DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and dependent claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim is unclear due to inconsistencies between the number average molecular weight (Mn) limitation and the required repeat units of the claimed formulae (1) and (2). The repeat unit l values of 1 to 5 (or higher) would result in low molecular weight oligomers (depending on the type of repeat units incorporated) and not result in the required Mn range, similarly m and n values of 1 to 5 (or higher) also would not achieve the required Mn values.
Claim Interpretation
Due to inconsistencies between the required number average molecular weight (Mn) and the repeat units of the formula (1) and formula (2), it is interpreted that the claimed requirements are satisfied when the repeat unit requirements are met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizori US 2018/0237668A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Mizori teaches a curable adhesive composition comprising a maleimide terminated polyimide, an epoxide component and at least one anionic curing catalyst (reference claims 1, 8-9 and 12), where the structure of the maleimide terminated polyimide can be selected to be the following (page 34, third structure).
with n = 2 to 10 (para [0066]) (where the repeat unit in the above structure has a molecular weight of ~665g/mol and n=10 would result in a number average molecular weight of ~6650).
The disclosed maleimide terminated polyimide corresponds to applicant’s formula (2), where m and n are the same and equal 2 to 10, where A1 is the same as A2 and meets formula (3) with R1 as unsubstituted aliphatic group having 2 carbon atoms with X3 as -CH2-, and X2 is
Mizori further teaches (reference claim 18) anionic curing catalyst, also referred as an anionic curing initiator (para [0137]), 2,4-diamino-6-[2'-ethyl-4'-methylimidazolyl-(1')]-ethyl-s-triazine (2E4MZ-A), which is the same as utilized in the instant specification (page 21, C-1), and serves the dual role of a reaction initiator and a diaminotriazine ring-containing imidazole, meeting applicant’s (B) and (C).
Regarding claim 3, Mizori teaches solvent (para [0228]), meeting the claimed requirement.
Regarding claims 5-7, Mizori teaches (reference claims 31 and 32) a flip chip semiconductor device (para [0056]), and conformal coating for suitable for protecting microelectronic assemblies, meeting the claimed requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizori US 2018/0237668A1, as applied to claims 1 and 3-7 above.
Regarding claim 2, as discussed when addressing claim 1, (2E4MZ-A) serves the dual role of a reaction initiator and a diaminotriazine ring-containing imidazole. Mizori discloses Table 3 (page 26) where 4 wt% of imidazole based catalyst is utilized in the overall composition with 85 wt% bismaleimide based resin (BMI). Based on the teachings of Mizori, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have utilized 4wt% of (2E4MZ-A) along with the maleimide terminated polyimide (as shown in claim 1, corresponding to (A)) to generate the curable adhesive composition, resulting in components (B), (C) at (4/85) x 100 = 4.7 parts per 100 parts by mass of component (A).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 5-8 of copending Application No. 18/882,091 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they teach the same curable maleimide resin composition with identical maleimide compounds corresponding to Formula (1) (when a=0) and Formula (2), reaction initiator and a diaminotriazine ring-containing imidazole.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/S.M.D./
Examiner
Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765