CTNF 18/410,037 CTNF 86656 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Currently, claims 1-22 are pending and examined below. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) Six information disclosure statements submitted on 01/12/2024 ("01-12-24 IDS"), 04/25/2024 (“04-25-24 IDS”), 06/26/2025 (“06-26-25 IDS”), 07/22/2025 (“07-22-25 IDS”), 04/03/2026 (“04-03-26 IDS”) and 05/20/2026 (“05-20-26 IDS”) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the 01-12-24 IDS, 04-25-24 IDS, 06-26-25 IDS, 07-22-25 IDS and 04-03-26 IDS are being considered by the examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: DISPLAY DEVICE, IMAGE SENSING DEVICE, AND ELECTRONIC APPARATUS EACH HAVING COLOR FILTER LAYER WITH HEXAGONAL-SHAPED BANDPASS FILTER Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 1 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-5, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Pub. No. US 2019/0305051 A1 to Takahashi et al. ("Takahashi") . Fig. 2 of Takahashi has been annotated and Fig. 1 of Takahashi has been provided to support the rejection below: [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] PNG media_image1.png 391 367 media_image1.png Greyscale [AltContent: textbox (C3)] [AltContent: textbox (C1)] [AltContent: textbox (C2)] PNG media_image2.png 384 387 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding independent claim 1 , Takahashi teaches a display device 15 (para [0034] - “FIG. 2 schematically illustrates the light-emitting device according to this embodiment in a plan view. FIG. 1 is a sectional view taken along line I-I in FIG. 2.”; see also Fig. 5) comprising: a light-emitting element array 100B, 100R, 100G (para [0032] - “The light-emitting device in FIG. 1 includes three types of organic EL elements 100R, 100G, and 100B that each include, on a substrate 1, a lower electrode 2, an organic compound layer 4, an upper electrode 5, a protective layer 6, a planarization layer 7, a color filter 8, a filling layer 9, and an opposing substrate 10 in this order from the substrate 1.”) including a plurality of light-emitting elements arranged on a substrate 1; and a color filter layer 8B, 8R, 8G (para [0032] - “The color filter of each color is disposed on the corresponding organic EL element. A red color filter 8R is disposed on the organic EL element 100R, a green color filter 8G is disposed on the organic EL element 100G, and a blue color filter 8B is disposed on the organic EL element 100B.”) arranged on the light-emitting element array and including a plurality of first bandpass filters 8R configured to transmit light in a first band (red), a plurality of second bandpass filters 8B configured to transmit light in a second band (blue) different from the first band (red), and a plurality of third bandpass filters 8G configured to transmit light in a third band (green) different from the first band (red) and the second band (blue), wherein the color filter layer 8B, 8R, 8G has an arrangement including at least a first column C1 in which the first bandpass filters 8R are arranged, a second column C2 in which the second bandpass filters 8B and the third bandpass filters 8G are alternately arranged, and a third column C3 in which the second bandpass filters 8B and the third bandpass filters 8G are alternately arranged in an order different from the second column C2 , and at least one first bandpass filter 8R is in contact with at least one second bandpass filter 8B and at least one third bandpass filter 8G (see Figs. 1 and 2), the first bandpass filter 8R has a hexagonal shape formed by three sets of parallel opposite sides, the second bandpass filter 8B has a shape obtained by connecting a plurality of hexagons each formed by three sets of parallel opposite sides (see Fig. 2), and the third bandpass filter 8G has a shape obtained by connecting a plurality of hexagons each formed by three sets of parallel opposite sides (see Fig. 2). Regarding independent claim 2 , Takahashi teaches a display device 15 (para [0034] - “FIG. 2 schematically illustrates the light-emitting device according to this embodiment in a plan view. FIG. 1 is a sectional view taken along line I-I in FIG. 2.”; see also Fig. 5) comprising: a light-emitting element array 100B, 100R, 100G (para [0032] - “The light-emitting device in FIG. 1 includes three types of organic EL elements 100R, 100G, and 100B that each include, on a substrate 1, a lower electrode 2, an organic compound layer 4, an upper electrode 5, a protective layer 6, a planarization layer 7, a color filter 8, a filling layer 9, and an opposing substrate 10 in this order from the substrate 1.”) including a plurality of light-emitting elements arranged on a substrate 1; and a color filter layer 8B, 8R, 8G (para [0032] - “The color filter of each color is disposed on the corresponding organic EL element. A red color filter 8R is disposed on the organic EL element 100R, a green color filter 8G is disposed on the organic EL element 100G, and a blue color filter 8B is disposed on the organic EL element 100B.”) arranged on the light-emitting element array and including a plurality of first bandpass filters 8R configured to transmit light in a first band (red), a plurality of second bandpass filters 8B configured to transmit light in a second band (blue) different from the first band (red), and a plurality of third bandpass filters 8G configured to transmit light in a third band (green) different from the first band (red) and the second band (blue), wherein the color filter layer 8B, 8R, 8G has an arrangement in which the first bandpass filter 8R are arranged in accordance with a delta arrangement (para [0065] - “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of color filters disposed in a delta arrangement. Red, green, and blue color filters are arranged, and overlapping regions are formed between the color filters.”), and the number of second band pass filters 8B and third bandpass filters 8G is smaller than the number of first bandpass filters in column C1 , and at least one first bandpass filter 8R is in contact with at least one second bandpass filter 8B and at least one third bandpass filter 8G. Regarding claims 3-5 , the term “if” is a conditional statement that renders the limitations that follow “if” as being optional, so for situation in which the conditional statement is not satisfied, claims 3-5 do not structurally distinguish the claimed display device over the display device taught by Takahashi. Regarding independent claim 21 , Takahashi teaches an image sensing device (see Fig. 8 for example) comprising: an optical unit including a plurality of lenses, an image sensor configured to receive light having passing through the optical unit, and a display unit configured to display an image (para [0106] - “The display apparatus according to this embodiment may be used in a display section of an image pickup apparatus, such as a camera, that includes an optical system including a plurality of lenses and an image pickup element configured to receive light that has passed through the optical system. The image pickup apparatus may include a display section configured to display information obtained by the image pickup element. The display section may be a display section exposed to the outside of the image pickup apparatus or a display section disposed in a viewfinder.”; para [0107] - “FIG. 8 schematically illustrates an example of an image pickup apparatus according to this embodiment. An image pickup apparatus 1100 may include a viewfinder 1101, a rear display 1102, an operating section 1103, and a housing 1104. The viewfinder 1101 may include the display apparatus according to an embodiment of the present invention. In this case, the display apparatus may display not only an image to be captured, but also environmental information, image capturing instructions, and the like. The environmental information may be, for example, the intensity of external light, the direction of external light, the moving speed of a subject, and the possibility that the subject is hidden by an object.”). wherein the display unit is a display unit 1102 configured to display an image captured by the image sensor and includes a display device defined in claim 1. Regarding independent claim 22 , Takahashi teaches an electronic apparatus (see Fig. 9 for example; para [0111] - “The display apparatus according to this embodiment may be used in a display section of mobile terminals. In this case, the display apparatus may have both a display function and an operating function. Examples of the mobile terminals include cellular phones such as smart phones, tablets, and head mount displays. They are also called telecommunications apparatuses or electronic apparatuses.”) comprising: a housing 1203 (para [0112] - “FIG. 9 schematically illustrates an example of a mobile apparatus according to this embodiment. A mobile apparatus 1200 includes a display section 1201, an operating section 1202, and a housing 1203. The housing 1203 may include a circuit, a printed board including the circuit, a battery, and a communications section.”) provided with a display unit 1201, and a communication unit provided in the housing 1203 and configured to perform external communication (para [0111] - “The display apparatus according to this embodiment may be used in a display section of mobile terminals. In this case, the display apparatus may have both a display function and an operating function. Examples of the mobile terminals include cellular phones such as smart phones, tablets, and head mount displays. They are also called telecommunications apparatuses or electronic apparatuses.”), wherein the display unit 1201 includes a display device defined in claim 1 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: (1). Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (2). Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. (3). Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. (4). Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Pub. No. US 2013/0208172 A1 to Tashiro (“Tashiro”) . Regarding claim 6 , Takahashi does not disclose microlens. Tashiro teaches an imaging apparatus having microlens arranged on each pixel (para [0027]) and over color filters (para [0028]). Tashiro teaches that “When each individual pixel of an imaging apparatus is covered by one microlens, each individual microlens has to be formed to have a large height.” (para [0024]). “However, to cover each individual pixel of the imaging apparatus by a microlens having a large height is to impair flatness of the imaging apparatus, and to bring about manufacturing variations such as different heights of individual microlenses. For this reason, it is difficult to control a route of incoming light, and the layout design of pixels is not easy.” (para [0025]). Tashiro found that “An aperture ratio of the imaging apparatus 1 when no microlenses ML are laid out was 64%, but a practical aperture ratio was improved up to 72%. Also, the sensitivity of the imaging apparatus 1 was improved by 15% compared to a case in which no microlenses ML are laid out.” (para [0033]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Takahashi by employing a microlens array of Tashiro so as to improve the sensitivity of the pixels (Tashiro, para [0033]) . Allowable Subject Matter 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 3 is objected to for depending on a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if it is rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim 1 or the base claim 1 is amended to include all of the limitations of claim 3. Claim 4 is objected to for depending on a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if it is rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim 1 or the base claim 1 is amended to include all of the limitations of claim 4. Claim 5 is objected to for depending on a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if it is rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim 1 or the base claim 1 is amended to include all of the limitations of claim 5. Claim 6 is objected to for depending on a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if it is rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim 1 or the base claim 1 is amended to include all of the limitations of claim 6. Claim 7 is objected to for depending on a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if it is rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim 1 or the base claim 1 is amended to include all of the limitations of claim 7. Claim 8 is allowable for depending on the allowable claim 7. Claim 9 is objected to for depending on a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if it is rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim 1 or the base claim 1 is amended to include all of the limitations of claim 9. Claim 10 is objected to for depending on a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if it is rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim 1 or the base claim 1 is amended to include all of the limitations of claim 10. Claim 11 is objected to for depending on a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if it is rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim 1 or the base claim 1 is amended to include all of the limitations of claim 11. Claim 12 is objected to for depending on a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if it is rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim 1 or the base claim 1 is amended to include all of the limitations of claim 12. Claims 18-20 are allowable for depending from the allowable claim 12. Claim 13 is objected to for depending on a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if it is rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim 1 or the base claim 1 is amended to include all of the limitations of claim 13. Claim 14 is objected to for depending on a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if it is rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim 1 or the base claim 1 is amended to include all of the limitations of claim 14. Claims 15 and 16 are allowable for depending on the allowable claim 14. Claim 17 is objected to for depending on a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if it is rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim 1 or the base claim 1 is amended to include all of the limitations of claim 17 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Pub. No. US 2018/0301484 A1 to Vaartstra et al. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL JUNG whose telephone number is (408) 918-7554. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30 A.M. to 7 P.M. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eliseo Ramos-Feliciano can be reached on (571) 272-7925. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 28 May 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/410,037 Page 2 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/410,037 Page 3 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/410,037 Page 4 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/410,037 Page 5 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/410,037 Page 6 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/410,037 Page 7 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/410,037 Page 8 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/410,037 Page 9 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/410,037 Page 10 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/410,037 Page 11 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/410,037 Page 12 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/410,037 Page 13 Art Unit: 2817 1 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status