DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of US Application No. 18/409,568, filed on 01/10/2024, are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information Disclosure Statement filed on 03/14/2024 has been considered. An initialed copy of form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pursifull et al. (US 2019/0344774 A1, “Pursifull”) in view of Uyeki (US 2025/0224242 A1, “Uyeki”).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Pursifull discloses methods and systems of a hybrid vehicle and teaches:
A system, comprising: (The following description relates to systems and methods for delaying an electric-only operation of a hybrid electric vehicle ( HEV ) in response to a cold-start and/or ambient temperatures being less than a threshold ambient temperature – See at least ¶ [0016])
a plug-in hybrid vehicle comprising an internal combustion engine, an electric motor, (In the example shown, vehicle 5 includes engine 10 and an electric machine 52 – See at least ¶ [0032]) and an energy storage device, (Electric machine 52 receives electrical power from a traction battery 58 to provide torque to vehicle wheels 59 – See at least ¶ [0033]) the plug-in hybrid vehicle configured to selectively operate in a plurality of driving modes; and (the hybrid electric vehicle (HEV), which may include plug-in hybrids (PHEVs) and battery electric vehicles (BEVs), may switch from propelling the HEV via the engine to propelling the HEV via only the electric motor – See at least ¶ [0007])
a controller with computer readable instructions stored on non-transitory memory that when executed cause the controller to: (The controller 12 receives signals from the various sensors of FIG . 1 and employs the various actuators of FIG . 1 to adjust engine operation based on the received signals and instructions stored on a memory of the controller – See at least ¶ [0034]; the methods of FIGS . 3A and 4 illustrate instructions stored on non - transitory memory of a controller (e.g., controller 12 of FIG.1), that when executed enable the controller to request data from a vehicle operator regarding a distance between a starting location and a next recharge – See at least ¶ [0082])
receive route data comprising a destination and a route; (Following determination of the powertrain temperature being less than the threshold temperature, the method 300 may proceed to 308, which may include determining a destination. Determining the destination may include one or more of a vehicle operator input and an estimation based on historical usage patterns of the HEV – See at least ¶ [0061]) and a route; (determining if the trip is a one-way trip or round-trip before charging. The trip may be a one-way trip if the vehicle operator plans to charge the battery at a destination different than a starting location of the vehicle. The trip may be a round-trip if the vehicle operator plans to charge the battery at the starting location after driving the vehicle to a location different than the starting location. In the example of a round-trip, the starting location may be determined to be the destination – See at least ¶ [0064]; Examiner notes that the “trip” is equivalent to a route.)
determine a route distance based on the route data; (The method 300 may proceed to 312, which may include calculating a total trip length before recharging. In the example of a one-way trip, the total trip length may be a distance between the starting location and the destination, different than the starting location, where charging is estimated to occur. In the example of a two-way trip, the total trip length may be a round-trip distance totaling distances between the starting location, each stop along the round-trip, and back to the starting location – See at least ¶ [0065])
in response to the route distance not exceeding an electric range, suppress an operation of the internal combustion engine based on the route data, ambient temperature, and cabin pre-conditioning; and (The method 300 may proceed to 314, which may include determining if the total trip length is greater than the electric-only operation range. If the total trip length is not greater than the electric range, then the method 300 may proceed to 306, which may include operating in the electric-only operation, as described above – See at least ¶ [0066])
in response to the route distance exceeding the electric range, further in anticipation of a fuel station along the route, [], operate the plug-in hybrid vehicle in a charge sustaining mode or a charge increasing mode prior to a refueling event at the fuel station. (If the total trip length is less than or equal to the electric-only operation range, then the method 300 may proceed to 316, which may include operating in a charge-sustaining operation, wherein the HEV may be at least partially propelled via the engine combusting…The method may continue to monitor if the total trip length is greater than the electric-only operation range. If the trip length is not greater than the electric-only operation range, then the method 300 may proceed to operate in the electric-only operation – See at least ¶ [0066])
Pursifull does not explicitly disclose where the fuel station has a fuel with a carbon footprint less than a low-carbon threshold. However, Uyeki discloses navigation guidance for vehicles to reduce carbon emission exposure and teaches:
where the fuel station has a fuel with a carbon footprint less than a low-carbon threshold (identifying, within a first driving range of the vehicle as it travels from its current location to the target destination, a group of fueling stations including a first fueling station and a second fueling station; calculating, based on a first location of the first fueling station, a first carbon content associated with fuel provided by the first fueling station; calculating, based on a second location of the second fueling station, a second carbon content associated with fuel provided by the second fueling station that is higher than the first carbon content; generating, in response to the first carbon content being less than the preselected carbon content threshold, a first route from the current location to the target destination that includes a detour to the first fueling station; and transmitting to the vehicle, for presentation by a navigation system for the vehicle, the first route – See at least ¶ [0045])
In summary, Pursifull discloses identifying stations along the route of the vehicle and providing routing guidance to the vehicle based on a power state of the vehicle and a distance to the stations. Pursifull does not explicitly teach where the fuel station has a fuel with a carbon footprint less than a low-carbon threshold. However, Uyeki discloses navigation guidance for vehicles to reduce carbon emission exposure and teaches providing the user with stations and their carbon footprint levels. From these stations the system will choose a station with a carbon content being less than a preselected carbon content threshold and then provide guidance to that station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the methods and systems of a hybrid vehicle of Pursifull to provide for the navigation guidance for vehicles to reduce carbon emission exposure, as taught in Uyeki, to dynamically guide consumers to cleaner energy sources in real-time while providing clear, accurate data about fuel sources to the vehicle's OEM or other selected entity. (At Uyeki ¶ [0020])
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Pursifull further teaches:
wherein the charge sustaining mode comprises operating the engine to maintain electrical power storage within a first threshold range of a state of charge upper threshold. (A distance of the first trip 600, measured from the starting location 602 to the intended destination 604 may be greater than a threshold electric range or a maximum electric range of the vehicle. For example, the first trip distance 600 may be 30 miles and the maximum electric range may be 20 miles. Furthermore, an electric-only operation range at the starting location 602 may be less than the threshold electric range due to a powertrain temperature or other condition. Thus, the first trip 600 begins with a charge-sustaining operation where the engine propels the vehicle and battery SOC is maintained, as shown by solid line 606. Once waste heat from the engine sufficiently heats one or more of the powertrain, lubricant, cabin, battery, and other vehicle com ponents such that an electric-only operation range exceeds a threshold electric range (e.g., within 95% or more of a maximum electric-only operation range), then the vehicle may automatically adjust from the charge-sustaining operation to the electric-only operation, shown by dashed line 608. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle may switch from the charge-sustaining operation to the electric-only operation based on a remaining distance being less than or equal to a current electric-only operation range. Thus, the vehicle may switch in response to the electric-only range being greater than the threshold electric range or if a current electric-only operation range is greater than or equal to the remaining distance – See at least ¶ [0101])
Regarding claim 3 and 14, Pursifull further teaches:
wherein the charge increasing mode comprises operating the engine to increase electrical power storage (In other examples, vehicle propulsion system 200 may be configured as a series type vehicle propulsion system, whereby the engine does not directly propel the drive wheels. Rather, engine 210 may be operated to power motor 220, which may in turn propel the vehicle via drive wheel 230 as indicated by arrow 222. For example, during select operating conditions, engine 210 may drive generator 260 as indicated by arrow 216, which may in turn supply electrical energy to one or more of motor 220 as indicated by arrow 214 or energy storage device 250 as indicated by arrow 262. As another example, engine 210 may be operated to drive motor 220 which may in turn provide a generator function to convert the engine output to electrical energy, where the electrical energy may be stored at energy storage device 250 for later use by the motor – See at least ¶ [0040]) above a state of charge upper threshold. (Here there must be a state of charge for future use, therefore, the system is keeping the charge above a state of charge upper threshold of 0.)
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Pursifull does not explicitly teach, but Uyeki further teaches:
further comprising proposing one or more fuel stations to a driver, the one or more fuel stations ranked on one or more of deviation from the route, estimated fuel level on arrival, fuel quality, carbon footprint, and associated experiences. (In different embodiments, the icon or other visual presentation of the stations on the map can be adjusted by the system based on the carbon content. In this case, third fueling station 166 is offering fuel that is deemed to be the least carbon footprint friendly or fuel that has a carbon content greater than a first preselected threshold (e.g., "Level 1"). In addition, first fueling station 162 is also markedly unfriendly with respect to carbon emissions, (e.g., "Level 2"), with a carbon content greater than a second preselected threshold that is lower than the first preselected threshold. Furthermore, second fueling station 164 which is the gas station that is preferred by the driver 192-is offering fuel that is also higher than average, with carbon content greater than a third preselected threshold (e.g., "Level 3") that is lower than the second preselected threshold. However, fifth fueling station 172 and sixth fueling station 174 each are more carbon friendly, with a carbon content greater than a fourth preselected threshold (e.g., "Level 4") that is lower than the third preselected threshold. Finally, fourth fueling station 168 is deemed to be the optimal station in range, with a carbon content greater than a fifth preselected threshold (e.g., "Level 5") that is even lower than the fourth preselected threshold – See at least ¶ [0024])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the methods and systems of a hybrid vehicle of Pursifull to provide for the navigation guidance for vehicles to reduce carbon emission exposure, as taught in Uyeki, to dynamically guide consumers to cleaner energy sources in real-time while providing clear, accurate data about fuel sources to the vehicle's OEM or other selected entity. (At Uyeki ¶ [0020])
Regarding claim 9, Pursifull further teaches:
wherein the querying comprises one or more of identifying one or more electric vehicle charging stations, determining charger availability at one or more electric vehicle charging stations, determining charge speed at one or more electric vehicle charging stations, and identifying one or more associated experiences in proximity of one or more electric vehicle charging stations. (For example, if a first grocery store is determined to be the recharging destination, but the recharging station of the first grocery store does not comprise a vacant recharging bay, then the method may further include determining a second grocery store to be the recharging destination The second grocery store may be a similar distance away from a current position of the vehicle – See at least ¶ [0062])
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pursifull in view of Uyeki, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Morgenstern (Well to Wheel Emissions Simplified, “Morgenstern”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Pursifull and Uyeki does not explicitly teach wherein the carbon footprint is a well-to-wheel carbon footprint comprising a sum of a well-to-tank carbon footprint and a tank-to-wheel carbon footprint, where the well-to-tank carbon footprint comprises an estimate of greenhouse gas emission during production, processing, and delivery of the fuel to the fuel station, and tank-to-wheel carbon footprint comprises an estimate of greenhouse gas emission during vehicle operation using the fuel. However, Morgenstern discloses well to wheel emissions simplified and teaches:
wherein the carbon footprint is a well-to-wheel carbon footprint comprising a sum of a well-to-tank carbon footprint and a tank-to-wheel carbon footprint, (Well to wheel analysis is a comprehensive method for assessing energy efficiency and emissions. It takes into account the total energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions throughout the entire life cycle of an energy source – See at least pg. 3 and 8) where the well-to-tank carbon footprint comprises an estimate of greenhouse gas emission during production, processing, and delivery of the fuel to the fuel station, (Well-to-Wheel Definition: The amount of a fuel or energy source, and GHG emissions associated with the production, processing, distribution, and use of the chosen fuel quantified – See at least pg. 8; The examiner notes that the underlined portion of the definition is the well-to-tank carbon footprint) and tank-to-wheel carbon footprint comprises an estimate of greenhouse gas emission during vehicle operation using the fuel. (The term 'tank-to-wheel' is a subset of well to wheel, focusing solely on a power source's emissions during operation. These are the tailpipe emissions that were once the cornerstone of regulation and assessment but can no longer tell the whole emissions story – See at least pg. 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the methods and systems of a hybrid vehicle of Pursifull and Uyeki to provide for the well-to-wheel carbon footprint, as taught in Morgenstern, to provide the most complete and accurate way to measure energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions. (At Morgenstern pg. 3)
Claim(s) 6, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pursifull in view of Uyeki and in further view of Maeda et al. (US 2021/0065073 A1, “Maeda”).
Regarding claim 6, Pursifull further teaches:
suppressing the operation of the engine prior to a recharging event at the electric vehicle charging station. (If the total trip length is less than or equal to the electric-only operation range, then the method 300 may proceed to 316, which may include operating in a charge-sustaining operation, wherein the HEV may be at least partially propelled via the engine combusting…The method may continue to monitor if the total trip length is greater than the electric-only operation range. If the trip length is not greater than the electric-only operation range, then the method 300 may proceed to operate in the electric-only operation – See at least ¶ [0066]; Here the trip length includes a trip to a station for recharging. Therefore, if the system may make it to the station using electric-only operation then it will not operate the engine, i.e., suppresses the engine.)
The combination of Pursifull and Uyeki does not explicitly teach further comprising in response to the route distance exceeding the electric range, further in anticipation of an electric vehicle charging station along the route, where recharging at the electric vehicle charging station results in a fully electric drive within a threshold route increase, suggesting navigation to the electric vehicle charging station, suggesting one or more associated experiences within a threshold distance of the electric vehicle charging station. However, Maeda discloses systems and methods for presenting electric vehicle charging options and teaches:
further comprising in response to the route distance exceeding the electric range, further in anticipation of an electric vehicle charging station along the route, where recharging at the electric vehicle charging station results in a fully electric drive within a threshold route increase, suggesting navigation to the electric vehicle charging station, (In one configuration, the charging station determinant module 406 may be configured to analyze the one or more perspective travel paths of the EV 102 and the associated perspective SOC levels of the battery 106 of the EV 102. The charging station determinant module 406 may thereby access and query the station database 314 to determine one or more charging stations 112 that may be located within a distance that the EV 102 may travel to reach based on the one or more perspective travel paths of the EV 102 and the associated perspective SOC level(s) of the battery 106 of the EV 102. Accordingly, the charging station determinant module 406 may determine one or more charging stations 112 that may be located on or within a predetermined distance of one or more perspective travel paths of the EV 102 and that may be located within a distance that is reachable by the EV 102 based on associated perspective SOC levels of the battery 106. As discussed above, the charging station determinant module 406 may be configured to communicate data determined by the module 406 to the map presentation module 410 of the smart charge application 118 – See at least ¶ [0068]) suggesting one or more associated experiences within a threshold distance of the electric vehicle charging station, and (In an exemplary embodiment, the map presentation module 410 of the smart charge application 118 may be configured to present one or more charging station map user interfaces that present data determined and/or predicted by the modules 402-408, as discussed above. In particular, the charging station map interface(s) may include a map that may pin point a current geo-location of the EV 102, perspective geo-location of the EV 102 on one or more perspective travel paths of the EV 102, a type of amenity, and/or a selected point of interest – See at least ¶ [0069])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the methods and systems of a hybrid vehicle of Pursifull and Uyeki to provide for the system and method for presenting electric vehicle charging options, as taught in Maeda, to allow operators to take advantage of cost savings with respect to charging stations, charge times, and/or additional charging resources that may be available to them and that may be utilized to. (At Maeda ¶ [0003])
Regarding claim 16, Pursifull discloses methods and systems of a hybrid vehicle and teaches:
A method for a hybrid vehicle, comprising: (The following description relates to systems and methods for delaying an electric-only operation of a hybrid electric vehicle ( HEV ) in response to a cold-start and/or ambient temperatures being less than a threshold ambient temperature – See at least ¶ [0016])
receiving route data comprising a route and a destination; (Following determination of the powertrain temperature being less than the threshold temperature, the method 300 may proceed to 308, which may include determining a destination. Determining the destination may include one or more of a vehicle operator input and an estimation based on historical usage patterns of the HEV – See at least ¶ [0061]) and a route; (determining if the trip is a one-way trip or round-trip before charging. The trip may be a one-way trip if the vehicle operator plans to charge the battery at a destination different than a starting location of the vehicle. The trip may be a round-trip if the vehicle operator plans to charge the battery at the starting location after driving the vehicle to a location different than the starting location. In the example of a round-trip, the starting location may be determined to be the destination – See at least ¶ [0064]; Examiner notes that the “trip” is equivalent to a route.)
determining a route distance based on the route data; (The method 300 may proceed to 312, which may include calculating a total trip length before recharging. In the example of a one-way trip, the total trip length may be a distance between the starting location and the destination, different than the starting location, where charging is estimated to occur. In the example of a two-way trip, the total trip length may be a round-trip distance totaling distances between the starting location, each stop along the round-trip, and back to the starting location – See at least ¶ [0065])
in response to the route distance not exceeding an electric range, suppressing an operation of an engine based on the route data, ambient temperature, and cabin pre-conditioning; (The method 300 may proceed to 314, which may include determining if the total trip length is greater than the electric-only operation range. If the total trip length is not greater than the electric range, then the method 300 may proceed to 306, which may include operating in the electric-only operation, as described above – See at least ¶ [0066])
further in anticipation of an electric vehicle charging station along the route, where the electric vehicle charging station is less than a threshold distance from the destination, updating the route to navigate to the electric vehicle charging station prior to the destination; (The recharging station may include the vacant position if a bay of the recharging station is free and able to allow the vehicle operator to recharge the vehicle. In some examples, if the recharging destination does not comprise a vacancy, then the method may further include selecting a different recharging station. For example, if a first grocery store is determined to be the recharging destination, but the recharging station of the first grocery store does not comprise a vacant recharging bay, then the method may further include determining a second grocery store to be the recharging destination. The second grocery store may be a similar distance away from a current position of the vehicle – See at least ¶ [0061]-[0062])
in response to the route distance exceeding the electric range, further in anticipation of a fuel station along the route, [], operating the hybrid vehicle in a charge sustaining mode or a charge increasing mode prior to a refueling event at the fuel station; and (If the total trip length is less than or equal to the electric-only operation range, then the method 300 may proceed to 316, which may include operating in a charge-sustaining operation, wherein the HEV may be at least partially propelled via the engine combusting…The method may continue to monitor if the total trip length is greater than the electric-only operation range. If the trip length is not greater than the electric-only operation range, then the method 300 may proceed to operate in the electric-only operation – See at least ¶ [0066])
[] and suppressing the operation of the engine prior to a recharging event at the electric vehicle charging station. (If the total trip length is less than or equal to the electric-only operation range, then the method 300 may proceed to 316, which may include operating in a charge-sustaining operation, wherein the HEV may be at least partially propelled via the engine combusting…The method may continue to monitor if the total trip length is greater than the electric-only operation range. If the trip length is not greater than the electric-only operation range, then the method 300 may proceed to operate in the electric-only operation – See at least ¶ [0066]; Here the trip length includes a trip to a station for recharging. Therefore, if the system may make it to the station using electric-only operation then it will not operate the engine, i.e., suppresses the engine.)
Pursifull does not explicitly teach where the fuel station has a fuel with a carbon footprint less than a low-carbon threshold. However, Uyeki discloses navigation guidance for vehicles to reduce carbon emission exposure and teaches:
where the fuel station has a fuel with a carbon footprint less than a low-carbon threshold (identifying, within a first driving range of the vehicle as it travels from its current location to the target destination, a group of fueling stations including a first fueling station and a second fueling station; calculating, based on a first location of the first fueling station, a first carbon content associated with fuel provided by the first fueling station; calculating, based on a second location of the second fueling station, a second carbon content associated with fuel provided by the second fueling station that is higher than the first carbon content; generating, in response to the first carbon content being less than the preselected carbon content threshold, a first route from the current location to the target destination that includes a detour to the first fueling station; and transmitting to the vehicle, for presentation by a navigation system for the vehicle, the first route – See at least ¶ [0045])
In summary, Pursifull discloses identifying stations along the route of the vehicle and providing routing guidance to the vehicle based on a power state of the vehicle and a distance to the stations. Pursifull does not explicitly teach where the fuel station has a fuel with a carbon footprint less than a low-carbon threshold. However, Uyeki discloses navigation guidance for vehicles to reduce carbon emission exposure and teaches providing the user with stations and their carbon footprint levels. From these stations the system will choose a station with a carbon content being less than a preselected carbon content threshold and then provide guidance to that station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the methods and systems of a hybrid vehicle of Pursifull to provide for the navigation guidance for vehicles to reduce carbon emission exposure, as taught in Uyeki, to dynamically guide consumers to cleaner energy sources in real-time while providing clear, accurate data about fuel sources to the vehicle's OEM or other selected entity. (At Uyeki ¶ [0020])
The combination of Pursifull and Uyeki does not explicitly teach further comprising in response to the route distance exceeding the electric range, further in anticipation of an electric vehicle charging station along the route, where recharging at the electric vehicle charging station results in a fully electric drive within a threshold route increase, suggesting navigation to the electric vehicle charging station, suggesting one or more associated experiences within a threshold distance of the electric vehicle charging station. However, Maeda discloses systems and methods for presenting electric vehicle charging options and teaches:
in response to the route distance exceeding the electric range, further in anticipation of the electric vehicle charging station along the route, where recharging at the electric vehicle charging station results in a fully electric drive within a threshold route increase, (In one configuration, the charging station determinant module 406 may be configured to analyze the one or more perspective travel paths of the EV 102 and the associated perspective SOC levels of the battery 106 of the EV 102. The charging station determinant module 406 may thereby access and query the station database 314 to determine one or more charging stations 112 that may be located within a distance that the EV 102 may travel to reach based on the one or more perspective travel paths of the EV 102 and the associated perspective SOC level(s) of the battery 106 of the EV 102. Accordingly, the charging station determinant module 406 may determine one or more charging stations 112 that may be located on or within a predetermined distance of one or more perspective travel paths of the EV 102 and that may be located within a distance that is reachable by the EV 102 based on associated perspective SOC levels of the battery 106. As discussed above, the charging station determinant module 406 may be configured to communicate data determined by the module 406 to the map presentation module 410 of the smart charge application 118 – See at least ¶ [0068]) suggesting navigation to the electric vehicle charging station (In an exemplary embodiment, the map presentation module 410 of the smart charge application 118 may be configured to present one or more charging station map user interfaces that present data determined and/or predicted by the modules 402-408, as discussed above. In particular, the charging station map interface(s) may include a map that may pin point a current geo-location of the EV 102, perspective geo-location of the EV 102 on one or more perspective travel paths of the EV 102, a type of amenity, and/or a selected point of interest – See at least ¶ [0069])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the methods and systems of a hybrid vehicle of Pursifull and Uyeki to provide for the system and method for presenting electric vehicle charging options, as taught in Maeda, to allow operators to take advantage of cost savings with respect to charging stations, charge times, and/or additional charging resources that may be available to them and that may be utilized to. (At Maeda ¶ [0003])
Regarding claim 17, Pursifull further teaches:
wherein the charge sustaining mode comprises operating the engine to maintain electrical power storage within a first threshold range of a state of charge upper threshold, and (A distance of the first trip 600, measured from the starting location 602 to the intended destination 604 may be greater than a threshold electric range or a maximum electric range of the vehicle. For example, the first trip distance 600 may be 30 miles and the maximum electric range may be 20 miles. Furthermore, an electric-only operation range at the starting location 602 may be less than the threshold electric range due to a powertrain temperature or other condition. Thus, the first trip 600 begins with a charge-sustaining operation where the engine propels the vehicle and battery SOC is maintained, as shown by solid line 606. Once waste heat from the engine sufficiently heats one or more of the powertrain, lubricant, cabin, battery, and other vehicle com ponents such that an electric-only operation range exceeds a threshold electric range (e.g., within 95% or more of a maximum electric-only operation range), then the vehicle may automatically adjust from the charge-sustaining operation to the electric-only operation, shown by dashed line 608. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle may switch from the charge-sustaining operation to the electric-only operation based on a remaining distance being less than or equal to a current electric-only operation range. Thus, the vehicle may switch in response to the electric-only range being greater than the threshold electric range or if a current electric-only operation range is greater than or equal to the remaining distance – See at least ¶ [0101]) wherein the charge increasing mode comprises operating the engine to increase electrical power storage above (In other examples, vehicle propulsion system 200 may be configured as a series type vehicle propulsion system, whereby the engine does not directly propel the drive wheels. Rather, engine 210 may be operated to power motor 220, which may in turn propel the vehicle via drive wheel 230 as indicated by arrow 222. For example, during select operating conditions, engine 210 may drive generator 260 as indicated by arrow 216, which may in turn supply electrical energy to one or more of motor 220 as indicated by arrow 214 or energy storage device 250 as indicated by arrow 262. As another example, engine 210 may be operated to drive motor 220 which may in turn provide a generator function to convert the engine output to electrical energy, where the electrical energy may be stored at energy storage device 250 for later use by the motor – See at least ¶ [0040]) a state of charge upper threshold. (Here there must be a state of charge for future use, therefore, the system is keeping the charge above a state of charge upper threshold of 0.)
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pursifull in view of Uyeki, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Sim et al. (US 2024/0125607 A1, “Sim”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Pursifull and Uyeki does not explicitly teach further comprising in response to the route distance not exceeding the electric range, querying electric vehicle charging stations within a threshold distance of the destination, and in response to determining an electric vehicle charging station within the threshold distance of the destination, updating the destination to the electric vehicle charging station. However, Sim discloses transportation management and battery charge management server for transportation electric vehicle and controlling method thereof and teaches:
further comprising in response to the route distance not exceeding the electric range, querying electric vehicle charging stations within a threshold distance of the destination, and in response to determining an electric vehicle charging station within the threshold distance of the destination, updating the destination to the electric vehicle charging station. (Meanwhile, in a state in which the electric vehicle 210 used for transportation is driving, while carrying luggage or people, if the remaining battery capacity after reaching the destination 280 is less than the preset remaining battery capacity limit, the electric vehicle 210 cannot stop by an electric vehicle battery charging station during driving to lose time realistically, and thus, an electric vehicle battery charging station should be searched in the destination 280 after the load is taken down or a person gets off at the destination 280. Accordingly, if the remaining battery capacity of the electric vehicle battery predicted in real time is less than the preset remaining battery capacity limit, the processor 130 may select an electric vehicle battery charging station based on whether the vehicle is within a preset distance range based on the destination and charging information of the electric vehicle, and include a location of the selected electric vehicle battery charging station in the driving route – See at least ¶ [0053]-[0054])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the methods and systems of a hybrid vehicle of Pursifull and Uyeki to provide for the transportation management and battery charge management server for transportation electric vehicle and controlling method thereof, as taught in Sim, for services that estimate a remaining battery capacity based on road conditions or provide charging guides based on the estimated remaining battery capacity has increased. (At Sim ¶ [0008])
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pursifull in view of Uyeki, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Singh et al. (US 2022/0085626 A1, “Singh”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Pursifull and Uyeki does not explicitly teach further comprising in response to determining no electric vehicle charging stations within the threshold distance of the destination, setting the hybrid vehicle as available for charging by a compatible battery electric vehicle. However, Singh discloses facilitating charging or acceptor nodes by mobile charging systems and teaches:
further comprising in response to determining no electric vehicle charging stations within the threshold distance of the destination, (In another example, the driver may be travelling in the EV from a source location to a destination location, and the EV may not have sufficient charge to reach the destination location. In addition, there may not be a stationary location for charging available along the route that is reachable by the EV. Consequently, the EV may not be able to reach the destination location and may get stranded, causing inconvenience to the driver. In another example, the EV, when parked in a parking area for a substantially longer time duration may get completely drained, making it impossible to reach the station location for charging. Such stranded EVs may need on-road support to reach the stationary location or the destination location, which may cause financial loss, time delays, and emotional despair to the owner or the driver of the EV, which is undesirable…In light of the foregoing, there exists a need for a technical and reliable solution that overcomes the above mentioned problems, and facilitates charging of EVs based on the owner/driver's preferences and habits – See at least ¶ [0003]- [0004]) setting the hybrid vehicle as available for charging by a compatible battery electric vehicle. (The application server 116 may be configured to receive a charging request, for charging the energy storage device 103a, from the user device 105a associated with the acceptor node 102 – See at least ¶ [0091])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the methods and systems of a hybrid vehicle of Pursifull and Uyeki to provide for the facilitating charging or acceptor nodes by mobile charging systems, as taught in Singh, to provide a technical and reliable solution to stranded EVs may need on-road support to reach the stationary location or the destination location, which may cause financial loss, time delays, and emotional despair to the owner or the driver of the EV, which is undesirable. (At Singh ¶ [0003])
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pursifull in view of Uyeki, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Dalum (US 2013/0179007 A1, “Dalum”).
Regarding claim 10,the combination of Pursifull and Uyeki does not explicitly teach further comprising in response to the route data indicating a geographic region comprising greater than a threshold energy recovery conditions, operating the hybrid vehicle in a charge depleting mode prior to the geographic region and operating the hybrid vehicle in the charge increasing mode or charge sustaining mode through the geographic region. However, Dalum discloses systems and method of fuel optimization in a hybrid vehicle and teaches:
further comprising in response to the route data indicating a geographic region comprising greater than a threshold energy recovery conditions, operating the hybrid vehicle in a charge depleting mode prior to the geographic region and operating the hybrid vehicle in the charge increasing mode or charge sustaining mode through the geographic region. (Approximating the mass of vehicle 10 allows control system 14 to better predict optimum storage levels for rechargeable energy at various parts of a drive cycle. In one embodiment, a lighter vehicle may use a higher depletion rate going up a hill relative to accelerator pedal position in com parison to a more heavily loaded vehicle in which prime mover 20 would need to produce more power up the hill. In both cases the goal would be to deplete the rechargeable energy source 34 substantially by the top of the hill so that energy could be recovered on the way back down the hill, maximizing overall efficiency. Depletion can also be controlled by having a GPS location overlay with a map and topographical information which could be used as an input to control system 14 or a map that had some of the depletion instructions already programmed into it. In one embodiment, system 14 depletes the renewable energy level at a certain position on the grade – See at least ¶ [0084]; Here the depletion is based off of a position on the grade, i.e., a threshold energy recovery condition.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the methods and systems of a hybrid vehicle of Pursifull and Uyeki to provide for the systems and method of fuel optimization in a hybrid vehicle, as taught in Dalum, to provide a system for and method of maintaining a sufficient amount of stored power or energy for expected stationary job needs of the hybrid vehicle. (At Dalum ¶ [0005])
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pursifull in view of Uyeki, as applied to claim 11, and in further view of Takemoto et al. (US 2006/0101823 A1, “Takemoto”).
Regarding claim 12, Pursifull further teaches:
the computer readable instructions further comprising: (The controller 12 receives signals from the various sensors of FIG . 1 and employs the various actuators of FIG . 1 to adjust engine operation based on the received signals and instructions stored on a memory of the controller – See at least ¶ [0034]; the methods of FIGS . 3A and 4 illustrate instructions stored on non-transitory memory of a controller (e.g., controller 12 of FIG.1), that when executed enable the controller to request data from a vehicle operator regarding a distance between a starting location and a next recharge – See at least ¶ [0082])
in response to the route distance exceeding the electric range, further in anticipation of a [] fuel station comprising the [] fuel along the route, operate the plug-in hybrid vehicle in the charge sustaining mode or the charge increasing mode powered by the first fuel prior to a first refueling event at the first fuel station. (A distance of the first trip 600, measured from the starting location 602 to the intended destination 604 may be greater than a threshold electric range or a maximum electric range of the vehicle. For example, the first trip distance 600 may be 30 miles and the maximum electric range may be 20 miles. Furthermore, an electric-only operation range at the starting location 602 may be less than the threshold electric range due to a powertrain temperature or other condition. Thus, the first trip 600 begins with a charge-sustaining operation where the engine propels the vehicle and battery SOC is maintained, as shown by solid line 606. Once waste heat from the engine sufficiently heats one or more of the powertrain, lubricant, cabin, battery, and other vehicle com ponents such that an electric-only operation range exceeds a threshold electric range (e.g., within 95% or more of a maximum electric-only operation range), then the vehicle may automatically adjust from the charge-sustaining operation to the electric-only operation, shown by dashed line 608. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle may switch from the charge-sustaining operation to the electric-only operation based on a remaining distance being less than or equal to a current electric-only operation range. Thus, the vehicle may switch in response to the electric-only range being greater than the threshold electric range or if a current electric-only operation range is greater than or equal to the remaining distance – See at least ¶ [0101])
The combination of Pursifull and Uyeki does not explicitly teach: the plug-in hybrid vehicle further comprising, a first fuel tank storing a first fuel and a second fuel tank storing a second fuel, where the first fuel comprises a lower emissions fuel than the second fuel; However, Takemoto discloses fuel switching for duel fuel engine and teaches:
the plug-in hybrid vehicle further comprising, (The invention is directed towards a hybrid vehicle – See at least ¶ [0013]) a first fuel tank storing a first fuel and a second fuel tank storing a second fuel, (The injectors 3 and 4 are connected respectively to hydrogen Supply system 5 and gasoline Supply system 6 which store high pressure gaseous hydrogen and gasoline in respective tanks and supply them under control of the ECU 20 through the signals to the respective injectors 3 or 4 from the ECU 20 – See at least ¶ [0028]) where the first fuel comprises a lower emissions fuel than the second fuel; and, (FIG. 1 is a schematic representation of a power train 1 having a dual fuel internal combustion engine 2 using bi-fuel (two kinds of fuels) of gasoline and gaseous hydrogen or selectively combusting them, an electric drive motor 10, and its control system including an electronic control unit (hereinafter referred to ECU) 20. The powertrain 1 basically consists of the engine 2, a power split mechanism 7, an electric generator 8, an electric drive motor 10 and a reduction gear set 16. Power from the engine 2 is divided by the power split mechanism 7 into two, one of which is transferred to the generator 8 and the other of which is transferred to the reduction gear set 16. The reduction gear set 16 consists of a differential gear, and is attached to an axis 17 both ends of which have vehicle driving wheels 18 – See at least ¶ [0027])
In summary, Pursifull discloses operating the hybrid vehicle in charge sustaining mode when the system determines the destination is beyond the range of the electric vehicle only mode. Uyeki discloses suggesting service stations along the route that contain various types of fuels. Uyeki further provides to the user information about what fuels are provided at the service station and suggests the service station with the fuel that contains the least carbon impact. The combination of Pursifull and Uyeki does not explicitly teach that the hybrid vehicle contains two fuel tanks each with its own type of fuel and one tank having a lower emissions fuel than the other tank. However, Takemoto discloses fuel switching for duel fuel engine and teaches a hybrid vehicle that contains two different fuels, e.g., hydrogen and gasoline, each with their own tanks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the methods and systems of a hybrid vehicle of Pursifull and Uyeki to provide for the hybrid vehicle with a dual fuel engine, as taught in Takemoto, for a lower tailpipe emission from internal combustion engines. (At Takemoto ¶ [0002])
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pursifull in view of Uyeki and Maeda, as applied to claim 16, and in further view of Singh.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Pursifull, Uyeki, and Maeda does not explicitly teach, but Singh further teaches:
further comprising in response to determining no electric vehicle charging stations within the threshold distance of the destination, (In another example, the driver may be travelling in the EV from a source location to a destination location, and the EV may not have sufficient charge to reach the destination location. In addition, there may not be a stationary location for charging available along the route that is reachable by the EV. Consequently, the EV may not be able to reach the destination location and may get stranded, causing inconvenience to the driver. In another example, the EV, when parked in a parking area for a substantially longer time duration may get completely drained, making it impossible to reach the station location for charging. Such stranded EVs may need on-road support to reach the stationary location or the destination location, which may cause financial loss, time delays, and emotional despair to the owner or the driver of the EV, which is undesirable…In light of the foregoing, there exists a need for a technical and reliable solution that overcomes the above mentioned problems, and facilitates charging of EVs based on the owner/driver's preferences and habits – See at least ¶ [0003]- [0004] setting the hybrid vehicle as available for charging by a compatible battery electric vehicle. (The application server 116 may be configured to receive a charging request, for charging the energy storage device 103a, from the user device 105a associated with the acceptor node 102 – See at least ¶ [0091])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the methods and systems of a hybrid vehicle of Pursifull and Uyeki to provide for the facilitating charging or acceptor nodes by mobile charging systems, as taught in Singh, to provide a technical and reliable solution to stranded EVs may need on-road support to reach the stationary location or the destination location, which may cause financial loss, time delays, and emotional despair to the owner or the driver of the EV, which is undesirable. (At Singh ¶ [0003])
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pursifull in view of Uyeki and Maeda, as applied to claim 16, and in further view of Dalum.
Regarding claim 19,
further comprising in response to the route data indicating a geographic region comprising greater than a threshold energy recovery conditions, operating the hybrid vehicle in a charge depleting mode prior to the geographic region and operating the hybrid vehicle in the charge increasing mode or the charge sustaining mode through the geographic region. (Approximating the mass of vehicle 10 allows control system 14 to better predict optimum storage levels for rechargeable energy at various parts of a drive cycle. In one embodiment, a lighter vehicle may use a higher depletion rate going up a hill relative to accelerator pedal position in com parison to a more heavily loaded vehicle in which prime mover 20 would need to produce more power up the hill. In both cases the goal would be to deplete the rechargeable energy source 34 substantially by the top of the hill so that energy could be recovered on the way back down the hill, maximizing overall efficiency. Depletion can also be controlled by having a GPS location overlay with a map and topographical information which could be used as an input to control system 14 or a map that had some of the depletion instructions already programmed into it. In one embodiment, system 14 depletes the renewable energy level at a certain position on the grade – See at least ¶ [0084]; Here the depletion is based off of a position on the grade, i.e., a threshold energy recovery condition.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the methods and systems of a hybrid vehicle of Pursifull and Uyeki to provide for the systems and method of fuel optimization in a hybrid vehicle, as taught in Dalum, to provide a system for and method of maintaining a sufficient amount of stored power or energy for expected stationary job needs of the hybrid vehicle. (At Dalum ¶ [0005])
Regarding claim 20, Pursifull does not explicitly teach, but Uyeki further teaches:
further comprising recording and sharing route outcomes. (Moving to FIG. 1B, to allow the driver to better manage and appreciate the nuances of each option, in some embodiments, the system can offer an interactive dashboard 150 that can be displayed to the user. The dashboard 150 can include route planning to the different fueling stations that are available and in range of their current fuel levels, and/or are substantially 'on the way' (enroute) to the driver's selected final destination 198 (e.g., their home, office, grocery, etc.). In some embodiments, the system can, based on the driver's destination, general preferences, etc., present proposed routes to the driver. In this example, only three routes are shown for clarity, including a first route 110 (mapping the driver to a first station "A"), a second route 120 (mapping the driver to a second station "B"), and a third route 130 (mapping the driver to a third station "C"). In some embodiments, dashboard 150 can also or alternatively present a recommendation summary 100 that encapsulates the pertinent information for each fueling station that has been mapped – See at least ¶ [0026]; Here the system is sharing route outcomes with the user through a display.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the methods and systems of a hybrid vehicle of Pursifull and Maeda to provide for the navigation guidance for vehicles to reduce carbon emission exposure, as taught in Uyeki, to dynamically guide consumers to cleaner energy sources in real-time while providing clear, accurate data about fuel sources to the vehicle's OEM or other selected entity. (At Uyeki ¶ [0020])
Conclusion
/C.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662