DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,405,035 (the ‘035 patent, hereafter). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to substantially the same embodiment of the invention. In particularly, claims 1-20 of the ‘035 patent teaches a FET switch stack, and a method thereof, that comprises a stacked arrangement of FET switches, a gate resistor network comprising resistors to gate terminals of the FET switches, and one or more common gate resistors, and a common gate resistor bypass arrangement comprising at least one series combination of an nMOS transistor and a pMOS transistor connected across the one or more common gate resistors with the connections and operations as recited in claims 2-20 of the instant application. Note that the functions “i) bypass” and “ii) not to bypass” (as recited in the last 13 lines of claim 1 of the ‘035 patent) are obviously can be generated by “a pulse generator”; and claims 5-8 and of the ‘035 patent further recites “control circuitry” which is equivalent to “a pulse generator”.
Claims 2-20 are also rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 11,405,031 (the ‘031 patent, hereafter). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to substantially the same embodiment of the invention. In particularly, claims 1-31 of the ‘031 patent teaches a FET switch stack, and a method thereof, that comprises a stacked arrangement of FET switches, a gate resistor network comprising resistors to gate terminals of the FET switches, and one or more common gate resistors, and a common gate resistor bypass arrangement comprising at least one series combination of an nMOS transistor and a pMOS transistor connected across the one or more common gate resistors with the connections and operations as recited in claims 2-20 of the instant application. Note that the functions “i) bypass” and “ii) not to bypass” (as recited in the last 14 lines of claim 1 of the ‘031 patent) are obviously can be generated by “a pulse generator”; and claims 7-10 and 14-21 of the ‘031 patent further “a pulse generator”.
Claims 12-15 are also rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,542,549 (of the copending Application No. 18/427,598 in previously office action), (the ‘549 patent, hereafter). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to substantially the same embodiment of the invention. In particularly, claims 1-24 of the ‘549 patent teaches a method to control bypass a resistor across a series combination of an nMOS transistor and a pMOS transistor to control switching an RF FET switch comprising the steps that teaches the limitations of claims 12-15 of the instant application (note that it is obvious for the ‘549 patent to implement in the “SOI process”).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the FET switch stack comprising “a stacked arrangement of FET switches, a gate resistor” (in addition to a common gate resistor and a pulse generator) as recited in the claims must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shanjani et al. (US 2018/0167062).
For claim 16, Figures 4A, 4A’, 4B, and 4C of Shanjani et al. each teaches a FET switch stack (420) comprising: a stacked arrangement of FET switches (M1-Mn); a gate resistor network (Rg1, Rg2, … Rgn) coupled to a gate of each of the FET switches(M1-Mn) in the stacked arrangement of FET switches (420); a common gate resistor (Rds1-Rds2) coupled between a node for a voltage signal (input of 401) and the gate resistor network (Rg1, Rg2, … Rgn); and a serial arrangement of an nMOS transistor and a pMOS transistor (NMOS 411 series with PMOS 413, or NMOS 421 series with PMOS 412) coupled in parallel with the common gate resistor (Rds1, Rds2)
For claims 17-18, Figures 4A, 4B, and 4C of Shanjani et al. further teaches: a pulse generator (401, Filter cap, Rg11, Rg12, Rg21, Rg22) configured to pulse on the nMOS transistor (NMOS 411 or NMOS 421) in response to a transition of the voltage signal (input of 401) from a first voltage (Vg low) to a second voltage (Vg high) that is greater than the first voltage; wherein the first voltage is a negative voltage and the second voltage is a positive voltage (Vg is from -V to +V, see [0050] and [0059]).
For claims 19-20, Figures 4A, 4B, and 4C of Shanjani et al. further teaches: a pulse generator (401, Filter cap, Rg11, Rg12, Rg21, Rg22) configured to pulse on the pMOS transistor (PMOS 412 or PMOS 413) in response to a transition of the voltage signal (input of 401) from a first voltage (Vg high) to a second voltage (Vg low) that is less than the first voltage; wherein the first voltage is a positive voltage and the second voltage is a negative voltage (Vg is +V to -V, see [0050] and [0059]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-15 would be allowed if filing a proper Terminal Disclaimer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/11/25 for newly added claims 16-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “new claims 16-20 are supported as discussed analogously with regard to claim 2”, but does not specifically what the reference fails to teach for claims 16-20. Hence, claims 16-20 are rejected for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Long Nguyen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2842