DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The objections to drawings of record are withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments.
The claim objection of record is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments.
The indefiniteness rejections of record are withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments.
The 102 rejections of record are withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 103 rejections, especially claim 10 (rejected over Duncan in view of Reklaitis) have been considered but they are not moot. The present rejection relies on Zhang for teaching THz-based electron-beam manipulation, and Reklaitis is relied upon to show that semiconductor structure, such as InAs, were known THz radiation source when excited by femtosecond optical pulses. Thus, the combination does not require modifying Duncan based solely on Reklaitis’ material study.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites an apparatus and a method of its use in the same claim. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). MPEP 2173.05(p) (II); and See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303 (Fed. Cir. 2011). Specifically, the claim recites the step of “the charged particles beam source and the at least one high-frequency electromagnetic radiation generator being controllably operated to provide synchronized generation of the charged particles beam and the THz radiation towards at least one interaction region.” This limitation is a step because it recites an actual operation/use of the apparatus, not merely a structural configuration of the apparatus. This limitation makes the claim indefinite because the step claim language makes it unclear whether infringement occurs when one creates the system that allows for the step, or whether infringement occurs when the step actually occurs. Accordingly, claim 1 improperly mixes an apparatus with method/use steps and is therefore indefinite.
Claim 17 also recites an apparatus and a method of its use in the same claim. Specifically, the claim recites the step of “each of said at least one high-frequency electromagnetic radiation generator being configured and controllably operated to provide generation of the THz radiation, synchronized with generation of the charged particles beam.” This limitation is a step because it recites actual operation of the radiation generator and synchronization with generation of a charged particle beam, even though claim 17 is directed to an apparatus/ monochromator. This limitation makes the claim indefinite because the step claim language makes it unclear whether infringement occurs when one creates the system that allows for the step, or whether infringement occurs when the step actually occurs. Accordingly, claim 17 improperly mixes an apparatus with method/use steps and is therefore indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, Zhang, et al., ‘Segmented terahertz electron accelerator and manipulator (STEAM).” Nature Photonics, 12(6), 336–342(2018) [hereinafter Zhang], in view of Reklaitis, “Terahertz emission from InAs induced by photo-Dember effect: Hydrodynamic analysis and Monte Carlo simulations.” Journal of Applied Physics, 108(5), 053102 (2010) [hereinafter Reklaitis].
Regarding Claim 1:
The term “near-field interaction” is interpreted as requiring interaction between the charged particles beam and a localized electromagnetic field associated with the THz radiation in or near the interaction region, rather than merely requiring use of THz radiation generally. However, the claim does not recite a specific near-field distance, or quantitative boundary between near-field and far-field. Accordingly, for purposes of examination, the limitation is satisfied by prior art teaching or suggesting a localized THz/electromagnetic field interaction with the charged-particle beam in an interaction region, particularly where the THz field is focused or confined near the beam path and directly affects the beam’s energy or phase-space properties.
Zhang teaches a charged particles beam column for inspecting a sample in a sample plane (Abstract: a segmented THz electron accelerator and manipulator used for electron and X-ray devices for ultrafast imaging and spectroscopy), the charged particles beam column comprising:
a charged particles source generating a charged particles beam propagating along a general propagation path towards the sample plane (Fig. 1 and Pages 2 and 8: Zhang’s experimental setup includes a 55 keV photo-triggered DC gun, where ultraviolet pulses are directed onto a gold photocathode to generate electron pulses, which are accelerated to 55 keV by a DC electric field. Fig. 1 also illustrates the 55 keV electron beam propagating into the STEAM device); and
at least one charged particles beam shaping unit comprising at least one high-frequency electromagnetic radiation generator comprising a semiconductor structure configured to generate THz radiation (Abstract and Page 3: Zhang teaches a THz-powered STEAM device for electron acceleration or manipulation, “THz pulses with a center frequency of 0.3 THz were generated (Fig. 1 B) by the well-established tilted pulse-front method” and that single-cycle THz pulses are generated and coupled into the STEAM device, and that THz fields interact with the electron beam according to the Lorentz force law),
said at least one high-frequency electromagnetic radiation generator being located in a vicinity of and spaced apart from said general propagation path of the charged particles beam (Fig. 1 and Pages 2-3: Zhang teaches that the electron beam propagates through the STEAM device, while the THz radiation is introduced transversely to the electron motion from two independent THz setups through horn structures. The horns focus the counter-propagating THz fields into the electron interaction zone, i.e., THz source/delivery structure is near the electron beam path but not located on the same propagation path. Fig. 1 also visually supports this: the 55 keV electron beam travels horizontally through the STEAM device, while the THz beams are coupled from the sides into the interaction region),
the charged particles beam source and the at least one high-frequency electromagnetic radiation generator being controllably operated to provide synchronized generation the charged particles beam and the THz radiation towards at least one interaction region in said general propagation path (Pages 2-3: Zhang teaches that laser-based THz-driven accelerators provide intrinsic synchronization. Zhang also teaches that dielectric slabs delay the arrival time of the THz waveform to coincide with arrival of the electrons, effectively phase-matching the interaction, and that the relative delay of the THz pulses and electrons is tuned to select the operating function),
such that the THz radiation propagates in free space to said at least one interaction region, to cause near-field interaction between said THz radiation and the charged particles beam in free space (Page 3: Zhang teaches that THz pulses from two independent setups are coupled into the STEAM device transversely to the electron motion by two horn structures, which focus the counter-propagating THz fields into the interaction zone. The electrons then experience the THz electric and magnetic fields according to the Lorentz force, where the electric field causes acceleration/deceleration and the magnetic field causes transverse deflection),
thereby directly affecting energy properties of the charged particles passing through said at least one interaction region in the general propagation path, (Page 4: Zhang teaches that, in electric mode, the electric fields constructively interfere at the interaction point and provide acceleration/deceleration of the electron beam. Zhang reports measured energy modulation as a function of electron-THz delay and measured electron energy spectra showing more than 30 keV energy gain after the STEAM device),
said interaction compressing an energy spread of the charged particles beam (Fig. 4 and Pages 4-6: Zhang expressly teaches THz-driven electron pulse compression. Zhang states that a temporally varying THz electric field imparts an energy chirp that causes compression or stretching of the electron bunch, and reports compression of an electron bunch from over 1 ps to about 100 fs),
and directly affecting spectral resolution of the charged particles beam at said sample plane (Page 5: Zhang teaches focusing/defocusing modes and states that the electron beam diameter was reduced by 2× compared to its input value under the focusing configuration).
However, Zhang does not specifically teach that the high-frequency electromagnetic radiation generator comprises a semiconductor structure configured to generate THz radiation.
Reklaitis teaches the high-frequency electromagnetic radiation generator comprises a semiconductor structure configured to generate THz radiation (Abstract and Page 1: terahertz emission from InAs excited by a femtosecond optical pulse and explains that excitation of semiconductors with femtosecond laser pulses is widely used to generate broadband pulsed THz radiation. Reklaitis further teaches THz emission from freestanding semiconductor surfaces, including InAs surface emitters, where THz emission arises from the photo-Dember effect and/or nonlinear optical rectification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art, before the effective time of filing, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhang’s THz-driven electron accelerator/manipulator by using a known semiconductor THz emitter, such as Reklaitis’ InAs emitter, as the THz/high-frequency electromagnetic radiation generator. Since Zhang teaches that synchronized THz fields are useful for manipulating electron beams, including acceleration, focusing, streaking, and compression while Reklaitis teaches that InAs semiconductor structures were known THz emitters excited by femtosecond optical pulses, the combination would have predictably used a known semiconductor THz source to provide the THz field used in Zhang’s electron-beam shaping interaction.
Regarding Claim 2:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein said charged particles beam is an electron beam (Zhang’s setup includes a 55 keV photo-triggered DC gun, where UV pulses generate electron pulses, and Fig. 1 labels a 55 keV electron beam entering the STEAM device).
Regarding Claim 3:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the high-frequency electromagnetic radiation generator is configured to produce pulsed THz radiation (Fig. 1 and page 3: teaches a 55 keV photo-triggered DC gun generating electron pulses, and shows a 55 keV electron beam propagating into the STEAM device).
Regarding Claim 4:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein a high frequency electromagnetic field produced by said THz radiation is configured to compress energy-width of the charged particles beam (Page 5 and Fig. 4: teaches that the THz E-field imparts a temporally varying energy chirp resulting in a velocity gradient that causes compression or stretching of the electron bunch, and demonstrates THz-driven electron pulse compression to about 100 fs).
Regarding Claim 5:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column of claim 4. Zhang further teaches wherein a spatio-temporal shape of a pulse of the THz radiation is configured to compress the energy-width of the charged particles beam (Abstract and Pages 3-4 of 16: teaches using “single-cycle, 0.3 THz pulses” and configuring the spatio-temporal characteristics of a high frequence pulse (THz waveform timing/phase is adjusted layer-by-layer across the interaction volume so the field seen by electrons is shaped in both space (layers) and time(delays)) to control the time-dependent energy modulation (chirp) imparted to electrons, i.e., the beam’s energy width/spread is governed by the spatio-temporal pulse shape at the interaction region).
Regarding Claim 6:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column of claim 4. Zhang further teaches wherein a spatio-temporal shape of a pulse of the THz radiation is configured to reduce spatial distribution of charged particles of the charged particles beam (Abstract, Pages 4 and 6 of 16 : teaches using “single-cycle, 0.3 THz pulses” and that the electron-field interaction is configured “by tuning the relative delay of the two THz pulses and the electrons;” further teaches “By placing the electrons at the zero crossing in the electric mode … the STEAM device can operate as a focusing or defocusing element…” and under “the focusing configuration, which corresponded to the longitudinal decompression condition…the electron beam diameter was reduced by 2 × compared to its input value”).
Regarding Claim 7:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column of claim 5. Zhang further teaches wherein a spatio-temporal shape of a pulse of the THz radiation is configured to reduce spatial distribution of the charged particles of the charged particles beam (Abstract, Pages 4 and 6 of 16 : teaches using “single-cycle, 0.3 THz pulses” and that the electron-field interaction is configured “by tuning the relative delay of the two THz pulses and the electrons;” further teaches “By placing the electrons at the zero crossing in the electric mode … the STEAM device can operate as a focusing or defocusing element…” and under “the focusing configuration, which corresponded to the longitudinal decompression condition…the electron beam diameter was reduced by 2 × compared to its input value”).
Regarding Claim 8:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein said THz radiation is a pulsed radiation, and a time delay between a time of the generation of a radiation pulse and a time of arrival of the charged particles to the interaction region are controlled to provide temporal overlap between the charged particle beam and said THz radiation in the interaction region (Abstract, Pages 3-4 of 16: teaches using “single-cycle, 0.3 THz pulses,” and describes “Dielectric slabs of varying length were inserted into each layer to delay the arrival time of the terahertz waveform to coincide with the arrival of the electrons, effectively phase-matching the interaction,” i.e., “controlled time delay for temporal overlap,” and further explains “The function of the device was thus selected by tuning the relative delay of the two terahertz pulses and the electrons”).
Regarding Claim 9:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the at least one high-frequency electromagnetic radiation generator is configured to generate said THz radiation with varying parameters (Pages 5-6, Zhang teaches varying THz parameters such as electron-THz delay, THz field strength, THz pulse timing, and THz pulse energy).
Regarding Claim 10:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column of claim 1. Reklaitis further teaches wherein the at least one high-frequency electromagnetic radiation generator comprises the semiconductor structure configured to generate said THz radiation based on at least one of the following effects: photo-Dember effect, optical rectification effect (Page1 of 9 Introduction: teaches the THz emission from THz emitters (e.g., InAs surface emitter),which have a semiconductor structure (e.g., InAs Cystal), including nonlinear optical rectification, arises due to photocurrent induced the photo-Dember effect).
Regarding Claim 11:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column of claim 1. The combined references further teach wherein the high frequency electromagnetic radiation generator comprises an array of high-frequency electromagnetic radiation emitters producing said THz radiation towards an array of spaced-apart interaction regions spaced-apart along the general propagation path of the charged particles beam (the modified apparatus comprises “various THz emitters” (Reklaitis) and an array of spaced-apart interaction regions, as Zhang teaches asegmented THz electron accelerator/manipulator, where segmentation divides the interaction volume into multiple layers, each isolated by think metal sheet. It would be obvious to configure the various THz emitters to an array so that each emitter directed toward a respective interaction region from an array of interaction regions.).
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Reklaitis, and further in view of US 20110164251 A1 [hereinafter Richter].
Regarding Claim 12:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column of claim 11. However, the combined references do not specifically note that wherein the charged particles beam shaping unit comprises a reflector extending along the general propagation path and being spaced-apart from the general propagation path. Richter teaches wherein the charged particles beam shaping unit comprises a reflector extending along the general propagation path and being spaced-apart from the general propagation path (para. [0006]: discloses a multi-pass cell with first and second end mirrors (reflectors) and additional relay mirror(s) positioned to intercept and reflect the beam; these mirrors “are separated by a distance, L, and face one another coaxially to an optical axis” (“propagation path”), and “configured to reflect a beam of light directed at one of the first or second end mirrors off-axis from the optical axis one or more times between the first and second end mirrors,” since the first and second mirrors are “off-axis,” they are spaced-apart from the general propagation path).
As such, Zhang in view of Reklaitis, and further in view of Richter teaches:
said array of the high-frequency electromagnetic radiation emitters being defined by an array of locations of said high frequency electromagnetic radiation generator arranged in a spaced-apart relationship along the general propagation path (in the modified system, Reklaitis’s semiconductor THz generator would be provided as multiple spaced-part semiconductor emitter locations corresponding to Zhang’s multiple spaced-apart interaction region along the electron beam path),
said locations being sequentially excited to generate the THz radiation by sequential reflections of exciting radiation from an array of spaced-apart locations along said reflector (in the modified system, Richter’s multi-pass reflector arrangement causes the optical beam to reflect multiple times at spaced-apart locations along the reflectors, those reflected optical pulses are the “excitation radiation” used to excite the semiconductor THz locations),
thereby providing the array of said spaced-apart interaction regions through which the charged particles beam successively passes while propagating along the general propagation path (in the modified system, Zhang’s segmented THz interaction structure incudes multiple interaction layers/regions along the electron beam path, and the electron beam successively passes through those regions while interaction with the THZ fields).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art, before the effective time of filing, to modify Zhang/Reklaitis system to include Richter’s multi-pass reflector arrangement so that an optical excitation pulses is sequentially reflected to multiple spaced-apart semiconductor THz emitter locations, to provide a simple optical delivery path for sequentially exciting multiple THz emitter locations, thereby maintaining localized and synchronized THz generalization along the charged-particle beam path.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Reklaitis, further in view of WO2017076696A1 [hereinafter ASML].
Regarding Claim 13:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column according to claim 1. However, the combined references do not specifically note that a pre-shaping assembly at output of the charged particles beam source, said pre-shaping assembly being configured and operable to tune the charged particles flow having initial continuous wave form into pulses propagating towards said at least one interaction region.
ASML teaches:
a pre-shaping assembly at output of the charged particles beam source (para. [0027]: teaches a source + downstream chopper assembly (“a source for producing a bunched beam of electrons, the source comprising: an electron source ... and an electron beam chopper”, where “the deflector of the electron beam chopper is arranged to receive the beam of electrons produced by the electron source”, i.e., positioned at the output of the source as the first downstream conditioning stage).
said pre-shaping assembly being configured and operable to tune the charged particles beam having initial continuous wave form into pulses propagating towards said at least one interaction region (paras. [0008, 0072]: teaches a beam flow conversion starts from a continuous electron beam (“using the deflector to move a continuous electron beam relative to the blocking member”) and then forms temporally discrete bunches, i.e., pulses, (“portions of the electron beam that pass through the aperture 122 form temporally discrete bunches 134 of electrons”)
As such, the combined references teach “… pulses propagating towards said at least one interaction region” (AMSL para. [0027]: “the electron beam chopper is arranged to output a bunched beam of electrons” downstream of the chopper. Accordingly, the combined references teach pulses leaving the chopper propagate along the column toward Zhang’s downstream THz interaction region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art, before the effective time of filing, to incorporate the ASML electron beam chopper (pre-shaping assembly) at the output of the Zhang/Reklaitis electron source to tune an initially continuous beam into pulses propagating toward Zhang’s downstream THz interaction region. The modification would have been a predictable use of a known beam-chopping technique to convert an initially continuous changed-particle flow into pules before the downstream THz interaction region, thereby enabling controlled temporal overlap between the electron pulse sand the THz field.
Claims 14-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Reklaitis, and further in view of WO2021046187A1 [hereinafter Duncan].
Regarding Claim 14:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column of claim 1. However, the combined references do not specifically note that. Duncan teaches the charged particles beam column configured as a scanning electron microscope (SEM) (paras. [0006, 0008]: recognizes that “Chromatic aberration is the barrier to achieving atomic diameter probes at low primary energies of less than 5 keV, a commonplace regime for scanning electron microscopy... The present technology is directed to overcoming these and other deficiencies in the art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art, before the effective time of filing, to configure the Zhang/Reklaitis THz beam-shaping column as an SEM, as taught by Duncan, because Duncan teaches that reducing/managing electron-beam energy spread is useful in scanning electron microscopy to address chromatic aberration and improve electron microscope resolution. Applying Zhang’s THz beam manipulation in an SEM would have been a predictable use of a known electron-beam conditioning technique in a known electron microscope environment.
Regarding Claim 15:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column of claim 1. However, the combined references do not specifically note that. Duncan teaches the charged particles beam column configured as transmission electron microscope (TEM) (para. [0003]: teaches “a monochromator device for use in electron transmission microscopes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art, before the effective time of filing, to configure the Zhang/Reklaitis THz beam-shaping column as a TEM, as taught by Duncan, because Duncan teaches that electron-beam energy conditioning/monochromation is useful in electron transmission microscopes to reduce energy spread and improve energy/spectral resolution. Zhang similarly teaches THz-based electron-beam manipulation for ultrafast imaging and spectroscopy devices, so applying the THz beam-shaping structure in a TEM would have been a predictable implementation in a closely related electron-beam instrument.
Regarding Claim 16:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column of claim 1. However, the combined references do not specifically note that. Duncan teaches the charged particles beam column configured as Ultrafast Transmission Electron Microscope (UTEM) (para. [0028]: explicitly states the rf cavities “can be incorporated into an existing ultra-fast electron transmission microscope (UEM) ….”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art, before the effective time of filing, to configure the Zhang/Reklaitis THz beam-shaping column as a UTEM, as taught by Duncan, because both Zhang and Duncan address ultrafast electron-beam systems, and Duncan expressly teaches incorporating beam energy-conditioning structures into an existing ultrafast electron transmission microscope. Zhang’s THz manipulation provides compact, synchronized THz-based acceleration/compression/focusing of ultrashort electron bunches, which would have predictably benefited a UTEM by improving ultrafast electron-pulse control.
Regarding Claim 17:
As discussed in claim 1, Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches a charged particles beam column for inspecting a sample in a sample plane, comprising at least one charged particles beam shaping unit comprising at least one high-frequency electromagnetic radiation generator comprising a semiconductor structure configured to generate THz radiation and being located in a vicinity of and spaced apart from a general propagation path of a charged particles beam emitted by a charged particles source, each of said at least one high-frequency electromagnetic radiation generator being configured and controllably operated to provide generation of the THz radiation, synchronized with generation of the charged particles beam, such that the THz radiation propagates in free space from the semiconductor structure towards an interaction region in said general propagation path, to cause near-field interaction between said THz radiation and the charged particles beam, thereby compressing an energy spread of the charged particles beam and directly affecting energy properties of the charged particles beam passing through said at least one interaction region in the general propagation path and directly affecting spectral resolution of the charged particles beam at said sample plane.
The combined references do not specifically note that the beam shaping unit is part of a monochromator configured for integration in a charged particle beam column.
Duncan teaches a monochromator configured for integration in a charged particle beam column which includes a beam shaping unit (para. [0026]: teaches a monochromator device “for use in electron transmission microscopes,” i.e., configured for integration in an electron-beam column used to inspect a specimen/sample, and such a monochromator device including an electron source, optical column, and first and second RF cavities to correct energy deviations in time and space of the electron output beam, that the monochromator provides lossless energy spread reduction and improved energy resolution).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art, before the effective time of filing, to configure the Zhang/Reklaitis THz beam-shaping unit as a monochromator for integration in a charged particle beam column, as taught by Duncan, to provide a compact THz beam conditioning structure for improving electron beam energy control and resolution.
Regarding Claim 19:
Zhang in view of Reklaitis teaches the charged particles beam column according to claim 8. The combined references do not specially note that wherein said temporal overlap is configured such that higher-energy components of the charged particles beam interact with a decelerating portion of a THz field and lower-energy components of the charged particles beam interact with an accelerating portion of said THz field, thereby compressing the energy spread of the charged particles beam substantially without loss of charged particles, and directly affecting the spectral resolution of the charged particles beam at said sample plane.
Zhang in view of Duncan teaches:
wherein said temporal overlap is configured such that higher-energy components of the charged particles beam interact with a decelerating portion of a THz field and lower-energy components of the charged particles beam interact with an accelerating portion of said THz field. Zhang teaches controlling the temporal overlap/phase between the electron bunch and the THz field, which can accelerate or decelerate electrons depending on the electron /THz timing. Duncan teaches using a time-varying field to correct energy deviations by equalizing beam energies. Thus, in the modified system, the temporal overlap is configured so that higher-energy beam components (earlier arrival) meet a decelerating portion of the THz field, while lower-energy beam components (later arrival) meet an accelerating portion of the THz field.
thereby compressing the energy spread of the charged particles beam substantially without loss of charged particles, and directly affecting the spectral resolution of the charged particles beam at said sample plane. Duncan teaches lossless energy-spread reduction where the beam energy is corrected by time-correlated field interaction rather than by rejecting particles with an aperture. Zhang teaches THz-based energy/phase space manipulation of electron pulses. Thus, the combined system compresses the beam energy spread substantially without loss of charged particles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the temporal overlap in the Zhang/Reklaitis THz beam-shaping system so that higher-energy portions/components of the electron beam interact with a decelerating portion of the THz field and lower-energy portions/components interact with an accelerating portion of the THz field, as taught or suggested by Duncan’s lossless energy-spread reduction principle. Zhang teaches that controlling electron/THz delay and THz phase determines whether electrons are accelerated, decelerated, compressed, or stretched, while Duncan teaches that correlating particle energy/time of arrival with the phase of a time-varying field equalizes beam energies without loss of average current. Applying Duncan’s known energy-equalization timing principle to Zhang’s THz field interaction would have predictably reduced energy spread while avoiding aperture-based particle loss.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Richter.
Regarding Claim 18:
Zhang teaches a method for controlling inspection of a sample by interaction with a charged particles beam (a method of using a THz- powered electron manipulator to interact with an electron beam), the method comprising:
applying a beam shaping to the charged particles beam by generating THz radiation, with predetermined synchronous with generation of the charged particles beam, in a vicinity of and spaced-apart from said general propagation path of the charged particles beam (using single-cycle THz pulse generated from the same laser system used to drive the electron source and instinct synchronizing/controlling timing between the THz pulses and the electron bunches)
to thereby cause near-field interaction between said THz radiation and the charged particles beam in free space affecting energy properties of the pulses of the charged particles beam (focusing counter-propagating THz fields beyond the diffraction limit into the interaction zone, and the electrons experience the electric and magnetic fields of the THZ pulses under the Lorentz force, where the THz electric field is responsible for acceleration/deceleration, while the magnetic field cause deflection)
said interaction compressing an energy spread of the charged particles beam, thereby directly affecting spectral resolution of the charged particles beam at the sample location (operating the STEAM device in compressing mode, where the THz field imparts a velocity/energy correlation to the electron bunch, and showing compression of an electron bunch from over 1ps to about 100fs).
However, Zhang does notes specifically note that tuning a charged particles beam flow having initial continuous wave form into pulses by interaction of said charged particles beam with RF radiation in a first interaction within a general propagation path of the charged particles beam towards the sample; allowing said THz radiation to propagate in free space towards at least one second interaction region within said general propagation path downstream of said first interaction region with respect to a direction of propagation of the charged particles beam along said path towards the sample, (cause near-field interaction) by interaction with the THz radiation in at least one second interaction region within said general propagation path downstream of said first interaction region with respect to a direction of propagation of the charged particles beam along said path towards the sample.
ASML teaches tuning a charged particles beam flow having initial continuous wave form into pulses by interaction of said charged particles beam with RF radiation in a first interaction within a general propagation path of the charged particles beam towards the sample (as discussed in claim 13, ASML teaches an electron source and an electron beam chopper arranged to receive the electron beam produced by the electron source, and teaches using a deflector to move a continuous electron beams relative to a blocking member so that portions of the beam passing through an aperture form temporally discrete bunches of electrons).
As such, the Zhang in view of ASML teaches:
allowing said THz radiation to propagate in free space towards at least one second interaction region within said general propagation path downstream of said first interaction region with respect to a direction of propagation of the charged particles beam along said path towards the sample (in the modified system, the second interaction region is Zhang’s STEAM THz interaction zone, which is downstream from ASML’s RF chopper/first interaction region along the electron-beam propagation path).
by interaction with the THz radiation in at least one second interaction region within said general propagation path downstream of said first interaction region with respect to a direction of propagation of the charged particles beam along said path towards the sample (the THz interaction occurs in the Zhang’s second THz interaction region downstream of the ASML’s first RF interaction region along the beam path toward the sample).
Zhang teaches applying THz beam shaping to electron pulses in a downstream interaction region. ASML teaches an electron beam chopper arranged downstream of an electron source and configured to convert a continuous electron beam into temporally discrete pulses by infraction with RF radiations. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art, before the effective time of filing, to provide ASM’s RF pre-shaping stage upstream of Zhang’s THz interaction region so that the charged-particle beam is first converted from a continuous flow into pulses, and then the pulses are shaped by Zhang’s downstream THz interaction, to provide well-defined electron pulses before the THz interaction, and enable synchronized downstream THz beam shaping and energy spread control.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JING WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881