DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a surface of a wafer" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Specifically, it is unclear if more than one wafer is required to meet the claimed language. In line 2 of claim 12 “a wafer” is recited and as above the same is recited in line 3.
As best understood, for purpose of examination and in order to expedite prosecution the second recitation will be considered as “the wafer” or the like.
However, positive in claim recitation of the metes and bounds applicant intend to claims is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotthold et al. (US 20060140248; hereinafter Gotthold) in view of Eto (US 20180261481).
Regarding claim 1, Gotthold teaches a remote temperature monitoring system (abstract; see fig. 1), comprising:
a process chamber (11; fig. 1; see at least [0031]) configured to allow a wafer (15/101 is a substrate / wafer; see figs. 1 and 13-15) to be placed therein (see fig. 1 showing this configuration) and a variety of processes to be performed on the wafer (see at least [0031]), the wafer having luminescent thermometer (103; [0046-47] teaches that temperature sensor 103 includes “layer 105 of luminescent material”) formed on a surface thereon ([0046]; see figs. 13-15 showing this configuration), the luminescent thermometer configured to receive incident light and emit light, the emitted light having an intensity that depends on a temperature of a portion of the surface of the wafer where the luminescent thermometers are formed (light / excitation radiation is passed through optical fiber 33 / 33’ to the luminescent material “and resulting temperature dependent luminescent radiation passes back” [0046]; see also [0046-47] and [0033]);
an excitation source (36) optically coupled to the process chamber, the excitation source configured to emit the incident light onto the surface of the wafer ([0031-33]; [0046-47] see fig. 1 and fig. 15);
an emission light detector (35) optically coupled to the process chamber (via waveguide / optical fiber 33; see fig. 1), the emission light detector configured to receive the emitted light from the surface of the wafer (see fig. 1 showing this configuration) and generate data ([0032] – the electrical signal output by the photodetector 35); and
a temperature reading analyzer (37) coupled to the emission light detector (see fig. 1; [0032]), the spectral data and temperature reading analyzer configured to receive the spectral data from the emission light detector and determine the temperature of the wafer based on the spectral data (temperature signal 39; see fig. 1; [0032]; abstract).
Gotthold does not directly and specifically state regarding luminescent thermometers (plural) or specifically regarding spectral data.
However, Eto teaches a process chamber accommodating a wafer (1; abstract; see fig. 1; [0063]) where the wafer has “a fluorescent substance that generates fluorescence or phosphorescence as the outgoing light” ([0079]; element 63; see figs. 2A-C) as a set of plural thermometers (see at least fig. 2A) and that the return light is detected and temperatures calculated ([0085]; [0092]) via wavelength and/or wavelength peak intensity of the light ([0092]); further an emission spectrometer may be used (125; see also spectroscope 134).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the temperature monitoring system of Gotthold with the plural thermometers and spectral wavelength analysis of Eto. This is because such plural thermometers allow for detecting temperature at plural points and spectral wavelength or wave peak analysis allows for determining the temperature (see at least fig. 5 of Eto). This is important in order to provide the measured temperature at multiple points on a wafer to an end user or controller of the process chamber (see at least [0032] of Gotthold).
Regarding claim 3, Gotthold does not directly and specifically state that the excitation source includes ultra-violet (UV), visible (Vis) and/or infrared (IR) light.
However, Eto teaches a process chamber accommodating a wafer (1; abstract; see fig. 1; [0063]) where the wafer has “a fluorescent substance that generates fluorescence or phosphorescence as the outgoing light” ([0079]; element 63; see figs. 2A-C) in response to an incoming light (Li; see at least fig. 1) where the incoming / excitation light is visible ([0085] teaches an example with blue light as Li; “For example, where the incoming light Li is blue light”; see also [0079] “can generate lattice vibration by irradiation with visible light”) and that the return light is detected and temperatures calculated ([0085]; [0092]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the temperature monitoring system of Gotthold with the visible / blue light for excitation of Eto. This is because blue / visible light allows for exciting the luminescent substance and thereby determining the temperature (see [0113] of Eto). This is important in order to provide the measured temperature on a wafer to an end user or controller of the process chamber (see at least [0032] of Gotthold).
Regarding claim 4, Gotthold teaches a semiconductor structure (abstract; see figs. 1 and 13-15), comprising:
a wafer (15/101 is a substrate / wafer; see figs. 1 and 14/15); and
luminescent thermometer (103; [0046-47] teaches that temperature sensor 103 includes “layer 105 of luminescent material”) formed on a surface of the wafer ([0046]; see figs. 13-15 showing this configuration), the luminescent thermometers configured to receive incident light and emit light, the emitted light having an intensity that depends on a temperature of a portion of the surface of the wafer where the luminescent thermometers are formed (light / excitation radiation is passed through optical fiber 33 / 33’ to the luminescent material “and resulting temperature dependent luminescent radiation passes back” [0046]; see also [0046-47] and [0033]).
Gotthold does not directly and specifically state regarding luminescent thermometers (plural).
However, Eto teaches a process chamber accommodating a wafer (1; abstract; see fig. 1; [0063]) where the wafer has “a fluorescent substance that generates fluorescence or phosphorescence as the outgoing light” ([0079]; element 63; see figs. 2A-C) as a set of plural thermometers (see at least fig. 2A) and that the return light is detected and temperatures calculated ([0085]; [0092]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the temperature monitoring system of Gotthold with the plural thermometers of Eto. This is because such plural thermometers allow for detecting temperature at plural points. This is important in order to provide the measured temperature at multiple points on a wafer to an end user or controller of the process chamber (see at least [0032] of Gotthold).
Regarding claim 5, Gotthold does not directly and specifically state that the luminescent thermometers include rare-earth (RE) ions doped oxides, fluorides, aluminates, phosphates, silicates, titanates, vanadates, borates, chlorides, oxysulfides and/or oxyfluorides.
However, Eto teaches a process chamber accommodating a wafer (1; abstract; see fig. 1; [0063]) where the wafer has “a fluorescent substance that generates fluorescence or phosphorescence as the outgoing light” ([0079]; element 63; see figs. 2A-C) as a set of plural thermometers (see at least fig. 2A) and that the return light is detected and temperatures calculated ([0085]; [0092]) where the “fluorescent substance that generates fluorescence or phosphorescence as the outgoing light” ([0079]) includes at least rare earth doped oxides (see at least [0079] teaching regarding using “Y.sub.2O.sub.3:Eu(Europium) … Dy (Dysprosium), or YAG:Tb (Terbium)”; see also [0079]; [0111]; [0113]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the temperature monitoring system of Gotthold with the rare earth doped oxides of Eto. This is because such rare earth doped oxides allow for using a luminescing substance with known temperature dependent peaks (see at least [0113] of Eto; see also fig. 5 showing these peaks for “thermographic phosphors (YAG:Dy)” [0110]). This is important in order to provide a reliable measured temperature to an end user or controller of the process chamber (see at least [0032] of Gotthold).
Regarding claim 6, Gotthold does not directly and specifically state that the luminescent thermometers include Y.sub.2O.sub.3:RE, Sc.sub.2O.sub.3:RE, La.sub.2O.sub.3:RE, Gd.sub.2O.sub.3:RE, HfO.sub.2:RE, ZrO.sub.2:RE, ZnO:RE, Ta.sub.2O.sub.5:RE, Al.sub.2O.sub.3:RE, TiO.sub.2:RE, NaYF.sub.4:RE, CaF.sub.2:RE, SrF.sub.2:RE, YPO.sub.4:RE, YBO.sub.4:RE, YAlO.sub.3:RE, YVO.sub.4:RE and/or YCl.sub.3:RE, where RE denotes single or combination of different rare-earth ions.
However, Eto teaches a process chamber accommodating a wafer (1; abstract; see fig. 1; [0063]) where the wafer has “a fluorescent substance that generates fluorescence or phosphorescence as the outgoing light” ([0079]; element 63; see figs. 2A-C) as a set of plural thermometers (see at least fig. 2A) and that the return light is detected and temperatures calculated ([0085]; [0092]) where the “fluorescent substance that generates fluorescence or phosphorescence as the outgoing light” ([0079]) includes at least rare earth doped oxides (see at least [0079] teaching regarding using “Y.sub.2O.sub.3:Eu(Europium) … Dy (Dysprosium), or YAG:Tb (Terbium)”; see also [0079]; [0111]; [0113]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the temperature monitoring system of Gotthold with the rare earth doped oxides of Eto. This is because such rare earth doped oxides including at least yttrium oxide : europium allow for using a luminescing substance with known temperature dependent peaks (see at least [0113] of Eto). This is important in order to provide a reliable measured temperature to an end user or controller of the process chamber (see at least [0032] of Gotthold).
Regarding claim 7, Gotthold does not directly and specifically state that the rare-earth includes Y.sup.3+, Sc.sup.3+, La.sup.3+, Ce.sup.3+, Pr.sup.3+, Nd.sup.3+, Eu.sup.3+, Gd.sup.3+, Dy.sup.3+, Tb.sup.3+, Ho.sup.3+, Er.sup.3+, Tm.sup.3+, Yb.sup.3+/Er.sup.3+, Yb.sup.3+/Tm.sup.3+, Yb.sup.3+/Tm.sup.3+/Er.sup.3+, Yb.sup.3+/Ho.sup.3+, Yb.sup.3+/Ho.sup.3+/Er.sup.3+, Yb.sup.3+/Ho.sup.3+/Tm.sup.3+ and/or Yb.sup.3+/Tb.sup.3+.
However, Eto teaches a process chamber accommodating a wafer (1; abstract; see fig. 1; [0063]) where the wafer has “a fluorescent substance that generates fluorescence or phosphorescence as the outgoing light” ([0079]; element 63; see figs. 2A-C) as a set of plural thermometers (see at least fig. 2A) and that the return light is detected and temperatures calculated ([0085]; [0092]) where the “fluorescent substance that generates fluorescence or phosphorescence as the outgoing light” ([0079]) includes at least rare earth doped oxides (see at least [0079] teaching regarding using “Y.sub.2O.sub.3:Eu(Europium) … Dy (Dysprosium), or YAG:Tb (Terbium)”; see also [0079]; [0111]; [0113]; please note that Eu / Dy / Tb in an oxide state have a +3).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the temperature monitoring system of Gotthold with the rare earth doped oxides of Eto. This is because such rare earth doped oxides including at least yttrium oxide : europium allow for using a luminescing substance with known temperature dependent peaks (see at least [0113] of Eto). This is important in order to provide a reliable measured temperature to an end user or controller of the process chamber (see at least [0032] of Gotthold).
Regarding claim 8, Gotthold teaches that the wafer has a scribe line, a patterned feature and/or an alignment marker formed on the surface thereof, and the luminescent thermometers are formed on the surface within the scribe line, the patterned feature and/or the alignment marker, or the surface is a backside surface of the wafer (see fig. 15 showing that the surface is the backside surface; see additionally Eto at fig. 9 showing forming in a patterned feature).
Regarding claim 10, Gotthold lacks direct and specific teaching that the incident light includes ultra-violet (UV), visible (Vis) and/or infrared (IR) light.
However, Eto teaches a process chamber accommodating a wafer (1; abstract; see fig. 1; [0063]) where the wafer has “a fluorescent substance that generates fluorescence or phosphorescence as the outgoing light” ([0079]; element 63; see figs. 2A-C) in response to an incoming light (Li; see at least fig. 1) where the incoming / excitation light is visible ([0085] teaches an example with blue light as Li; “For example, where the incoming light Li is blue light”; see also [0079] “can generate lattice vibration by irradiation with visible light”) and that the return light is detected and temperatures calculated ([0085]; [0092]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the temperature monitoring system of Gotthold with the visible / blue light for excitation of Eto. This is because blue / visible light allows for exciting the luminescent substance and thereby determining the temperature (see [0113] of Eto). This is important in order to provide the measured temperature on a wafer to an end user or controller of the process chamber (see at least [0032] of Gotthold).
Regarding claim 11, Gotthold teaches an encapsulation film formed on the surface of the wafer to cover the luminescent thermometers (107; see fig. 14; [0046]).
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotthold et al. (US 20060140248; hereinafter Gotthold) and Eto (US 20180261481) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above respectively and further in view of Zhao et al. (US 20170248477, hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 2, Gotthold and Eto lack direct and specific teaching that the spectral data and temperature reading analyzer is configured to determine the temperature of the wafer by using a relation between an emission intensity ratio of two thermally-coupled excited state energy levels of an emitting center of the luminescent thermometers and Boltzmann's law.
However, Zhao does disclose double emission spectrum photoluminescent quantum dot nanothermometers / temperature sensors (abstract; [0001]; [0010]; [0091]) and that it is known that “The temperature is typically measured from a ratio of the intensity of the two emission channels, instead of their absolute PL intensities, as in single-emission materials, endowing self-calibration of the system and increasing the robustness and reliability of intensity-based spectroscopy thermometry” ([0005] in Background of the Invention; see also [0010]; fig. 8; [0064]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the luminescence-based temperature sensors of Eto and Gotthold with application of known optical laws such as Boltzmann’s and the double emission spectrum materials of Zhou. This is because such techniques are known in the art for measuring temperature with double emission spectrum materials. This is important in order to provide the thermometers / temperature sensors in an understood manner for use as luminescent materials.
Regarding claim 9, Gotthold and Eto lack teaching that at least one of the luminescent thermometers is 1 nm to 10 micrometers in size.
However, Zhao teaches photoluminescent quantum dot nanothermometers / temperature sensors (abstract; [0001]; [0010]) made with a shell coating ([0057]) and ligand capping ([0034]; [0077]; [0101]) with teaching that “In embodiments of the invention, the QDs are versatile. For example they can be grafted to several nanometer sized systems by suitably tailoring the external ligand capping the shell.” ([0015]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the luminescence-based temperature sensors of Eto and Gotthold with the sizing of Zhao. This is because such sizing allows for a more granular and precise temperature sensing to be performed (see [0002] of Zhao). Further, a change in size (here making the thermometers 1 nm to 10 micrometers) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)).
Claims 12-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto (US 20180261481) in view of Gotthold et al. (US 20060140248; hereinafter Gotthold).
Regarding claim 12, Eto teaches a method of forming a semiconductor structure (abstract; [0139]), comprising:
providing a wafer (W / WS“n” / WL; see figs. 2, 8 and 9); and
forming luminescent thermometers (63 / 83; [0079] / [0125]) on a surface of a wafer (see fig. 8 showing such formation on the surface of wafer WL), the luminescent thermometers configured to receive incident light (“Li”; see fig. 2 showing an example) and emit light (Le), the emitted light having an intensity that depends on a temperature of a portion of the wafer where the luminescent thermometers are formed ([0085] “light detector 32 detects the outgoing light Le. The temperature calculator 33 calculates the temperature of the sensing wafer WS on the basis of a temperature characteristic of the outgoing light Le”).
Eto may be regarded as not directly and specifically stating that the detected temperature is from the surface of the wafer (the example given being in a wafer made from WL and WU; see fig. 8 and fig. 2).
However, Gotthold teaches that the temperature measurement done via luminescent material is from the surface of the wafer (see figs. 13-15; see also [0023] and [0046]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of manufacturing a temperature sensor of Eto with the specific knowledge of using the surface location for a temperature sensor of Gotthold. This is because such a surface location allows for measuring the temperature of that surface more directly. This is important in order to manufacture a temperature sensor with a more accurate temperature measurement of a desired surface location.
Regarding claim 13, Eto teaches that forming luminescent thermometers includes attaching the luminescent thermometers to the surface of the wafer through self-assembly, selective area deposition, electrostatic interactions and/or chemical bonding using surface functionalization of the luminescent thermometers and/or the wafer (see at least [0148]; see also [0148-151] teaching regarding depositing portions of the thermometer via a CVD method in an area as partially shown in fig. 9).
Regarding claim 17, Eto teaches forming an encapsulation film on the surface of the wafer to cover the luminescent thermometers (at least clad layer 93; see fig. 9; see also 107 and fig. 14 of Gotthold).
Regarding claim 18, Eto teaches that the luminescent thermometers are formed using atomic layer deposition (ALD) or chemical vapor deposition (CVD) techniques (see at least [0148]; see also [0148-151] teaching regarding depositing portions of the thermometer via a CVD method).
Claims 14-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto (US 20180261481) and Gotthold et al. (US 20060140248; hereinafter Gotthold) as applied to claims 12 and 13 / 18 respectively above and further in view of Zhao et al. (US 20170248477, hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 14, Eto and Gotthold lack teaching that forming luminescent thermometers further includes modifying surface charges and functionalities of the luminescent thermometers using surface coating and ligand capping in a solvent.
However, Zhao teaches photoluminescent quantum dot nanothermometers / temperature sensors (abstract; [0001]; [0010]) made with a shell coating ([0057]) and ligand capping ([0034]; [0077]; [0101]) in a solvent (see at least [0106-107] teaching using at least ethanol and chloroform solvents in the luminescent QD production).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the manufacture of luminescence-based temperature sensors of Eto and Gotthold with the coating and ligand capping in a solvent of Zhao. This is because such techniques are known in the art for producing nano dot thermometers. This is important in order to provide the thermometers / temperature sensors in an understood manner for use in luminescent materials.
Regarding claim 15, Eto and Gotthold lack teaching that the surface coating includes SiO2 and polymer coatings, or the ligand capping includes oleic acid and citric acid.
However, Zhao teaches photoluminescent quantum dot nanothermometers / temperature sensors (abstract; [0001]; [0010]) made with a shell coating ([0057]) and ligand capping ([0034]; [0077]; [0101]) in a solvent (see at least [0106-107] teaching using at least ethanol and chloroform solvents in the luminescent QD production) where at least one shell is silica – i.e. Sio2 ([0023]) and polymer is also used in the QDs (see at least [0109] teaching that “The QDs chloroform solution was mixed with PMMA in chloroform and then spin-coated” – note that PMMA is a transparent thermoplastic polymer; see also [0110] and [0034] regarding oleic acid in ligand capping).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the manufacture of luminescence-based temperature sensors of Eto and Gotthold with the coatings of Zhao. This is because such techniques are known in the art for producing nano dot thermometers. This is important in order to provide the thermometers / temperature sensors in an understood manner for use in luminescent materials.
Regarding claim 16, Eto and Gotthold lack teaching that the solvent includes isopropyl alcohol (IPA), methanol, ethanol, ethyl acetate, chloroform, or cyclohexane.
However, Zhao teaches photoluminescent quantum dot nanothermometers / temperature sensors (abstract; [0001]; [0010]) made with a shell coating ([0057]) and ligand capping ([0034]; [0077]; [0101]) in a solvent including at least ethanol and chloroform (see at least [0106-107] teaching using at least ethanol and chloroform solvents in the luminescent QD production).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the manufacture of luminescence-based temperature sensors of Eto and Gotthold with the solvents of Zhao. This is because such techniques are known in the art for producing nano dot thermometers. This is important in order to provide the thermometers / temperature sensors in an understood manner for use in luminescent materials.
Regarding claim 19, Eto and Gotthold lack teaching that the ALD technique is achieved using rare-earth/metal precursors and oxygen and fluorine gas precursors.
However, Zhao teaches photoluminescent quantum dot nanothermometers / temperature sensors (abstract; [0001]; [0010]) made with precursor-based growth of the nanothermometers (see [0099] and [0108]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the manufacture of luminescence-based temperature sensors via deposition techniques of Eto and Gotthold with the knowledge of precursor techniques of Zhao. This is because such precursor techniques are known in the art as useful for producing the QD nanothermometers. This is important in order to provide the thermometers / temperature sensors in an understood manner for use in luminescent materials.
Regarding claim 20, Eto and Gotthold lack teaching that the rare-earth/metal precursors include rare-earth complexes of β-diketonate, alkoxides, organometallics or amides, and the oxygen and fluorine gas precursors include O.sub.2, O.sub.3, H.sub.2O.sub.2 vapor, H.sub.2O vapor, or F.sub.2.
However, Zhao teaches photoluminescent quantum dot nanothermometers / temperature sensors (abstract; [0001]; [0010]) made with precursor-based growth of the nanothermometers (see [0099] and [0108]), water –H.sub.2O– phase change techniques ([0103]) as well as using rare earth in luminescent thermal sensors ([0092]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the manufacture of luminescence-based temperature sensors via deposition techniques of Eto and Gotthold with the knowledge of precursor techniques, water phase change and rare earths of Zhao. This is because such techniques are known in the art as useful for producing the QD nanothermometers. This is important in order to provide the thermometers / temperature sensors in an understood manner for use in luminescent materials.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/PHILIP L COTEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/LAURA MARTIN/ SPE, Art Unit 2855