DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1–19 are pending.
Claims 1–17 are being treated on their merits.
Claims 18 and 19 are withdrawn from consideration.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0154251 A1.
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1–17, drawn to a current collecting component for a battery cell, classified in H01M50/584.
II. Claim 18, drawn to a manufacturing method for current collecting component, classified in H01M50/514.
III. Claim 19, drawn to a manufacturing device for current collecting component, classified in H01M10/0404.
Inventions II and I are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case, the current collecting component can be made by another and materially different process, such as, creating an insulator connecting two current collectors by over-molding an insulator precursor, curing the combination of the two current collectors and the insulator precursor, and removing a portion of the insulator to manufacture the current collecting component.
Inventions III and I are related as apparatus and product made. The inventions in this relationship are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the apparatus as claimed is not an obvious apparatus for making the product and the apparatus can be used for making a materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different apparatus (MPEP § 806.05(g)). In this case, the current collecting component can be made by another and materially different apparatus, such as, an apparatus configured to create an insulator connecting two current collectors by over-molding an insulator precursor, cure the combination of the two current collectors and the insulator precursor, and remove a portion of an insulator formed to manufacture the current collecting component.
Inventions II and III are related as process and apparatus for its practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case, the manufacturing method for current collecting component can be practiced by hand.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; and
the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different class/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone/email conversation with Li Liang Ph.D. (Reg. No. 74,191) on 22 July 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of the current collecting component, claims 1–17. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 18 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11 January 2024, 26 February 2025, and 25 November 2025 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: x (e.g., [0052]), y (e.g., [0052]), and z (e.g., [0052]). The reference characters used in the drawings are X, Y, and Z. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: CURRENT COLLECTING COMPONENT INCLUDING CURRENT COLLECTORS SEPARATED BY INSULATOR WITH LIMITING STRUCTURE RESTRICTING MOVEMENT, BATTERY CELL AND ELECTRIC DEVICE INCLUDING THE SAME.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The term "output holes" is described as configured to output electrical energy of the battery cell in paragraph [0026]. However, "output poles" are described elsewhere in the specification and illustrated in the drawings as configured to output electrical energy of the battery cell. The term "output poles" should be described as configured to output electrical energy of the battery cell in paragraph [0026].
Reference character x is used to designate a width direction in paragraph [0052]. However, reference character x is not in the drawings. Reference character X is used to designate a width direction. Reference character X should be used to designate a width direction in paragraph [0052].
Reference character y is used to designate an extending direction in paragraph [0052]. However, reference character y is not in the drawings. Reference character Y is used to designate an extending direction. Reference character Y should be used to designate an extending direction in paragraph [0052].
Reference character z is used to designate a thickness direction in paragraph [0052]. However, reference character z is not in the drawings. Reference character Z is used to designate a thickness direction. Reference character Z should be used to designate a thickness direction in paragraph [0052].
The acronym of PP includes a parenthetical containing two instances of polypropylene in paragraph [0062]. The parenthetical should include only one instance of polypropylene in paragraph [0062].
The acronym of PE includes a parenthetical containing two instances of polyethylene in paragraph [0062]. The parenthetical should include only one instance of polyethylene in paragraph [0062].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the output holes" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "one current collector." Claim 12 has previously recited the limitation "the current collecting component to claim 1" and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation "two current collectors." It is unclear if "one current collector" recited in claim12 is one of "two current collectors" recited in claim 1.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "one tab" in line 6. Claim 12 has previously recited the limitation "two tabs" in line 2. It is unclear if "one tab" recited in line 6 is one of "two tabs" recited in line 2.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "one output pole" in line 6. Claim 12 has previously recited the limitation "two output poles in line 3. It is unclear if "one output pole" recited in line 6 is one of "two output poles" recited in line 3.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the other current collector" in 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the other tab" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the other output hole" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the corresponding tab" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–5, 8, 9–13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (CN 212542629 U, hereinafter Shi).
Regarding claim 1, Shi discloses a current collecting component (1) for a battery cell (100, [0040]), wherein the battery cell (100) has two output poles (21, 22) with opposite polarities for outputting electrical energy (FIG. 12, [0067]), the current collecting component (1) comprising:
two current collectors (11, 12) arranged opposite each other along a width direction of the current collecting component (1, [0037]),
wherein the two current collectors (11, 12) are configured to connect to the two output poles (21, 22), respectively (FIG. 12, [0067]);
an insulator (13) configured to connect the two current collectors (11, 12; [0037]),
wherein the insulator (13) is located at least partially between the two current collectors (11, 12) in the width direction to insulate the two current collectors (11, 12) from each other (FIG. 2, [0041]); and
a limiting structure (1112, 1212, 1331) configured to restrict the current collectors (11, 12) from leaving the insulator (13) along the width direction (FIG. 2, [0055]).
Regarding claim 2, Shi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a current collecting component:
wherein the limiting structure (1112, 1212, 1331) comprises a limiting part (1112, 1212) and a recess (1331, [0055]),
one of the limiting part (1112, 1212) and the recess (1331) being provided on the current collector (11, 12; [0055]) and
another one of the limiting part (1112, 1212) and the recess (1331) being provided on the insulator (13, [0055]); and
the limiting part (1112, 1212) is configured to engage with the recess (1331) to restrict the current collector (11, 12) from leaving the insulator (13) along the width direction (FIG. 2, [0055]).
Regarding claim 3, Shi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a current collecting component:
wherein the recess (1331) is depressed in a thickness direction of the current collecting component (1, [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Shi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a current collecting component:
wherein the insulator (13) is provided with a limiting slot (132, [0052]),
where one end (112, 122) of the current collector (11, 12) is snap fitted into the limiting slot (132) along the width direction to restrict the current collector (11, 12) from moving relative to the insulator (13) in a thickness direction of the current collecting component (1, [0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Shi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a current collecting component, wherein the limiting structure (1112, 1122, 1331) comprises:
a recess (1112, 1122) provided on the current collector (11, 12; [0055]); and
a limiting part (1331) provided on the insulator (13, [0055]),
wherein the limiting part (1331) is located at least partially within the limiting slot (132) and engages with the recess (1112, 1122) to restrict the current collector (11, 21) from leaving the insulator (13) along the width direction (FIG. 2, [0055]).
Regarding claim 8, Shi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a current collecting component:
wherein the recess (1112, 1122) is depressed in the thickness direction of the current collecting component (1, [0055]).
Regarding claim 9, Shi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a current collecting component:
wherein the limiting structure (1112, 1222, 1331) is one of a plurality of limiting structures (1112, 1222, 1331) arranged along an extending direction of the current collecting component (1) between the current collectors (11, 12) and the insulator (13, [0052]).
Regarding claim 10, Shi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a current collecting component:
wherein the insulator (13) is one of a plurality of insulators (13) spaced along an extending direction of the current collecting component (1, [0052]); and
each of the current collectors (11, 12) is configured to be able to bend in a gap region between adjacent two of the insulators (13, [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Shi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a current collecting component:
wherein the insulator (13) is an injection-molded piece that is molded between the two current collectors (11, 12; [0056]).
Regarding claim 12, Shi discloses a battery cell (100) comprising an electrode assembly (6) having two tabs with opposite polarities (FIG. 12, [0066]); two output poles (21, 22) with opposite polarities (FIG. 12, [0067]), where the two output poles (21, 22) are configured to output electrical energy of the battery cell (100, [0067]); and a current collecting component (1, [0067]), wherein the current collecting component (1) comprises:
two current collectors (11, 12) arranged opposite each other along a width direction of the current collecting component (1, [0037]),
wherein the two current collectors (11, 12) are configured to connect to the two output poles (21, 22), respectively (FIG. 12, [0067]);
an insulator (13) configured to connect the two current collectors (11, 12; [0037]),
wherein the insulator (13) is located at least partially between the two current collectors (11, 12) in the width direction to insulate the two current collectors (11, 12) from each other (FIG. 2, [0041]); and
a limiting structure (1112, 1212, 1331) configured to restrict the current collectors (11, 12) from leaving the insulator (13) along the width direction (FIG. 2, [0055]);
wherein one current collector (11) of the two current collectors (11, 12) is configured to connect one tab of the two tabs and one output pole (21) of the two output poles (FIG. 12, [0067]) and
another current collector (12) of the two current collectors (11, 12) is configured to connect another tab of the two tabs and another output pole (22) of the two output poles (FIG. 12, [0067]).
Regarding claim 13, Shi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the two tabs are formed at one same end of the electrode assembly (6, [0068]).
Regarding claim 16, Shi discloses a battery (FIG. 12, [0067]) comprising a battery cell (100); and a box (7) configured to accommodate the battery cell (100, [0066]), the battery cell (100) comprises an electrode assembly (6) having two tabs with opposite polarities (FIG. 12, [0066]); two output poles (21, 22) with opposite polarities (FIG. 12, [0067]), where the two output poles (21, 22) are configured to output electrical energy of the battery cell (100, [0067]); and a current collecting component (1, [0067]), wherein the current collecting component (1) comprises:
two current collectors (11, 12) arranged opposite each other along a width direction of the current collecting component (1, [0037]),
wherein the two current collectors (11, 12) are configured to connect to the two output poles (21, 22), respectively (FIG. 12, [0067]);
an insulator (13) configured to connect the two current collectors (11, 12; [0037]),
wherein the insulator (13) is located at least partially between the two current collectors (11, 12) in the width direction to insulate the two current collectors (11, 12) from each other (FIG. 2, [0041]); and
a limiting structure (1112, 1212, 1331) configured to restrict the current collectors (11, 12) from leaving the insulator (13) along the width direction (FIG. 2, [0055]);
wherein one current collector (11) of the two current collectors (11, 12) is configured to connect one tab of the two tabs and one output pole (21) of the two output poles (FIG. 12, [0067]) and
another current collector (12) of the two current collectors (11, 12) is configured to connect another tab of the two tabs and another output pole (22) of the two output poles (FIG. 12, [0067]).
Regarding claim 17, Shi discloses an electric device (FIG. 12, [0003]), comprising a battery (FIG. 12, [0067]) comprising a battery cell (100); and a box (7) configured to accommodate the battery cell (100, [0066]), the battery cell (100) comprises an electrode assembly (6) having two tabs with opposite polarities (FIG. 12, [0066]); two output poles (21, 22) with opposite polarities (FIG. 12, [0067]), where the two output poles (21, 22) are configured to output electrical energy of the battery cell (100, [0067]); and a current collecting component (1, [0067]), wherein the current collecting component (1) comprises:
two current collectors (11, 12) arranged opposite each other along a width direction of the current collecting component (1, [0037]),
wherein the two current collectors (11, 12) are configured to connect to the two output poles (21, 22), respectively (FIG. 12, [0067]);
an insulator (13) configured to connect the two current collectors (11, 12; [0037]),
wherein the insulator (13) is located at least partially between the two current collectors (11, 12) in the width direction to insulate the two current collectors (11, 12) from each other (FIG. 2, [0041]); and
a limiting structure (1112, 1212, 1331) configured to restrict the current collectors (11, 12) from leaving the insulator (13) along the width direction (FIG. 2, [0055]);
wherein one current collector (11) of the two current collectors (11, 12) is configured to connect one tab of the two tabs and one output pole (21) of the two output poles (FIG. 12, [0067]) and
another current collector (12) of the two current collectors (11, 12) is configured to connect another tab of the two tabs and another output pole (22) of the two output poles (FIG. 12, [0067]).
Claims 1, 4–7, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (US 2018/0351153 A1, hereinafter Nakamura).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a current collecting component (20, [0064]) for a battery cell (10, [0040]), wherein the battery cell (10) has two output poles (66) with opposite polarities for outputting electrical energy (FIG. 4, [0037]), the current collecting component (20) comprising:
two current collectors (51, 52) arranged opposite each other along a width direction of the current collecting component (20, [0031]),
wherein the two current collectors (51, 52) are configured to connect to the two output poles (66), respectively (FIG. 4, [0064]);
an insulator (90) configured to connect the two current collectors (51, 52; [0037]),
wherein the insulator (90) is located at least partially between the two current collectors (51, 52) in the width direction to insulate the two current collectors (51, 52) from each other (FIG. 4, [0064]); and
a limiting structure (92, 93) configured to restrict the current collectors (51, 52) from leaving the insulator (90) along the width direction (FIG. 4, [0080]).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a current collecting component:
wherein the insulator (90) is provided with a limiting slot (95a, 95b; [0093]),
where one end (51a, 52a) of the current collector (51, 52) is snap fitted into the limiting slot (95a, 95b) along the width direction to restrict the current collector (51, 52) from moving relative to the insulator (90) in a thickness direction of the current collecting component (20, [0094]).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a current collecting component, wherein the limiting structure (92, 93) comprises:
a recess (51c, 52c) provided on the current collector (51, 52; [0088]); and
a limiting part (92a, 93a) provided on the insulator (90, [0094]),
wherein the limiting part (92a, 93a) is located at least partially within the limiting slot (95a, 95b) and engages with the recess (51c, 52c) to restrict the current collector (51, 52) from leaving the insulator (90) along the width direction (FIG. 4, [0094]).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a current collecting component:
wherein the recess (51c, 53a) is a first through hole (51c, 53a) running through surface of the current collector (51, 52) in the thickness direction (FIG. 4; [0043], [0058]).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a current collecting component:
wherein the limiting slot (95a, 95b) comprises two slot sidewalls (92e, [0074]; 93e, [0076]),
the two slot sidewalls (92e, 93e) being arranged opposite each other in the thickness direction with two ends of the limiting part (92a, 93a) fixed to the two slot sidewalls(92e, 93e), respectively (FIG. 4, [0094]).
Regarding claim 12, Nakamura discloses a battery cell (10) comprising an electrode assembly (12) having two tabs (36) with opposite polarities (FIG. 4, [0030]); two output poles (66) with opposite polarities (FIG. 4, [0037]), where the two output poles (66) are configured to output electrical energy of the battery cell (10, [0030]); and a current collecting component (20, [0064]), wherein the current collecting component (20) comprises:
two current collectors (51, 52) arranged opposite each other along a width direction of the current collecting component (20, [0031]),
wherein the two current collectors (51, 52) are configured to connect to the two output poles (66), respectively (FIG. 4, [0064]);
an insulator (90) configured to connect the two current collectors (51, 52; [0037]),
wherein the insulator (90) is located at least partially between the two current collectors (51, 52) in the width direction to insulate the two current collectors (51, 52) from each other (FIG. 4, [0064]); and
a limiting structure (92, 93) configured to restrict the current collectors (51, 52) from leaving the insulator (90) along the width direction (FIG. 4, [0080]);
wherein one current collector (51) of the two current collectors (51, 52) is configured to connect one tab (36) of the two tabs (36) and one output pole (66) of the two output poles (66, [0031]) and
another current collector (52) of the two current collectors (51, 52) is configured to connect another tab (36) of the two tabs (36) and another output pole (66) of the two output poles (66, [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Nakamura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein each current collector (51, 52) has a welding region (51a, 52a) for welding to the corresponding tab (36, [0092]),
the welding region (51a, 52a) has an abutment surface (51a, 52a) for abutting against the tab (36, [0092]), and
the insulator (90) does not exceed the abutment surface (51a, 52a; [0077]).
Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mori et al. (US 2013/0155575 A1, hereinafter Mori).
Regarding claim 12, Mori discloses a battery cell (2) comprising an electrode assembly (4) having two tabs (6, 8) with opposite polarities (FIG. 2, [0064]); two output poles (10, 14) with opposite polarities (FIG. 2, [0064]), where the two output poles (10, 14) are configured to output electrical energy of the battery cell (2, [0064]); and a current collecting component (22, [0066]), wherein the current collecting component (22, 26) comprises:
two current collectors (55) arranged opposite each other along a width direction of the current collecting component (22, [0088]),
wherein the two current collectors (55) are configured to connect to the two output poles (10, 14), respectively (FIG. 2, [0064]);
an insulator (22) configured to connect the two current collectors (55, [0066]),
wherein the insulator (22) is located at least partially between the two current collectors (55) in the width direction to insulate the two current collectors (55) from each other (FIG. 2, [0066]); and
a limiting structure (26) configured to restrict the current collectors (55) from leaving the insulator (22) along the width direction (FIG. 2, [0106]);
wherein one current collector (55) of the two current collectors (55) is configured to connect one tab (6) of the two tabs (6, 8) and one output pole (10) of the two output poles (10, 14; [0066]) and
another current collector (55) of the two current collectors (55) is configured to connect another tab (8) of the two tabs (6, 8) and another output pole (14) of the two output poles (10, 14; [0066]).
Regarding claim 15, Mori discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the electrode assembly (4) has a center hole (46, [0074]) and
the insulator (22) has a second through hole (36, [0067]),
the second through hole (36) being opposite the center hole (46, FIG. 2).
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725