge 509 (i.e. the first surface).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have changed the shape of the substrate support 200 of ‘762 to the shape of the substrate support 500 of ‘378, for the purpose of preventing contamination, as taught by ‘378. Because of the conformal seasoning layer 400 of ‘762, the seasoning layer would have covered the protrusion and the seal band of claim 7.
‘762 also teaches some limitations of:
Claim 11: FIG. 1 is an exemplary processing chamber 100 having a substrate support 140 therein ([0014], includes the claimed “A substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a mounting table”),
The body 202 has a substrate chucking surface 212 … The substrate supporting features 214 extend upwardly from a surface of the recess 218 to define an interior region 222 of the substrate chucking surface 212 ([0018], including the claimed “having a pocket region in which a substrate is loaded”),
The substrate support 200 may be used as the substrate support 140 of FIG. 1. The substrate support 200 has a body 202. The body 202 is made from a dielectric material, such as a ceramic like aluminum oxide, or aluminum nitride ([0017]), The body 202 has a substrate chucking surface 212 … The substrate supporting features 214 extend upwardly from a surface of the recess 218 to define an interior region 222 of the substrate chucking surface 212 ([0018], including the claimed “the mounting table including an insulator having protrusions”);
An electrode 206 is also disposed within the body 202 ([0017], includes the clamed “an electrode embedded in the insulator”);
A seasoning layer 400 is formed on the surface of the substrate supporting features 214. The seasoning layer 400 may be conformally formed on the exposed surface of the substrate supporting features 214 … Suitable material may include, but is not limited to, silicon, silicon nitride, silicon oxide, carbon doped silicon oxide (SiOC), silicon carbide (SiC), nitrogen containing silicon carbide (SiCN), aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride ([0025], includes the claimed “a dielectric layer conformally extending along a surface of each of the protrusions”);
A process gas inlet 114 may be formed though the lid 102 for providing a process gas from a gas source 116 into the processing volume 112 ([0014], 3rd sentence, includes the claimed “a gas distribution unit facing the mounting table; a gas supply unit configured to supply process gas through the gas distribution unit”);
The electrode 206 is coupled to a power source (such as power source 108 in FIG. 1) which provides an electric charge thereto to chuck a substrate to the substrate support 200 ([0017], 2nd last sentence, includes the claimed “a first power supply unit configured to apply a voltage to the electrode”),
the seasoning layer 400 is a bi-layer stack including silicon oxide and silicon nitride, which can be arranged in any order ([0026], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the dielectric layer includes a lower material layer, an intermediate material layer”).
‘762 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (11A) (a mounting table having a pocket region in which a substrate is loaded, the mounting table including an insulator having protrusions) and a seal band in the pocket region;
(a dielectric layer conformally extending along a surface of each of the protrusions) and the seal band;
(11B) (a gas distribution unit) including injection holes (facing the mounting table),
(11C) (wherein the dielectric layer includes a lower material layer, an intermediate material layer), and an upper material layer,
(11D) a thickness of the intermediate material layer is greater than a sum of a thickness of the lower material layer and a thickness of the upper material layer.
‘378 is analogous art as discussed above. ‘378 also teaches The type of gas injector 112 used will depend on, for example, the type of process being performed and the type of showerhead or gas injector ([0027]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have changed the shape of the substrate support 200 of ‘762 to the shape of the substrate support 500 including a seal band 512 of ‘378, for the purpose of preventing contamination, as taught by ‘378. Because of the conformal seasoning layer 400 of ‘762, the seasoning layer would have covered the protrusion and the seal band (the limitation of 11A). Furthermore, to have added a showerhead of ‘378 to the gas inlet of ‘762 (the limitation of 11B), for the purpose of distribution of gas.
‘999 and ‘210 are analogous arts as discussed above.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a showerhead of ‘999 to the gas inlet 114 of ‘762 (again, the limitations of 11B), for the purpose of distribution of gas, as taught by ‘999 ([0129]). Furthermore, to have replaced the bilayer coating of ‘762 to trilayer coating with different thickness of ‘999 (the limitations of 11C), for the purpose of low contamination and other advantages as taught by ‘999 ([0012]) and/or for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07. Still furthermore, to have adopted the trilayer thickness proportion of (10 μm:50 μm:1 μm) of ‘210, as the trilayer of the combined apparatus (the limitations of 11D), for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. Alternatively, when the bilayer of ‘762 would be covered by silicon oxide after the chamber component is used to process semiconductor wafers as taught by ‘999 ([0115], 3rd sentence), it would also have the limitations of 11C and 11D.
The combination of ‘762, ‘599, ‘210, and ‘378 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 12-13: It would have been obvious to alternate silicon oxide and silicon nitride of ‘762 to produce the trilayer of ‘999 (the claimed “wherein the lower material layer and the upper material layer comprise a same material” of claim 12 and “the intermediate material layer comprises a material having a dielectric constant different from a dielectric constant of each of the lower material layer and the upper material layer“).
Claim 14: the substrate supporting features 214 extend from the recess 218 at a height of about 10 μm to about 50 μm ([0018], 3rd last sentence, Fig. 6 of ‘378 shows the seal band 512 is at the same height as the protrusion forming the support surface 504, includes the claimed “wherein a height of each of the protrusions and the seal band is in a range of 20 μm to 40 μm”),
the seasoning layer 400 can have a thickness of about 0.3 μm to about 10 μm. In one embodiment, the seasoning layer 400 is formed in-situ and has a thickness of about 0.5 μm or above, for example about 1 μm or above, such as about 1.2 μm to about 3.5 μm (‘762, [0027], includes the claimed “and a total thickness of the dielectric layer is in a range of 1 μm to 5 μm”, note ‘378 also teaches “a thickness in the range of from 20 Å to 5 μm”, [0037], overlaps with this range, as well as ‘999 [0059]).
Claim 15: the imported trilayer thickness ratio (10 μm:50 μm:1 μm) of ‘210 reads into the claimed “wherein the thickness of the intermediate material layer is in a range of 70% to 80% of the total thickness of the dielectric layer”.
Claim 16: The body 202 is made from a dielectric material, such as a ceramic like aluminum oxide, or aluminum nitride (‘762, [0017], 3rd sentence, includes the claimed “ wherein the insulator comprises aluminum nitride (AlN)”),
It would have been obvious to alternate silicon oxide and silicon nitride of ‘762 to produce the trilayer of ‘999 (includes the claimed “the lower material layer and the upper material layer comprise silicon dioxide (SiO2), and the intermediate material layer comprises silicon nitride (Si3N4)”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not convincing in light of the new grounds of rejection above, particularly due to the new IDS KR 1020210013762. Because of the new IDS, the examiner has to withdraw previous indication of allowance of claims 1-10 and 18-20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5447570 is cited for wafer pocket and seal ring (Fig. 5).
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 08/04/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716