DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 12, and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, page 1, lines 9-13, filed on 07/27/2026, with respect to Double Patenting Rejection (copending Application No. 17/691,934) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of Double Patenting will be held in abeyance until the final content of an allowable set of claims has been determined.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites a limitation of “An LED system” in line 1. The article “An” is incorrect.
For purpose of compact prosecution, “An LED system” will be treated as if it were “A LED system.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites a limitation of “LED system” in line 1. The limitation of “LED system” is indefinite because each abbreviation should be defined the first time it appears in the claim to prevent ambiguity during examination.
For purpose of compact prosecution, “LED system” will be treated as if it were “light-emitting diode (LED) system.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 recites a limitation of “LED system” in line 1. The limitation of “LED system” is indefinite because each abbreviation should be defined the first time it appears in the claim to prevent ambiguity during examination.
For purpose of compact prosecution, “LED system” will be treated as if it were “light-emitting diode (LED) system.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 23 recites a limitation of “LED system” in line 3. The limitation of “LED system” is indefinite because each abbreviation should be defined the first time it appears in the claim to prevent ambiguity during examination.
For purpose of compact prosecution, “LED system” will be treated as if it were “light-emitting diode (LED) system.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites a limitation of “MQW” in line 7. The limitation of “MQW” is indefinite because each abbreviation should be defined the first time it appears in the claim to prevent ambiguity during examination.
For purpose of compact prosecution, “MQW” will be treated as if it were “multiple quantum well (MQW) .”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 recites a limitation of “MQW” in line 9. The limitation of “MQW” is indefinite because each abbreviation should be defined the first time it appears in the claim to prevent ambiguity during examination.
For purpose of compact prosecution, “MQW” will be treated as if it were “multiple quantum well (MQW) .”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 23 recites a limitation of “MQW” in line 3. The limitation of “MQW” is indefinite because each abbreviation should be defined the first time it appears in the claim to prevent ambiguity during examination.
For purpose of compact prosecution, “MQW” will be treated as if it were “multiple quantum well (MQW) .”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-12, and 14-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. 2025/0157388 A1, hereinafter refer to Zhu) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. 2023/0066105 A1, hereinafter refer to Liu).
Regarding Claim 1: Zhu discloses a LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations in driving current density (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown below and ¶ [0001]), the system comprising:
one or more pixel elements that each comprise one or more LEDs (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown above and ¶ [0030]) each comprising:
a first active doped layer (2) on a substrate (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown above);
the MQW region (4) formed over the one surface of the first active doped layer (2), wherein each of the MQW layers is alloyed with a percentage of Indium to promote the controlled color emissions (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown above and ¶ [0177]- ¶ [0183]); and
a second active doped layer (5) formed on the MQW region (4) that is of opposite in charge to the first active doped layer (2) (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown above),
wherein each of the one or more LEDs is configured to emit light having a peak wavelength that shifts toward a shorter wavelength as the driving current density applied to the LED increases (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B as shown above).
Zhu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein selectively patterned along one surface opposite from the substrate with depressions in one or more shapes and with one or more spacing configurations to promote controlled color emissions in MQW layers of an MQW region;
wherein portions of the MQW layers that conform to the depressions have a lower concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium than other portions of the MQW layers.
For support see Liu, which teaches wherein a first active doped layer (3) on a substrate and selectively patterned along one surface opposite from the substrate with depressions in one or more shapes and with one or more spacing configurations to promote controlled color emissions in MQW layers (4) of an MQW region (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown below, ¶ [0031], and ¶ [0050]);
wherein portions of the MQW layers (4) that conform to the depressions have a lower concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium than other portions of the MQW layers (note: layer 402 include InGaN, and layer 401 can include GaN or AlGaN, which results lower concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium at depressions) (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown below, ¶ [0031], and ¶ [0054]- ¶ [0057]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu and Liu to enable selectively patterning the first active doped layer along one surface opposite from the substrate with depressions in one or more shapes, wherein portions of the MQW layers conforms to the depressions have a lower concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium than other portions of the MQW layers.as taught by Liu in order to obtain a multi-wavelength LED structure.
Regarding Claim 3: Zhu as modified teaches a LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations in driving current density as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu further teaches wherein an electron blocking layer included in the second active doped layer (5) (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown above and ¶ [0158]).
Regarding Claim 4: Zhu as modified teaches a LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations in driving current density as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu further teaches wherein the depressions have an inner surface which is at angle with reference to the substrate between 0 and 90 degrees (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 5: Zhu as modified teaches a LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations in driving current density as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu further teaches wherein the depressions have an inner surface which is at angle with reference to the substrate between 90 and 180 degrees (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the angle of depressions inner surface through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired multi-wavelength LED structures because the angle of depressions inner surface is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable dimensions of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Regarding Claim 6: Zhu as modified teaches a LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations in driving current density as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the depressions are spaced from each other at a distance between 150nm and 10µm.
However, the combination of Zhu and Liu teaches wherein the depressions are spaced from each other at a distance (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the spacing distance between depressions through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired multi-wavelength LED structures because the spacing distance between depressions is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable dimensions of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Regarding Claim 7: Zhu as modified teaches a LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations in driving current density as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the depressions each have a top surface diameter from about 150 nm to about 10 µm.
However, the combination of Zhu and Liu teaches wherein the depressions each have a top surface diameter (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the top surface diameter of depressions through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired multi-wavelength LED structures because the top surface diameter of depressions is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable dimensions of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Regarding Claim 8: Zhu as modified teaches a LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations in driving current density as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a depth difference between each of the depressions is a less than about 5 µm.
However, the combination of Zhu and Liu teaches wherein a depth difference between each of the depressions (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the depth difference between each of the depressions through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired multi-wavelength LED structures because the depth difference between each of the depressions is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable dimensions of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Regarding Claim 9: Zhu as modified teaches a LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations in driving current density as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu further teaches wherein the one or more shapes of the outer periphery of the depressions comprise one or more circles, triangles, squares, pentagons, or hexagons (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above).
Note: the configuration of the claimed depressions was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed depressions was significant.
Regarding Claim 10: Zhu as modified teaches a LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations in driving current density as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu further teaches wherein the LED system is entirely formed in a common single material system (III-V group semiconductor material) (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above and abstract).
Regarding Claim 11: Zhu as modified teaches a LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations in driving current density as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu further teaches wherein one or more driving circuitry elements coupled to the each of the one or more pixel elements (see Zhu, ¶ [0110]- ¶ [0111]).
Regarding Claim 12: Zhu discloses a method for making an LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations driving current density (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown above and ¶ [0001]), the method comprising:
forming one or more pixel elements each comprising one or more LEDs (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown above and ¶ [0030]), wherein the forming further comprises:
providing a first active doped layer (2) on a substrate (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown above);
forming the MQW region (4) over the one surface of the first active doped layer (2), wherein each of the MQW layers (4) is alloyed with a percentage of Indium to promote the controlled color emissions (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown above and ¶ [0177]- ¶ [0183]),
forming a second active doped layer (5) on the MQW region (4) that is of opposite in charge to the first active doped layer (2) (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown above),
wherein each of the one or more LEDs is formed such that it is configured to emit light having a peak wavelength that shifts toward a shorter wavelength as the driving current density applied to the LED increases (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B as shown above).
Zhu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein selectively patterning the first active doped layer along one surface opposite from the substrate with depressions in one or more shapes and with one or more spacing configurations to promote controlled color emissions in MQW layers of an MQW region;
wherein portions of the MQW layers that conform to the depressions have a lower concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium than other portions of the MQW layers.
For support see Liu, which teaches wherein providing a first active doped layer (3) on a substrate and selectively patterning the first active doped layer (3) along one surface opposite from the substrate with depressions in one or more shapes and with one or more spacing configurations to promote controlled color emissions in MQW layers (4) of an MQW region (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above, ¶ [0031], and ¶ [0050]);
wherein portions of the MQW layers (4) that conform to the depressions have a lower concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium than other portions of the MQW layers (note: layer 402 include InGaN, and layer 401 can include GaN or AlGaN, which results lower concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium at depressions) (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above, ¶ [0031], and ¶ [0054]- ¶ [0057]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu and Liu to enable selectively patterning the first active doped layer along one surface opposite from the substrate with depressions in one or more shapes, wherein portions of the MQW layers conforms to the depressions have a lower concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium than other portions of the MQW layers.as taught by Liu in order to obtain a multi-wavelength LED structure.
Regarding Claim 14: Zhu as modified teaches a method for making an LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations driving current density as set forth in claim 12 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu further teaches wherein forming an electron blocking layer included in the second active doped layer (5) (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown above and ¶ [0158]).
Regarding Claim 15: Zhu as modified teaches a method for making an LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations driving current density as set forth in claim 12 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu further teaches wherein the depressions have an inner surface which is at angle with reference to the substrate between 0 and 90 degrees (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 16: Zhu as modified teaches a method for making an LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations driving current density as set forth in claim 12 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu further teaches wherein the depressions have an inner surface which is at angle with reference to the substrate between 90 and 180 degrees (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the angle of depressions inner surface through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired multi-wavelength LED structures because the angle of depressions inner surface is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable dimensions of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Regarding Claim 17: Zhu as modified teaches a method for making an LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations driving current density as set forth in claim 12 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the depressions are spaced from each other at a distance between 150nm and 10µm.
However, the combination of Zhu and Liu teaches wherein the depressions are spaced from each other at a distance (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the spacing distance between depressions through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired multi-wavelength LED structures because the spacing distance between depressions is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable dimensions of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Regarding Claim 18: Zhu as modified teaches a method for making an LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations driving current density as set forth in claim 12 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the depressions each have a top surface diameter from about 150 nm to about 10 µm.
However, the combination of Zhu and Liu teaches wherein the depressions each have a top surface diameter (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the top surface diameter of depressions through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired multi-wavelength LED structures because the top surface diameter of depressions is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable dimensions of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Regarding Claim 19: Zhu as modified teaches a method for making an LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations driving current density as set forth in claim 12 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a depth difference between each of the depressions is a less than about 5 µm.
However, the combination of Zhu and Liu teaches wherein a depth difference between each of the depressions (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the depth difference between each of the depressions through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired multi-wavelength LED structures because the depth difference between each of the depressions is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable dimensions of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Regarding Claim 20: Zhu as modified teaches a method for making an LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations driving current density as set forth in claim 12 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu further teaches wherein the one or more shapes of the outer periphery of the depressions comprise one or more circles, triangles, squares, pentagons, or hexagons (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above).
Note: the configuration of the claimed depressions was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed depressions was significant.
Regarding Claim 21: Zhu as modified teaches a method for making an LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations driving current density as set forth in claim 12 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu further teaches wherein the LED system is entirely formed in a common single material system (III-V group semiconductor material) (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above and abstract).
Regarding Claim 22: Zhu as modified teaches a method for making an LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations driving current density as set forth in claim 12 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu further teaches wherein forming one or more driving circuitry elements which are coupled to the each of the one or more pixel elements (see Zhu, ¶ [0110]- ¶ [0111]).
Regarding Claim 23: Zhu discloses a method for controlling one or more colored emissions (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown above and ¶ [0001]), the method comprising:
providing an LED system comprising a first active doped layer (2), an MQW region (4), and a second active dope layer (5) (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown above);
wherein the MQW region (4) is formed over the one surface of the first active doped layer (2), wherein each of the MQW layers (4) is alloyed with a percentage of Indium to promote the controlled color emissions (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown above and ¶ [0177]- ¶ [0183]),
wherein the second active doped layer (5) is formed on the MQW region (4) that is of opposite in charge to the first active doped layer (2); and varying an application of current over time to the LED system to alter the one or more color emissions (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B, 30, and 34-35 as shown above),
wherein varying the application of current over time varies a driving current density applied to the LED system such that a peak wavelength of the one or more color emissions shifts toward a shorter wavelength as the driving current density increases (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B as shown above).
Zhu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the first active doped layer is selectively patterned along one surface opposite from the substrate with depressions in one or more shapes and with one or more spacing configurations to promote controlled color emissions in MQW layers of an MQW region;
wherein portions of the MQW layers that conform to the depressions have a lower concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium than other portions of the MQW layers.
For support see Liu, which teaches wherein the first active doped layer (3) is selectively patterned along one surface opposite from the substrate with depressions in one or more shapes and with one or more spacing configurations to promote controlled color emissions in MQW layers (4) of an MQW region (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above, ¶ [0031], and ¶ [0050]);
wherein portions of the MQW layers (4) that conform to the depressions have a lower concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium than other portions of the MQW layers (note: layer 402 include InGaN, and layer 401 can include GaN or AlGaN, which results lower concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium at depressions) (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above, ¶ [0031], and ¶ [0054]- ¶ [0057]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu and Liu to enable selectively patterning the first active doped layer along one surface opposite from the substrate with depressions in one or more shapes, wherein portions of the MQW layers conforms to the depressions have a lower concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium than other portions of the MQW layers.as taught by Liu in order to obtain a multi-wavelength LED structure.
Regarding Claim 24: Zhu as modified teaches a method for controlling one or more colored emissions as set forth in claim 23 as above. The combination of Zhu and Liu further teaches wherein the varying the application of current over time further comprises: varying a duty-cycle and current level each wavelength of emission (see Zhu, Figs.27A-27B as shown above).
Claim(s) 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. 2025/0157388 A1, hereinafter refer to Zhu) and Liu et al. (U.S. 2023/0066105 A1, hereinafter refer to Liu) as applied to claim 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Baek et al. (U.S. 2022/0285579 A1, hereinafter refer to Baek).
Regarding Claim 2: Zhu as modified teaches a LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations in driving current density as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of Zhu and Liu further teaches wherein a transition region between each of the portions of the MQW layers (4) conforming to the depressions and each of the other portions of the MQW layers (4) (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above); however, the combination of Zhu and Liu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein transition region has a higher concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium than the other portions of the MQW layers and where the alloyed percentage of Indium decreases with distance from the portions of the MQW layers that conform to the depressions.
For support see Baek, which teaches a method of adjusting the indium content/composition and thickness of MQW layers, which results to obtain a lower indium content/composition at a lower thickness of MQW layers and a higher indium content/composition at a higher thickness of MQW layers (see Baek, Fig.5, Fig.2A, ¶ [0071], and ¶ [0089]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu, Liu, and Baek to adjust the indium content/composition and thickness of MQW layers as taught by Baek in order to obtain a lower indium content/composition at a lower thickness of MQW layers and a higher indium content/composition at a higher thickness of MQW layer and to obtain light emitting diode emitting light having multi-bands at a single chip level .
Hence, practicing the combination of Zhu, Liu, and Baek to adjust the indium content/composition and thickness of MQW layers, that results a lower indium content/composition at a lower thickness of MQW layers and a higher indium content/composition at a higher thickness of MQW layers according to the teachings of Baek as above and to enable the MQW layers to have different thickness at a transition region, at the depressions, and each of the other portions of the MQW layers as taught by Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above, necessarily results the claimed limitation of “transition region has a higher concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium than the other portions of the MQW layers and where the alloyed percentage of Indium decreases with distance from the portions of the MQW layers that conform to the depressions” as now specified in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 13: Zhu as modified teaches a LED system able to emit a variety of peak wavelengths of light in response to variations in driving current density as applied to claim 12 above. The combination of Zhu and Liu is further teaches wherein providing a transition region between each of the portions of the MQW layers (4) conforming to the depressions and each of the other portions of the MQW layers (4) (see Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above); however, the combination of Zhu and Liu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein transition region has a higher concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium than the other portions of the MQW layers and where the alloyed percentage of Indium decreases with distance from the portions of the MQW layers that conform to the depressions.
For support see Baek, which teaches a method of adjusting the indium content/composition and thickness of MQW layers, which results to obtain a lower indium content/composition at a lower thickness of MQW layers and a higher indium content/composition at a higher thickness of MQW layers (see Baek, Fig.5, Fig.2A, ¶ [0071], and ¶ [0089]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu, Liu, and Baek to adjust the indium content/composition and thickness of MQW layers as taught by Baek in order to obtain a lower indium content/composition at a lower thickness of MQW layers and a higher indium content/composition at a higher thickness of MQW layer and to obtain light emitting diode emitting light having multi-bands at a single chip level.
Hence, practicing the combination of Zhu, Liu, and Baek to adjust the indium content/composition and thickness of MQW layers, that results a lower indium content/composition at a lower thickness of MQW layers and a higher indium content/composition at a higher thickness of MQW layers according to the teachings of Baek as above and to enable the MQW layers to have different thickness at a transition region, at the depressions, and each of the other portions of the MQW layers as taught by Liu, Figs.2 and 4 as shown above, necessarily results the claimed limitation of “transition region has a higher concentration of the alloyed percentage of Indium than the other portions of the MQW layers and where the alloyed percentage of Indium decreases with distance from the portions of the MQW layers that conform to the depressions” as now specified in claim 13.
Claim(s) 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. 2025/0157388 A1, hereinafter refer to Zhu) and Liu et al. (U.S. 2023/0066105 A1, hereinafter refer to Liu) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Dierolf et al. (U.S. 2021/0091268 A1, hereinafter refer to Dierolf).
Regarding Claims 25, and 26: Liu as modified teaches a method for controlling one or more colored emissions as applied to claim 23 above. The combination of Zhu and Liu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the varying the application of current over time has a frequency is greater than 60 Hz (as claimed in claim 25);
wherein the varying the application of current over time further comprises:
mixing of two or more wavelengths each with a unique current level and duty-cycle in a single period (as claimed in claim 26).
For support see Dierolf, which teaches wherein the varying the application of current over time has a frequency is greater than 60 Hz (see Dierolf, Figs.2 and 3 as shown below and ¶ [0002]) (as claimed in claim 25);
wherein the varying the application of current over time further comprises:
mixing of two or more wavelengths each with a unique current level and duty-cycle in a single period (see Dierolf, Figs.2 and 3 as shown below and ¶ [0002]) (as claimed in claim 26).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu, Liu, and Dierolf to operate the combination of Zhu’s and Liu’s light emitting diode (LED) as taught by Dierolf in order to obtain a color tunable light emission diode in which the color tone of the emission color changes by controlling the injection current.
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812