DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 21-27, 29-33, and 35-42 of US Application No.18/409,417 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant amended claims 21, 29, 33, and 35, canceled claims 28 and 34, and added claims 41 and 42. Applicant previously canceled claims 1-20.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The previous objection to the specification is withdrawn in consideration of the amended specification.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections of claims 21-24, 29-33, and 35-40 under 35 USC § 103, see REMARKS, filed 07 August 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The Examiner maintains that Liu teaches “determine, while at the intermediate point, whether the autonomous vehicle is able to generate a viable second trajectory to move the autonomous vehicle from the intermediate point to the destination without additional guidance from the system, wherein a viability of the second trajectory is determined by a planning algorithm of the autonomous vehicle based, at least in part, on the destination and one or more kinematic or planning constraints”, as recited in the amended claims. As shown in Fig. 3A of Liu, once a teleoperation request is initiated at 303, commands are sent to the AV at 305 to implement teleoperation instructions. These teleoperation instructions may, for example, be commands to move to a particular goal indicated by the teleoperator, such as seeds 920 or goal 932. Once the commands are executed, the teleoperation ends. In other words, at 306, the AV has completed the teleoperation instructions to move to the seed or goal, i.e., the claimed intermediate point. At this point, i.e., at the intermediate point where the initial teleoperation ends, the AV then operates in autonomous mode at 301 and monitors for another teleoperation event at 302. A subsequent teleoperation event can immediately be determined/triggered, while still at the seed or goal, based on the occurrence of any of the criteria that trigger the teleoperation event. These criteria that trigger the teleoperation event may include the motion planning process not able to find a feasible trajectory to a goal for a certain amount of time, i.e., planning constraint, the motion planning process detecting an unknown object present on the planned trajectory, i.e., kinematic constraint, the motion planning process determining that the number of feasible trajectories toward a goal is smaller than a threshold, i.e., planning constraint, the motion planning process determining that a confidence level of a variable drops below a threshold, i.e., planning constraint, the motion planning process determining that past, current, future rules that cannot be interpreted by AV system 410, i.e., planning constraint. See ¶ [0094]-[0106]. In short, generation of the teleoperation event at 302 is a determination that a trajectory cannot be determined when the AV system is operating in a fully autonomous mode, i.e., whether the autonomous vehicle is able to generate a viable trajectory. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that Liu teaches determine, while at the intermediate point whether the autonomous vehicle is able to generate a viable second trajectory to move the autonomous vehicle from the intermediate point to the destination without additional guidance from the system (i.e., determination at 302 whether a teleoperation event is generated, when the vehicle switches to autonomous operation after executing teleoperation commands at 305), wherein a viability of the second trajectory is determined by a planning algorithm of the autonomous vehicle based, at least in part, on the destination and one or more kinematic or planning constraints (i.e., the motion planning process not able to find a feasible trajectory to a goal for a certain amount of time, the motion planning process detecting an unknown object present on the planned trajectory, the motion planning process determining that the number of feasible trajectories toward a goal is smaller than a threshold, the motion planning process determining that a confidence level of a variable drops below a threshold, the motion planning process determining that past, current, future rules cannot be interpreted by AV system). Therefore, the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-24, 29-33, and 35-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2018/0364704 A1, “Liu”) in view of Hummelshoj (US 2019/0196465 A1).
Regarding claims 21, 29, and 35, Liu discloses intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities and teaches:
receiving a request for guidance from an autonomous vehicle associated with an inability of the autonomous vehicle to continue along a route to a destination (teleoperation request sent to a teleoperator – see at least Fig. 9 and ¶ [0158]; teleoperation event is triggered when motion planning process is unable to find a trajectory towards the goal due to a planning error – see at least ¶ [0092]; goal may include a destination – see at least ¶ [0065]), the request including a subset of sensor data identified by the autonomous vehicle, the subset of sensor data associated with the inability of the autonomous vehicle to continue along the route to the destination (the request may include data associated with status or environment of the vehicle or related AV system, e.g., sensor data – see at least ¶ [0007], [0086]; teleoperation request 434 may comprise information about an AV failure, AV system information and data 412, the teleoperation event 422, important features, currently active teleoperation events, one or more teleoperations, and data of the AV system associated with each active teleoperation event – see at least ¶ [0132]; data associated with teleoperation request, such relevant information of a system failure, system information and data 412, the teleoperation event 422, important features, currently active teleoperation events, one or more teleoperations, or data of the AV systems associated with each active teleoperation event, or combinations of them – see at least ¶ [0142]);
receiving, from a user, input indicating an intermediate point proximate to the autonomous vehicle (teleoperator may, in a tele-interaction session, provide a one or more seeds 920 of a possible trajectory – see at least Fig. 9 and ¶ [0160]); and
transmitting the input to the autonomous vehicle (teleoperation command may comprise the one or more seeds – see at least ¶ [0160]), the autonomous vehicle configured to:
determine, based at least in part on the input, a first trajectory to reach the intermediate point (motion planning process of the AV system constructs a trajectory starting from its current location – see at least ¶ [0161]);
execute the first trajectory (teleoperation handling process sends the teleoperation to the AV system to affect autonomous driving capabilities of the AV – see at least Fig. 4A and ¶ [0088]);
determine, while at the intermediate point, whether the autonomous vehicle is able to generate a viable second trajectory to move the autonomous vehicle from the intermediate point to the destination without additional guidance from the system (at 306, once the AV system completes execution of the teleoperation command AV system returns to autonomous mode at 301 and listens for another teleoperation event at 302; i.e., when the teleoperation event ends, the vehicle will either operate in autonomous mode to continue to the destination or generate another teleoperation request), wherein a viability of the second trajectory is determined by a planning algorithm of the autonomous vehicle based, at least in part, on the destination and one or more kinematic or planning constraints (trajectory may include path or route from one place to another, e.g., a drop off location – see at least ¶ [0063]; teleoperation event may be triggered based on motion planning process not able to find a feasible trajectory to a goal for a certain amount of time, i.e., planning constraint – see at least ¶ [0106]; teleoperation event may be triggered based on motion planning process detecting an unknown object present on the planned trajectory, i.e., kinematic constraint – see at least ¶ [0106]; teleoperation event may be triggered when the number of feasible trajectories toward a goal is smaller than a threshold, i.e., planning constraint – see at least ¶ [0094]; teleoperation event may be triggered when a confidence level of a variable drops below a threshold, i.e., planning constraint – see at least ¶ [0094]; teleoperation event may be triggered bypast, current, future rules that cannot be interpreted by AV system 410, i.e., planning constraint – see at least ¶ [0094]);
perform one of:
in response to determining the autonomous vehicle is able to generate the second trajectory, executing the second trajectory, wherein the communication channel between the autonomous vehicle and the system is ceased [ ] (at 306, once the AV system completes execution of the teleoperation, teleoperation ends and AV system returns to autonomous mode 301 and listens for another teleoperation event – see at least Fig. 3A and ¶ [0088]); or
in response to determining the autonomous vehicle is unable to generate the second trajectory, [ ] sending a second request for further guidance via the communication channel (at 306, once the AV system completes execution of the teleoperation, teleoperation ends and AV system returns to autonomous mode 301 and listens for another teleoperation event – see at least Fig. 3A and ¶ [0088]).
Liu fails to teach the communication channel is ceased based on the autonomous vehicle being able to generate the second trajectory; and maintaining the communication channel and sending a second request for further guidance via the communication channel.
However, Hummelshoj discloses input from a plurality of teleoperators for decision making regarding a predetermined driving situation and teaches:
determine, while at the intermediate point, whether the autonomous vehicle is able to generate a plan to traverse a second trajectory that causes the autonomous vehicle to move from the intermediate point to the destination without additional guidance (after a need for teleoperator input is determined at 241, the method loops between 245 and 251 until a determination at 253 that the vehicle is not still in the predetermined driving situation – see at least Fig. 7 and ¶ [0105]; i.e., if the driving situation is that the vehicle is unable to find a trajectory towards the goal (Liu at ¶ [0092]), then 253 determines if the vehicle still is unable to find a trajectory towards the goal after receiving and implementing control commands at 245 and 251, respectively; in other words, do the commands from the teleoperator provide a trajectory to achieve the destination); and
perform one of:
in response to determining the autonomous vehicle is able to generate the second trajectory, executing the second trajectory, wherein the communication channel between the autonomous vehicle and the system is ceased based on the autonomous vehicle being able to generate the second trajectory (computing system may continuously monitor for conditions indicating that the vehicle is no longer in the predetermined driving situation so that full vehicle control may be transferred back to the autonomous vehicle system – see at least Fig. 7 and ¶ [0105]; i.e., in combination with Liu, teleoperation is ended when the vehicle is able to find a trajectory toward the goal); or
in response to determining the autonomous vehicle is unable to generate the second trajectory, maintaining the communication channel and sending a second request for further guidance via the communication channel (computing system may continuously monitor for conditions indicated that the vehicle is no longer in the predetermined driving situation so that full vehicle control may be transferred back to the autonomous vehicle system – see at least Fig. 7 and ¶ [0105]; new commands may be received at 245 until the vehicle is determined to not be in the predetermined driving situation – see at least Fig. 7; i.e., in combination with Liu, teleoperation is active and new command are received from operators until the vehicle is able to find a trajectory toward the goal).
In summary, Liu provides closing a teleoperation session, i.e., ending communication with the teleoperator, after a teleoperation command has been implemented by the vehicle. The vehicle may continue to be monitored after the teleoperation session is closed and another teleoperation session may be initiated as necessary. In other words, Liu does not provide for maintaining the teleoperation session, i.e., maintaining communication with the teleoperator, even after the teleoperation command is executed by the vehicle. However, Hummelshoj provides for continued monitoring of the vehicle to determine that the vehicle is no longer in a predetermined driving situation. As long as the vehicle is still in the predetermined driving situation, additional commands from teleoperators may be received for controlling the vehicle via the commands.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities of Liu to provide for ceasing or maintaining the communication channel, as taught by Hummelshoj, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would help the vehicle to overcome the predetermined driving situation and return to autonomous control (Hummelshoj at ¶ [0105]).
Regarding claims 22, 30, and 36, Liu further teaches:
receiving a second input indicating a second intermediate point (teleoperator may provide a series of goals 1010, 1020, 1030, 1040 in a tele-interaction session – see at least Fig. 10 and ¶ [0161]); and transmitting the second input to the device (goals are provided to motion planning process of the AV system – see at least ¶ [0161]), the device further configured to determine the trajectory based at least in part on the second intermediate point (motion planning process of the AV system constructs a trajectory from goals 1010, 1020, 1030, 1040 – see at least ¶ [0161]).
Regarding claim 23, Liu further teaches:
wherein the first trajectory violates one or more policies of the autonomous vehicle (the intervention, i.e., trajectory, may overwrite a travel rule – see at least ¶ [0012], [0015], [0161]).
Regarding claim 24, Liu further teaches:
wherein the autonomous vehicle is further configured to stop at the intermediate point until receiving a release command (teleoperator may assist AV system to find an appropriate safe-to-stop location – see at least ¶ [0120]; teleoperator may provide a series of goals 1010, 1020, 1030, 1040 in a tele-interaction session – see at least Fig. 10 and ¶ [0161]).
Regarding claim 31, Liu further teaches:
wherein the intermediate point comprises a location in an environment to enable an emergency vehicle to pass (teleoperator may assist AV system to find an appropriate safe-to-stop location – see at least ¶ [0120]; teleoperator may provide a series of goals 1010, 1020, 1030, 1040 in a tele-interaction session – see at least Fig. 10 and ¶ [0161]; when a notification from an emergency vehicle is received by the AV system, the teleoperator may assist the AV system to find ana appropriate stopping location – see at least ¶ [0106]).
Regarding claims 32 and 37, Liu further teaches:
wherein the request for guidance from the device indicates that the device is being prevented from reaching a destination (a teleoperation event may be triggered if motion planning process is unable to find a trajectory towards a goal due to a planning error – see at least ¶ [0092]).
Regarding claims 33 and 38, Liu further teaches:
wherein the first trajectory is in violation of a policy of the device, and the input causes the trajectory to override the policy of the device (the intervention, i.e., trajectory, may overwrite a travel rule – see at least ¶ [0012], [0015], [0161]).
Regarding claim 39, Liu further teaches:
wherein the executable instructions, as a result of being executed by the one or more processors, further cause the computer system to at least: process the input into instructions having a format based, at least in part, on the device (a teleoperation command 452 comprising a new trajectory is issued from server 450 – see at least ¶ [0133]).
Regarding claim 40, Liu further teaches:
wherein the intermediate point is an intermediate location between a current orientation of the device and a destination of the device (teleoperator may provide a series of goals 1010, 1020, 1030, 1040 in a tele-interaction session – see at least Fig. 10 and ¶ [0161]; ‘goals’ includes a destination – see at least ¶ [0065]; i.e., goals 1010, 1020, 1030 may be intermediate goals between a current location and goal 1040, which may be a destination).
Regarding claim 41, Liu further teaches:
wherein the one or more kinematic or planning constraints are predetermined prior to the request for guidance (teleoperation event may be triggered based on motion planning process not able to find a feasible trajectory to a goal for a certain amount of time, i.e., planning constraint – see at least ¶ [0106]; teleoperation event may be triggered based on motion planning process detecting an unknown object present on the planned trajectory, i.e., kinematic constraint – see at least ¶ [0106]; teleoperation event may be triggered when the number of feasible trajectories toward a goal is smaller than a threshold, i.e., planning constraint – see at least ¶ [0094]; teleoperation event may be triggered when a confidence level of a variable drops below a threshold, i.e., planning constraint – see at least ¶ [0094]; teleoperation event may be triggered bypast, current, future rules that cannot be interpreted by AV system 410, i.e., planning constraint – see at least ¶ [0094]; i.e., examples of predetermined constraints that trigger a teleoperation event).
Regarding claim 42, Liu further teaches:
wherein the one or more kinematic or planning constraints comprise one or more of: a physical constraint of the autonomous vehicle, a road rule, or a constraint associated with a safety of one or more objects in an environment of the autonomous vehicle (teleoperation event may be triggered bypast, current, future rules that cannot be interpreted by AV system 410, i.e., planning constraint – see at least ¶ [0094]; teleoperation event may be triggered based on motion planning process detecting an unknown object present on the planned trajectory, i.e., kinematic constraint – see at least ¶ [0106], [0161]).
Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Hummelshoj, as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Ravichandran et al. (US 2018/0284771 A1, “Ravichandran”).
Regarding claim 25, Liu and Hummelshoj fail to teach but Ravichandran discloses processing a request signal regarding operation of an autonomous vehicle and teaches:
wherein the intermediate point is within a threshold radius of a current position of the autonomous vehicle (acceptable stopping distances may be determined in a proximity region, e.g., within a specified distance – see at least ¶ [0148]) and indicates a desired heading for the autonomous vehicle to achieve when located at the intermediate point (request for an emergency stop may be received from a teleoperator – see at least ¶ [0009]; teleoperator may select a target stopping place – see at least ¶ [0178]; stopping place may include a direction in which an AV may be facing – see at least ¶ [0068]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined system for intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities of Liu and Hummelshoj to provide the intermediate point within a threshold radius and desired heading, as taught by Ravichandran, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would limit time spent looking for stopping places that are less relevant (Ravichandran at ¶ [0147]).
Regarding claim 26, Ravichandran further teaches:
wherein the desired heading differs from a heading determined by the autonomous vehicle (if the AV is unable to reach a target stopping place, the AV system may adopt a fallback strategy, including choosing another acceptable stopping place – see at least ¶ [0191]; i.e., choosing a new stopping place would be choosing a different heading when the stopping place includes a direction in which the AV may be facing as each stopping point may include a direction in which the AV may be facing – see at least ¶ [0068]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined system for intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities of Liu, Hummelshoj, and Ravichandran to provide a heading, as further taught by Ravichandran, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would limit time spent looking for stopping places that are less relevant (Ravichandran at ¶ [0147]).
Regarding claim 27, Liu and Hummelshoj fail to teach but Ravichandran discloses processing a request signal regarding operation of an autonomous vehicle and teaches:
wherein the autonomous vehicle is further configured to stop until an emergency vehicle is no longer present proximate the autonomous vehicle (AV system detects or receives information about the presence of an emergency vehicle, determines the AV to stop, potentially until the detected emergency vehicle passes – see at east ¶ [0097]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined system for intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities of Liu and Hummelshoj to provide for stopping the vehicle until an emergency vehicle is no longer present, as taught by Ravichandran, with a reasonable expectation of success because it allow the vehicle to stop for an emergency vehicle but restart if the stop location is not a normally acceptable location to stop (Ravichandran at ¶ [0119]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON L TROOST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666