Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group I, drawn to claims 1-8 in the reply filed on January 10, 2024 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claimed limitation “wherein the protective layer comprises a material that does not chemically react to the solution” lacks sufficient support in the written description - any material except a noble gas could react with any solution in various environmental conditions over time. The specific examples of materials that may be included in the protective layer are disclosed in paragraph [0017] of the specification: “the protective layer may include at least one of silk, photoresist, polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS), Teflon, or parylene”, while the written description is silent regarding the composition of the claimed solution. The materials disclosed here for the protective layer are chemically reactive to some degree in a normal environment: silk breaks down with exposure to air by the silk peptides chemically reacting, for example, with oxygen or water vapor in air; parylene, Teflon, and PDMS breakdown with air in combination with heat or light exposure; and photoresist oxidizes easily in air. It would not be possible for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to fabricate, according to the written description of the specification, a protective layer having the claimed characteristic of not ever chemically reacting with an unspecified solution, without undue experimentation, if at all. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be taken to mean “wherein the protective layer comprises a material that does not rapidly react chemically with the solution in normal environmental conditions.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahn et al. US 20220223754.
Regarding claim 1, Ahn discloses
a wiper (the transfer head 1””, as described in paragraph [0109 and 0282] and shown in figure 7) comprising an absorber (1101 and 1102 in figure 7, described in paragraph [0271-0272]) configured to absorb a solution (here air is the solution [0025], but this absorber, since it comprises paper, is configured to absorb liquid solutions as well) used to wet transfer a micro semiconductor chip (see [0271]);
and a protective layer provided on the absorber (blocking portion 1103 is a protective layer [0280]),
wherein the protective layer comprises a material that does not chemically react to the solution (paragraph [0280 discloses that the protective layer may be formed of a material blocking of exertion of the electrostatic force, examples of which are metals or some ESD materials, such as stainless steel or parylene - both are highly corrosion
resistant, and thus do not react rapidly with the solution, air).
Regarding claim 2, Ahn discloses the wiper of claim 1, wherein the absorber comprises one of fabric, tissue, polyester fiber, or paper (paragraph [0137] discloses that the absorber 1101 and 1102, comprising 1101 (see figure 7), may be formed of paper).
Regarding claim 4, Ahn discloses the wiper of claim 1, wherein the protective layer is configured to prevent the micro semiconductor chip from penetrating into the absorber (paragraphs [0280 and 0281] describe how the layer 1103 is configured to prevent the micro-LED from being absorbed into the absorber itself).
Regarding claim 5, Ahn discloses the wiper of claim 1, wherein the protective layer is configured to be removed by acetone (H2SO4/ KOH/NaOH/toluene) or (ethanol/acetone) or removed by plasma etching (the protective layer of claim 1 may be formed of a material blocking of exertion of the electrostatic force, examples of which are metals or some ESD materials, such as parylene, all of which are able to be removed by plasma etching, and, therefore, read on the ‘configured to’ language).
Regarding claim 6, Ahn discloses the wiper of claim 1, further comprising a support configured to support the absorber, wherein the absorber is provided on the support (paragraph [0119] and figure 7 disclose that support member 1200 supports 1101 and 1102).
Regarding claim 7, Ahn discloses the wiper of claim 1, wherein the protective layer is coated on the absorber (This is a product by process claim (see MPEP 21130); therefore, as Ahn discloses the final product, the protective layer 1103, being a thin layer, directly contacting the absorber 1101 and 1102 (see figure 7), 1103 is considered a coating for absorber 1102 and 1103).
Regarding claim 8, Ahn discloses the wiper of claim 1, wherein the protective layer is configured to reduce a number of micro semiconductor chips that penetrate into the absorber (paragraph [0280] discloses that layer 1103 blocks the absorption of micro-LEDs by the absorber 1101 and 1102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Baker et al. US 20170133292.
Regarding claim 3, Ahn discloses the wiper of claim 1.
Ahn does not disclose that the protective layer comprises at least one of silk, photoresist, polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS), Teflon, or parylene.
However, Baker [0038] discloses wherein materials comprising parylene may be used mitigate electrostatic discharges, thus blocking of exertion of the electrostatic force.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to use a material comprising parylene to block the exertion of electrostatic force on the absorber while also enhancing the corrosion resistance of the protective layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes: Kim et al. 20230197477 from the same assignee and some of the same inventors, within the grace year, also relates to micro-semiconductor chip transfer apparatuses capable of reusing micro-semiconductor chips.
/KATRINA WALJESKI-MOSES/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818